Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rosary Garden 3 stars

Via Di Ripoli, 169, 50126 Florence, Italy

#73 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 182 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    A little paradise
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I wish was different is the elevator not reaching the top floor and the reception being at the first floor also not served by the elevator. Not a big problem though.

    The staff is always smiling and very kind. The room was really clean and comfortable. They also have a very nice tea-room always open where you can serve yourself tea, coffee or some liquor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Warm, wonderful and comfortable respite close to downtown Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only complaint was that one of our two rooms had a defective climate control so the nights were a bit uncomfortable. The spaces are small, but that's expected in Europe. It was not a complaint or issue for us.

    The Rosary Garden Inn was a delightful place to stay with warm and friendly staff, and lovely surroundings. The staff was extremely helpful in getting us situated, providing guidance on how to get the bus to and from town, and even provided some wonderful restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Extremely support & helpful staff, always willing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You had to note from the previous night about the time you will have breakfast due to extremely small breakfast room with only 4 tables It was a notable distance from the center, about 25 min with the bus

    Extremely support & helpful staff, always willing to answer to all your questions. Very clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    21st century luxury in a Renaissance city
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was with the location; with the hotel being on the south bank of the Arno, we found ourselves a little away from the tourist attractions on the north bank. However, this issue was mitigated by regular services on the 23 & 31 ataf bus services (helpfully shown to us by the staff). Equally, the immediate area around the hotel did offer some excellent restaurants & if it weren’t for the fact that the train station was the far side of the city, the location wouldn’t really have been an issue.

    From beginning to end, our stay at the Garden was splendid. The staff were polite, intimate, warm, boasted excellent English & were ready & willing to help us at every beck and call. On our first night we got a superb restaurant recommendation & on our first morning we received a comprehensive guide to Florence’s public transport system, along with tickets for the service & a map of the city. Even after we had checked out the staff still offered their knowledge & assistance, there was literally no request that they wouldn’t assist with. Our rooms were well equipped, sizeable & comfortable. Complete with en suite & mini bar, our rooms offered plenty of cupboard space & were well maintained by the housekeeping staff throughout our stay. The breakfast was in a delightful, quaint tearoom offering a lovely continental selection. We can’t recommend the Rosary Hotel enough; it was a bounty of luxuries with the intimacy of a rural bed & breakfast combined with the professionalism of an urban hotel. Should we find ourselves in Florence again, we wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Extremely clean and well appointed with a friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did experience some noise issues (not traffic). The first room, it was assumed an extractor had been left on over night at the adjacent restaurant. We were given an alternate room. Second night (it is assumed) the shopping centre external speaker system came on at about 4.30am. So, not much sleep, yet I feel we were just extremely unlucky, as it is a great place to stay. Buses nearby and you’re in the middle of the city in 15 minutes.

    Extremely clean and well appointed with a friendly and efficient staff. The breakfast is very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.6
    Will be much better with some changes of furnitures and carpets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets, cushions on the sofa and bed cover need to be changed, they look very old and colors are just fading. The bed was too soft. The blanket is too thin, the spare one in the closet looks old. Coffee at breakfast doesn't taste like coffee, it was very weak. Air condition is old and not working efficiently.

    The hotel has its own unique country style. Receptionists are very helpful. The hotel offers free minibar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    The staff were amazing, as soon as we made the booking they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing, as soon as we made the booking they were super helpful and went to so much trouble to find a wonderful childminder for us as we had tickets for a concert booked. We will definitely be going back for another stay soon, bravo Hotel Rosary Garden, we had an excellent time, thank you so much Monica 👌🏻❤️

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    If we are ever again in Florence, we are definitely staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing we might recommend improving would be to add some fresh vegetables for breakfast (several tomatoes and cucumbers). Availability of soy, rice or oat milk for breakfast would also make anyone following vegan diet very happy.

    The hotel was beyond any of our expectations. Beautifully and consistently designed with a great attention to details. Very good breakfasts (the selection might be a bit narrow for some, but everything was of a very high quality), nice coffee in beautiful china, free minibar and a tea room, which most reviewers have already pointed out, are definitely complimenting the overall experience. The hotel is just 15 mins bus ride to the heart of the Florence, there is a shopping center across the street. If you are vegan/vegetarian, make sure you visit Bioveggy. Outstanding!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Rosary garden is just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. So helpful n friendly. Minibar was complimentary and this came as a pleasant surprise. The room had all the required facilities n super Friendly housekeeping services. We lost our way in the city centre, and called the hotel reception for help. He correctly guided us to the bus stop. So grateful. The candies, vin Santo and biscotti in the lobby were super yummy. Thank you for such a pleasant experience. Will certainly recommend to others.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely weekend break in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fabulous break in Florence. The hotel was about 2 miles from the centre but that was fine as the buses stopped near by. This is a lovely hotel our room was very nice and we had a great breakfast. Very clean the owner and staff were very friendly and helped make our visit enjoyable and suggested some lovely places to eat near the hotel where all the food was superb. We will definitely go again. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    The ambiance was very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from the city center.

    The ambiance was very cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    A great one night stay in a lovely hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spacious room & a lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Would use a different location closer to center next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    12 stairs leading up from street to registration office.

    Balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.5
    VERY, VERY small bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    VERY, VERY small bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Weekend in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Nice rooms, good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Nice and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very nice and cozy, and the staff too. The breakfast has also been delicious and consistent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Very helpfull personal, clean room, free bikes,good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very helpfull personal, clean room, free bikes,good restaurant 500m close to hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.8
    Good location for visits to city by bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms are a little on the small side

    Good location for visits to city by bus

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.8
    perfect hotel to enjoy florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    good location across bus station and mall tea room charming and elegant atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    The owner is absolutely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast room is rather small and can become crowded at certain moments and you may have to wait a couple of minutes for a table. But the staff is very friendly, so you don't feel it's a problem. For us it was great NOT to be in the historical city centre, but others may not see that as an advantage.

    The owner is absolutely friendly and helpful. She was very welcoming but not intrusive. Her recommendations for restaurants were fabulous. We had a very nice and calm room, spacious and beautifully decorated. Everything very clean. I liked the excellent quality of everything, from furniture to cutlery. We borrowed bicicles to go to town, which gave an extra holiday flavour to our stay. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    It was an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was an excellent hotel...with amazing free bike lending service, only be careful that some bikes not working very well lol. Very cozy environment and location is ok, as Florence is very small. Will live in the hotel if I go to Florence again!

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.9
    The rooms were cute and the front desk people were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little far from tourist attractions. Bed was not the most comfortable.

    The rooms were cute and the front desk people were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.2
    Great hotel, wonderful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was a little bit out of the way and the buses in were very full each time. Fine for us but probably not as great for people with mobility issues.

    Great hotel, wonderful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    Very nicely decorated hotel, spacious and comfortable room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything about this hotel, but one should note, that there is a steep stair and no elevator when you enter the hotel. Also not very close to the center - about 15 min on a bus. No hot stuff on breakfast (no omelette, or bacon, etc.)

    Very nicely decorated hotel, spacious and comfortable room with safe, hair-dryer and superb bathroom. Very welcoming staff at the reception (24h!). The small room for breakfast is just charming (cakes were delicious). Nice restaurant next door. Very good parking nearby (but across the street - you need to get keys first at the reception for the access to that parking) with places reserved for hotel guests.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was Nice, comfy and staff vert Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditionner was a bit noisy, the Hotel is too far from center (45 min walking). The breakfast was OK, could be better with fresh juive.

    The hotel was Nice, comfy and staff vert Nice. Also very clean.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Lovely place to slay- great location and lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    watch that small breakfast room- time it right!

    Lovely place to slay- great location and lovely rooms. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. ten minute bus ride into centre of Florence. Quite area to stay in. Great restaurant right next door..

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic, welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a little far from the town centre, but has good bus access. In pleasant suburban setting.

    Fantastic, welcoming staff. Always ready to help with any need. Lovely room. Aircon. Very quiet. Clean. Sitting areas available for guest use. Pleasant breakfast room. Bikes available for guest use. Supermarket across the road. Tobacconist to buy bus tickets out the front. Gelato shop around the block.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.3
    Staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only problem was that buses into Florence centre are handy but extremely packed meaning taxi needed on ongoing and outgoing journeys when we had suitcases with us.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Very handy having restaurant and gelato shop next door.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.5
    Located in a residential area of Florence about 30 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Located in a residential area of Florence about 30 minutes walk into the centre. Monica (the owner) was very welcoming; the hotel is well appointed and decorated in an English country house style. As we were on a short city sightseeing holiday we didn't use all the facilities on offer ie afternoon tea/relaxing in the comfortable chairs close to our room. The hotel is close to a local bus (23 A/B) which takes travellers into the city and direct to the railway station - a journey of around 20/30 minutes. Tickets can be purchased at the newspaper stand across from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.9
    Friendliness of the staff, decoration of the rooms, size of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be richer, WiFi could work better (lots of interruptions)

    Friendliness of the staff, decoration of the rooms, size of the hotel (rather small), cozy room dedicated to rest and talk (with tea a.o.). All in one nice hotel and great staff!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    8.8
    The room was very spacious and very nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The busy streets surrounding the Hotel was a bit unexpected but never caused any bother during the stay.

    The room was very spacious and very nicely decorated. It was the largest room though.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    7.9
    we stayed here one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the restaurant downstairs asked us to wait outside for 8-10 minutes at 7.01 PM even the open at 7PM. needless to say we went somewhere else for dinner

    we stayed here one night. very friendly team and very helpfull. Nice clean rooms, and good breakfast too. would come here again anytime

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    3.8
    The breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wireless would not stay connected so it basically didn't work.

    The breakfast was wonderful. Great staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Quaint hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NilQ

    Quaint hotel .Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small hotel and not in the city.

    The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful throughout.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    8.3
    Boutique very English but in Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ooh the beds were so hard they really need to change them

    Boutique very English but in Italy! Free cakes biscuits in lounge very nice

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    5.4
    Free bike hire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cramped breakfast room.

    Free bike hire

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was spacious. Bathroom also roomy breakfast great staff very helpful to all requests would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.2
    Really nice and cosy hotel with very good service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi is not so good.

    Really nice and cosy hotel with very good service!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.2
    good locaton from bus stop and nice parking lot with high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good locaton from bus stop and nice parking lot with high security. friendly staff and nice breakfast as well as snacks for refreshness

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Great staff and beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff and beautiful rooms. Monica was a wonderful hostess.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.8
    I loved the warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I loved the warm welcome. All the staff were lovely, friendly and welcoming. Which will always be so relieving for a weary traveler.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    8.3
    Friendly, helpful staff and good breakfast with afternoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful staff and good breakfast with afternoon tea.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: