Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Silve di Armenzano 4 stars

Loc. Armenzano, 89, 06081 Assisi, Italy

#25 of 55 hotels in Assisi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 104 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absolutely no 4 star hotel! Where to start... Very, very outdated rooms and amenities, the small swimming pool closest to hotel was under renovation (months/year?) and for the large smimming pool you had to drive your car further up the hill for nearly 1 KM and nothing was offered or available there... no drinks, icecream or anything; you had to bring your own (nearest shop is 25 mins drive). Breakfast was ok, but you shouldn't have to make your own coffee or boil your own egg at a 4* hotel.

    Absolutely fabulous - very, very remote - location which offered fantastic views & scenery from every point - room, outdoor dining, the large swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our mistake we followed the GPS from Grubbio, and the ride up to hotel was harrowing. When we left we drove to Assisi and it was a much easier ride , with tar roads and easier to navigate.

    the views were stunning the rooms precious and comfortable. Loved everything about this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers outside our room early morning and late evening. No air-conditioning, so there was a choice of cigarette smoke with the window open or hot room with it closed. Same with the neighbors talking. Jets in bathtub covered in mold, so could not take a bath, only shower.

    Countryside location, Room decor, Large guestrooms, Views, Walking trails, swimming pools.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would like to have a hotel shuttle to train station and town of Assisi. room was warm in August. please provide a fan at least.

    staff was excellent. scenery was beautiful and quaint.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Although Le Silve is only 8km from Assisi access is via a very steep, narrow and twisty road. This adds to the charm but make sure your vehicle can handle it.

    Beautiful setting and tranquility. Loved the free roaming pigs. Staff very helpful and friendly. Restaurant serves very nice food and wine. This is a very picturesque and charming location. Everything is very clean and tidy. The larger top pool is very good. The smaller one near the main building will probably need a makeover soon but this just adds to the home from home feel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To tell you what we liked about this property would take pages. It's a magical beautiful place, the rooms are romantic, the views breathtaking and the staff is the best we have ever encountered and we travel quite a bit. We even cancelled a day trip to an Umbrian town just to spend the day enjoying the grounds. It's that good. Worth every mile to get there and then some.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be hard to find. Get clear directions from Assisi.

    Country setting with hiking opportunities, very quiet and peaceful, very charming restaurant great food by a roaring fire.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No spa is available, even if they stated it differently on Booking. Had we known there was no spa, we would have booked elsewhere. They have just two outdoor pools. When we first asked the guy at the reception, he said that there should have been some sort of misunderstanding and that they would correct this on Booking, but no correction has been made so far.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was out of action for us the first afternoon . The hotel is understaffed and rather grim . The garden is unkempt . The dinner and the menu was awful

    The bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is absolutely spectacular, and the buildings and grounds gorgeous. The food is outstanding, much of it (the meat, the jam, etc) having been raised on the property. It is excellently cooked. The staff, especially Barbara, were wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best place in Assisi. Nice view & perfect food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was closed (probably under construction)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to go to Assisi: it is a bit far out of town.

    Lovely property in excellent surroundings. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult and steep road to hotel, really needs a 4 x 4!

    Bed was very comfortable and location was superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should include more fresh fruit.

    Gorgeous views, excellent dinners, friendly staff, comfortable old world charms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The state of the access road.

    Restaurant food and wine excellent. Charming staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff. Incredibly nice and professional, especially the guys at the reception and Barbara from the Spa.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access could be an issue as Le Silve is 5-6 kms out of Assisi (2kms from Armanzero) up roads which are not the best but we took it as part of the adventure Once there it was worth the journey

    Fantastic facilities, staff, food and scenery, could not have been better

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative to report.

    We loved the location. We also enjoyed walking in the grounds. A bonus we didn't anticipate as we didn't realise the hotel had such extensive grounds.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is my fourth visit to Le Silve and it will not be my last. The place is simply magical from the location to the ambience to the people. Truly paradise.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Route finding from Assisi - our first approach - was relatively straightforward as we had parked at the "top" car park above Assisi and we were given simple directions from there. But beware, the little road goes on and on, and when you get to Armenzano there's still another ten minutes' driving, eventually on gravel tracks, to find the hotel. Route to and from Spello (well worth a visit) is also straightforward but the road is very rough in places and the ten miles or so takes half an hour. We also tried to get back to Armenzano from the other valley to the East (village of Valtopina) but this is not recommended if you don't have good satnav!

    Once you're there - the drive to it is not easy - you're on top of the world with superb distant views over surrounding wooded hills and pastures. So eating all meals outdoors (this is June) was very memorable. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Ahmed from Afghanistan.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi in our room was a bit weak.

    Amazing and helpful staff. Accommodated our gluten-free travel in style and went out of their way to copy a map for us. Even called us to make sure we were not lost when we did not arrive at the expected time. Breakfast is excellent. The grounds are beautiful and the fire in the lobby all day and night was a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely and peaceful location, huge grounds, proper farm nearby, lots things to do and explore with children

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2ND STAY AT LE SILVE, LIKED THE REMOTENESS( CAR REQUIRED), STAFF, DINNER AND LARGE ROOMS. RELAXING AND QUITE. BEAUTIFUL SURROUNDINGS.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was weak in room

    Beautiful, very quiet location

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the middle of now where but very beautiful so well worth it !

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff are very friendly and helpful.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: