Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Hotel Carlton 4 stars

Via Montebello 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#28 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1261 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel with excellent facilities and within easy reach of the train station. Good fair prices at the bar and in the restaurant. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattress was a bit too hard and a few places in the room and common area require a touch up.

    Conveniently located near the train station. Spacious rooms. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff, especially Teodora, who greatly helped us with restaurant suggestions and reservations; Location close to city attractions; spacious supervised parking lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are rude! And terrible at their job! Did not tell me my parcel had arrived so I left Italy without it. Promised to forward it on to a friends address in Italy and didn’t do it! Would not let us check out 7 days early so charged myself and my friends the whole stay which was 5 rooms at 5 extra days even though the booking was free cancellation and amendments! Just an awful stay- old dirty rooms and a terrible staff!!!! Do not go!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotels on this level should have slippers in all rooms. WiFi was a bit strange, and I got some rather suspicious alerts so I preferred not to use it. Easter Sunday breakfast was just like any other day. Would have been nice to have a colomba or some other traditional Easter cake.

    Location was great and hotel was spacious, comfortable and quiet. A nice change from the cramped rooms and narrow hallways of the city centre hotels. Staff was very kind and helpful and rooms were spotless. The gym was larger and better equipped than most hotel gyms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been there for a bachelorette party. The staff has been super friendly and the hotel is amazing. Very comfortable beds and great breakfast buffet!The location is great too, walking distance to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really expected a teal kettle in my room and/or a bottle of water for this category of hotel. Room service fee is 12€ so I didn't order

    Great quality cold cuts and cheeses, fresh fruits at the breakfast table with fast and courteous service. Warm welcome from the front desk and you never have to handle your luggage yourself. Taxi right away. A wonderful team working together to make your stay a pleasant one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff specially Angelo. Comfortable rooms. Good location. Great value. Spa Excellent perfect and friendly staff in the spa. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came for a weekend day visit so was hoping to use the Spa in between but the entrance fee even for hotel clients is too expensive and doesn't open until 15:00 hours.

    Great Location to get to the city centre and close enough (only 6 minutes walk) from the train station. The hotel is decorated in Victorian/Venetian style, very professional staff and overall atmosphere. The family room for 3 was huge and very clean in a quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason, airconditioning was turned off during the day and although we were told it would be available at night it wasn't. Room was very hot and stuffy at night.

    Breakfast excellent. Location good. Room with a balcony was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't have a pool to complement the spa/ gym facilities, but there again didn't use these anyway!

    Comfortable fair sized rooms. A little out of centre but made for leisurely explorative walks. Very close to the train station which was handy for day trips. Vey friendly helpful staff who spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though it was good weather no facilities to sit on the balcony or by the pool. No iron or kettle in the room, would have been good

    Staff very friendly, good breakfast, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator to the parking garage was a little hokey and extremely small, also you have to take separate elevators to get on to the rooms and there's a strange ramp. I was expecting better food in the restaurant. In the restaurant it was actually a very strange dining experience. We were one of only two tables occupied in the entire place but all our entrees came out at different times. They didn't have the wine we ordered, service was extremely slow, I think we had to wait at least 20 minutes to place our food order.

    Nice lobby and happy hour. Everything was typical big city chain hotel. Nothing very interesting. We slept comfortably in the quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was served, not in a purpose built restaurant but in a large room that could double as a conference room.

    The hotel was an easy walk to the historical centre with the advantage of being in a quiet area of the town. Although we did not use a bus we understood that there were a number of buses that would bring you back to the hotel from the centre basically down a straight road, so very easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great! Staff very friendly and the prices is reasonable without any bad surprises. The location is near the center. Very clean and well maintained for an old building.great for a gate away weekend in Bologna. Only 20mn for the airport. I will stay again if I travel back in Bologna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable as well the pillows. lighthing very bad, wasn't able to do my mackup. Room has no bottle of water, either no coffee entertaiment. During booking seems that i typed 2 people instead of one. once i checked in i noticed that, and i informed the receptionist, who said no diffrence in prices. During checkout i asked another guy and told him that there is a difference between 1 and 2 persons, he agreed but said its impossible to return you the money because this was deducted by booking. Im fully aware that this is not true.. This was my second staying in this hotel during the yearly exhbithion time and it will be the last time.

    Breakfast selection acceptable.staff in the resraurant good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Reception staff were extremely helpful regarding restaurant recommendations train times etc. the bar staff very pleasant. The nibbles accompanying the drinks were magnificent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old fashion decoration. The menu at the restaurant. The chef had clearly a thing with pumkins, we weren't at any point clear if we were eating food or desert...!!! Not even when we ordered our chocolate ball...

    Τhe patio of the hotel and the gardens

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in room No tea coffee facilities in room - and 4 euros for a cup of tea on room service No air con in gym 2 out of 3 treadmills not worling 35 euros to access the spa area to use the sauna/steam room etc - eell publicised but not included in the room rate!! Spa did not answer phone!

    Location Room size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable beds. Old style hotel but modern where needed (like USB chargers at the beds). Extensive choice for breakfast and lovely staff. Very good gym!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first we got a nice room with a balcony. When we got into the room we saw that there was someone living there! So we got new and much worse room. We were not informed about parking costs extra. Several days after we checked out, money was withdrawn on our credit card without approval. WIFI was useless

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room, a filthy, dirty balcony without even the basic of seating! Belligerent bar staff who quite often had to be sought out for service. Not allowed to take wine to the room unless I paid 5 euros for someone to bring it up. A mini bar in the room with no wine!!!

    Nothing special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving to the hotel at 10 in the morning expecting to wait for my room until afternoon. Instead i got my room at once. Breakfast buffe is excellent Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A good hotel within easy walking distance of the center of Bologna. Room was comfortable and clean and the hotel was definitely a 4 star. Staff were polite and helpful. Reasonable value considering exchange rate and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large (conferences held there). If you want more personalized service, might want to look for a smaller hotel.

    Short 7 minute walk to train station; 10-15 minute walk to Piazza Maggiore. Comfortable room. Great towels. Bathrobe and slippers provided. Attentive general manager who proactively and promptly addressed an issue.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A perfect stay and excellent location. The hotel was stunning and the staff were very extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was extremely spacious and comfortable. Also I treated myself to a massage in the hotel spa which was one of the best spa experiences I have had.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice clean hotel walkable from train station. Good and prompt service. Rooms elegant. Cold Breakfast was included. However, you will have to pay if you need oemlette.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a good hotel with a nice brakfast for Italian standard. All clean and functional. The direct surroundings are not so perfect but it's just a 10 minute walk to the city center and you can reach the hotel within 10 minutes by walkjng from the main station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial booking was for 2 people, me and my adult son. I booked the room for twin beds. When we arrived, the reservation was there and the room had twin beds, however, I was told that the reservation was made for one person and so an additional $80 American dollars was going to be charged to my credit card for the additional person. I told them they were wrong and the reservation was for two people and I received an e-mail advising me of the twin bed confirmation for that room, and showed them. They insisted the reservation was made for one person and said that there reservation stated one person. I asked them to think about "why would I ask for twin beds if I were alone?" Very unprofessional approach. I will not stay there again nor will I ever recommend that hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were surprised with a welcoming bottle of champangne on ice, large assortment of fruit and a fresh bouquet of roses! The morning meal was quite expansive and varied. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this rather expensive hotel in Bologna for the pool and wellness area. The problems was the pool wasn't available in early June and that wasn't mentioned anywhere when booking the rooms. We were very disappointment because we gave up some visiting plans for a relaxing afternoon at the pool. Also - we payed for the underground parking which should have been included in the room rate. If you travel together with friends, when you check in mention them you want rooms located on the same floor and close to each other. The corridors are huge and - depending on the room no - you may need a few minutes to get to it from the elevators

    The hotel is very elegant and big. It has a wellness area (which we haven't tried), a good breakfast in a spacious restaurant and another elegant restaurant where you can eat dinner (although the food was expensive and meh).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It´s a super old Hotel. It needs renovation and theres nothing nice about it. Old room, old facilities, old moquettes. Breakfast is terrible.

    Almost nothing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning is below average (it's more like a fan, it simple don't cool the room) The standard room is tiny The balcony was incredible dirty

    The bed is excellent Since the tier 2 room, they are huge Fitness room is great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little compact when sat on toilet. Coffee bar manager was a little abrupt, although he was trying to be efficient

    The hotel was located near to the conference centre by taxi. Near to the old town to eat in the evening. Clean and comfortable room. Borrowed a plug converter at no cost, printed my boarding pass again at no cost.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard but that's all I can groan about!!

    Real value for money, it was exceptionally clean, the staff very helpful, a great choice for breakfast and all within a 10 minute walk to the centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather could have been a little better. Temperatures changed a lot throughout the day.

    Close to all facilities. Good walking distance to main train station. Good walk to sights, shops etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have any serious complaints. The only thing that I could say counts as a minus is the exterior. In comparison with the interior, the exterior of the hotel isn't by far as grandiose or as glamorous, but this is more of a impression based on personal taste.

    Outstanding interior architecture and design! I was mesmerized by the countless chandeliers, incredible paintings and vintage decorations. There is a certain athmosphere, old and luxurious, that I particularly enjoyed and I believe that also the city itself offers it. You can easily get lost in time through the crowded streets of Bologna, contemplating the unique architecture, listening to a guitar playing in the distance and being surrounded by a delicious smell of Italian food. Definitely a memorable experience!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to sit outside on the terrace for a drink because it was prebooked for a conference

    Good breakfast choice. Comfortable bar. Attentive staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi at times, it could be a little inconsistent, but not a deal breaker for us

    Very relaxing hotel. Staff courteous and professional. Nice to go back to the hotel after dinner for a relaxing drink and a chat

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no iron/ironing board in the rooms, but they do offer a laundry/pressing service at a charge. I've noticed this is common for Italian hotels, so pack a travel iron if required.

    I stayed here for 3 nights (Easter weekend) with my husband. The hotel is quite big but still quiet. The room was nice and clean with Sky TV and minbar. The hotel bar is well stocked and staff are friendly. In the early evening we had a drink outside under the individual gazebo huts which was lovely and peaceful. Breakfast buffet was a good selection of cheese, meats, fruit, cereal and bread, as well as eggs and other cooked options which varied each day. We didn't use the restaurant for other meals or room service so I can't comment on that. The location was ideal for what we wanted. It is very close to the train station and a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to Piazza Miaggore. It feels like you are further out of town because the hotel grounds are bigger than those in the centre, but this was an appeal for us as we enjoy a walk into town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Poor" is too low, "fair" is too high. Average, I'd say. Disappointing, as expectations from Carlton are high. Staff is very individual - some rude some helpful. Way too pricey for what it delivers. SOA not included.

    Design is old-fashioned, partly funny (in a nice way) partly just outdated. Breakfast is satisfying. Lobby is nice. Rooms are OK, but overpriced for what they are and their state, apart for being really spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a good 20 minute walk from the city's traditional centre - a bit further than we anticipated. Maybe that's why the surrounding streets were so quiet. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Room safe never worked during our 6 night stay despite reporting it to reception on our arrival.

    The bed was huge and ultra comfy. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the staff made it a very positive, caring experience for the customer. Very well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard. Pillows very firm and unyielding (glad I was forewarned by previous comments & packed my own!) Only one armchair in room - the other chair was an upright desk/dressing table chair with a sagging cushion. We asked for this to be changed but the replacement was little better. Shower over bath OK but not very high pressure, and a handrail would have been useful. Choice of restaurants nearby was fairly limited. Hotel restaurant food very good but quite expensive & had a limited menu which didn't change during our 6 night stay, & bar only offered pricey sandwiches & meat or cheese platters. A lot of "corporate" events at the hotel. Mostly not an issue but on one lovely warm evening we couldn't use the outdoor bar - it had been let for a private function.

    Comfortable large room (paid extra for superior king size double - "Rack rate" would have been very expensive but we got a fair deal through booking.com). Decent amount of storage for clothes & a nice bathroom. Staff very helpful & all had good English. When bedside lightbulb failed someone came within 5 mins to replace it (amazing!). Location was OK if you used the buses (20 min walk to historic centre, but quite near the station for outings - eg Ferrara an easy day trip). Pleasant restaurant - food very good, staff welcoming, & nice bar (but see my "didn't like" comments). Wifi connection OK - reasonable speed, fine for downloading newspapers, but not very secure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi in the room was not consistant.

    breakfast was diverse and accommodating to any special needs. the food was of high quality and plentiful. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff are not very helpful and found them not to care very much. The bathroom was very outdated and in need of modernisation. The room was very small. Expensive massage and paying to use the showers Etc before a massage is something that is beyond belief.

    The location was great, Plus the breakfast was pleasant too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very expensive room rate, no doubt because of a big trade fair the days I was there, but I do think they were charging a bit of a premium.

    The location is excellent, near to the shopping streets and Piazza Maggiore but away from the noise of the main drag. Lovely garden and immaculately professional staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee facilities in room. Room too hot at night even with air-conditioning on.

    Wide choice at breakfast buffet. Spacious rooms. Close to station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to access the spa during useable hours. Room advertised/ appeared as if spa was included in the room fee but charged separately. I never used the spa, but that was why I chose the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the room was to low, because of losses throu the windows, there is no way to control the air heating in the room, the staff ignored repeatedly our complaints.

    Good location, glamorous hotel, Excelent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variation at breakfast was not much specially when you stay over a long period. Some times the glasses in the room were not cleaned. Tea coffee making was not available in the room. They charge Eur12 extra per room service. And ironing facility was not available. Have to give it to laundry service which was charged extra.

    Breakfast was really good with assortment of cheese and cold cuts which was simply fabulous. They did eggs and bacon when requested. Which was also excellent. We were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed to me a bit dusty as all the floors are covered with carpets. The pillows in bed were very hard.

    Stayed here only for one night. Liked the location - close to the center and the railway station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prices were a bit higher than usual due to the New Year period, but that was our fault for only deciding to come to Bologna only a few weeks ago! There is nothing I didn't like

    Location was ideal for us; 15 min taxi from Airport (17 euro) , 15 min walk (1.5K) to old City centre, 5 min walk from Railway Station. Rooms larger than any other Italian hotel I've stayed in. Bed large and very comfortable. Breakfast would suit every taste, excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be improved as it lacks of healthy dishes and sugarless items Use of sauna and steam is not for free to few elevators for the layout of the rooms in the building

    Very good in house gym

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bar is a bit pricey but that's the norm with good hotels in most European cities.

    Old style hotel. Excellent friendly staff. From reception to the bar to housekeeping they couldn't do enough for us. So friendly and welcoming The breakfast was superb. Good food and lots of choice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely hot in the room making sleep quality poor. not possible to customize room temperature unclear what is the difference between a superior and a deluxe room. our double superior room resulted much smaller from same category of double room assigned to our colleagues

    location and comfortable interior

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were woken up at night (as was our baby) by the film crew running around upstairs directly above us - also a number of spotlights and gunshot noises as part of the filming. No tea/coffee facilities in the room to boil water and a little expensive for what we got. Breakfast was relatively average.

    The room was excellent, including the bathroom. Not too far from the station and the Piazza is a walkable distance. Staff were helpful and tried to assist with any requests.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful and friendly and also helped us booking restaurants. We had a fruit bowl and champagne delivered to our room whilst we was out compliments of the hotel which I was though was a lovely thing to do

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very rude when we arrived. Just asked name and gave us the room keys. Did not welcome us or tell us any information such as time or place for breakfast. Or check out time. This is usually a very standard welcome wherever I've travelled to before. Whenever we asked reception a question it was received with a sigh and we felt as if we were wasting their time even though we were the customer. The hotel states there is a spa and this was a reason we chose this hotel. But it does not state that this all had to be paid for as an extra. It should be noted that it's €35 to use the spa for one hour. On our last morning we received a wake up telephone call at 5am which we had not booked. When we told reception the lady laughed as she said sorry.

    The rooms were lovely and nice attention to detail with robes and slippers. Beds are turned down each evening which is a nice touch. Breakfast was lovely. Staff in the bar area, spa and the door men were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a great experience at the Royal hotel Carlton. The staff were friendly and helpful. I arrived much earlier in the morning and they were accommodating enough to let me check in earlier. The room and showers were very spacious considering European standards. Even though it was 2 twin beds, they were actually 2 full sized beds. The location is great for those traveling to and from trains. There's this short cut through Galleria Road that actually makes it faster to go to the Bologna Centrale.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An electric kettle in the room would be welcome.

    Ver spacious Junior Suite, presented with flowers, wine and fruit after a minor mix up with booking. Great staff, beautiful room. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to make an appointment to use the spa facilities. Parking I believe was 25€ per 24 hours. The wifi was intermittent.

    Very spacious, clean, old fashion luxury, super professional staff. Large breakfast. Gym. Location- in 5 minutes walking you have shopping, restaurants, bars. The room was so comfortable. Well stocked mini bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea.

    We loved the position to the center of town and also proximity to the station, as we took a day out to go to Venice and decided on the morning. Staff were very helpful and espresso with milk was fantastic. This city has the most amazing selection of food we have experienced in our six visits to Italy. First time here and looking forward to the next.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful location in a central yet quiet part of the city. The room was spacious even though we had the smallest room in the hotel. Everything in the room was in perfect condition, including all of the tiling and trim. The staff was nice and helpful and friendly to our 3-year old. Breakfast was large and wonderful with cappuccino made to order. The bed was really comfortable. Truly we couldn't ask for anything more in a hotel. It was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a large scale map to help you navigate from check in to garage. Garage staff seemed to enjoy directing me to awkward spaces.

    The choice and quality of the included breakfast was outstanding, as was the decor and furnishings of our room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor: Interior was a little dated.

    This was a very nice hotel in downtown Bologna a short pleasant walk to Piazza Maggiore. Property was very clean and well maintained. Rooms were spacious, quiet, and comfortable Staff was very courteous and professional. I would stay again when returning to Bologna.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great - just note it is a larger modern hotel on the edge of the city centre, not an old boutique hotel right in the centre, but it worked perfectly for us.

    Great location close to the central train station and a nice walk into the town centre. We had a very large and comfortable room with a very large and comfortable bed. The room was well furnished and decorated and the bathroom was great. Breakfast was excellent too. We would definitely stay here again, a very comfortable base to explore beautiful Bologna.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old decoration.

    Room was big. Personnel were very helpful. Breakfast was the richest in our 6 days trip (2 days in Rome, 3 in Florence and all 4star hotels)..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A/c, toilet seat, and phone in first room were all broken. Seems like the kind of things that should be checked before guests are put in the room. After complaining twice we were switched to a room down the hall which was fine. Staff were polite and tried to be responsive.

    Okay location, about a mile or so from the heart of the city, I thought it would be closer based on previous location ratings. Very nice spa. Generally friendly and helpful staff. When our first room's a/c was broken and toilet seat was broken, they switched our room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked coffee/tea making facilities in room. Pillows could have been a lot better as could AC. Check in staff not very friendly. Restaurant choice very limited. Breakfast was also just average. Was promised balcony when booking but on arrival none available.

    Everything kept very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The extras available in the room are not existent when compared with other 4 star hotels. Also, not possible to get ice cubes from the bar. Bar tender informed that we had to call room service and pay 5 Euros for them.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room at a list price of 950 € (much too high ) but via booking only 170 €.

    Central location close to the old city centre. large rooms with excellent beds and free toiletries. good sound demping. Complete breakfast with fresh fruits..

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff not interactive with guests and a bit aloof. Staff seemed more anxious to clear tables and finish breakfast shift than catering for guests. No bathrobes or slippers. Only 3 hangers in closet and one broken.

    Location. Comfort. Breakfast. WiFi free.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was the most extensive we have seen in two months of traveling and different hotels. We can also recommend the hotel restaurant for dinner. The hotel is also within an easy walk to the train station for dat trips to Venice and Ravenna.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to details were missing. When checking in we got the wrong room. Not what we had booked and we were paying for at all. So had to call down. Got the room we had booked for. The promised bathrobes were missing which we pointed out but didn't turn up until the last day when back in the afternoon. 2nd day the cleaning was sloppy including pillow case missing so we had to chase that down and the following morning we realized that the floor mat had not been replaced so had to use one of the towels. It was nice with a balcony but we couldn't use it since it was unfurnished and the arm chairs didn't fit through the door. The tv wasn't working and had to be fixed the first evening. Would have bern bice to be able to sit outside with a drink. There was only one reading lamp to share and was on the table side to one of the beds.

    The location was great. It's generally a nice hotel. We loved that the restaurant had a fantastic, creative vegan menu. High recommendations for a visit. The chef is amazing and the restaurant waiter was a star.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    efficient and friendly staff. good location. good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Royal Hotel Carlton traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: