Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romano Palace Luxury Hotel 5 stars

Viale Kennedy 28, 95121 Catania, Italy

#49 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 763 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't that good, they could add some salad or few different things. Not impressive at all, for that kind of hotel.

    The hotel is amazing, we are satisfied with almost everything. The room is big and we had room cleanings sometimes 2 times per day. Our balcony was really big and we had really nice outside view. The poll area is great, much better then private beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the night quite busy. I did not like the coffee at breakfast.

    Already my fourth stay. The facilities are remarkable, the staff is amazing and the new garden bar spectacular. All clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds were beautiful. So many areas to relax, including a nice swimming pool. The food at the restaurant was very good as well. Staff was extremely helpful! Location is good if you want to be near the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But old fashioned and dated interior. Small room. Beware of very expensive taxi ride to the airport - 30 euro for a 7 minutes drive is a rip off

    Just a good bed and Swimmingpool for when you have an early flight next day. There is a restaurant on site which is fine but there is also one across the street with great fresh seafood & pizza’s.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge rat on balcony. Staff did nothing. Dirty, smelly small rooms. Terrible staff. Not helpful. Sent me on a tour in shorts and espadrilles to the volcano and didn’t inform me it was an expedition tour. Expensive for nothing. 8 euro to send up ice and tonic water. They tried to charge 70 euro for ice. Gross shabby poor decor. It’s an absolute dump. Not 5 Star. At very best a 2.5. Couldn’t wait to leave that garbage heap.

    I didn’t like a single thing. It was an awful establishment from top to bottom. One of the worst hotels I’ve stayed in in over 73 countries of travel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 Star???? Not in the slightest - poorly marketed, not clean, was kept awake all night to the snoring of guest in room above!

    Nothing - felt like I was in bad bad movie

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room without any maintenance. Room not cleaned perfectly: tea not changed, spoon left dirty... Beach close but not private and really dirty... (not the Romano’s fault but it’s a pity...)

    Room with Etna’s view. Breakfast perfect. Parking. Swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No paper napkins in the room, towels not best quality, internet in the room not stable, poor monibar, hair in the bathroom, wadrobe poor quality, dirty mirror, amenities only on request, warning message “if we find pillow missing xxx eur penalty etc”, breakfast selection average. Only one shuttle to city center per day.

    Good staff, good food in the restraunt, good territory and views, good pool. Room ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m a slightly run down area, although it was pre season and it seemed work had started to get ready for summer. The hotel was nice but a little tired.

    Friendly staff, interesting decor, nice pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is definitely not recommendable. No Shuttle to airport or to the town. Beach so dirty and full of trash, if you like walking a gauntlet dodging trash along the way, Catania beach is the ideal destination. Hotel is overrated for what it is.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. It is a five star hotel that is just wonderful. I would recommend this to anyone. Very close to the airport. Don't worry about the street it is on for it is like it everywhere. Just more than we expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not sure where to begin. The toilet ran all the time so made noise. The heating was stuck at 24c. The kitchen was below the room and the staff move tables and make noise until 2am then start again very early, I did complain but was never offered a new room. Over all the hotel is very shabby and in need of major renovation. Cracked glass and tiles, very low water pressure, bed was ok but room is very small for a superior, I was given this upgrade but i dread to think what a standard room is like. To top it all off I came down with food poisoning after breakfast one day. It was the only thing I had eaten so not too had to conclude where it came from. I did complain but nothing was offered or done. At checkout I complained again and was offered 18 euros off my bill for the food poisoning. These guys are having a laugh.

    The pool looks nice, One of the waiters Mario was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is well past its sell-buy date and remote from any live what so ever. The decor and furniture bizarre and the place well in need of a make over or a decent redecorating. Even the touch up has been done badly.

    The young staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a re lift, old style. I could hear my neighbors in the room talking, and most annoying was that it was like rain sound, when upstairs they had showers in the morning... very poor insulation. A five star hotel should have a free shuttle to take you to down town city and to airport.

    The staff members were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room TV was not working, one of the lamps too. It was a leakage in the bathroom under the toilet, toilet button for a small flush was broken, the paint was cracked in corners of shower tray, air conditioning was noisy. For the price and advertising as 4* hotel they should keep more care about those things, even it is off season, or give a better price.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi connection was good. Location closed to the beach. Nice balcony and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was ok, not perfect. Restaurant was expencive.

    Location is perfect if you want to travel around. Great bed. Parking place is big enough. Not a big hetel, so you allways feel welcome there. The stuff was kind. Not many people by the breakfast. :D

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very far down in the corridors and, given the fact that we arrived late in the evening, we would have appreciated it had it been closer to reception.

    The hotel had all the comforts that we needed and it was located close to the airport which made it easier for us to take our early morning flight.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were without running water in the bathroom on our first morning. The shower screen on the bath leaked water underneath causing a significant pool of water on the floor.

    The external grounds and swimming pool were lovely and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just look at the pictures. Is this really a five star hotel standard? Having seen some proper European 5* hotels, even in Italy, I dare to say that Romano Palace is NOT one of them. The bed duvet was mended with sticky tape! There was dust on the bed, dirt on the walls, holes in the walls. The fan above the bath tub was not working, paint on the walls really needs refreshing. The room was full of mosquitos when we arrived, some moments later we have also discovered ants on the floor. All this in a "superior" room, which we got upgraded to (thanks to a friendly person at the reception). I don't even want to know how the "standard" room looks like. Breakfast also far from ideal, no vegetables at all, dull coffee (unless you ask for a proper one), hardly no choice of breads or rolls, poor choice of meats. Honestly, I've seen far better 4* stars in Italy than this, so called "5*L" hotel. Dear owners: Try harder or stop fooling people.

    Good and secure parking, easy access to the airport. Decent size TV in the room. That's pretty much it...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of garbage on the beach. Such a pity! For me it was not clear we could get beach chairs for free. So I had to pay € 10 for a rented chair. Restaurant opposite the road was HORRIBLE. Ugly and we had an untasty dinner. My girlfriend got sick. Be careful when you cross the road. Drivers drive like crazy. And the planes make a lot of noise of course. Rooms have no real view because I looked at trees and benches.

    Nice polite staff and receptionists. Very helpfull and fast and also cutomized to our needs. Good clean room. Well maintained. Nice small forest behind the hotel. Beach on the other side of the road. Dinner in the restaurant is really delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a bit of work The shower was leaking etc. The rooms have a patio or balcony but most of them don't have any view. You can see just plants and trees. Good if you like privacy. The location is terrible. The beach is full of garbage and plastic and you can hear the planes. There is just 1 restaurant in the neighbourhood which is terrible. Don't go there! The 'kotze' made me sick.

    It used to be a 5 star hotel. Now it needs to be fixed up a bit but it is still a beautiful building. And the very cold pool is fine too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not functioning. There was no water until the early morning. Couldn't take a shower. Surprised there eas no airport shuttle. The taxi was very expensive. We

    running trail

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel public areas and my room were in poor, unmaintained condition. The doorknob nearly fell off every time I touched it, and the lock was difficult to set. I did not feel secure at this property. Also, the parking was very inaccessible and distant from my room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated and would benefit from a refresh or even full renovation. It is not a 5* star hotel; more like a superior 3* or inferior 4* No shuttle service from airport.

    Quirky Moroccan style hotel with friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a special hotel with special feeling, location and premises, super high standards off staff, sommelier, restaurants and bars. Definitely strongly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a luxury hotel but the bar and restaurant are luxury prices we stayed in better in the center earlier in the month

    Handy for the airport and the parking, the staff are very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Limited opportunities for eating nearby. The location of the hotel is outside the main centre of Catania. Restaurants in the hotel were good quality although I thought them pricey. I was given a room in a quiet area of the hotel (ie not near the pool) which I appreciated, but there was no view from my patio due to the shrubs/trees around it.

    Breakfasts were excellent. Hotel is extremely comfortable and staff very helpful and friendly. Very clean room. Free bus into the centre of Catania was useful (although limited in timing - basically only 10.30am or 5pm). Voucher for nearby Lido was good. I was there to relax....and relax, I did!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many mosquitoes inside the room. On the day of arrival the bath tube has some hair and sand into the bed. Too noisy due to the kitchen trolleys on the ground level. Far from the city center without good public transport options.

    Hotel looks very nice, the staff is friendly, parking is fine. The breakfast was very good. The beach is 2 min walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a welcome drink on our arrival. There wasn't a complimentary bottle of water in the room. ( I have extensive travel and some hotels give a complimentary bottle of wine) no towel robes or slippers. No tea/ coffee making facilities in room. Hotel looks a bit shabby in places. Paint coming off in areas. Needs redecorating. Breakfast is self serve continental with bacon and sausages. No omelette / egg bar... had to pay extra for this. Drinks are very expensive, however the snacks that are served with it sort of compensate. Staff could have been a bit more attentive... had to ask where the breakfast restaurant was as they did not point that out to us on arrival. Sounds quite petty but if other 5 star hotels can do this then it's what I expect.

    The pool was beautiful. Lovely sun loungers with towels and cushions for comfort. The gardens were well kept.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is too bad the excellent staff has to work in a run-down hotel. It is billed at 5 star, but is closer to three in terms of the condition of the building (e.g broken window, broken door handle to room, worn carpets, etc.)

    The staff was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noisy in the rooms, you can hear next door's TV far too easily. The staff also kept switching off the air conditioning when it was till 33C in the day and 25 or so at night. It took me a while to realise that you had to call the front desk to get it turned back on again. Restaurant expensive a rather limited menu. Pizza bar waiter was not really interested in serving us. Breakfast was way too expensive for what it was.

    Nice, friendly staff. Close to the airport. Nice pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to walk a long way down hallways and up another level for breakfast. It would have been nice in the main level. Bathroom was much too small. Hotel isn't convenient if you want to spend time in Central Catania near the Duomo. You need a car or taxi.

    Friendly front desk staff. Nice patiio off our room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was rather deep.

    There was a small playground behind the hotel which was great. The grounds of the hotel were lovely. The private beach was great, like a club!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned hotel and needs updating. Taxis to and from the airport are very expensive - £32 euros one way! Not recommended to walk to and from Catania, so more expensive taxis.

    Great location for the airport. Very good breakfast. Catania is a great place to spend an evening - vibrant and great food. Nice pool and free access to the local lido.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was not my cup of tea. I understood the other reviewer who said it was Egypt all-inclusive and not really 5 star.

    The staff were lovely. The rooms were fine. The Arabic theme was not toally to my taste indoors, but the dining and bar area was very nice in the evening. The restaurant food was unexpectedly outstanding! The perfect place to overnight close to the airport. Very easy with kids. Plenty of space to run around outside. Nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner was quite expensive even though the quality of the food was amazing. The extractor of the bathroom does not seem to be working.

    The atmosphere of the hotel was amazing. Loved every bit of it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trees in front of the bedroom window. Also the toiletries need to be replenished daily. This did not happen

    Nice friendly atmosphere.Comfortable beds. Lovely beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed all aspects of the hotel!

    A unique hotel with lots of character. Everything was about luxury and comfort! Lots of shady spots and ultra comfy sofas just when you need them. Fabulous professional staff who aim to make your stay amazing! Short distance from Catania - hotel courtesy busy or public bus for €1! Catania lovely Sicilian town lots of squares and fountains plus restaurants and bars! We would readily book Hotel Romana Palace again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every bar and restaurant are really expensive. It's stupid because we wanted to order drink and every think in the hotel but in the end we didn't because it was too much expensive. The music in the pool is also not nice and every day the same one . We had the balcony near to the pool and the music were always on the balcony:(

    I have been there 1 week the room was perfect and the balcon too. This hotel is perfect if you want relax time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took a taxi from the airport which was approximately 6kms. The journey cost 30euros which I thought was extortionate. On arrival at the hotel there was a member of staff taking luggage who I asked to confirm what a taxi journey should cost. He looked at the taxi driver then to me and said that 30euros was reasonable and that as it was peak season I should expect to pay more! I was not impressed and would expect hotel staff to be more professional. I later found out that the hotel shuttle service was 20euros - whilst expensive for the short journey it was still a 10euro difference.

    The staff by the pool were very attentive. The main restaurant was far better than expected and the food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    ~Poor location: out of Catonia and the fixed fare taxi cost is 20 euros for each trip. ~Staff attitude a bit unfriendly at reception and breakfast room (some exceptions who were helpful) ~No airport shuttle despite this hotel being near the airport and many people were 'in transit' for one night (like us)

    Good size bed-room. Good wi-fi. Nice Pizza restaurant and outdoor bar but not many customers. Nice gardens / outdoor areas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't work, we complained about it as soon as we checked in and we called at least 4 times to reception to check it as it wasn't working and it was so humid in the room. We checked in mid afternoon and it wasn't until 10:30pm at night when they offered to move us to another room - we were already in bed with our pajamas on and our things unpacked in the room, they should have offered earlier. The floors in the room were not clean, as soon as I removed my shoes I could feel dirt on the floor of the room and my feet were black from walking on the floors.

    Close proximity to the airport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested an upper floor room but was given a ground floor one, which as a woman on my own is less secure.

    The people at reception were very helpful with tours. The restaurant and staff there were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying here in the summer is great because the outside facilities are comfortable and well serviced...the pool, bar, pizzeria and restaurant. You don't really need to leave. And the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is near all the lidos so is not in the centre of town, but that is why we chose it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing around the hotel and a very unattractive walk to Catania however they do offer a lift twice a day

    It has beautiful grounds and the breakfast was excellent and the rooms with the balcony were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service left a lot to be desired. We were out all day came back at night and ordered room service, we tried to order three items on the menu only to be told they didnt have the ordered item, conderi g the menu is not that great. The shower we had, we had to step into a bath, which is not ideal for older people. We were a couple, the bedroom was a queen yet we only had one towel, i had too keep asking fir two towels for two days, not goid enough.

    Overall the Hotel was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The only minus this hotel has is the location. However it is difficult to get everything in one package i.e. hotel with swimming pool, beach and be inside town! We chose to stay at Romano Palace because it is close to the beach (just across the street) and has a fantastic swimming pool. The hotel does provide rides into town twice a day (at 10:30 and 17:00) and they also provide rides to another nearby beach (which is more of a party beach with many restaurants and bars). We rented a car for a few days and we certainly would recommend to do so.

    We had our reservations about staying at Romano Palace as we saw very mixed reviews about it. However we had a great stay at this hotel. The swimming pool is fantastic, very clean, nice sun beds and towels provided. Very polite and helpful staff. Comfortable and clean room. The hotel has two restaurants and both are nice. Would gladly stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private beach wasn't really for us but it was nice to have that option.

    We loved the convenient location for the airport, the super friendly staff (esp Alfredo), the great cocktail bar, lovely pool and incredible bath in our room!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired in parts, expensive taxi service to the airport. There was an 18th birthday party on the night we stayed and so a group of young lads (only one of which was staying in the hotel) descended on the pool in the afternoon. Loud, noisy and half of them were swimming in boxer shorts as opposed to swimming gear. Most people left from around the pool after this. The hotel should have dealt with this far better. Definitely not 5star.

    Beautiful room, comfy bed with silk sheets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The room was described as having a patio and balcony both of which were a gross exaggeration. The patio did not exist. The balcony which would be difficult to provide as the room was at ground level was a sheet of glass immediately next to a pair of glass doors direct from the room. The outlook was direct into trees which were under a meter away from the glass doors so it felt like we were in a jungle. This was a great shame as the other side of the jungle would have been a good view of the pool. 2. When ordering a drink in the main bar you had to speak with the attendant who then called a bar man who seemed to be working in the adjacent club. Little wonder the bar was empty as it looked like it was unattended indicating a staffing issue (in high season - really!!??). The drinks were expensive compared with other hotels visited on our trip. 3. Hotel finishes looked tired (1990's?), dark and in need of an uplift 4. Bathrooms are badly laid out and short on space for a 6 star hotel 5. Reception staff seemed disinterested when asked for information - one receptionist could barely be bothered to even look up 6. Breakfast was average and not 6 star - a decent coffee machine might be one good investment

    swimming pool - pool bar was very efficiently organised

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not 5-star, maybe 4-star at maximum, bit price is very high for this quality In my room the toilet stopped to work on the 3rd day, but was fixed Furniture is simple and old, not for 5-star, in my room some lights has no shade of covers - open-wired electricity Breakfast is free buffet, 2-choices of hot dish only, like in small 3-stars Bathrooms are small and not very clean (bathtube with rusty points) Hot water unstable, regulator does not work Coctail menu without prices, and waiter have not told the correct price (it was bigger on the bill than he told)

    Convinient location near the airport Good swimming pool Shuttle buscto the beach, but always late Staff is friendly and caring

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault I found was a few extra shuttle services throughout the day would be better rather than just twice a day. The reason for my comment is that my sister is not very good on mobility and we paid for taxis back to the hotel.

    The bed was very comfy a really good nights sleep. The breakfast was excellent a wide variety of choices which was well presented and fresh. Plenty of staff around to help if needed. The hotel is set in beautifully kept gardens. Restaurant food excellent and very good service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was good at reception but poor in our room 258. Hotel has a free access with local beach club. This club was very mediocre, f.e. no beach chairs with parasol available for us. We went to another beach rental and paid separately.

    Very good restaurant with very professional waiters. Nice pool. Pleasant fauteuils and couches everywhere. Comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitos, customer service, lack of in-house water, tea/coffee making facilities, cleanliness, broken/lack of advertised facilities

    The hotel, a little outside the centre, is set in stunning grounds and on the face of it looks lovely. Although our check in was ok, for the rest of our 2 night stay, staff were disinterested and unengaged. We were told on arrival there was an issue with mosquitos due to all the foliage around the hotel but what an understatement - this place has a MAJOR problem!! We've been to many countries around the world and where mosquitos inevitably exist and you get the odd bite but you expect much more precautions to be taken especially when staying 5* such as burners and screens but all this place has is a flimsy net curtain and we woke up with the worst, terrible bites we could have ever imagined. My holiday wardrobe went out of the window for the rest of our holiday they were so bad - 3 weeks later I still have bad scars. When we were late checking out as my husband was treating my terrible bites, reception called and when he explained the reason was told "you have 20 minutes". Yes the building and grounds are stunning but in terms of being "luxury", I feel that the actual guest experience should be the judge of that and it did not feel like luxury as standards were poor; No robes in the room as advertised (perhaps that's picky but shows the lack of attention that was so evident), hairs in the bidet (not cleaned during our whole stay) and the sliding mirror wardrobe door was broken (this was pointed out on arrival and we were just told to be careful !!) Hairdryer & shower were poor standard and no shower gel. If just the basics had been met we could have been a little more forgiving but not even water in the room and charged €4 for a bottle we couldn't keep cool overnight and €30 for a bottle of house wine. We'd also expect to have in-room tea/coffee facilities to cover basic needs let alone 5* "luxury".

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could have been a bit more varied.

    Good location, within a walking distance to the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is nearby Catania, but still not a walking distance and not a nice road to walk. The area around the hotel is a bit shabby and the beach area is deserted, which I didn't expect. The only way to Catania is with a car or taxi, which costs 20 euro one way. The service in the restaurant is quite slow, certainly does not fit a five star hotel. I asked a waiter for drinks and he just forgot them. Another waiter just ignored us and many waiters say "I am coming" and then still it takes them several minutes before they come.

    Luxurious hotel with clean, comfortable rooms. The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere, there is a big swimming pool and another area to relax outside. Quality of the food (breakfast and restaurant) is very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dusty hotel and full of kitsch. Broken and old appliances in the bathroom and everywhere. Poor breakfast, not too many choices, as in a real 5 star hotel. We booked a suite that actually was composed by 2 regular rooms put together (so we got 2 keys for 2 entry doors), it was poorly illuminated and had a bad and strong chemical smell inside. We changed it for a regular room as they had no availability for smth similar, but at the end they charged as the fee for the suit and let us no room for negotiation.

    Nice garden and pool, but pool is not heated, so we couldn't swim, as it was still too cold end of April. Hotel is close to the beach. Shuttle available but only once per day: 10 am to the city and return at 5 pm back to the hotel. Otherwise, taxi trip expensive to the city, around 20 euros.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have a shuttle service to airport. Taxis charge flat rate of 20 euros- a bit steep given how close the hotel is. Room walls a bit thin. Decor a bit faded

    Location relative to airport is very handy Room was spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of checking our approximately 6am the receptionist Alfredo could not have been more rude when we queried the final bill and proceeded to charge to my credit card even as we protested and requested him not to do so.

    The bar was nice and the butler at time of check in was very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No local restaurants....the in house restaurant was good but very expensive. The beach area over the road is very run down and nowhere else close to eat.

    Close to the airport so easy to drive to the airport from here. Large room with terrace and clean. lovely grounds with a pleasant pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location awful out of season. Hotel a little dated. Varying taxi charges into town & airport. Busy road means walking very difficult

    Staff very friendly especially barman. Very clean. Quiet. Nice pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really 5* more like a 4* and the restaurant was lacking in ambience. Bathrooms a bit small and the hot water was temperamental. Rooms dark.

    The food in the restaurant was delicious!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor cleanliness and smell in corridors. Also room very humid.

    Needs refurbishing big time and definitely not my choice of hotel. Very worn out look especially in winter.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No idea for what 5 stands for. The hotel could be great 15years ago, but now it looks old. Equipment in the room on the level of 3 stars. Fruity smell in the rooms makes headache. Breakfast very poor. For omelette, salmon etc you need to pay extra.

    Swimming pool zone looks nice. The balcony had a nice view on the swimming pool and garden.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices are quite luxury. I denied the breakfast (did not look good) and also the drinks at the bar are too expensive (8 € a glas of wine and offered nuts are extra paid)

    A little bit outside near the beach and the airport. The ambience is quite nice to relaxe after a hard day. The bedroom is very comfortable, very friendly staff and good cleaness. Overall a good choice and peacefull harbour for one or two nights. It was also my second stay within Romano Palace.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little itchy being next to a mosquito-infested lake and it is troubling that no food (apart from a sandwich) can be served before 7pm, a problem with young kids

    Staff, comfort and surroundings were amazing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advertising on having a shuttle to the airport. I had to take a cab 5am with my 15 months baby

    I had booked at romano palace because It showed you had a shutlle service to the airport and for my surprise when I was checking in I was informed that no shuttle service was available anymore and I mentioned that It was written on here and they said Oh that is old But we can call u a taxi Also I was given room 219 but the tv wasnt working at all so I complained and they gave me room 103 which the tv suddenly stopped working So I called for assistance And after re programming the channels Kida channel weren't available so my son could not watch a thing It was disappointing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No direct access to beach. Swimming pool closed after 7 pm and before 10.00 am so no chance of a swim before an early flight or after a late one. Very distinctive decor may not be to everyone's taste. Nowhere to eat except for their restaurant: food good but limited choice and over-priced.

    Very good location for access to Catania airport. Large shady grounds. Ample valet parking. Very nice hors d'oeuvres with drinks in bar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We scheduled to pay for a late check-out when we checked-in and they forgot and called us to check-out, which woke us up. We also left Saturday morning for 5 hours and came back and the room still wasn't cleaned, so we ended up not getting room service over the 2 days.

    It had an interesting design and the people were friendly. Plus the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very dated hotel, looks like the 70's, air-conditioning barely works, when we called, they could change the minimum tepurature setting from the front desk, but would only change it to a setting still too hot in my opinion. i don't understand why i can't decide how hot or cold i would like it in my room....staff not friendly at all, and why does the pool close at 7pm? the sun was still up, it's ridiculous.

    the grounds were beautiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel does NOT warrant a 5 star rating. The rooms are dark and no thought has been given to practicalities. A mirror that you would use to make up is placed directly opposite a window! Our room, (250) was situated directly under the marble floored breakfast room.Every morning from 06.45 it sounded like the furniture removers had arrived, as chairs scraped in and out above our heads. Some of the staff would acknowledge clients and others would totally ignore them.Some acknowledged one day and ignored the next.

    The gardens were beautiful and well kept, and location was perfect as a centre to see the eastern side of the island. For an early morning departure the hotel was well situated at 10 minutes from the airport. We were never aware that we were that close as it was a quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Absolutely fantastic layout architecturally. Beautiful walkways surrounded by exquisite plant life. Outdoor area for luxurious dining! Excellent room decor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    located on a industrial strip with abandoned factories near a deserted sad stretch of beach. the center of the city is a distant twenty minutes drive. you hear planes from the nearby airport all night, and can smell the kerosine in the air as soon you open the windows. sitting on the balcony means sitting above the parking lot. the room itself smells horrible due to artificial aroma diffusers. though we booked the room for two, there was only one set of towels. everything about this place is flaky and superficial. this place wants to look luxurious and expensive, but is cheap on all levels. this is the first time since i started using booking.com that the place didn't kept up with the information provided on the website. only go here (the hotel) if you have no where else to go and enough money to spent for the experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one negative, l to pay €5 to take a empty wine glass to my room, when I queried the price l was told it was for the service, even though I I went to the bar & took it to my room. l was not happy at all with this

    A beautiful hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was shut when we arrived (closes at 7pm).

    We wanted a hotel near the airport and it is great for that purpose. The location isn't good for visiting Catania but we didn't want it for that. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Romano Palace Luxury Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: