Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ristorante Vittoria 4 stars

Piazza Porta Marina Inferiore, 1, 80045 Pompei, Italy

#8 of 29 hotels in Pompei

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 395 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in an ideal location beside the entrance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been more accessible but more than compensated by helpful staff taking care of the parking.

    Beautiful hotel in an ideal location beside the entrance to the old city of Pompei. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Crisp clean rooms with great air conditioning, suitable for cooling down after the heat of the day. Really good value for both the quality of the hotel and the prime location. Loved it!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    great location - adequate accommodation for visiting the ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom was a little tired and shabby. Breakfast appeared to be a prepacked croissant and bottle of orange juice pre placed on the table - we didnt bother and chose to have breakfast elsewhere

    ideal location for visiting the ruins

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.0
    The location for those wanting to explore the ruins of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location for those wanting to explore the ruins of pompeii was fantastic, also with the train station a short walk you could be in Naples or Sorrento in no time at all, would definately recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Incredibly friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really!

    Incredibly friendly and welcoming staff. Lovely old building next to Pompei entrance. Slightly faded glory, but stylish. Food was excellent, including great breakfasts. Great value all round.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location to see the Ruins of Pompeii. Provides room service for bar beverages, no food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to the hotel can be trying as GPS wants you to take a route that has been recently blocked off. There was a gas station near the hotel. We pulled in and contacted the hotel and one of reception personnel came out and met us and brought us into the parking area. The bathroom was small, but it is an old hotel. Since it is so close to the gates of Pompeii, there are a lot of people outside of the hotel, but it was not rowdy.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. The main door to the hotel was less than 150 meters to the entrance of the Ruins of Pompeii. There were many small restaurants and delis within an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel. The staff was phenomenal and bent over backwards to assist in any way that they could. From our room, we could see the ruins of Pompeii. Location, location, location - to see the ruins, there is not a better place to stay. Loved the fact that bar beverages could be delivered to the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    I Fully recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very simple. The elevator is old and slow.

    Hotel is in the entrance of Pompei park. Great location! It is possible to park there which is also big advantage. All staff is polite

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Amazing. We loved everything about our stay at this grand old beauty,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except that there was very little hot water.

    Loved every aspect of this hotel. We arrived after a long drive and were greeted by a bottle of cold water and a friendly smile. The room had a huge balcony overlooking the ruins and the beds were extremely comfortable. Air conditioning was also excellent. The breakfast (including omelettes made to order) was awesome. Plenty of GF options for us coeliac.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Best place to stay when visiting the Ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were absolutely excellent, extremely friendly & helpful. Location to the ruins couldn't be closer (right next door) & the breakfast was fantastic ! Would highly recommend this place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel, the staff and food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disappointment was the shower. The building is old so we had to run the water for 10 min before it was hot.

    The staff were amazing. One of my family members was sick and they allowed her to relax in the lobby and rushed our check-in so that she could rest. The offered us cold water and drinks while waiting. The view from the balcony was amazing. The breakfast was great! The staff was great and very accommodating. They were very helpful in arranging transportation for us. The building is old but the hotel is in great shape. The hotel is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    perfect for pompeii ruins trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Night staff not so approachable. Building obviously getting refurbs but this didn't bother us. Street market outside wasn't very good, all tat and no displayed prices for ice creams etc so felt like we were in a tourists trap. We walked to town for evening meal so cant comment on the restaurant

    it was all about the location near to the ruins. perfectly situated. Day staff on arrival and checkout very helpful and friendly. Roofs fine, balcony nice to see view over Pompeii and Vesuvius. breakfast was good, set us up for the day. Staff allowed cases to e stored during the day whilst we visited the ruins. used the outdoor eating area the following day and food was good an reasonably priced

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    We were in Pompeii for the ruins and this hotel‘s location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We were in Pompeii for the ruins and this hotel‘s location is great for the purpose. The entrance marina inferiorere is just right next door. The hotel staff are helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    I would go back to Pompeii just to stay there and spend more time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff was AMAZING! After 36 hours of travel, they greeted us with water and a cold diet coke! Breakfast of cooked to order omelets, delicious cheese and meats and freshly squeezed orange juice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel corridors are always dark and look creepy at night.

    I liked the location of the hotel, it was in the heart of Pompeii, it over looks the Pompeii ruins, also the hotel owner was sooooo helpful with me, he offered to me a free parking for my car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Wow!!
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow!!! We felt so well retreated staying here from the moment we arrived they literally gushed over us and gave us the BEST welcome making sure we had everything we needed. I loved that the room was spacious enough for 4 of us to be comfortable, that everything was so clean and we had a nice view of the ruins. We could walk to the city center and train station which was since nice. We had a nice breakfast too! Loved that it was literally next door to the entrance of Pompeii

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location! Next to the entrance of the ruins with parking. Extremely friendly/helpfull staff. For our anniversary, they prepared a very nice meal for us. The elderly waiter was absolutely excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to breakfast one hour before closing(9:00) but it wasn't too much left to choose between.

    If you plan to stay in Pompei and want to have the view of the ruins then this is the perfect hotel to stay. We were lucky to have the room with this view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    This is an older hotel that is in the middle of updating and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is an older hotel that is in the middle of updating and once complete will really be fantastic. The staff, accommodations ,restaurant, parking ( we parked right outside the main door) and location (it's literally right outside the entrance to the Pompeii site. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    A memorable holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hot water does sometimes take a little time to get to the shower, but this is something that is in the process of being worked on (we did not find this a problem, just turned the shower on & then went to put the kettle on). The water was then hot when it did.

    From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel welcome, our room was on the side of the hotel and we could see the ruins of Pompeii, the bedroom was a very good size and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had fresh (soft) towels every day. The location could not have been any better, with a main entrance to Pompeii right outside the hotel and the railway station just 5 minutes walk away, with trains to both Naples and Sorrento. During the day it is a hub of activity, but at night when all the tourists have gone it is very peaceful. I know a lot of people have put some very negative reports on due to the ongoing work to the hotel, but please do not be put off by this, yes the hotel is a little dusty (although our room very clean) but the workmen start when breakfast is finished and are then packing away at tea time. The owners are working very hard to bring this building up to speck for the modern traveler and we were lucky enough to get shown the view from the roof were they have some lovely plans (so cannot wait to return and see them when they are complete). Every single member of staff that you come into contact with cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. A good choice for breakfast including omelette's and good coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    3.3
    The property is an insult to Tourism and Tourist
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Straight to the point (Room 120) 1. Room tired, worn out, dirty walls, and mold everywhere. 2. The internet never worked during the duration of our stay. 3. Zero hot water pressure, forced to take cold shower! 4. Shower did not drain and mold all over the bathroom! 5. Patchwork on the walls and Exposed wires and cables throughout the hotel 6. Elevator is old/dirty 7. Food offered at Breakfast was minimal 8. Way overpriced for the service received 9. Added city tax which was not listed in bookings.com 10. No services, the restaurant closes early, but there are other places to eat within walking distance. 11. Note about shopping – the stores located on the property in my opinion will fleece you, be extra careful. Bottom Line: While the location is good, this hotel was not worth half of what we paid. Total rip off.

    The location was good, as it was close to the National Park Pompei Main Gate. Other than that, nothing else was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice atmosphere and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold, yet sometimes warm showers

    Very central location, next to the entrance of pompei excavation. It is a charming hotel, not the most modern but our kids liked the atmosphere and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    awesome would stay there again no question
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the tv didn't have any English channels but wasn't a major problem

    the room was very big spacious the bed was super comfy the bathroom and the shower was great, the whole room was fantastic the balcony was beautiful, the Pompeii ruins was literally next door and you can see mount Vesuvius from the balcony. would def stay there again. the only thing I would say is that check the prices for taxi services to and from the airport I came via Naples international airport which was about 20/30 mins from the hotel which was 70euros but different airports have different prices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for Pompeii
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't like to write anything negative about this hotel as the current renovation work is non intrusive, and obviously won't last forever, and the main road didn't bother us at all. If your kids like their TV but don't speak Italian you must take your own media device. I would say this is a hint to fellow travelers rather than a negative.

    Proximity to entrance of Pompeii and train station make this hotel an ideal base. Our room was quadruple and had ample space for our party. There were toiletries provided and also a handy little fridge. The best feature of this hotel is the staff. Every single staff member was a credit to the establishment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Nothing luxurious but comfort and convenience in a venerable old hotel near Pompei ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work at all. Breakfast was mediocre, although staff were friendly.

    Friendly and flexible staff. Building is under renovation so future guests will have a more beautiful facility. Location is amazing for visiting the ruins of Pompeii, and a short stroll from the center of modern Pompei. There is a 24-hour supermarket 5 minutes away by foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    A really nice hotel, perfect for Pompei and with genuine and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was adjacent to a busy cobbled road which was in use all through the night and during this time the traffic noise, oddly, seemed to be amplified, so we slept very badly. The window wasn't double glazed and the curtains were just decorative and so couldn't be fully closed to help deaden it. The shower wasn't much more than a dribble and at best was only luke warm, even after running it for 10/15 minutes before use. A massive refurbishment of the lobby and upwards was under way with dust, scaffolding, workers and customers all sharing the same space; but I appreciate that it was February, the work has to be done in the quietest part of the year and it didn't detract from an overall, very enjoyable stay.

    Perfect location, just 50 yards from the entrance to the amazing Pompei ruins (take sandwiches and good boots). All hotel staff were exceptional in their courtesy, politeness and willingness to please. The evening meals were based on a good value 3 course menu (with options), at €15 and the house wine was very good at only €10 a bottle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Much better than expected, and exceptionally good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are the part that still need upgrading. Very low water-pressure in the shower, a loo that you have to keep pressing to stop it flushing, and mechanical basin plugs that are difficult to lever up.

    The hotel is by far the closest one to the Pompei ruins and the station (most of the others are a good 20-30 minute walk away). The room was large and comfortable, well-decorated and clean, with good seating including a sofa, and good beds. Because of the solid stone structure of the hotel, you do not get noise from neighbouring rooms. The door to the corridor is new, solid, and well-sealed, so no noise from there. The heating/airconditioning is individually controlled; it did not work well the first night, but after that was great, and also reduces any (there is only minor) noise from the street. The staff were superb. The breakfast was much better than expected, and they provide for customers with gluten or dairy allergies. The building is also historic and beautiful, finalising a refurbishment that will make it even grander.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Lovely place with character with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great but it is about a 15 minute walk into new Pompeii for dinner - if the hotel restaurant opened for dinner, instead of just lunch, we would have eaten there as we had done a lot of walking in Pompeii itself.

    This was excellent value for money - we were a family of five and were able to get one room and the location is great, right at the entrance to Pompeii. Breakfast was excellent. The best thing was the staff, Moira who is the Irish owner with her Italian husband was so helpful and lovely, and all the staff bent over backwards to help us. If you are going to Pompeii, this is the place to stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Marvellous experience of Sicilian hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit sparse.

    The owner and staff were brilliant. They went beyond the call of duty in helping us with transport problems while I had an injured leg, transporting us free to and from restaurants and the station. We did not get the full effect of this magnificent old mansion hotel as it was mid-winter and there were renovations-restorations being done. We look forward to staying there again one day to see the restored building. We will certainly recommend the hotel to friends and other travellers visiting Pompeii and Heracleum. Thank you Sgr. Rosario and staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Location is great if you plan to visit Pompeii Archeological...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rennovations going on during our stay- did not give us the chance to enjoy the beauty of the hotel and woke us up early.

    Location is great if you plan to visit Pompeii Archeological museum - emtrance is literally next door. Friendly staff that tried really hard to speak in English. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall we enjoyed our stay very much, just disappointed about the lack of sufficient hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sadly, the plumbing system (specifically supply of hot water) needs some attention, and I'm sure this is because of the age of the property. The water needed to run for 10-15 minutes before warm to very warm water was coming out of the tap (never warm enough for me to wash my hair). Traffic noise could be a problem for some people - started off in a room that had a broken slat in the shutter, which let noise in from traffic, but we were moved to another room when we pointed this out.

    Lovely old hotel with many charming features. Fabulous location for visiting Pompeii (literally next door), and a short walk to the Circumvesuviana train to get to Herculaneum, Oplontis, Naples or Sorrento. Very pleasant staff, lovely evening meal taken in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Great location for archeological sites and a simple train ride to Oplontis, Boscoreale and Stabia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with the hot water- it was there it just took an awfully long time to come through. I suspect that this would not be an issue when the hotel was busier with everyone turning on water. But the staff were very helpful with this. -it took acreallyblong time -when you have water rationing at home, it felt wrong to let it run for so long. But it does work. Heads up- we caught the circumvesuviana - there is a stop between Torre annuncizata and Pompeii scavi -it is marked in some boards above the door but not all of them.

    Location was great for our visit to the Pompeii site. Would recommend it forvthatvreason alone. Staff were helpful and accomodating when we wanted to leave our bags.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful to walk out of hotel and be in the Pompeii ruins in a couple of minutes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange whistling in room which seemed to be connected to the electric lights. Very odd. Rooms could do with a facelift.

    Parking. Location - just by Pompeii. Breakfast room decor. Staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    4.6
    Basic hotel with no facilities. Water needs to flow 20mins before getting warm enough to wash. Cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    see previous answer

    Spent three nights here. Arrived late to be informed there was no bar or resturant in the hotel. Nothing nearby. Night Porter was very helpful though and kindly made us a sandwich. Very basic hotel which is in need of decoration. Had cold shower in morning as no hot water....... realised that you had to let tap run for 20 minutes until it became hot. Therefore woke turned tap on and back to bed for 20 mins until water warm enough to wash in. Breakfast, which was included was very basic. However good location for Pompei ruins. Get what you pay for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    It was okay for a one day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no pressure on the water. The shower is cold and the room is too small for three people. The water on the toilet bowl did not stop, it was flowing throughout the night when were there, hence we did not get a good sleep.

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    It is right in front of Pompei ruins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is right in front of Pompei ruins! It is absolutelly amazing to wake up and say "good morning Pompei" from a balcony like that. It's a really nice hotel, clean and the whole women staff are amazing! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and had hair drier, soap, shampoo and all sort of hygiene stuff we need (even those you dont imagine a hotel might give you as swab, cotton and nail file). There are restaurants, markets and all sort of stuff a tourist needs, everything is really close to the hotel. One more bonus is that the train station is just three minutes walk from the hotel. If I ever come back to Pompei, that's where I wanna stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Except for noisy room good. Breakfast simple with not much selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too noisy as we were on a main road. Not enough selection for breakfast Cornflakes, toast and croissant only choice.

    The location and helpful staff. Food allergy requirements were meet for both breakfast and dinner for partner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    Hotel was okay, restaurant was terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at teh hotel restaurant was terrible. It was either prepared way in advance and microwaved for serving or it may have just been frozen dinners, hard to tell. Either way, it was not good. The wait staff could care less that the food was bad.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    I like everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything about this hotel. From the staff, very accommodating,to the breakfast, cater our every whim, with a smile, the parking,most of all and the location,you just have to cross the square to visit pompeii.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot water could take a long time to come through but we were warned about this on arrival so could plan for it.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Perfect location just a couple of minute's walk for the train station & excavations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Quite luxurious and in perfect location for visiting Pompei Roman ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door to our bathroom seemed to lock if pulled to, with no obvious way to open it. Both of us and a staff member thought there was a problem initially. They said they had fixed it and no-one else had ever had a problem, but admitted the other rooms had an extra handle on the inside. It was maybe just very stiff, but we found it difficult most of our stay. The whole fitting seemed to slide about. The main hotel door seemed to be out of bounds during some of the afternoon and you had to go an obscure route through a shop. The message on one of the main doors wasn't all that clearly worded but I was told off quite nastily by a female member of staff, a cleaner perhaps, once when I tried to use them. The reception staff were very helpful, especially when I had to sit at their desk to book flights using their computer and printer.

    It was a great location for us to visit Pompeii, with an entrance yards away. Also a station within easy walking distance to get a train for Herculanum and Naples, possibly Sorrento too. For the price we got more than expected - a room safe, a mini fridge, tea making stuff including a small carton of milk. We had a large balcony overlooking some picturesque ruins and a mountain in the distance. Plenty of restaurants and a post office nearby. It felt quite a smart hotel with a lovely big bed and most of the staff were nice and helpful. The wifi worked fine for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    This is a wonderful step back in time, both at the hotel and the ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was pleasant and made sure that we were comfortable during our stay. They answered all our questions and made great recommendations. This hotel was neat and clean and old. Not run down, not unkept....old in a quaint charming kind of way. I loved it and the ambience surrounding it. The lady at the desk said the building was over 100 years old. So if modern and shiny is your taste, you might want to try something else. We had a balcony that was right next to the ruins and had a good view of the lights of Naples. It took 3 minutes to walk to Pompeii.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    Good enough for one evening
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in English was poor, but otherwise friendly. Breakfast was a typical Italian - mainly white bread and jam, no bacon

    A lot of space in the bedroom. Few minutes of walk to the excavations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Great stay, great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was fine, very busy all around with tour parties but guess you expect this. Large tourist market all around the entrance to Pompeii.

    Excellent location right next door to one of the entrances to the Pompeii site. Very friendly staff and attentive to our needs. Brilliant view from our bedroom of Vesuvius and Pompeii archaeological site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to see Pompei this is an excellent choice. Right outside the entrance, private parking, comfortable room, very good breakfast and lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Family friendly hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Staff were superb, organised a guide for Pompei no hassle at all. Made us feel very welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. Room was great and lovely view definitely would go back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, literally next to the entrance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they would refurbish the building, it could easily become a five star hotel.

    Excellent location, literally next to the entrance to the archaeological site. The building itself is a great example of fine architecture. The staff is nice and friendly. It was great to sit on the balcony and look at the ruins of ancient Pompeii. We we arrived for breakfast, late but still in time, most of the food was finished, but the waiter brought us everything we ordered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant hotel neraby the entrance of Pompei Ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guests of the hotel can eat the breakfast in the western part of hotel (located from the main street). There are too many tables nearby the each other. Walls looks like very old but the fact is it looks like badly done.

    Hotel is located about 300m from the entrance of Pompei Ruins. There is a very small parking for 6-7 cars only. You can eat nearby in the evening - on the oposite site of the hotel by main street. There is only one elevator in the hotel, but there is also a wonderful stairs :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Great Location and great staff..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and furnishings In need of an update and refresh

    Staff v helpful and friendly. Superb location for visiting Pompeii ruins.. Free breakfast was a big bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Outstanding location and great value for money, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we walked in the staff were very friendly and with good spoken English. The balcony from our room was excellent for a morning coffee overlooking the ruins. The entrance to Pompeii adjoins the hotel making access extremely easy and it is only a couple of minutes from the train station. It would certainly be my first choice should I come back to Pompeii!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Great budget place to stay next to the ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our shower was cold and the pillows were a little too hard for me.

    The location is fantastic and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location,really courteous,helpful staff, perfect for visiting Pompeii.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in an extremely busy location,but is ideally located for the excavation site.

    Staff were fantastic,location was excellent,as we checked out staff and management found out we had recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and treated us to a bottle of bubbly and snacks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient for station and for entrance to Pompei
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi did not work in my room

    situation was perfect for station and sites. the guy on the desk was very helpful, kind and charming. breakfast was dull. rather grand hotel which had seen better days nevertheless charming. Good supper menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous , Great location, Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stalls outside the hotel. The owners are rude and aggressive . Pestering you to buy. They pounce on you and don't give you time to look.

    We where greeted with a friendly smile and cold bottle of water from daniella. She was so pleasant and super helpful throughout our whole stay. She recommended a fantastic restaurant Caterina which is 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel The most amazing food at great prices and beside it el vivo for pastries ice cream and coffee. The hotel is classic old style and right next door to pompei. The view from our private terrace looked over the ruins. It is literally 100 steps to the entrance. The train station is about 3 minutes away up a small hill which we took to the Ercolano site for 4 Euro return. About 20 minutes away, Well worth the visit . U 18 get in free and 18-24 get in for half price but make sure you bring ID. Maura the owner is fantastic she gave directions and recommendations for everything. A fabulous deli Raimos that's makes all it cheese on site and it tastes amazing. We had breakfast every morning( typical continental style) cheese, meats, cereal , breads. Kids ordered scrambled eggs. Outside hotel is extremely busy during the day but at night it gets really quiet. We walked every evening to the small centre with a lovely church and small shops and restaurants . There is also a large indoor shopping centre with all the modern shops. Overall our stay was excellent here. The owner and staff could not do enough for us. A great base to discover pompei and surrounding area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location - pity staff aren't happier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed unhappy. Girl at checkout was really sour. Hotel itself is quaint but needs updating. At 8 euros, breakfast at hotel is not worth it.

    Close proximity to ruins

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Watch your step. There's the unexpected small step here and there that can take you off guard.

    PERFECT location for visiting the Pompei Ruins. In my photo, you'll see the side of the hotel on the right, taken near the ruins entrance. Very helpful. friendly, and informative staff. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location to visit Pompeii
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the road side and there was a lot of traffic noise even with the windows closed, very hard bed pillows, not so good Wifi and breakfast could have more options.

    Great location right next to one of Pompeii's entrances, very friendly staff, spacious and clean room, free parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was intermittent.

    The property was right next to Pompeii Scavi with a view from our room of the Foro end of the Excavation site. Our second floor corner room had a lovely rooftop patio to sit and share a bottle of wine. The accommodations were fine for our family of three adults. It was a great value for what we received for the money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel for staying near Pompei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi didn't work at all in my room when I got there at night, but it worked in the morning. Very slow connection, though. The hotel is in general a little worn in places, but for the price I paid it was a bargain.

    This hotel is a great choice if you want to visit Pompeii. It's very close to the Pompeii Scavi train station, with good regular connections to Naples and Sorrento, and it's literally right next to one of the entrances to Pompeii. From Pompeii Scavi you also have a good regular bus service to Vesuvius if you want to go there independently (30 minutes travel, €2.70 one way). The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Pompeii center with restaurants and shops. The staff was very good and friendly and spoke good English. They have luggage storage in a room next to the reception. The breakfast was basic but good. Bread, cheese, salami, yogurt, cereal and various pastries. The fresh red orange juice was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.9
    Location at gate to Pompeii
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure comes and goes. Water not hot. Rooms next to road noisy.

    Location both to Pompeii and Train Station Staff incredibly friendly Room immaculate

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.1
    Short value for money stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the bath was not hot, and only cheap quality bar of soap provided for showering

    Convenient location, close to the train station and Porto Marina entrance to Pompeii ruins.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay in Pompid re staff and location but don't buy anything a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrangement w cellini next door was very inaccurate. With their so called 20 o/o off I was extremely overcharged. I was charged twice what I paid the exact ring at a jewellery elsewhere. I was very disappoined that the hotel staff told me I could trust their pricing. Would never recommend them.

    Staff, service, location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Bathroom door was difficult to open from inside bathroom. I was stuck a few times and waited for a family member to open.

    Wonderful location and attentive staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.3
    Great value and convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world charm nice but might not suit a more fussy person

    Location fantastic for walking straight into the ruins and to Pompeii for dinner in evening

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Perfect location for Pompeii!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here so we could visit the Pompeii Ruins and we couldn't have chosen a better spot. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they helped us park our rental car on-site and let us leave it there after check-out while we visited the ruins. They even stored our luggage at the reception desk until we were done with our tour.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.2
    A great location, close to the railway station as well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want a plush modern hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you like a bit of character and don't mind the odd bit of faded charm, this is a great place to stay.

    A great location, close to the railway station as well as the entrance to the ruins. However what stood out is how helpful and welcoming all the staff were.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    Terrace with a good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't really like sitting off to the side when everyone else was in the restaurant side.

    At breakfast the salami smelled and tasted bad and there was mold under the jam lid. We brought this to the attention of the staff. We were faced with attitude but I still left a tip. Later in the day they brought up a bottle of prosecco to apologize. The view was great from the terrace. It is slippery when wet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    2 night short stay.p
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restricted parking. Gets very quiet and deserted in evening.

    Location . Right at eentry to Pompeii. Staff very helpful especially Moira. All very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    excelent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the pillows are a little high for our taste

    - the hotel is right at the entrance of the ruins; from our balcony we were able to see the ancient city - it is an old hotel, with class, they have high end services, the staff is very friendly and all speak english very well - the breakfast was delicious, we recomend the croissants :) also, the food from the restaurant is great, more than enough for 1 person - we had clean sheets and towels every day - they have parking - it is at walking distance from the tram station (3min) the tram takes you to Naples, Sorento

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay at Hotel Ristorante Vittoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None, except the large bathrooms downstairs that are abused by bus tour groups. They were washing and brushing their teeth early morning - how disgusting.

    Wonderful stay - we thoroughly recommend. Great location to Pompeii Ruins. Right next to the ticket office to get in. Excellent breakfast. Food is excellent, especially the a la carte dining outside on the terrace for dinner. Had the most wonderful meals. Even after we had booked into our next accommodation, we returned to have dinner here (had to walk about 2km there and back but it was so worth it). Staff exceptionally friendly and thank you to Maura for her assistance in arranging transport to our next accommodation. The rooms very spacious and clean, with a balcony overlooking the ruins. What a regal looking place. Many tour groups stop over here and they can leave the bathrooms in quite a shocking state - perhaps the hotel can check this - especially early evening.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't eat at their restaurant attached to the hotel. One staff member indicated that we could order anything from menu while another stated we could only have set menu. Service was very slow (over an hour) and we the first one in the restaurant.

    Great location right opposite ruins and close to train station. Room was comfortable and breakfast was nice and plentiful. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are areas of the inside the building that need some maintenance and the stair carpet could do with a good clean.

    The breakfast was standard for hotels in Italy but the surroundings could have been better.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Amazing locations, great room, lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for Pompeii, litally a 30 second walk. The staff were all really wonderful and very accommodation. Really large nice rooms with good air con, and we had a lovely balcony over looking the rueins and a view of Naples. Good WiFi and parking.a really nice breakfast. Would really recommend for visiting Pompeii!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    3.8
    Not clean, bad location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOT clean! Hotel is a tourist spot = awful in the mornings when you're about to have breakfast! Noisy room since the highway is just outside the window. DON'T go here!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.4
    I wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff seemed like they needed a rev up, they were so slow. The place is big but the rooms are basic. The postage stamp sized TV on the wall is hard to watch, the pillow felt like they had got some rocks off the Pompeii site and stuffed them in the pillow case.the bed was ok. Bathroom was big but towels were thin cotton ones not like real towels. Dinner was disgusting. We had it in the hotel ( we were the only ones) and my husband had spaghetti which he said was the worst he had eaten. I had antipasto which wasn't much better. We then had a small steak which we weren't asked how we'd like it, just came out well done. I didn't mind but hubby likes his medium rare. Anyway it was edible. Desert, which I dint have , was a scoop of ice cream. All in all a very poor, unappetising meal which we had with the waiter, Luigi,watching over us and keep asking is it ok. Just dint have the heart to say no it's awful. This was a set menu at nights. Sleeping was tough because of the pillow but also because the hotel was next to a busy road and traffic went past all night. It was so noisy. They need double glazing. Could be a nice hotel but at the moment it's a bit hopeless

    We loved that it was right next to the entrance to the gate for pompeii

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    Close to the Forum
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a hotel so we expected to have the water boiler in our room. Anyway we could ask for hot water and some ice. It is hard get any nice restaurant around the place but it is not the hotel fault. Most of the restsurants around there were very touristy.

    Location is very near the forum. It was very hot so it was very easy for us to walk back to the room if we needed to. Also, Breakfast with eggs cooked to order was quite OK.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.6
    Best place to stay in if you plan on visiting the ancient city of Pompei
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only little negative: WiFi didn't work well in the room. We weren't able to connect to it.

    Location was perfect to visit Pompei. Staff was super helpful and kind. Rooms were comfortable. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ristorante Vittoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: