Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal 4 stars

Piazza Dante Alighieri 8/10, 01023 Bolsena, Italy

#9 of 31 hotels in Bolsena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 487 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff were pleasant and it was good value for ney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t very good. The bread and pastries were stale and some of the cheese and meats were brought out day after day.

    The bedroom and bath were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    I would have expected more from a four-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have expected more from a four-star hotel. No complementary bottle of water was offered. Normally I found complementary water (sometimes welcome drink), even in the 3 stars hotels and even if it is not summer. They switch off the air conditioning sistem at 9 o'clock in the morning so that we had to sweat a lot packing our staff before the check-out. It was not a good idea to open the window to get some fresh air because in a short time we found the room full of flies and mosquitoes. There is no network on the window. The bathroom is quite big but the shower cabin too small. They do not accept all the most common credit cards. Anyway I would recommend this hotel.

    Great location very near to the lake. Spacious bathroom. Very kind and helpful personnel at reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable , excellent location but limited facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room, no poolside bar, no snack bar or coffee machine on premises so getting a drink was not easy and depended on how busy the reception staff were

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Minor royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite a formal hotel and felt out of season, so quiet and without energy. Swimming pool closed and unattractive around it. A little cold In the bad weather, no spare blankets

    All the basics were there. Breakfast was very nice. Staff efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    The hotel needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room equipment is old, mainly bathrooms. We changed the room, but neither was really clean. The shower is small and when you enter it, the water run automatically from the upper shower. The switch to handshower is very high (for a normal person it is unreachable from the outside of the shower) and it's a button that you have to press, hold, and it only works at a higher water pressure. So when you get into the shower, hold the switch with one hand, hold the hand shower in the other hand, and let the water go with your... (third hand?) then slowly move out your hand from the switch and hope, that a cold water does not start falling on your head. When you do all this, the shower still can unexpectedly switch when the water pressure drops (maybe when someone in the next room starts to shower?). The really stupidest system I've ever seen. The hotel management know about it and the guests have problems with it... we were changing the room, because this system did not work at our first room at all. The lady at the reception knew exactly, what we are talking about, she just could not belive, that this shower swich does not work at all (room n. 118). At the end of a little argument, she gave us another room, and she said that they will repair the shower at the room, but it was clear from her facial expression that she was convinced that the problem was on our side. From the parking lot you can get to the hotel only by small path just around the pool and the path includes several stairs. If the hotel renovates the bathrooms and improve its focus on the cleanliness of the rooms, I would give it a rating of 9.5.

    The hotel is well located just off the shores of the lake and next to a small marina, about 300 m from the old town, which is connected with the marina by a beautiful road with plateau alley. The lake and the old town of Bolsena are clean a very nice. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful, nicely decorated. Breakfast is good and with great choice. Fenced parking right behind the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    This hotel has a unique charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition controlled by the Acceptance representative which: first, did not turned it on as we arrived. Second, turned it off during the night. That caused the room temp to be very cold during the night. It caused us to call the desk to operate it...

    Location, style. Parking. Breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in a perfect spot
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel,enjoyed the paintings too. Great location and even watched the gorgeous sunset from our room. Breakfast was good had our favourites muesli and yoghurt. Would have been good to have an egg as we are walking the Via Francigena instead of all those cakes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Peaceful and beautiful haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More cereal selection in dishes. A toaster that doesn't burn toast. Less cakes in morning and instead a few more hot items, tea bags put in teapot instead of just water as messy and fiddly.

    Very polite staff. Clean room. Situated in an ideal position for visiting other towns and beside lake. The lack of crowds especially at swimming pool. Nice not to be woken early by cleaners.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had no iron or ironing board available to use. Most odd for a 4 star hotel. Pool beds were limited for the number of potential guests. Would have liked pool drinks service during the day. Would have liked tea/ coffee making facility in room.

    Breakfast choices. Desk service. Room cleanliness. Pleasant staff.Free car park. Free pool towels.Overall hotel ambiance was classy, old style

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Friendliest and most helpful staff in 10 years living and vacationing in Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really recommend this hotel. The only things to point out are common features of hotels in Italy and not exclusive of this hotel: small shower cabine, old fashioned decoration, or only bread for breakfast being industrial white sliced bread (in an otherwise very genorous and varied breakfast for Italian standards).

    It has the most spontaneously friendly and helpful staff I have found in Italy after 10 year living here. Also gave great recommendations on local restaurants. Swimming pool and garden areas are very pleasant and well taken care off. Rooms are clean and at a perfect temperature even during a boiling summer. Perfect location in Bolsena.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.4
    Choose the Lido hotel not the Royal if you want a quiet stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the Hotel Royal, the noise would deter all but the young or deaf on account of the bar juke box or disco music which is at full volume. At both hotels, the breakfast is mostly the sweet things Italians love and not the usual international variety but this is of lesser importance.

    The room was lovely but it was right next to a bar which remained open until well into the early hours. The loud music was still blaring away well after 1am when it lowered slightly. As a result we asked,successfully, to be transferred to their sister hotel, the Hotel Lido where we had eaten dinner the evening before. There is no restaurant at the Royal and one takes a shuttle to the Hotel Lido. Once settled in the Hotel Lido, everything was superb. The room had an enormous balcony overlooking the lake. We ate all meals on the terrace next to the little private beach. The only noise at night is the lapping of the lake. Perfect but may not be a first choice for the young who want night life. If only we had chosen the Hotel Lido in the first place! A word of caution, however, there is an overspill from the hotel across the main road called the Palace hotel. Although smart, there is neither pool nor lake so be sure to have a room in the Lido!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location for an evening stroll along the lake or up...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location for an evening stroll along the lake or up into the old town. Lake view from our room (which I had asked for when booking) wonderful. Olde worlde charm to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located at a very noisy spot where people hang out all day and party all night - difficult to sleep!

    location is convenient for walking along the lake or into town; car parking is great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Volterra, an Etruscan Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been to this city twice. First time was a day trip in the fall. Very windy, rain and cold. Second time was spring, windy, cool and rain. I suggest you pack for this type of weather in those two seasons. Town is on a high plateau, Scenery is beautiful on a clear day.

    Staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Great hotel in excellent location....good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a view room and got one with an excellent view of the lake. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was beautiful and located right across the street from the lake

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could be improved: Less sweet things for breakfast and more healthy stuff. Possibility to have breakfast outdoor would also be nice

    Excellent location. Nice old fashioned interior but well kept. Very nice staff, service minded!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    We walked in from hiking the Via Francigena pilgrimage trail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doors do not slide open very wide for an adult.

    We walked in from hiking the Via Francigena pilgrimage trail and were very tired. In no time we found the hotel, were greeted by Patrizia, and were in our comfortable room. The setting so near Lake Bolsena is very pretty. It's a on minute walk to the lake and a 10 minute walk into the village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Luxury at affordable an price in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi was poor. A small gripe, but the day we were leaving - the one day we wanted breakfast on time - things weren't set up and the waitress was in no hurry to do so. We had to make do with just a croissant and coffee.

    A great hotel. A fantastic location close to lake front in Bolsena. Friendly staff. Lovely garden and swimming pool. Secure free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    A very enjoyable break in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My mother found the rail in the wardrobe was too high for to reach when she wanted to hang her clothes up.

    The location was ideal for us. My elderly mother had the room next door, lift was much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.0
    A night to remember!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As only staying a night was recommended to go to a superb by the lake restaurant in one of the neighbouring hotels. I can only describe the atmosphere was like after the titanic had hit the iceberg. A disaster !!!!!

    Near the lake.interior looks like the titanic before it hit the iceberg

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.5
    Very clean and regal hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was very poor

    Very clean and regal hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed Bolsena
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are too hard.

    Great position. Bolsena is a beautiful town. Very friendly place. Great choice of restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pavement outside the hotel

    Location, right by the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Via Francigena stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dark

    Literally on the lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Four star hotel for a three star price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wi-fi, basically unusable.

    Very good quality hotel and room for the price. Excellent staff at reception. Location right Nest the lake very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly place to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    It's position in front of the lake, makes it the ideal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved

    It's position in front of the lake, makes it the ideal resort

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    AC did not work properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC did not work properly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Classic style and nice design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found out that the hotel restaurant was 1.5 km away.

    Classic style and nice design.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, convenient and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle bus to restaurant difficult to get into for older clients. - too high

    Friendly welcome, good locations n

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were Brilliant. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Italian marble and style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant at Hotel Lido

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location at the lakeside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location at the lakeside Quiet Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed & pillow were too hard for comfort. They pushed their Lido restaurant which we didn't go to.

    Otherwise great location for sure!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Very good Hotel in a fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No iron/ironing board, although the staff did helpfully point us in the direction of the local laundrette.

    Fantastic location, very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    Good for budgeteers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room toilets were quite old and didn't feel too clean

    Beautiful location near the beach front, decent breakfast, very nice staff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    excellent stay in bolsena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location by lake, lovely swimming pool. Staff were excellent especially reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Good thing about Feb is that I'm the only customer and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Barclaycard machine broke Dow so I had to get some cash..very apologetic though.

    Good thing about Feb is that I'm the only customer and personal service..everything fine good service. nice room, right by lake...Especially the beautiful smiling breakfast service.. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    8.3
    Clean, spacious, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was a bit smelly ... Maybe some pipes not working as they should?

    Clean, spacious, nice location. Perfect for our break during a road trip. Receptionist at check in is incredibly nice and makes you feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful location and lovely welcome at this out of season...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly the restaurant was not open but that is to be expected in November and there were 2 other places very nearby.

    Wonderful location and lovely welcome at this out of season lakeside hotel. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.8
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ensuite was small although shower pressure excellent and bathroom fittings good.

    Everything. Breakfast lady was excellent, nothing too much trouble. Fresh towels daily and pleasant, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    8.8
    Pretty nice place, the staff is kind realy, everything is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet connection is a real horror, 1 Mbit download and 0,1 Mbit upload speed is not what to expect in 2015 in a four star hotel in Europe. The breakfast is the sweety Italian style, but it's quite boring, so do not expect changes in the choices.

    Pretty nice place, the staff is kind realy, everything is clean and comfortable. There are serveral nice places to look around and things to do like sailing or having bycicle trips, etc.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.2
    The pool was very nice albeit chilly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was very small with a fixed shower head with relatively low water flow.

    The pool was very nice albeit chilly. Breakfast was varied and delicious. The location was very convenient. It was an easy walk into town,

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit week wifi by the pool....

    Great location. We booked the top floor room with terrace. Well worth the extra cost. 50 m2 with sofas, sofas and sun beds. Breakfast generous to be italian. Spotless pool area!

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    So nice hotel to stay at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    So nice hotel to stay at! If you go to Bolsena - stay here! Quite and comfortable place to spend holidays for all the family. The receptionist Martina is very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    This was our second stay at the Royal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning system is a bit odd, but we were able to work this out.

    This was our second stay at the Royal. Lovely staff, great location and a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    7.5
    The reception was cordial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not use the air conditioner, it was exceptionally loud. Sounded like a bucket of bolts rattling. Breakfast was very poor if you like salty instead of sweet. Some items lacking (salty) such as cheeses, deli meats 45 min before closing time. A ton of sweet items though.

    The reception was cordial. The bed was very good and the room was clean. Very ample private parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.2
    Very helpful and welcoming staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very helpful and welcoming staff. Splendid location by the lakeside. Good choices for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    Great location near the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location near the lake. Good and safe carpark. Quite and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.9
    very helpful reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dining room on lake is a car ride away....not obvious from publicity. Food overpriced and not exceptional.

    very helpful reception staff

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could hear everything that the people in the adjacent room did in their bathroom.

    Relaxing and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Fantastic location, right on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location, right on the lake.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    the location next to the lake and the view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location next to the lake and the view from the room. We did not get chance to use the pool but it looked great.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Great location by the lake and only 200 m from the City...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location by the lake and only 200 m from the City Center. Pool.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Wonderful receptionist Room with a view of the lake Well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Wonderful receptionist Room with a view of the lake Well maintained swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    The marble, carpets, drapes and every furnishing is gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The marble, carpets, drapes and every furnishing is gorgeous. We have stayed there many times and look forward to it always..

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: