Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal Victoria 4 stars

Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy

#5 of 9 hotels in Varenna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 673 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Magical Varenna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small and dark, maybe an extra light over the area assigned for cases. A bit of a walk over cobblestones from the ferry with a case, however we discovered the hotel has a electric bus that will meet you if booked.

    Excellent location, close to restaurants. A fabulous view of Lake Como. Good variety of food offered for breakfast. Great staff. Beautiful smell through the hotel and rooms with fragrance diffusers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing place with great views and average service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are uncomfortable. Staff is not very welcoming or friendly. We tried lunch at restaurant once, was not very tasty.

    Room we stayed in had an amazing lake view with balcony. Pool and dining area had also a nice and relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast quality is good. Varenna is quite small, hotel is therefore near to everything. Shuttle to train station is a good service, would be nice if they reminded us before we arrived.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, gorgeous facility, professional staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like a small cell which can easily be overlooked if not spending much time in the room. Something else to be aware of, the beautiful clock tower directly outside the square side windows rings until 11p (I believe) and starting at 7a - it is quite the alarm clock if you’re not ready for it.

    Amazing location, gorgeous facility, professional staff and located in the historic square with a small beach on the lake

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful property in a romantic setting. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was amazing. Breakfast was lovely. We had drinks and dinner at the terrace restaurant and everything was terrific: the staff, the food and the amazing view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Some of the staff is shockingly rude and unprofessional; they make you feel like insulted guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As I stayed at the hotel, I started realizing some of the staff are extremely rude and unprofessional. I was insulted when a staff member at the reception gave attitude when I kindly asked him to make a reservation for a restaurant (paying this caliber for accommodation, you would expect a gracious attitude towards typical requests from guests). At check-out, this same individual gave attitude when he thought we requested for a taxi to the airport when we were only discussing the taxi situation between us. (God forbid we asked him to book a taxi for us). When I asked for an e-mail address for billing inquiries at check-out, (as I was in a rush and did want to follow-up that I had not paid twice for the hotel), he answered abruptly and with aggravation "no." I kindly asked what he meant about his reply, and that I needed to follow up on billing but could not now because I had to make a train ride to the airport, and he answered "no!" again. It was laughably rude and unprofessional and just made me question how anyone like this could possibly represent a 4-star hotel. I asked, "there is no e-mail address I can ask questions to?" and, again, he rudely said, "no! it is not possible!" I was shocked at such rudeness and rudeness to help. No one should ever be spoken to this way at a hotel. The host of the restaurant downstairs is comparably rude; he has a consistent sour face on, does not ever smile, and gives nasty looks to guests as they ask for seats. (We understand there may be reservations, but the pretentious attitude is unmatched for a "hosting" gig). His demeanor is embarrassingly awful. The concierge was nice, but not helpful at all. She was impatient, short and ambiguous with her directions. I would have excused the dim-lit and narrow hallways and tired-out aesthetic of the restaurant due to the view and location, but it is interesting that only a select few of people can throw a wrench at your stay.

    First off, the location of the hotel is excellent; we were immediately excited about the view from our hotel room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced for the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely overpriced, breakfast uninspiring , staff interaction poor. Reception staff are too robotic apart from one lady, fair hair, sorry forget your name . Bedroom very small and bathroom tiny. How on earth do the ‘larger Americans’ cope with the bathroom space ?? Varenna is lovely with a great selection of restaurants and magnificent views but this hotel could be so much more

    Lake view is excellent as is location but that’s all really

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Location, view, sleep comfort - just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Team - you need to fix WiFi. Also breakfast and restaurant itself can be improved (for dinner you can have better wine list e.g) Also would be good stop blocking accommodation cost at time of booking. After reservation at booking.com I was charged full amount, then during check out I supposed to pay only extra but had to pay one more time for the room. No reason to do it - sure you can handle

    Location, view, sleep comfort - just perfect. Amazing property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, service can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service/staff could be more attentive for a hotel of this level. Specifically the tables at breakfast weren’t cleaned up so that others could sit where there is a view, the staff took 15 min once we were seated to ask us if we wanted coffee. The same happened by the pool area where wet towels were left on unused chairs and no one cleared the area. Our room faced the church bell tower which rings 30 times or so at 7am and then every half hour making it difficult to sleep past 7. We asked if hotel could give us a different room but they did not make an effort to accommodate this request although they weren’t fully booked.

    Very comfortable and clean, beautiful view of lake and nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel but too expensive for such a conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only till 10 for holiday could be longer, and the choice also not so big for such a price, unfortunately sauna not included in price -cant understand it, additional 89Euro for 1 hour its a bit crazy. No gym, opening of pool could be for longer time

    Perfect lake view from the hotel, great location, tasty drinks, very nice eat in all of restaurants, pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    The location is great, the staff are friendly and the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We booked a suite and was given one of the ones in the new building which has a sloping ceiling taking up a lot of the space of the living area of the suite. The second suite I stayed in was above the kitchen so that carried through the air con. the third stay was a standard room , the air con was awfully load and rattled. Tiny bathroom. Very expensive drinks, not much of a personal touch - definitely run as a business.

    The location is great, the staff are friendly and the rooms have recently been refurbished. Breakfast had plenty of choice. The pool area is large enough and clean. Beautiful views and a good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    INCREDIBLE - Pool, Lake Lido, Balcony View of Lake, Gourmet Restaurant - STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Air Conditioner can be a bit fiddly to work. It definitely works, as the room was frigid when we had it on during the night, but we were unable to turn it off at one point. I'm sure there was just something we were missing on the remote though.

    Everything about The Hotel Royal Victoria was class. Our room had a balcony overlooking Lake Como - which was very romantic. The hotel is one of the few with a pool right by the lake, and the pool/garden area is very nice! If you fancy a dip in the lake, the lido is directly outside the hotel on the lake! I chose the booking option that included breakfast and dinner, which was a great move. The hotel has a lovely gourmet restaurant overlooking the lake, and we definitely got our money's worth at dinner!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location on the main square in Varenna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is that it was an expensive hotel.

    Great location on the main square in Varenna. Excellent breakfast on the terrace. Nice swimming pool with bar service, and you are right on the lake. Clean, modern bathroom in our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved every minute of the stay and cannot wait to return. Which we will!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There really was nothing that I would say I did not like.

    You cannot get a more perfectly situated hotel in Varenna. Steps from everything. View was incredible. Breakfast was typical Europe... meaning waaay better than in the States. Excellent selection of food, friendly service. The complimentary Haribo selections at the front desk were a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    A fantastic hotel in a great location. Staff need to smile more and breakfast needs to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing for a 4 star hotel. The prepared fresh fruit option was tinned fruit, plus fresh melon that sat in the syrup from the tins. Cooked breakfast options were only offered for an extra charge. The food was not replenished during service. The staff were mixed. Some were helpful and efficient, others need to learn to smile and think ahead of the guests.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel and perfect location - such an amazing view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found we waited at reception a lot, there would be one customer with a staff member and we could see other receptionists in the back although instead of coming out to help we had to wait 5-10 minutes at a time to be helped.

    Beautiful hotel and perfect location - such an amazing view and so picturesque. The pool was great as was the breakfast. The rooms were nice, little small although was fine for us for a few nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointed. They shuold have fixed the AC. I think that it is a long standing problem with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs. No umbrellas by the pool so it was difficult to sit at pool and have shade

    Air conditioning vibrated so loudly we could not sleep. We complained 3x and it was never fixed. We had to ask 3 x for an extra blanket

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Breathtaking lake view property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have been a little better. That's about it!

    When we walked into our room on the top floor, we were blown away when we opened the doors to the balcony and walked outside to see the views...they were absolutely spectacular! This room had everything we needed to enjoy our three days there. There's a cute square right outside the property with fun little restaurants and a little church. There are little stores nearby to buy food and drinks if you want. It took us about 5 minutes to make the steep walk down to the waterfront, where most of the restaurants and shops are. It was easy to walk to the ferry too. We walked with our suitcases from the train station to the hotel, which was a bit tiring, but fun. Fortunately they had a little shuttle to take us back to the train station when we checked out. They have 5 jars of candy in the lobby which I enjoyed each day! The breakfast was average, as you had to pay extra for anything more than scrambled eggs. But the views from the breakfast area were amazing! All in all, we loved our stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The hotel has the most beautiful views over Lake Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has the most beautiful views over Lake Como. It has been recently renovated and the amenities are great. The staff are welcoming and very helpful. A free shuttle is provided to the ferry and train station between 9-3:30pm. The welcome Prosecco added a nice beginning to the stay. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable bed, beautiful views of the lake, The staff was very helpful. Sharon and Francesa were very helpful and knowledgeable would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Amazing property and lake views from our balcony. Definitely would stay again while in Varenna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What an amazing place. Hotel Victoria stood out among the 5 hotels we visited while traveling through Europe. Location was perfect, the room and view of the lake from our balcony was amazing, staff was fantastic, and the entire building was beautiful. Can't recommend high enough!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel on the water in peaceful Varenna, Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had requested a room with balcony as seen in the photos (small table, chairs). My room did have doors that opened out to a VERY small standing balcony. I inquired about a different room but was told they were booked. The room view looked out over the lake, and we kept the doors while we slept. Very peaceful. Pool closed too early (7pm).

    Breakfast had many choices and good coffee. I enjoyed the outdoor seating at the restaurant overlooking beautiful Lake Como. The more casual outdoor area near the pool was very nice and had many comfortable seating options. Spent lots of time there. Beautiful arbor covered with wisteria and an outdoor bar. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing views from balcony and lakeside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC noisy / good Wi-fi for all guests should be included not extra in this high standard hotel

    Amazing views from balcony and lakeside. Loved taking breakfast outside. Staff superb and friendly. Great location near restaurants and short walk to ferry. Pool area small but not crowded. Can swim in lake from small beach if you wish! They now have a shuttle buggy for station. Superb ⭐️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    I thought it was a nice hotel but not worth the money we paid for the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor bar area was very stiff. Wasn't a place you wanted to stay for a long time and just chill. Only a few places to sit.

    The bed was most comfortable, linens were nice too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay but was not the top rating we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was not working upon arrival, but they did replace it on our second day. The basic internet speed is very slow. For the price you pay at this property a better WiFi experience should be expected without having to pay. Breakfast items were in short supply towards the end of the breakfast time. Eat earlier for a better selection!

    Location and the lake view rooms. Pool area was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Such a comfortable welcoming comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a comfortable welcoming comfortable hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were clean and had many amenities that were welcome. The breakfast was amazing. It was so refreshing to wake up, have a cappuccino and stare out at the lake in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    This hotel probably has the best spot on the entire lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a few things not provided in the room which ought to have been provided given the relative cost of the hotel. Our room did not have a kettle (so no tea or coffee) nor did it have an iron / ironing board (you can ask them to iron your clothes but there is a charge for this). We also think it is wrong that this hotel appears whilst searching with the “free parking” filter on Booking.com!there is absolutely no free parking at he hotel, and whilst there are a handful of free spaces in the town it is near impossible to get a free space (we ended up parking in the town’s main car park which costs €20 a day and is very close to the hotel).

    This hotel probably has the best spot on the entire lake! If you book a room with a lakeside view then you will not be disappointed. Our room was lovely, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast was very good. The pool area feels incredibly luxurious and exclusive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful place...charming, well located in the little town and near the ferry if you wish to go o
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking situation was not very convenient. There was a garage up the road, which was costly and there was on the street parking further, which we took, but hard to find a space. Parking usually costs a bit but we thought we'd take advantage of the free parking if we could.

    The breakfast was very good with a nice variety of items. The view from the breakfast rooms was gorgeous, of the lake. There was a nice terrace overlooking the lake but the weather was drizzly and chilly, unfortunately. Customer service was excellent as was the room, with a lovely view of the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    It a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked proper glasses in our room rather than the plastic one-

    Our room overlooked the lake and balcony was a beautiful spot to read, chat and relax. The charming square on which the Hotel Victoria is located created a sense of something special from the moment we arrived. That feeling remained with us for our four day stay: the room, the service and the general character were all delightful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    The location is wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, according to us, showed excessive "fake kindness". The price of the dinner was not proportioned to the quality of food (5 € for a bottle of mineral water and 5€ for the cover charge it's litterally inconceivable)

    The location is wonderful!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    good breakfast, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hung the "do not disturb" sign because all of my belongings didn't pack up, but it seemed mean nothing to the staffs because I found that someone got into the room, then I went out to ask the staff, she simply said " Oh maybe my colleague walked into put the cookies " I said I hung the sign you didn't see ? she said ... I'm sorry... that's it from that lady !!! How can I trust all this staffs ? Moreover, when I checked out I paid by cash and after few second I said I wanted to change to pay by cash plus credit card, she said she couldn't do anything now. It means her service mind is very bad didn't even try to do anything as well as when I asked for someone walked into the room as well. :(((

    good breakfast, nice room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing experience that I won't forget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could have been a little softer but that is just my personal preference.

    Beautiful views in an outstanding location on Lake Como. I would definitely recommend and stay there again. We stayed during the off-season, I am sure it is even more spectacular during the summer months.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Another fantastic stay in Varenna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much - it’s a little on the pricey side

    The staff was super helpful - Davide really went above and beyond. The location, town and restaurant are all wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location - but stick the no pet policy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a no pet policy but as soon as we arrived to our room there was a dog in the next room barking nonstop. We were told it was only temporary but when we returned from dinner it was still barking. We notified the front desk and reminded them of there policy but all they would do was move US to another room at 10pm rather than dealing with the dog and disrespectful guests. Other than that, the place was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa not included in room price. Service in the Grill restaurant when we arrived was very slow and staff not very attentive. Must have just been a bad day.

    Great stay. And great location. organised a private boat tour that picked us up right outside the hotel. highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay, if internet is necessary in your stay go elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard internet very slow and they wanted another €5 per day for faster connection. This shows an outdated way to get more money, fast internet should be included in this day and age and the hotel is not cheap.

    VIew and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    The room (I Promessi Sposi) was completely charming, with an exquisite view of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant attached to the hotel was fine, but a little pompous. We wondered if it would have been more relaxed had we joined the casual diners outside, who were ordering pizzas.

    Reception staff were friendly and cheerful. We appreciated the hotel waiving charges associated with cancellation of one night (snow storms delayed our travel), even though it was within the no-refund period.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Great weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were there in early March there was a lot of the town closed and even the main restaurant and bar in the hotel were closed for dinner.

    The location was great and the town was very beautiful. We took the local ferry to visit other towns nearby. The bars and restaurants that were open in the town were great, lovely people, great food and wine. Would like to visit again in the higher season.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    I am very glad that I chose your hotel to celebrate my 50th...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our friends do not eat pork, did not offer an alternative on breakfast.(

    I am very glad that I chose your hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday with my wife and friends! Fantastic place, kindly and helpful staffs (especially thanks to David), comfortable and clean rooms and very beautiful historical building!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Chic, classy hotel with full services and staff with an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard internet was extremely slow that you couldn’t even check trip advisor for activities or see an online map. There were upgraded internet options that you could purchase, but to check emails and trip advisor, the standard plan should have sufficed.

    The location, friendly staff, room, services, atmosphere, spa scents, and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Best view from Varenna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it was low season, I think they could open the bar and garden to the guests.

    Very beautiful antique building and the view to the lake. The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    The room is small but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small but clean. The bed is really comfortable. The view is priceless. Dinner was good. We did a spa, it was really relaxing. we enjoyed it. We were there during low season and it was the last day before the hotel closed down for their annual holiday, so there're not many people staying in the hotel. All the staff are wonderful especially the young waiter who served us at dinner. (I think his name is Jacob). He did a good job explaining the food, the town and everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean, romantic, friendly staff with bad wi-fi and not a lot facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For this kind of money I would expect more facilities - there was no pot to make yourself a tea or a coffee in a room, I had to go downstairs to the restaurant and ask for hot water, which was delivered to my room for a fee. It seems to me that hotel is charging you a lot for any additional things - the sauna costs almost 90 EUR per person for an hour and doesn't even offer massages. Also, wi-fi is the worst I have ever experienced in my life. It took Netflix 15 minutes to actually start. For this price, the TV was very small and offer just Italian television.

    The best things this hotel has to offer is: friendly staff, always smiling and willing to help, giving advice and concern about its guests; very tasty breakfasts with a lot of things to choose from; very nice view from hotel rooms, overlooking either the lake or the medieval square, and Victoria Grill restaurant, offering delicious pizza and vegetable soup. There wasn't any problem with our early departure. We stayed at the hotel for the new year's eve - the food served was exceptional, the staff made the evening wonderfully delightful. As we were leaving, the hotel gave us free bottles of water, calendar for 2018 and very delicious cake, which was very nice and unexpected. If you are looking for a romantic hotel with very kind staff - this is the place for you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel; just very quiet area off season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's VERY quiet in the wintertime; it's off season for the community so we weren't able to find much open. We realized that going into the location, but even so, were worried one night about finding dinner. We did find a lovely restaurant! But the first night we just found a sandwich place. Our room, 127 Manzoni, had odd noises both nights that bothered us. Be careful on how you pay too; they offered us euro or $ and the $ was much higher than it should have been. Perhaps it was a bank thing.

    Outstanding views! Great breakfast. Nice room. Beautiful old hotel. We didn't try the spa so can't rate it. Location was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    We loved our stay at Hotel Royal Victoria and would definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a room with a balcony overlooking Lake Como, amazing views! The hotel is close enough to walk to the train station and the ferry terminal, making getting around very easy. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Phenomenal hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phenomenal hotel...very nice staff and right in the middle of Varenna. We were upgraded to a lake view at no charge. You must stay here if you want to go to Varenna.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Hotel Royal Victoria was the perfect place to stay in the lovely fishing village of Varenna, Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have nothing negative to say.

    The junior suite was lovely, with a reading nook, a romantic fire place and large soaking tub. The view of the lake from the balcony was breathtaking! The staff was very nice and courteous. The breakfast included was great. Recommend the hot chocolate! ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Spa facilities (steam room and sauna) are not included in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities (steam room and sauna) are not included in the stay and is charged 89euros an hour which is ridiculous on top of already not cheap room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice last location of our stay in Italy. It's romantic and a perfect home base for day trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left the door open because the AC was already turned off for the season in October. There were biting flies immediately in our room and they bit my husband multiple times. Just be aware that this can happen and use the curtains to deter bugs.

    I'm so glad we stayed here! Varenna was a perfect home base for our romantic Lake Como trip. The hotel staff were very helpful and kind. The location was perfect in the main courtyard by the clock tower. We were there in October, and they gave us a free upgrade to a lake view room, before we even asked. We were a little sad we missed the swimming pool's open season, but the beautiful views and delicious breakfast each morning made up for it! The restaurant (VictoriaGrille) should have its own rightful review but it was excellent. We ate there in the first and last night of our stay. Possibly the best food from our whole trip. Only a short walk to the beautiful Villa Monastero, and ferry. We rode in on the train with no car, and everything was accessible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Stunning views in well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Even the weather was brilliant for my whole stay!

    I had the most brilliant view of the Lake from my terrace room, which is impossible to tire of. The staff on reception and in restaurant for breakfast are fantastic - polite, helpful and want you to enjoy your stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    The best part was the view from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs updating, maybe paint and some paintings on the walls. Also the carpeting on the stairs to the dining room looks filthy. Very in need of changing. Also the check out time should be extended to 11 am. Every other hotel we stayed at in Italy during this trip had a noon check out so there was no rushing

    The view was what makes this hotel worthwhile. If we had gotten a room facing any other direction than the water it would not have been worthwhile. The wait staff in the restaurant and bar was also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    I hope to be able to return to Varenna and stay at the Royal Victoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like it all

    The best location and views from almost everywhere on the property. Felt very welcome and all our needs were taken care of. Just a lovely three days!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Expensive for what I got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was very disappointed that I had booked a lake view room with a king bed and a balcony with table and chairs. There were no table or chairs on the balcony. The balcony was so small that it could barely hold chairs let alone a table. Don't be fooled like I was. I assumed that if I ordered a supreme lake view room that would guarantee a balcony with table and chairs. Not so. Ask the hotel directly what type of room you will receive. We had friends who paid much less than us and they had a balcony with table and chairs. What's with that? When I mentioned it to the front desk I got major attitude and gave up. I just moved chairs from the room to the tiny balcony. Don't be fooled by this hotel.

    The view from our room was beautiful. The best part of the whole stay. The room was roomy, clean, and very comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    We will be back if we can secue a discount.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke from neighbors into our room and the lack of balcony privacy. Some of the staff seemed a little snooty and some seemed gracious beyond all expectations. The hotel was quite pricy. Discounts for longer stays would be helpful.

    Room, breakfast, the town of Varenna, the grill associated with the hotel were all excellent. Best pizza ever....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    A lovely few days in Varenna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room facilities weren't the best, no personal tea/coffee making facilities and no iron. We were able to hear people in adjoining rooms. No happy hour at the bar. During our stay there were 2 weddings with receptions held in the only outdoor bar area.

    The outdoor area was lovely with beautiful views from the bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Exceptional Lake Como hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave it after 3 days.

    Fantastic hotel, great location and amazing lake views. Staff were professional and attentive. Welcome drink at checkin and even boscuits and a drink on checkout! Would absolutely stsy here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, a dream come true.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a magnificent view of Lake Como. All the staff we interacted with were extremely helpful and friendly. Chef puts out an amazing prix fixe 5 course locally source meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    Luxury it ain't!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On entering this property you immediately realise you made the wrong choice. From the tired, faded and often dirty decor, to the depressing breakfast room and very indifferent breakfast. The price you pay is exorbitant and all you're paying for is the location. Really nothing else. This hotel is way beyond its sell by date.

    There was very little to like!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    We would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eco friendly hallways are dark until u enter the hallway.

    Excellent buffet breakfast, great variety,we had a great view of the lake,pool and has small beach area. Hotel has spa however we did not use. Eco friendly facility. Located in a plaza across from a centuries old church. Close to restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Incredible view, luxurious resort, amazing stay all around!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We loved everything about it

    This was an incredibly beautiful hotel! We visited on our honeymoon and it was truly a highlight. From the attentive staff and the delicious breakfast to the incredible views and the amazing rooms, we loved every piece of it!! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.3
    Would probably chose a cheaper neighbouring hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all the lake view rooms are equal! First night we were given an awful room on the ground floor - it was dark, small, half the lake view was of the roof below. It was really terrible and definitely not worth the price. I complained and they moved me to a another lake view room the day after on a higher floor which was very nice. What I'm saying is you book at risk!! The standard wifi is awful, barely usable. Staff not that helpful. I called for a toothbrush kit and they asked me to come and collect it! Check out is at 10am!! never heard of this before Staff not always that helpful There were other things i didnt like but i cant remember what they are now

    Good location Breakfast is nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Expensive, but with million dollar views and excellent staff. And a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a couple of silverfish running around in the room. That wasn't ideal.

    Spectacular location overlooking Lake Como. Receiving a welcoming glass of Prosecco on the terrace was lovely. Having Prosecco on ice for breakfast (with a nice lemon croissant) was even better. Did I mention the lake? Great views from breakfast and the terrace bar - but unfortunately we had a room overlooking the main square (which was quite noisy in the evenings). The double glazed windows cut out the noise, but if you like sleeping with the window open it's a bit tough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay in comfortable friendly hotel with amazing view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked bath as well as shower

    Had suite with lake view.view amazing. Breakfast very good,food by pool very good. Staff helpful and friendly. Close to ferry and village. Rooms very quiet. Good quality bathroom, with large shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Was beautiful surroundings and mostly lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was hard with a baby in the hotel and around the whole area due to the natural amount of steps everywhere and having to carry the pram up and down everywhere we went especially to the pool down massive steps.. Could be a guide to how to use the air con properly as we struggled with this getting the room cool.. Didn't like that we was being called at 11am on the dot to come down to reception to check out and when we got down there we had to wait in a question of people to check out anyway.. so was no rush really...?

    I loved the view at breakfast and breakfast staff were very helpful and friendly and polite.. I loved the location of the hotel and how it backs on to the lake I like the fresh towels service daily and love the vintage look of the hotel..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Repeatable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff are amazing, polite and well trained. The lake view from our room was hard to look away from. The pool was warm, breakfast was outstanding, everything you could want including Prosecco which was worth a try once but not really the right time of day for me, but some couples seemed to make the most of it. The location is perfect with a view across to Bellagio, you can catch a boat from the jetty just outside the Hotel gates on the lakefront. I don't think we have had such a good hotel experience before and we have booked for next year .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Marvelous stay at this lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location of this hotel together with the quality of the staff and the facilities has just got to make it THE place to stay in the Italian lakes. Great breakfast too !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Hotel Royal Victoria was PERFECT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel Royal Victoria was PERFECT. The views, the incredible breakfast, the kind, friendly staff, the lake access and beautiful surroundings were fantastic. A perfect place to see Varenna and the surrounding towns. Grazie mille e bravissimo, HRV!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    the pool is lovely and food at the terrace restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too small once we put a cot in there. The lift doesn't go to the pool so it's not great with a buggy.

    the pool is lovely and food at the terrace restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy Air Conditioning. Bed very hard. Spa only available at extra cost. No real charm or atmosphere to the hotel

    View from terrace and outside bar was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The climbs can be challenging. Definitely take a car from the pier if you have luggage!

    The hotel is beautiful and the views are amazing. It is located in Varenna which is more quiet than Bellagio and it is very relaxing. We loved the pool and access to Lake Como. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. We took a train from Varenna to Milan at the end of our stay and it was very convenient, although finding the train station is a little difficult (take a car).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Location is the best in Verenna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff speaks English and we booked months in advance, including the first night dinner which we chose to use the Gourmet Restaurant . Our disappointment here was that when we booked this online, no one from the front office told us they use the Garden area and the balcony for Summer dining. The place was set up, but no AC, It was in the high 90's. Very uncomfortable, it was only when they had a cancellation that we could move outside. The meal was very good, the serving staff fantastic. Our only issue was with the front office not explaining to us about how they run in summer, otherwise we would have booked a garden table. #2 At breakfast, which was part of our package, I did not see the juice stand and asked for orange juice, It came but also with a $12 EU bill because it was ordered. Too many nickel and dime issues that once one learned the shortcomings were easy to overcome. Will give them one more try next year as long as they have a balcony room.

    Location is the best in Verenna. Wonderful views over the lake, and the grounds add to the experience. Did not use the pool in that it was always crowded and a bit small. Overall, the place is very nice and we will return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful place to stay at Lake Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very nice with no decor and dark green walls to the opposite of the rest of the hotel.

    The location and the view on Lake Como are amazing! The hotel is beautiful. The restaurant is very good and the spa very modern and great. Our bathroom was very modern too and completely renovated. The swimming pool is quite small but lovely. The staff is just perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    You're paying for proximity to the lake, but you won't get a view and don't let the 'beach' fool you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photos of the hotel are of renovated areas, the overall feel of the hotel is considerably less than what is presented. The rooms are basic, the beds very uncomfortable (classic European move of having two single beds pushed together), the room we had was facing a noisey alley, the lobby and 'ballroom' area are old and not at all similar to other $300+ a night hotels we stayed at prior to this. The 'beach' out front is public access and is what I would describe as disgusting. Trash, cigarette butts, flotsam. I saved for this 'nice' hotel and was severely disappointed. Overall Varenna felt like a very touristy and overpriced area. I would look elsewhere on Lake Como.

    Location by the lakes edge, the lounge area in the sun was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel. Breakfast rather good. Most of staff was great (but not all). Wifi was weak and slow. Overall, though, Varenna was best choice for us on the lake, Royal Victoria is definitely the best place to stay, and we'd stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Stunning hotel and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking wasn't great, had to park down the road in a public car park. €20 a night.

    Lovely hotel, luxury, with great views of the lake. We went for a suite so not cheap but Como was the highlight of the holiday so treated ourselves. Food great, really enjoyed it. We went to the restaurant last year so wanted to stay there this. would go back in a heart beat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Resting in the good old times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is just so so. For a piece of smoked salmon or for an omelette you have to pay extra. Incredible for this price category!! And even on Sunday breakfast only until 10 a.m. The hotel bar is already closing at 11p.m. Although there was a group of 20+ customers they didn't intend to prolong. The Junior Suite was a big room, with nice lake view. But very old fashioned furniture. The aircon too weak to give comfortable temperature on a warm summer day

    The location is really unique and beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Royal Victoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: