Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Sporting Hotel 4 stars

Via Olivo 345, 19025 Portovenere, Italy

#6 of 8 hotels in Portovenere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 460 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    Worn out Riviera hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been here before some years ago. This time the hotel felt really old and tired. No welcoming staff, no updated interior, not acceptabel functional wi-fi.

    Location is good. Private garage (20 Euro/day)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Bed itself is horrible, old school style, noise, the food is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed itself is horrible, old school style, noise, the food is ok but nothing fancy, hotel not reachable (number not allowed?), way too expensive for the price!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not so mobile and staff really helped me in every way they could. Private parking on the premises was excellent. Relative close to centre (15 min walk). Had an excellent tour to Cinque Terre and good restaurants around hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    We had a wonderful family reunion at this charming old style hotel - we would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location overlooking the sea. Super pool. Staff excellent always helpful. Food in evening restaurant delicious & a lovely terrace with great view. Rooms have old fashioned charm which we liked but not for those who want all shiny white fittings & high tech. We booked a balcony room really worth it. Portovenere is delightful & everything easy to walk to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.8
    Nice breakfast with lots of choice, noisy with windows open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are very old, looks like cheap furniture of the 50's, bed squeeky, double bed split appart, shower doors in cheap plastic not closing well, toilet noisy when refills, too expensive for the price and is not a 4 star standard, more like a 2-3 star maximum

    Nice breakfast with lots of choice, noisy with windows open but ok with windows closed and AC on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    Great hotel let down by poor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was weak and ancient - bed resembled a camp bed and had the worst Nights sleep of our trip.

    Pool restaurant and staff all excellent as was location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Further distance to main area, ferries etc but a good relaxing place overall

    Pool area is good. Sun is not as fierce as in Australia. A couple of nice restaurants nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is just right in front of the beautiful beach with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't have a proper Italian cappuccino which I founded frustrated as I'm Italian and I was in Italy ! A part from the cappuccino the all stay was smooth and pleasant I will def go back knowing that I have to go somewhere else for an Italian cappuccino

    The hotel is just right in front of the beautiful beach with a stunning view of the bay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Good, but could be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings and furniture in the rooms were old, need attention and modernising.

    Pool area was lovely, position was great, it felt like we were on a ship. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was just shabby and rundown, and had clearly been made by carving space from adjoining rooms. It was like sharing a room with strangers.

    The restaurant and restaurant staff were excellent, but as for the hotel itself, not so much. The room was decidedly sub-par -- it shared a balcony with a different room, and was separated only by a thin wooden door from yet another room. I could hear every word spoken in the adjoining room, and presumably vice versa. When I was lying in bed, anyone on the shared balcony was looking at me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    We liked te view from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi is a bit weak.

    We liked te view from our balcony. It's a bit fa from the center but the 20-minute walk along the coast is enjoyable. We liked the breakfast and we loved theservice. Staff are polite, very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.7
    Sea view room - excellent view - Porto Venere easy prom walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff most days ( not nights) were gloomy and not overall welcoming. - hotel in excellent position which you pay for but generally needs updating eg 14" tv high up on wall, bed coverings same as featured in brochure at least 10 years old before autostrada was built - reception area old fashioned - needs The Hotel Inspector to visit. Hotel parking 20 euros a night. Plastic chairs/tables in bar area uninviting.

    Sea view room - excellent view - Porto Venere easy prom walk away. Pool area very good excellent views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.8
    The location, the balcony in front of the sea quite large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building and the furniture needs some renovation. The quality of the pastries served at breakfast (croissant in particular), as well as the fruit juice, could be improved. The gym area is small and tapis roulant was not functioning

    The location, the balcony in front of the sea quite large and in the sun for almost all day, large swimming pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Location view and setting was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a little update in lobby.

    Location view and setting was great. Most of the staff was helpfully. Bar tender and dinning room staff great. Cleaning people so very nice. Breath taking views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    The view from the bedroom was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking needs to be free.

    The view from the bedroom was amazing. We could walk across the road and swim in the ocean. The breakfast location was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    Portovenere is very beautiful a must to see not to spend your whole vacation stone beaches .But it
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was out of order for several days our whole stay received 10% .Old fashion hotel with prices from 4 star modern hotel ...

    The view and the fresh fruit at the breakfast The cleaningpeople were excellent the cleaning as well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    4.6
    Housekeepinng staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds were not comfortable at all, decor was tired. Owner who worked in restaurant, surprisingly unfriendly to paying guests.

    Housekeepinng staff were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    7.9
    Quiet, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying to use their tennis court. My kids used the equipment for about 15 minutes. Not sure the 10 Euro charge is warranted given our 350 Euro stay fee. I believe this should be included in the room charge, especially since the sport area is in need of renovation.

    Staff was very attentive in helping with our car, getting us to our room, at the breakfast and snack area, and front desk. Our two room suite with two baths and a large patio overlooking the water provided lots of comfort for the three of us. The pool area was well kept, spacious, and a great place to relax. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of foods.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location, parking included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aging facilities

    Good location, parking included

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    excellent stay. very good hotel. Staff really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were like concrete blocks. Not atypical for Italy

    Location was great5. Parking in an otherwise "impossible to find parking" town!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Best place to visit 5 terre but out of the crowd!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place to visit 5 terre but out of the crowd!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearly everything

    Just very badly run. Staff are rude. Location good. To expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated, lacking investment and typical 70's feel to the interior.

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location , property was good , parking ok, room & bed very adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok.

    Position was great staff very helpful - even checked my tyres before leaving, they parked the car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location but should be a three starts hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working and bed was not very confortable.

    The view and the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly adequate and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular we disliked

    it was as we expected - an Italian hotel of its class

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Going back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is from the 1970's

    the hotel is from the 1970's but everything works - if you like old fashioned - great friendly staff parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Italian coast won us over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great little hotel, didn't want to leave it! Fab bar, breakfast, pool, tennis etc. everything you need and more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    3.8
    Poor breakfast, not welcoming staff, style = 1980's,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, not welcoming staff, style = 1980's, cheap roomservice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a room with a balconey.

    View from veranda spectacular!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Best hotel and service after three weeks of holidays in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel and service after three weeks of holidays in Italy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    4.5
    Room had very poor sound insulation .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had very poor sound insulation ....could hear every thing in the next room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place to meet up with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and view were excellent, the staff helpful and the guaranteed (though at a price) valet parking was very useful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breathtaking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.7
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated.

    We had a good view from our room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location, beach, pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whats not to like?

    Great location, beach, pool. Comfortable Roms and wonderfull breakfast facility next to the pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.8
    staff varies from extremely friendly to grumpy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Euro 20.00 per night for parking is excessive!!

    location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    The hotel location is great and the staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is kind of old and needs refurbish

    The hotel location is great and the staff are friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi connection

    The swimming pool is perfect. Perfect location and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.5
    Swiming pool located agreably in front of the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak airconditionning, a bit crowded and noisy as family oriented

    Swiming pool located agreably in front of the sea

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    5.8
    Great location, fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and worn-down hotel

    Great location, fantastic view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.4
    nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra cost of breakfast small bathroom

    nice location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Perfect place for a relaxing summer holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are friendly and very helpful. The view was amazing and only a short relaxing walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    8.3
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds pushed together really is crapp

    Great position,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    4.2
    View from the terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, apart from the pool bar seemed disinterested, did not have up to date information on the boat trip across to Palmira island, and did not provide any service at breakfast, even to seat you at a table. Breakfast was pretty average with fresh unprepared but also tinned fruit, and very solid croissants. We came down to leave by a pre-booked taxi and the staff did not immediately say that the taxi was already there, nor did they help with the luggage but simply sat behind the desk. Overall the whole place seemed rather tired!

    View from the terrace

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.8
    This place was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price of our room dropped significantly just before we stayed. They kindly gave us a free upgrade. But disappointed we paid so much for a room we could have gotten at 40% of the original price. :-( (This is the only reason it didn't get a 10/10).

    This place was excellent. The breakfast was superb. Great holiday feel to it.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    Location, Location, Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility itself was simply tired. It looked as if it had been made over some years ago by someone's grandmother on a shoestring budget. Slipcovered furniture in the lobby, corridor carpeting, draperies and upholstery in the rooms were all dated and worn. The bath was unusually small, even for a European bath. The shower was about 2 foot x 2 foot and very difficult to maneuver within. The only thing Royal about this property was the treatment from the staff.

    Location, Location, Location....the view from our room was stellar. We had a suite and the salon and bedroom both had beautiful views. The staff could not have been nicer and the service was impeccable. I inadvertently left my travel valet in the room and when I went back to pick it up, housekeeping met me at the door with it in hand. Genuinely kind and service oriented staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    7.9
    Good Location, conveniently close to Town center (15 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Thin walls - noisy. Sea view room was to the side of the building, had to step out on the balcony to have the view.

    Good Location, conveniently close to Town center (15 min walk) Spacious room, well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    6.3
    The view was spectacular and pool area is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to pay for wifi even though advertised as free wifi and the hotel definitely needs an update considering it's not exactly cheap. I heard someone ask for toast at breakfast and they were told it was not possible.

    The view was spectacular and pool area is good.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    6.5
    Good location on the seafront, with great views and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole place felt as if it could do with a bit of sprucing up, very dated in some respects.

    Good location on the seafront, with great views and the staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.9
    Good location and very nice and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi did not work at all even though I paid. Money was refunded but not a good experience Exercise room is a dump and should not be advertised. Old broken equipment in a room with rotting throw rugs. No towels or water

    Good location and very nice and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    5.0
    We really liked the location and the Sporting Beach and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are really old and the beds are a disgrace. I had back pain every single day when I got up. Also the interior is very old and our air condition was leaking heavily.

    We really liked the location and the Sporting Beach and the breakfast at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.9
    Sea-View from the window is amazing and swimming pool was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The couch converted bad was shorter than my height. I have average height; I am not so tall. But my legs were out of the bed.

    Sea-View from the window is amazing and swimming pool was good but the water in the pool was salty. Rain at night was amazing. The toilet was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    Personal attention and very good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Time goes by too fast. Shower works well, but smallish.:)

    Personal attention and very good service. The hotel is wery well located in Porto-venere with perfect scenary. Very good brekfast and personal warm personal service. Clean and nice. .

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.1
    The location and the Area was stunning, Dinner was very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds feels like sleeping on a stretcher and cleaning staff uses long power cord to vacuum the rooms trollies standing all over the isle with everything next to it, That was quite a mission getting out to the lift with the suitcase wheels getting stuck on towels and the cord of the vacuum cleaner

    The location and the Area was stunning, Dinner was very good great food

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    7.9
    Stunning views from room and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bathroom were somewhat "pokey" for a 4 star establishment, though the views made up for that

    Stunning views from room and restaurant

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    The pool and very helpful young male staff on front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is ridiculous for a four star hotel to charge for Wi-Fi. The bedroom needed updating - but the view was wonderful

    The pool and very helpful young male staff on front desk.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    5.0
    The rooms have really poor sound insulation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms have really poor sound insulation. You hear everything on the floor, next to you and above you.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small shower

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    2.9
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning.Staff wasn't too friendly. Ants all over the floor in our room.

    View

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.3
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small bathroom

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    5.4
    It was a very nice place and amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the front desk were very rude and not helpful.

    It was a very nice place and amazing location.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    scenic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    scenic location

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.2
    Great location, very friendly staff, generous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, very friendly staff, generous breakfast

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: