Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal Court 4 stars

Via Marghera 51, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#622 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 103 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great quality-price relation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a new building a block away and we stayed there without any notice. The new rooms are great but it would be nice to be informed that we would not be on the main building.

    Comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    To recommend for a short touristic stay in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room furtniture is a bit old fashioned, which not untypicall for Rome hotels. Check-in in the middle of the night went really slow, due to the male receptionist, who was not very kind. Though other staff was very friendly and polite. The breakfast room is very small, but due to good quailty and choice for breafast, this is no problem.

    Close to public transport. Good breakfast. Nice and big bathroom. Close to restaurants and shops in the train station which work until very late at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Anything but Royal...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Plenty. The so-called upgrade was in another building, in fact just a small studio in a block of apartments. The window did not close properly and it was facing a street with four restaurants next to each other, so there was not a quiet moment, except perhaps between 2am - 4am. The noise was horrible, from all customers until very late at night, then very early in the morning from all the cleaning. On top of this the car/moped/bike traffic made sure that even those few precious silent moment did not go uninterrupted. Although I had booked the hotel a couple of months in advance, at arrival I was told it was full and that's why I received the free "upgrade", which put me in another building than the rest of my team. There is no bar, just a very small garden with a couple of tables, but with nothing available. The TV programmes, which were 90% Italian, were also 90% useless: shopping channels, local news or simply unavailable. Hardly anything to see, in spite of having some 300 channels or more.

    I was upgraded to a larger room, apparently, as the hotel was full, although I made the reservation a couple of months in advance and there was still place. There were two bottles of water in the room, which was nice to have. The room looked new, the bathroom was large and all was clean. The breakfast had a reasonable range of choices, although mostly cold.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location to visit Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. It was as expected

    Room was of a nice size for the family (quadruple room). Location next to the main train station is convenient to arrive and leave to the airport as well as to visit Rome (busses, metro and taxi)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Check-in staff member/receptionist was quite unfriendly. Didn’t smile or look at me while checking in and was generally cold and aloof. No complementary tea coffee or water in the rooms which is pretty standard at even 3 star hotels. The room was cramped. Their idea of a family room is to add 2 single beds and a large double to a standard room. Barely any room to move around.

    Good breakfast, beautiful hotel, perfect location within walking distance to Termini. The porters and waiters were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Very friendly service, beautiful apartment!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and service. Staff could not be more friendly. We accidentally took the building keys with us and they charged us nothing. We eventually found them and are more than happy to send them back!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    After booking this only like 15 mins before we arrived at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After booking this only like 15 mins before we arrived at the hotel, the hotel staff was already added the extra bed we needed to become a triple. The staff were super friendly and room was fab nice and big for me and my two friends as we has a triple room. On the off chance we asked for a kettle and to my delight they had one free of charge. Great location only a 5 min walk from the Termini station 100% would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Next door occupants were smoking but staff managed to talk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next door occupants were smoking but staff managed to talk to them and it stopped but this went for two nights before we thought to report them to reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is in a great location. The staff were so friendly, helpful and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, loads of variety and plenty there. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the photos i saw some kettles so i thought like normal hotels they will have coffee mugs and coffee which they don't provide. Don't take their breakfast, 16 euros is too much for that. we found way cheaper alternatives at the train station.

    The staff were amazing, distance from the main train station is very near and so many restaurants around. Hotel was good but it is quite old compared to what you see from photos. Hotel transfer was efficient, we took the same to go to hotel. It's quite good if you have a big group.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    3.3
    Worst misleading hotel in the planet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything....My booking was for 12th May check in and 15th May Check out. They messed that up, they charged us extra as it states on their system our check out is on the 14th May. The AC was not working, they gave us the wrong room!

    Nothing....My booking was for 12th May check in and 15th May Check out. They messed that up, they charged us extra as it states on their system our check out is on the 14th May. The AC was not working, they gave us the wrong room!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    4.2
    Not even in the same building..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave me a room 3 blocks away, which was in a building "newly purchased" and "part of the hotel". Not sure what it had to do with the hotel though: Not the same look, feel or service since nothing else there besides 2 levels of rooms (the other levels are another hotel). Very disappointing stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Royal court
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely hard and the hotel itself was dated. Head to breakfast early as there are few tables and a number of times we had to wait around for a table

    The staff were so friendly and happy to make any bookings or recommendations

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, smart hotel close to the Termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was close to air conditioning unit of adjacent building which was s bit noisy at night. Nothing the hotel can do about that though.

    Very comfy beds, spacious room with huge bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds pushed together to make double. No full length mirror in bedroom

    Staff were so friendly and attentive. Great location stones throw from centrailvtrain station (Termini) easy to get to all of rome on metro or by foot.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Ruby (the receptionist) is a total asset to the hotel-...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No high chairs in the breakfast room, which made feeding my baby difficult.

    Ruby (the receptionist) is a total asset to the hotel- extremely welcoming and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    The most welcome I have ever felt at a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a little hard is the worst thing I have to say everything else was great

    The staff were incredibly friendly which really made the stay a great one, the breakfast selection was good for a small hotel and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    The staff were all really helpful, kind, and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were all really helpful, kind, and informative. Great location, easy access to the train station, and a great reference point whether you want to walk around the city or travel by metro.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Helpful staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the expensive for what it was.

    Helpful staff and great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have paid a lot of money but I have not got the break feast that made me disappointment

    Locality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space in the room for 4 occupancy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    cash payment for tax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    cash payment for tax

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.4
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water is not stable

    Breakfast is pretty nice. Staff are very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Great hotel and location always greeted with a friendly face very welcoming and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel very good close to terminal for the metro, helpful staff , great buffet breakfast .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.8
    Freindltness, Nice Breakfast, Staff are freindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Infernet in the room is weak,sometimes it works , sometime it won't.

    Freindltness, Nice Breakfast, Staff are freindly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Amazing staff, hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, hotel and location. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor beds, kept collapsing. Room door lock broke twice, electricity kept cutting out.

    Very helpful staff and location close to train station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is in a great location close to the 'Termini...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    On the booking.com website it states it has a bar as part of the Food & Drink under the Facilities of Hotel Royal Court heading. When I arrived and asked about one they told me they had none but have a mini bar in the rooms...It is a bit miss-leading.

    The hotel is in a great location close to the 'Termini Railway Station' ( with connections to Metro, Bus and Airport express) making all of Rome easy accessible. Very friendly staff who were extremely helpful and courteous. The services that they provided was to the highest standard. Free wifi was also provided along with Luggage storage.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Staff were amazing and very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was a little average. Same thing everyday. Not alot of variety. Rooms were small even the biggest one. Not really suitable if traveling with 4 or more people.

    Staff were amazing and very accommodating. Rooms very clean. Nice quiet location with restaurants just around the corner

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.5
    Kindness of staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very small size of the room, had to ask for another room. The second one was larger but still could barely accommodate our two big suitcases. Broken refrigerator.

    Kindness of staff. Breakfast buffet. Free wifi. Location close to train station (although a little far from main attractions)

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    8.8
    Location of the hotel is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Overall no negative comments

    Location of the hotel is superb! Suitable for free and easy travellers who need trains and metro. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful with good English speakers Good free wifi access

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.1
    All staff we spoke to were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately our room was next door to the air-conditioning plant so rather noisy.

    All staff we spoke to were very helpful. The breakfast was very good and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.1
    Near the Termini and there are supermarkets and eateries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad was having 3 channels on TV (BBC uk, sports and film italy). The fridge turns off when leaving the room. Sometimes the bedroom floor was still dirty. I've been staying for long nine days, and the breakfast menu was very tasty, but did not vary with the days passing, because I had only one option of small bread salty, sweet and tart every day. We think the breakfast was small for a four star hotel considered, we are accustomed to American standard. But the waiters were generally fantastic. The water in the shower leaked by the will of small glass, and so wet the bathroom.

    Near the Termini and there are supermarkets and eateries. There are good restaurants near the hotel. This side of Termini, is not as ugly and poorly attended. Good bed and good sheets. Heating and air conditioning. A large closet with drawers. Code box. Large bathroom with good bath or shower. Clean white towels. Interior corridors were silent. Big lift always available. The hotel staff were always very attentive and friendly. The staff was very good from the reception with Ruby (nice!) And friendly waiters. The staff always smiling.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    Had an extended stay & booked via bookings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hotel is the same as home and that's why it's a holiday. Beds and showers are not set up the same and people complain about those things.

    Had an extended stay & booked via bookings.com for excellent value. Received the 'hidden' room and staff extremely helpful with all requests. Wifi a bit 'hit & miss' but that may have been a result of the hidden room, which more than made up for it.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    5.4
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast spread was poor with nearly nil options for vegetarians. Facilities were not of the standard of four star property. Not at all value for money, No coffee machine, Jacuzzi in room not working, Bed not so comfortable as compared to other four star properties we stayed in during our Europe trip.

    Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were excellent! Location was perfect! Will definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    7.1
    Close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small rooms.

    Close to train station. Personal was great.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.8
    Everything was really good and the staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was really good and the staff was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.4
    Helpful staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities are running down. A/c din't work well. Key card slot was broken.

    Helpful staffs.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small rooms

    Comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Stayed before in 2012.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed before in 2012. Found it comfortable and convenient and professional.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    9.2
    location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms on street maybe a bit noisy

    Great location..3 mins walk from Termini stn on a reasonably quiet street

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.3
    Great location, near main shopping street, walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, near main shopping street, walking distance to the Dome

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Royal Court traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: