Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Riverside 4 stars

Via Emilia, 2456, 41018 Modena, Italy

#24 of 28 hotels in Modena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 768 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just didn’t realize we were so far from Modena and without a car it meant several taxi rides to get back.

    Overall our stay was good, the room was large, with a loft, the facilities clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi was diabolical - super slow so that I couldnt use it. Because I was on a business trip I had to have it hence I had to use my own on the phone. In the end I ended up with something like £40 internet bill as I had to go over my allowance! Also, no matter how many times asked, the hotel wont issue a VAT invoice (sent emails, no reply). Very poor customer service skills.

    The location was good as it was close to the main road. The other things we liked was fair level of cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature control wasn’t good, it fluctuated between very hot and cold,however I don’t think this would be something the staff could have corrected.

    Nice room layout, we liked the mezzanine floor open design, it felt spacious. It was clean and beds made, fresh towels each day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dark room Air-conditioner was very loud The breakfast was poorer than we expected

    Comfortable bed, clean bathroom Big parking lot Restaurants with good food around

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave me was too noisy because of traffic that I couldn't never seem to sleep. Second room heads inside and it was more silent. Nobody of staffs who I met can speaks English inspite of 4 stars hotel. The hairdrier in my room was out of order. So they brought me a potable one.

    Parkplace is in front of hotel. Staffs are very kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was late July but at the hotel our room was quiet, cool and comfortable and the staff had plenty of time to help you. The breakfast was good. It was great to have a bidet in the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is not 4stars. The cleaning is made to cover the previous gust traces not with the intend of renting a clean room.not all light switchers were working, shower leaking water, toilette black inside, needs repainting. The breakfast was ok but i was reluctant to eat when i saw they had an improvized kitchen behind the bar that was looking more like a storage room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor "hostel" We booked 2 rooms. My room was'nt clean. The toilet bowl was black and disgusting. Above the bed inches from my head there was a lamp that hit my head twice until i removed the bed. The window in the other room was broken and a lot of noise came from the busy roadway at night. The lamps above the bed same as the first room. Ofcourse they didn't want to give another room.

    LEAVING the "HOSTEL"

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet and shower require better cleaning. There was no mini-bar in the room as stated in the description. There is a part of the hotel which is right above the restaurant, in the weekend they have music till late and it gets quite loud in the room, hard to sleep. Overall the hotel doesn't look like 4 stars.

    spacious room, many free public parking places in front of the hotel, nice restaurant nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Jacuzzi in room but no plug and not usable. Very poor lighting to read by. Impersonal like a modern rambling warehouse. Had to go down outside metal staircase to the room Nowhere to walk to river in spite of name of hotel.

    Wifi adequate Staff OK Clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located on a main road between Bologna and Modena with day and nigh traffic.You need to be used to such noice otherwise you can't sleep.Staff speeks only Italian and is not very motivated.

    Excellent value for money. Very good restaurants in direct neighbourhood.Close to Modena and Bologna.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff, the most terrible staff ever encountered

    clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was so loud we needed to switch it off to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel, close to city, good start point for all destination (Bologna, Modena, Milan) No issues to hotel, all was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a 4 star hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff, no ammeneties , better not to have a breakfast than offering what they offered.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, in addition to which my vehicle was broken into whilst parked right outside the hotel's entrance.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Covenient and well located. Good for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-conditioning not working properly

    Mini bar :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel, but the localization i´snt good...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no fridge with drinks in room, no cups in room and towel handles were torn out

    Good breakfast, room really clean and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No gym, basic breakfast

    Perfect restaurant combined directly on the otherside of the road, Please go there!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tea/coffee making facilities

    Great restaurant attached, large rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    brekfast was litle poor but good end plenty.

    very good price nice people nice place very good restaurant near Hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff didn't speak English. Outside on the window there were bugs... Luckily there was a mosquito net and they couldn't get in. :)

    Good room, clean inside, good furniture

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A long way outside Modena city. No bus, no train and no shuttle transport arranged by the hotel. Dependent on taxis. They have to be called and it may take some time before showing up. Price and driving time to the old city, approximately 20 € and 15 minutes, respectively.

    Friendly staff. Adequate clean rooms without any luxury. Good and cheap Italian restaurant next door.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very small room without light lamps on ceiling, bugs in bathroom, mini bar with fridge which could be opened only if you're a "Spider man" and have glue type hands, as holder is abscent.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This surpassed expectations and the rooms were big, clean and comfy. Great value for money with a brilliant breakfast included, wifi and not far from Modena town centre. Extra praise to the lady who was at breakfast who made us feel extremely welcome, was very kind and restored our faith in humanity! We would very much like her to see this message :)

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    noisy with open window, pretty worn rooms, bad cleaning staff (forgot to refill shampoo twice, did throw away articles NOT placed in the trash bin). no minibar (although advertised on booking.com), extremely poor WIFI, no fax, poor business services

    Friendly staff, nearby Restaurants (very good), free parking space, good breakfast buffet with wide selection (for Italy that is), good mattress, very good price/quality ratio during trade show times

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is about 15 mins drive from Modena.Enjoyable

    The room was clean, a good size as was the bathroom. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent hotel great location

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly helpful staff, offered us cheaper transport than taxi to far location, nice spacious room, wifi

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Italian style bearkfast only

    large room , large bath

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Reception with too many young girls wandering about / no help from reception after I drank from tampered bottle of beer from room fridge

    Nothing

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: