Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antico Hotel Roma 1880 4 stars

Via Roma, 66, Ortigia, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#8 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Central location. Great views from the room but the breakfast service needs to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The service at breakfast could have been better. It was not clear to us whether we had to look for service i.e. coffee or wait for the staff to approach as it seemed to take a long time.

    The views from our room were incredible. The Hotel was in an excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    I felt extremely well looked after in this hotel, which had a feeling of class, luxury and quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred larger bedroom.

    Friendly, professional and helpful staff from arrival at reception through to courteous waiting staff and chambermaids.Unsurpassable location,close to train and bus stations, which facilitated travel to Catania, Modica, Ragusa, Noto etc. Very safe location, important as I travel alone.Excellent breakfast,featuring local cooked meats, cheeses,fruits, juices etc., which,as I was there in August, was eaten outside next to the Cathedral and other exquisite historic buildings. A variety of restaurants , bars, shops in close proximity. Archaeological Area easily accessible from hotel.All of Ortygia is within comfortable walking distance of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    We would recommend the hotel and definitely choose the hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excessing the hotel with the car isn't easy, but phoned hotel and the reception staff was very helpful

    Excellent breakfast, and staff was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback at the hotel is the coffee (I would expect to have an excellent espresso/cappuccino in Italy) and the croissants served at breakfast are the pre-baked ones not the fresh italian ones.

    Our 2nd stay at the hotel and surely not the last. Location is excellent for sightseeing, dining etc. Hotel’s cleanliness is also a bonus. One should note that the staff make all the difference, they go out of their way to offer a great service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Great location, hotel and staff. Forget the rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant / bar is a whole other thing. Staff not so friendly and disorganized. We stayed 5 nights, had cocktails every night and you would think they would of remembered us. Same location where we sat, same drinks . My impression is that they could care less, had to flag them down as they passed by to order a drink. The best was one night we decided to have dinner there, we were asked if we had a reservation, no we did not. Maybe three tables were occupied, the restaurant empty. They said they were full, but if we wanted to come back in a hour, we could be seated. UMMM, right in 1 hour your going to have all the tables filled, serve and have them out, so we can be able to have dinner.Not unless they are all ordering a bread stick, is that going to happen. We never returned.

    The front desk extremely friendly and helpful. Also the staff for breakfast were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the toilet would run forever if you didn’t flush properly. The shower would leak if you weren’t super careful. I need hair conditioner too :)

    Super central but quiet thanks to perfect double glazing, amazing breakfast, very nice decoration, very welcoming staff, premium Ortigia shower products.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    great location to stay...great breakfast !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    great hospitality by the front desk personnel , very friendly and helpful ... need to have more information related to tours in the vicinity of Siracusa .....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    There was very little to not like the location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is nit picking but the water in the shower was sometimes lacking in pressure BUT it is the historical centre if a city that’s been here for over 2000 years so perfectly acceptable

    There was very little to not like the location is perfect. The staff excellent and the hotel has a lovely ambience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use an upgrade. Flat pillows and uncomfortable mattress.

    Great location and lovely common areas. Charming breakfast in Piazza. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Massively overpriced but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room was extremely basic and bed was very uncomfortable - no actual facilities - air conditioning did not work - some staff not as professional as you would expect from a 4* hotel - doesn't deserve 4* - I feel like I paid £90 a night for breakfast... not sure where my money went - walls extremely thin, could hear all of surrounding rooms conversations - shower was a tiny box and the doors kept opening

    - breakfast was superb - location second to none, all Ortigia has to see was within a 15 minute walk, if that - check-in and check-out easy - most staff good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Would thoroughly recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities of the hotel and the room were beautifully thought out

    The hotel was in the most perfect position for exploring a beautiful and interest part of Siracusa. The hotel itself was beautiful and the breakfast is extremely good. The staff are both friendly and very helpful. Can't wait to go again.t

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Have stayed at this hotel before and will again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is not good. It is a pod shower stall with not enough room which means the bathroom gets very wet. The bed is harder than I’m used to but that didn’t deflect from our stay.

    Fabulous location right in the centre near the Duomo, restaurants, bars and piazzas. The staff are wonderfully helpful and efficient. Lovely restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is in a very good location, in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a very good location, in the heart of Ortygia and right next to the Duomo di Siracusa. A lot of shops and good restaurants nearby. Our duplex room was spacious and very neat. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were a bit disappointing and not in keeping with the other high standards in the hotel. The quality of the food was not great and it all seemed a bit processed.

    Great location. We were made very welcome by the reception staff who really helped us get our car through the very busy pedestrianised road that led up to the hotel!! All staff were excellent. Hotel was clean and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything in the hotel, but recommend to take a taxi from the bus station, we walked and took as almost half an hour.

    This is a beautiful charming hotel in a great location in the heart of Ortigia.The rooms were spacious, the breakfast excellent , you can eat outside right on the Piazza if you wish. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially in the reception area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Very pleasant 3 night stay, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely central location, very friendly staff, great breakfasts, good lunches. Single room was nicely furnished with lovely bathroom, balcony with a view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Perfect setting, facilities and whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the breakfast selection: glass pots of Kyr, fresh fruits including pineapple, melon, peaches and strawberries; yoghourt, pistachios, walnuts, individually wrapped dolce and Sicilian cannoli, cold meats and cheeses, eggs, assortment of bread, cereals, speciality teas and coffees. Eat within a beautifully decorated setting or sit outside in the square. Everything about this hotel is tasteful and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location of Ortigia, clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at the hotel was expensive at 25 euros/ night. Other public parking not easy to get to!

    Lovely location of Ortigia, clean and comfortable hotel. Breakfast was excellent, with very nice servers. Reception staff very helpful with many inquiries. Room was comfortable size and nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A delight in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was superb. There was no seaview but that did not matter because you could see the Piazza Duomo and the fine architecture. The location was excellent to easily walk around Ortigia and Syracuse. Ambience was brilliant and the evenings were great for walking around especially after having dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    2.5
    Do not say here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting charged £400 for quite frankly appalling service

    We checked in and having picked the hotel for the location and restaurant inhouse and were told the restaurant was shut (it was 6pm) having a 1 year old baby we needed some milk. We were told the restaurant was shut and we would have to go to the coffee shop next door ourselves to get it. Parking service we were charged for meant parking and picking up the car ourselves.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Good, not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single occupancy room was extremely tiny, especially for the price you are paying. Staff could have been more helpful.

    Location was beyond excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Location fantastic with great view along Piazza Minerva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked alarm call for departure morning but didn’t get one. Luckily we used mobile phone alarm as backup.

    Location fantastic with great view along Piazza Minerva. Room quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    good location, very good staff, large and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They subcontract the bar and catering, looks very nice but has a few downsides. There is no real bar and you can't charge items to your room. Bizarrely for Italy the coffee was poor. The other oddity is that the lift feels like its on a bungee , most disconcerting to bounce up and down by 6 inches. They say Schindler say its ok, but I 've never experienced anything like it.

    good location, very good staff, large and clean room. We would stay again. Generally lovely with a couple of small quirks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    A great stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is an nightmare, but understandable given the location of the hotel in a pedestrian precinct in the center of the old city. Communal area is a bit sparse and unwelcoming.

    Location is outstanding, and the hotel itself is an excellent restoration of an old Syracuse building. The staff is excellent and the breakfast is particularly good with fresh fruits, juices, yogurt, breads and pastries. Rooms are very comfortable and surprisingly quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    It was such a nice hotel and location with great staff that I stayed an extra night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC did not work in my first room but the moved and upgraded me to fix the issue.

    Great location. Staff came up with good solutions to problems. The most polite staff I met during my time in Italy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    enjoyable,busy, fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/a

    The hotel was a bit shabby and clearly a lovely building which would cost a lot to renovate. It had style . Staff were very helpful and friendly. The position was great too. The traffic in Palermo is terrifying, especially at the start!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls a bit thin - felt like I was part of the phone call in next room.

    Perfect location with great breakfast outside on the Duomo Piazza. Very helpful front staff. Complementary bikes. Guest computer in lobby. Room had French doors open to the outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    perfectly situated around the corner from the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was so-so. The orange juice had run out and was not refilled, the same for toast bread, No scrambled eggs, but croissants and pastries were very good. Room towards the courtyard less charming than to the street.

    perfectly situated around the corner from the beautiful Cathedral square. Small comfortable rooms. We were happy to have a room with a balcony looking out on the pedestrian street. Very friendly and helpful staff let us check in before time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Location in the centre of Ortigia with a restaurant looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not well lit. Oddly on two floors and the wardrobe was upstairs so we did not unpack. Their were no mirrors other than in the bathroom. The shower was feeble and not very hot. A few of the electric sockets did not work. The toilet flush was intermittent. There was no tea or coffee making facility in room

    Location in the centre of Ortigia with a restaurant looking st the Duomo

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Romantic stay, lovely hotel, perfect location, unique historical town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dislikes.

    Beautiful hotel, perfect location, excellent staff with good restaurant recommendations. Very walk-able historical town with great restaurants and cafes. Would return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay, we'll surely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Certain aspects such as some of the bathrooms and lift need upgrading. Also, it would be helpful for provide extra toiletries. The coffee served during breakfast does not do justice to Italy. Otherwise cannot fault anything

    The hotel's location cannot be better. It is in the middle of all the action. Plenty of good restaurants and bars. Shopping and plenty of sightseeing in the vicinity. Staff are also very helpful. Nothing is too much bother for them. The service offered by the taxi company recommended by the hotel is of high standard. Breakfast produce is of good quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel staff was great at making recommendations to hit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are too small.

    The hotel staff was great at making recommendations to hit the cool local spots. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms adequate size but the single beds are super small. Location is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.4
    The location is fantastic but overpriced &uncharming. Needs to be fluffed up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs on beautiful terrace uncomfortable. Reception area not very welcoming, staff reserved borderline unfriendly. The rooms are uncharming, super basic, no accessories, no lovely details.

    Downstairs the common rooms have flair and the terrace is beautiful. The location is fantastic, outside facade beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    We would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly. Our room was small but lovely and clean with a balcony and beautiful street view. Also they provided a very good breakfast. Excellent location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    A memorable stay. We will surely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift was a bit too slow. Some of the rooms might need some upgrading (mainly the bathrooms). Coffee (Espresso & cappuccino) served during breakfast was not of good quality (everything else was up to standard).

    Hotel is centrally location with excellent restaurant and shops in the vicinity. Staff were extremely helpful both prior and during stay. Taxi/transfer service booked through hotel was very efficient. Both rooms and common areas are kept clean. A good selection offered at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place great loacation great staff...loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not bad but can be improved. Large number of choices- scrambled egg, croissant, fruits, cheese, etc but somehow the taste was missing. Cappuccino was aweful!

    Staff is very friendly very helpful. Historic / Medieval look and feel of the hotel, duplex room, service quality. We reached at 8:30am and they gave us the room! My family loved this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel and restaurant - great friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved all of it.

    This hotel is right on via Minerva just off the main piazza - excellent spot. The restaurant terrace is absolutely lovely and very romantic. Food here is very good. Breakfast is also served on the terrace and it really is excellent - lots of choice and high quality produce. Our room was large and overlooked the piazza. All of Ortigia is walkable - there is a bus service to Syracuse (not far) to visit the archaeology park ( very good ) and museum ( excellent). We rented a car from Catania via hertz and that was also very straightforward and an easy drive to Ortigia.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay at the Antico Hotel Roma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a wonderful stay at the Antico Hotel Roma. The staff were extremely helpful & warm. We found the room to be clean and comfortable and the location was perfect and the breakfast was the nicest and most varied we experienced while staying in Sicily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice but could be a lot better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and facilities in room like no tea or coffee facilities

    For a 4 star hotel it's quite basic , lovely breakfast area outside and friendly staff but the rooms are more 3 star Parking in ortigia is a nightmare..!! Booking.com tells you parking is available at hotel but doesn't tell you it's €20 per night ortigia is a beautiful place to visit but not very good for a base as getting in and out and parking is very difficult..!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    awesome time in Ortygia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel has a perfect location. It is at the heart of Ortigya which gives access to all monuments with a short walking distance. The breakfast on the terrace was incredible. The room was very cosy and comfy. Value for money was ok. I will undoubtedly go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Characterful and friendly hotel at the very heart of Ortigia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We both have arthritis, so the lack of a lift in our part of the hotel was a shame at the end of hard day's exploration of Ortigia. But I would not regard that as a serious criticism.

    The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was excellent, and the location could hardly have been bettered. Our room was characterful with two rooms separated by a set of stairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Highly recommend staying in Ortigia and this hotel in center of this beautiful island- located at the exquisite Duomo piazza. The hotel staff was more than welcoming and accomodating, helping us get the car safely parked as you really cannot drive around the island. The household staff was absolutely dear. The breakfast sensational. Our room was huge, very comfortable and bathroom of decent size. I would stay here again without even thinking about it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, excellent location but tricky by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for walking around Ortigia,, but that also means driving to hotel through incredibly narrow street normally pedestrian only. Thankfully hotel provides good instructions for getting to hotel, and a valet parking service. Hotel is excellent and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.0
    Hotel does not fulfill reservation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have balcony and expected size and almost no hot water. This ruined our stay in beautiful Syracuse

    I booked a superior room with balcony. The room was given to italian guest. To avoid litigation the hotel cancelled our reservation and booked for a cheaper price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Highly recommend. Really just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect really. Nothing to complain about

    Excellent service. Large room with French balcony. Clean. Fresh towels bathrobes shampoos etc. great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was good, lots of fresh fruit I am vegetarian so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Safe was difficult to reach and did not work every time meaning that as an older person I had to kneel on the floor to access it.

    Breakfast was good, lots of fresh fruit I am vegetarian so this was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Very good location, great breakfast on the terrace, problem with parking in hotel&town.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking - very big problem to park, only for few small cars (Panda, Mini,small Fiat). View from the room.

    Breakfast on the terrace, choice and quality!! Top.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in the heart of Ortygia, Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were so friendly and helpful with information and dealing with a problem of ours. All the staff we met were cheerful and gave good service. An excellent breakfast was provided with cold meats, cheese, fruit, cereals and pastries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.1
    The location, building interior and exterior are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff (perhaps with two exceptions) were disinterested and the breakfast was terrible.

    The location, building interior and exterior are beautiful. Our room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic location, very comfortable hotel, excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, all good.

    It was a little tricky navigating the narrow roads in Ortigia to reach the hotel but the staff were very helpful in helping us to park the car when we arrived. In fact, the staff were very friendly throughout our stay, even when I made a mistake ordering room service breakfast when I intended to eat in the restaurant! The food was excellent and we had the best dinner of our holiday here (even including the Michelin-starred restaurant we went to!). Fantastic location practically next door to the cathedral. Room very comfortable and I loved having a balcony overlooking the buzzy square. First-class hotel and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Perfect hotel and perfect location in the middle of Ortigya - Close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything!

    Stayed here after a 5 hour flight and 1.5 hour drive from Catania and arriving in this hotel made us forget that we were tired. The person in the front desk was waiting for us outside and took care of parking our car even though it is almost impossible to park in Ortigya, we were so thankful! The room and bathroom were great. In the morning when we saw the breakfast area outside the hotel and full buffet we could not believe that we were in such a beautiful city in the perfect hotel. Everything is at walking distance from the hotel. We loved it. On top of this they offer free bikes for you to move around. Perfect stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, at least on the evening I arrived, was inadequate for the number of people waiting to check in.

    Convenient location. Aesthetics of building on first appearance. Nice breakfast on outdoor terrace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location in the heart of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although Reception staff helpfully arranged for us to have a very late check out - which we fully expected to pay for- there was only 1 hour free late check out mentioned not the 2 which we thought we'd get before the charged time kicked in.

    Excellent breakfasts with great variety. Good sized room with balcony was very comfortable. Had lunches at the hotel and they were high standard too. Even though the room overlooked a busy pedestrian area it was wonderfully quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Gorgeous place and great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location, great hotel, wonderful helpful staff. We really appreciated advance email on how to find the hotel (by car) and the valet parking. Enjoyed both breakfast and lunch in the restaurant- very good food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Location is incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is incredible!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great. Monzu is the best restaurant in siracusa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    generally good-cannot recommend for people phisically limite4d
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    had to walk up 34 steps to the room-no elevators

    the atmosphere and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Nice rooms, good facilities, very nice staff, location in a beautiful area of Ortigia.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Can’t go wrong staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    Great location, Great Staff, i will be back. Vegetarian/Vegan friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.5
    Cosy, clean perfectly located.wonderful staff always ready help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was perfect and they even provided little beds and plates for our dogs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location, good size rooms, great food at adjoining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were quite hard. Not really a balcony as stated.

    Fabulous location, good size rooms, great food at adjoining restaurant, excellent service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding desk and customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding desk and customer service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very comfortable

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    The staff was awesome...we got our car stuck in the Piazza and they ran over to rescue us immediatly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically it was the food

    The food was lacking but the service was awesome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Toilet hard to flush, heating barely working.

    Great staff, great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Unique hotel with wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is unique and the room was comfortable. Our breakfast was excellent, and the staff made us feel special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and leaking shower but easily mopped up

    Central location and beautiful building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Perfect accommodations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room and great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel with excellent staff in a brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Great breakfasts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay in center of Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    A charming hotel, with very helpful staff, in a fine city centre location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing important

    everything from the warm welcome, the fine central location, to breakfast outdoors in the best spot in the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    A Good Stay at are Reconditioned Palasso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was just fine.

    Our room was very pleasant. Staff was helpful about parking car. Location in the old part of te city was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    toilet wouldn't flush

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyed it but hotel needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated, didn't feel like four star hotel. Breakfast all self service and very average with poor cappuccino.

    Location good, nice area.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Antico Hotel Roma 1880 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: