Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Villa Monte Solare Wellness & Beauty

Via Montali 7 Colle San Paolo, 06070 Panicale, Italy

#2 of 11 hotels in Panicale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect!

    Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! We definitely recommend, lovely people, charming place, delicious homemade breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an absolutely beautiful hotel, in the middle of vineyards and olive trees, with two external swimming pools. The staff is lovely, we were upgraded for free to a larger room and they were always happy to help with any other question we had. The view on the hills is unbeatable. The onsite restaurant is very good although a bit pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location felt a little isolated to go out to eat at night but we managed just fine going to the nearest town.

    We loved everything about this fantastic hotel! Amazing staff who were so helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble & they went out of their way on a daily basis to make sure we were happy. Beautiful room with stunning view over the valley & olive groves - so lovely waking up to bird song every day. Fantastic bed, very spacious room & lovely facilities. Beautiful gardens and buildings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing i didnt like. There were wasps outside as you expect in the countryside so we ate indoors. The outdoor swimming pool had insects in it perhaps a net left for guests nearby to use would help. It didnt spoil appreciation of the countryside and complete silence

    The house and grounds were beautiful and the staff were all attentive and could not do enough for us. Really great service how things should be exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect place, amazing surrounding. Good start point for discovering both Umbria and Tuscany – impossible without car. Interior of the Villa is unbelievable – luxury complemented by a good taste. Rich breakfasts take place on the pleasant yard as well as awesome dinners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would like to stay for a month.

    We've stayed here before and looked forward to returning. We were not disappointed. Such a lovely, beautiful property and welcoming staff. Had a delicious spa day. Breakfast is a generous spread with many different choices. Dinner was elegant and yet a relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere. It's a good value for such a lovely property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We certainly had a great stay. Maybe air conditioning could be improved in the room we had - other than that everything was perfect.

    The place is beautifully located: you can spend the whole day just enjoying the views. The territory is huge, which is very convenient for walks. Staff is extremely helpful and does everything they can to make your experiece even better. Even though a continental breakfast is served (plus bacon and eggs), there is a wide selection of pies and pasties - you definitely want to try all of them. Some might think the swimming pool is cold - we found it refreshing: it's so pleasant on a hot day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit remote, you do need your own transportation. Although there are a lot of nice restaurants nearby (within 20 minutes drive). The road to the hotel is partially unpaved, although this isn't a long part it is quit annoying bouncing around in the car hoping not to get the tires punctured.

    Breakfast had plenty of choices: ham, egg, jams, Nutella, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, bread, croissants, cakes. Nice fruitjuices. The ambiance for breakfast is lovely as well. We had a superior room which was huge, but it didn't feel really cosy. The beds are quit hard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very polite, kind and friendly. The breakfast layout was charming, you could have been in a grand house rather than an anonymous hotel. The pools were lovely amidst the olive groves and vineyards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit hard to find, but it's probably my fault because I didn't read the directions provided by the hotel and decided to trust my very creative phone, resulting in some unexpected offroad driving.

    I stayed in about 20 different hotels during a month-long motorbike trip across Italy, and this was my absolute favorite. It's a patrician house turned relais in the hills close to Lake Trasimeno. I was expecting something along the lines of an agriturismo and found a small luxury hotel instead, with a very affordable price. The staff was friendly and obviously professional; the property has impressive rooms, and in all common areas the original décor is maintained. There is a spa and a large, well-maintained outdoors area. The restaurant is one notch above anything else I had in my trip. I will definitely go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We has a bargain deal but I would not go again. The pools are small and always busy, the wifi is totally sub-standard and tel. signal, and therefore 4G almost non-existent. The restaurant has good food but pricey for tiny portions. There is nowhere else to eat in a 10km radius. We only got one bottle of water per room for the entire stay. Overall it is not worth the effort to reach this remote place (also far for city visits), there were too many small issues.

    The domain is huge - mostly olive groves and vine, and the lanscape is beautiful. Our house was cute, rooms had a good size and good furnishings. Nice bathroom. The sraff were excellent, especially the care-taker who stayed late to fix our air-condition.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect stay in perfect location. The restaurant is fantastic, and while not the cheapest around, it is still good value. The staff are all excellent. The location is beautiful and peaceful, and the hotel is very stylishly done. I would not recommend staying without a car, however.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like. But reconsider if you cannot make the stairs which are quite steep. No elevators. A car is essential. The property is also old - so if you are after new and slick, you need to look elsewhere. Aged but with character.

    Wonderful location, high on a hill, with old olive plantations and views towards Lake Trasimeno. Very quiet location with no neighbours. I had a corner room on the third floor which overlooked the olive groves and the valley below. Absolutely no noise at night. Friendly staff. A pleasant garden where it is possible to drink prosecco, wine, as the evening comes in. Very nice food in the restaurant with good service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, facilities general price / quality much too expensive (both room as well as food and drinks) compared to other hotels and resorts in e.g. Tuscany in the same price category; and compared to other hotels we stayed in no attention to our honeymoon eventhough they were aware whilst other hotels made us feel extremely welcome including flowers and cards in the room. Advice; find other hotel (eg Relais Sasse al Sole in Tuscany) or book at low prices only

    The view and the diner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Portion of road en route to property that was unpaved.

    Great staff,friendly and courteous. Fantastic restaurant recommendations for Umbria. Beautiful country property with fantastic views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Romantic atmosphere, beautiful landscape, calm room with terrasse and table, restaurant and very professional sommelier! Would recommend this place for couple!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tennis court is well taken care of and in a beautiful setting but it's a bit too sandy and one shouldn't plan to play serious games.

    We liked everything - beautiful grounds, nice decoration that shows off the history of the place, extremely friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great room, but couldn't get it cooled enough. Lights shone too brightly in our room (4).

    Gorgeous and large room. Beautiful grounds, very friendly and accommodating staff. Jennifer, and the sommelier were great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very cheerful and helpful owner and staff. lovely clean and well appointed rooms. quiet central location. useful elevator access in building. generous breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather (it was raining....) but not their fault!!!

    The setting is incredible. I recommend taking the trekking route (1 hour approx). Ideal to relax and enjoy the views. Bkfast and dinner top notch. Average age was probably 65/70, so a very quiet and peaceful setting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint is, the bed and bed linens were not comfortable and seemed old and worn out.

    Loved the location in the countryside. Loved the views and the terraces and pool locations. The staff was charming and helpful. All around great place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    spa and restaurant services very poor. we tried to book a spa service after been told there was plenty of availability only to be told the option we choose required 24 hours notice ,fortunately we were staying another day but there is no mention of this in spa brochure or hotel literature.When we went for massage for a couple there was only one masseuse who preposed to do the massage 5mins on and 5mins off for my wife and myself which should give an indication of the quality of the spa Hotel says it as a vegetarian menu when it does not,and as vegetarians we were given very little choice.Finally the pools ,pool areas and loungers are very dated and in desperate need of an upgrade. I have written a full and honest review on trip advisor unfortunately the hotel management response was less honest.

    very clean and well maintained.with spacious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is peaceful, with beautiful gardens and views to enjoy walking through, I had the best massage ever. Appreciate the tasteful charm of the rooms . The staff are friendly and so helpful. It was the perfect way to finish my trip through Italy before the long flight home to N.Z . The restaurant food is outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some issues with the electrics and wifi. The room was rather like a cave. Driving off the property at night would be really hard. Despite a daily cleaning service the room was grubby and the shower really needed to be regrouped.

    The hotel is set in stunning countryside. The room was nice, but not as special as I was expecting. The food was excellent, and the sommelier, Emanuella, exceptional. In fact the people were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very helpful and welcoming staff. The property is breathtaking beautiful. Very good dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was inadequate.

    A VERY relaxing stay. Exactly what we wanted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more information on restaurant closing nights would have been useful.

    Small bath but perfectly good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    fantastic location, excellent food, Umbria's best kept secret!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is magnificent, excellent facilities, staff super friendly, the place itself - heaven, cleanliness - perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing stay with very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, great restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu needs to have more choice although food & service excellent

    Staff extremely friendly & helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our spacious room with tasteful decor. The garden and grounds were lovely and the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road to access the villa is not good during our stay.

    Very private and luxurious villa. Nice dinner menu and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquil, relax and comfortable! Sure to return to enjoy all facilities of spa, swimming and tennis! Great dinner experience as well!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, rooms tastefully decorated, food was excellent and the staff wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tennis court and the tuna fish on friday evening

    The suite was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Such relaxing surroundings,the staff,particularly the sommelier so friendly and helpful.Could not criticise anything.Really good breakfast with a vast choice.Fantastic vues.Have visited there twice now,and would go again.A car is essential.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi kept cutting out but when they explained that because it's a remote area and the signal isn't strong it made sense.

    The staff were truly wonderful, friendly and polite and the service was outstanding - nothing was too difficult for them. The food in the restaurant was creative and excellent quality. The area has lots of beautiful towns and countryside to explore.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I called them a couple of days after we left to inquire after clothes left in the room. They said they would check and call back the next day. It is now 5 days and I haven't heard from them yet. An email advising me of outcome would be helpful.

    Everything! Beautiful large rooms, fantastic service, delicious food, serene and relaxing atmosphere, perfect base to explore Umbria!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pools were too shallow and the floor was lumpy. No service at the swimming pool whatsoever.

    Wonderful location. Couldn't be bettered in that respect.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad.

    Lovely peaceful location with good views of the countryside. Hotel is split up into the main house and smaller residential units nearby. Two excellent pools. Very good food and wine with attentive staff. Would certainly revisit.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    After Casale MilleSoli cancelled our reservation, we found this great place for peace & quiet. It was more expensive, but worth it. Attention to detail, great staff, great food and facilities. Would definitely go back again.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Possibilities for lunch are very limited with a very small selection of dishes that can only be ordered until 2.30pm

    The location up the hill, embedded in a stunning landscape, is amazing. The staff is super friendly and helpful The rooms are beautifully furnished. The possibility of chosing between two pools is great, though one usually sticks to the one closer to your villa The pool is clean and at the right temperature

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The address detail on the booking confirmation email didn't work in sat nav

    Stunning location, great food, really excellent sommelier and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst breakfast was included in the terms it was poor that they charged for a boiled egg as extra yet you could have scrambled egg without an extra charge. Seems petty and spoils an otherwise excellent stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food wasn't cooked quite as well as last time but was still impressive and at a high level. The sommelier/wine waitress was a bit over-the-top in her manner (which we laughed about).

    Our second visit. Beautifully situated, quiet, with friendly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay was flawless. Nothing negative to report.

    The hotel was really memorable with the manner in which it was appointed and the other guests were lovely, and wonderful service and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Massage was a joke. Bicykles was almoust dangerous.

    Breakfast was super. Great room. High class restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, comfort, service

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi strength and size of pool

    Beautiful location and very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great food, great wine and the staff were lovely. Also, the air conditioning in the room was top notch.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bad experience

    the position the staff the sommelier the whole ambience and the peaceful atmosphere not forgetting the food and wine

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike!

    Wonderful location and beautiful views

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was very relaxing,lovely walks up the hill,easy to get to from perugia airport,immaculate grounds,and wonderful food.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Relais Villa Monte Solare Wellness & Beauty traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: