Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Royal 3 stars

Via delle Ruote 52, 50129 Florence, Italy

#152 of 393 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2082 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    A palace of wonder in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (1) Location is not that good to train travelers. When you arrive in Firenze S.M.N. you will find the hotel is at the opposite direction of most resorts. (2) It could be better if breakfast started earlier. Now it starts from 7:00, and unfortunately, I arranged Uffizi tour in the morning of last day. I had to finish a quick breakfast and checkout immediately, then rushed to Uffizi to avoid the horrible queue.

    (1) I would like to say, the hotel is a work of art, a palace of wonder. Paintings, decorations, just match the style of Florence. (2) Nice garden and big parking lot. Very friendly to vehicle travelers.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    Fancy hotel albeit a little far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a little away from the train station. Room was small. Right next to elevator so you were easily disturbed when it was in use.

    Great breakfast. Allowed late checkin. Nice lobby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Stunning room, stunning building, beautiful grounds and pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was one of those fancy ones where the shower has no walls, water everywhere, very slippery. To be fair all the rooms may not be set up this way, our room was ground floor so the bathroom may have been set up for wheelchair access

    Stunning room, stunning building, beautiful grounds and pool facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Bed was super comfy and room was really clean and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Female desk memeber could have been nicer the men were very nice

    Bed was super comfy and room was really clean and the breakfast was better than the average!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying an additional fee for each use of the pool

    Very friendly staff, they were also very helpful when booking trips / excursions Great location of hotel: quiet but close to Florence city center Nice garden and pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    On site parking, garden and pool in central Florence is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre, scrambled eggs only half cooked and cold. Windows in the breakfast room were very dirty. Wifi didn‘t work properly.

    On site parking, garden and pool in central Florence is remarkable, staff very friendly and premises and rooms clean and well kept

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.5
    Villa Royal - the perfect location for a city trip to Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ----------

    Villa Royal exceeded all our expectations. Charming hotel in a quiet area of Florence, but the main sights and attractions within walking distance. Very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you, Massimo, for room 39 with the beautiful private terrace! The spacious garden area was fantastic and relaxing after coming back from the crowds of the city. A great bonus is the secure parking in the courtyard of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic value stay in a beautiful hotel, would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be easier if the cost of the pool was included in the main cost. Everyone I met there had chosen the hotel for the pool, so would make sense for it to be included! Regardless it is a very small fee and great value. I booked the single room, which was great value given the quality of the breakfast, the location, and the quality of the hotel, however it was a very small room. It seemed to be squeezed in to the property and my door was right next to the elevator. This meant it was rather noisy and it was very apparent that my experience would be different if I had spent more money. However the noise wasn't enough to cause an issue and I would still visit the same room again. There aren't restaurants immediately on the doorstep, but that's no problem, it was only a short walk into the central areas.

    I really loved my stay here and will definitely return next time I visit Florence. The hotel more than exceeded my expectations. I had a very simple single room but the rest of the hotel felt very glamorous and more luxurious than the cost I paid, so it was great that there were common areas (sofas and the garden) where I could spend downtime rather than staying in the bedroom. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. The garden areas and pool were gorgeous and such a welcome break in the afternoons from the heat and the crowds of the city. The coffee and the breakfast was fantastic, couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    Pretty much what we expected and could hope for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not possible to adjust the air conditioning (only on or off). Partner seemed to be allergic to the wash powder / starch in the bed sheets. Booking.com should be clearer that local taxes not included in the price and indicate what those taxes are.

    Good, friendly front of hotel staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Florence was fantastic and I would highly recommend this hotel for its price range.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet constantly ran which was noisy. Where my room was located was in a high traffic corridor so it was a little noisy.

    Lovely, helpful staff. Beautiful old biulding. Basic but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Very lovely! The staff were friendly and accommodating and the overall atmosphere was very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private terrace was absolutely lovely! the grounds were beautiful and very well kept! The pool was a great way to relax after a busy day exploring the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent classic heritage accomodation with swimming pool and gardens in the heart of romance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative really

    Lovely villa converted into hotel. Excellent amenities and common areas Nice rooms with cosy beds and balcony Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps having extra staff on in the evening when you know there is a large party to check in .... too much for 1 person to cover the reception and bar

    All good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff were great, breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn’t perfect, room a little run down-not as nice as in pictures

    Staff were great, breakfast was excellent! Very neat property, in an old palace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Respite in the City!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very neat and clean,staff was friendly.It was an old villa,very picturesque setting.It was quiet at night.Would definitely stay there again. Walking distance to many attractions!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Communal areas very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, and was so close to the reception that it was difficult to sleep past 7am with all the noise.

    Communal areas very nice. Good staff and close enough to the centre for sightseeing. Great decor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    Beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated dark room. Annoying WiFi forcing you to log in through social media. Strange bathroom set up without full shower enclosure so floods at times. Noisy. Having to pay extra for the swimming pool with endless ‘pool rules’.

    Beautiful garden. Good breakfast. Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was so beautiful, we were in a private room by the pool, the bed was so comfortable, and spotlessly clean, breakfast was delicious, and a great selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Lovely break all round - city, hotel, food, wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were wonderful from our arrival to our departure nothing too much trouble. It was lovely to be able to sit in the garden or have a swim in the pool after a day sightseeing. The breakfast was lovely and regularly replenished. We were recommended sites and restaurants and how to get there - really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    20 minutes from station. Good to walk from into City. Several good ristaurantes nearby on walking dn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facility in room we had. Biting insect problem in garden and cosequently room

    7am onwards friendly breakfast . Good coffee and tea facilities. Good reception staff. Spacious garden and seating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed the stay at this hotel (8 nights). It is well placed (in a quiet neighborhood) - about 10 minutes’ walk to the Piazza del Duomo, but also to the train station ( where is the meeting point for the tours to Pisa and Siena) and Santa Maria Novella Church. Splendid hotel with very nice and cozy garden, where you can reload your energy for the next day. You will meet here a very nice and helpful staff at the reception and, also, the kitchen staff. Thank you very much for helping me have a great vacation!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Helpful employees, location of the hotel is the best, Wide breakfast opportunities and the Most important point is that beds and sheets were clean and relax. I would stay here for my future visits for sure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Will certainly go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was excellent but expensive.

    Very elegant building, parking, staff were wonderful. Location was perfect as it is away from the crowded part of Firenze.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    A fantastic couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing :)

    Wow, this hotel is in an excellent location, a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Florence, in beautiful grounds. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    If you book early this is amazing value and a wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The €25/day car parking and especially the €15/day motorbike parking when there is FREE BIKE PARKING on the street right outside (which is where I parked with no problem at all for 2 nights) ... they charge €3/day/person for the pool but it was 34 degrees when we were there so worth every penny.

    If you book early this is amazing value and a wonderful hotel. The staff are amazing, wonderful service, great language skills and always smiling. The facilities are excellent and the pool wonderful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    Stayed at better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was overall good however value for money it definitely wasn't!! with 25 euros per night for parking being extortionate and charging for use of the basic small outdoor pool when already paying more than average really not acceptable. The breakfast staff very dismissive and unwelcoming but breakfast selection good. Disappointing and unlikely to return.

    Ambience and character very charming and comfortable. Breakfast good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    The property was so Central to Museums & Gallery’s, only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hot breakfast choice could of been better, only one coffee machine so queues & not hot! Really don’t like shower curtains in a bath! Not very hygenic & stool under sink in bathroom yellow, dated furniture & noisy deliveries at 7.30am in the morning.

    The property was so Central to Museums & Gallery’s, only 10 Minutes walk to restaurants, shops & main site seeing. The pool was not big but lovely quiet choice of hotel away from the hustle bustle after sight seeing, lovely sized garden but no way enough loungers for the amount of guests. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, nice pool and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid single standard room. I got a very tiny room ( strangely arranged with a wall in the middle) with one small window that did not let any sunlight in due to blinds that could not be kept open. I only received a hand soap and had to ask for shower gel. I guess it is a good hotel, I probably just got a left-over room. If you avoid that you’d be fine.

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, nice pool and garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel worth far more than it's 3 star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Trivial matters not worth mentioning.

    Couldn't recommend highly enough! The staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help - even planned a quick tour of the city as they tried to help you find your bearings on the map. The room we were given was a pleasant surprise as we had our own private terace and the pool area and garden were a peaceful haven in the middle of the busy city. Breakfast was the best we had out of the 3 hotels we stayed at during our stay in Tuscany and there was no problem in leaving luggage at the hotel until we came to collect after further explorations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Charming Villa, romantic environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming Villa, romantic environment. Very good location. The hotel is located in the city center, just a fiew minutes walk from the main places. A lots of good restaurants nearby. Thumbs up for the breakfast. Tasty and a lot of choices. We had a double room which was quite spacious and a big bathroom. There is a private parking but the fee is not included (25€ per day). There is also a pool (3€ per person per day, if you use it)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only way it could have been better was if there was a kettle in the bedroom.

    We loved the location - it took us about ten minutes to walk to the Duomo but this was perfect for us as we preferred a more chilled, quiet location. The hotel was very clean and the staff lovely. We managed to squeeze in a pool morning during our stay and it was great. We also loved the breakfast - there was a good choice and it was in a very relaxing setting. The room was impeccably clean, the shower was powerful and the bed was the best we’ve slept in for a long time. We didn’t want to leave and will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel if you’re staying in Florence for more than a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional charges for the pool

    Great hotel if you’re staying in Florence for more than a short weekend Approx 10 minute walk to Duomo- quiet but close enough to sights Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the staff member at the desk was very pleasant and told me to ask them to arrange any museum or attraction bookings for me. However, the next day a different staff member seemed very reluctant to help telling me to ‘just book online’. I told her I was having issues with booking online and she said ‘they must be sold out’. I then phoned the gallery at personal expense from my cellphone and easily booked myself in for that day. Would have been nice if the staff member had been happy to help

    Good breakfast. Easy 10 minute walk to the centre of town. Beautiful common areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    It's not bad.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though you know you pay extra for parking and the pool, it still feels like you are being milked whist you stay..... Could do with a freshen up

    Nice converted villa, basic but comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location for exploring Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furnishing were rather tired and the bathroom in particular could do with a face lift.

    Fantastic location.Garden very welcome after the hustle and bustle of Florence. Staff were very helpful and welcomed our family including the children. Proportions of the rooms and overall grand appearance were as in the pictures. Beds were comfy and rooms were very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Elegant hotel with nice, air contioned rooms, nice pool and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Using the pool could have been included in the room price.

    Elegant hotel with nice, air contioned rooms, nice pool and excellent breakfast. Quiet area and not too far from city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Best choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As got into my single room for the first time, I didn't like it but after a good sleep and a good, relaxing shower in the next morning I changed my mind

    I like everything about it, breakfast is so varied that it fits anyone's diet, from gourmet to frugal. Swimming pool is clean . The garden is so relaxing where you can have a rest after a long walk in Florence. Expect to walk all days long, wear comfortable shoes . The stuff are helful and always cheerful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged to use the pool/pool towels considering price of the hotel. We arrived late Thursday afternoon used pool for two hours, used the pool for the afternoon on the Friday and then again for about 2 hours on departure day totalling a charge of €18 for 2 of us.

    Loved location. Loved breakfast. Loved the room size and the facilitie that the hotel had to offer. Loved that we could walk to and from station and pretty much all tourist attractions (if you dont mind a walk!) Staff were outstanding, above and beyond service. Went out of way to allow use of printer and also sorted out a last minute late breakfast as we had missed it due to taking part in a local Parkrun. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Hidden Gem😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff very helpful, room clean and comfy bed. Location is excellent near all the tourist sites. Good news parking on site in walled courtyard so it’s safe and we brought bikes. Extra bonus great pool with lots of sun beds to relax after a long day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful building, room was lovely, and breakfast selection...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More seating round the pool, and tea and coffee facilities in the room would be nice.

    Beautiful building, room was lovely, and breakfast selection was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    A restful, enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well kept. Very helpful staff. Pool was a big advantage as it was so hot! A short walk into the centre and a small trattoria round the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely looking Hotel, but lack of attention to guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not impressed with having to pay to use the pool, as the room was costly. Staff attention to the guests was not great, snacks and coffee facilities were not great either. It gave the appearance of not having enough staff.

    The hotel was well presented and the bed was comfortable, the room was good. It had a lovely pool area and inside a lovely sitting area for a read or internet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location is excellent. The lovely pool is a welcome relief from the sightseeing and July heat. So easy to walk into the centre, just 15 mins. Easy walk from the railway station, around 15 mins with cases! Really enjoyed this little gem. Could be a fabulous 4 star with a little money spent. Would recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is good. It takes 15-20 min to get to all main sightseeings. Its great that there is a swimming pool. It saved us from the heat during the day. The breakfast is ordinary, you can find What to eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not a dislike per se, but just to let people know that it’s a good 15min walk to the Cathedral and then about half an hour to get to the Ponte Vecchio. It’s a lovely walk with loads to see and do however, but just a thought for those who may have trouble with longer walks.

    Very antique charm to the hotel, it still looks like an old Italian villa which added nicely to the magic of my time in Florence. A great bonus is the swimming pool, it was quiet and relaxing and lovely to relax by after a lot of walking around the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but doesn’t meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like a cell with one window that had no view and was covered in ivy/plants Bedroom decor was vile not at all like I expected with diamanté studded furniture air con not great, lots of mosquitoes in room No shower screen in bathroom so water went everywhere Safe not included as part of price of room No coffee/tea facilities in room No free drinking water Having to pay for swimming pool and often not enough sun loungers for number of guests - could have had more on other grass areas and been included in the price Breakfast was ok - hot food was lukewarm and limited in choice and completely self service. No one to formally greet you at breakfast to take room number etc.

    Beautiful main building and gardens Good location for exploring Florence and from train station Little supermarket up the road Bed was comfy Coffee machine at breakfast Swimming pool was large and clean Fridge that could be used for own things in room Staff helpful Shower hot and powerful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Just book it. We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a bit lost trying to find centre!! But that's just us

    Bed and pillows super comfy... 15mins walk from train station v easy to find. Beautifully decorated, pool, breakfast great my first choice to chill after a days sightseeing. Pool closes at 7 though? Which is a shame. And costs €3 per person... shower room poolside so u can use all day after checkout.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel with a small wonderful garden & swimming pool...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No have lift to the second floor

    Nice hotel with a small wonderful garden & swimming pool, good location ( 15min to Duomo), perfect breakfast, hospitable staff, clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Wonder-filled experience at Hotel Royal -- breakfast very sumptuous, pool facility very nice, superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None better in all of Italy!

    Wonder-filled experience at Hotel Royal -- breakfast very sumptuous, pool facility very nice, superb front desk service (including baggage storage on final departure while awaiting train connection). Excellent location for touring of museum, art patronage, iglesia sites -- Academia, Uffizi, San Marco all center-stage for family of three and friends travelling with children. Best in Italy!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Simples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was building work going on at pool. Loud and noises. It was stinger to charge for the pool and parking. With trained staff and a little extra luxury, this hotel could be five star with free parking and a pool.

    Location is excellent. Breakfast was very good. Parking made things easy. Air con was good. Staff were friendly. Property has much potential

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    3 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon wasnt great and it was particularly hot on a night.

    Loved the hotel room was authentic and big, pool was amazing and really quiet to relax on a busy holiday

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Location is only 15 mins from centre with lots of eating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are showing their age although well looked after.

    Location is only 15 mins from centre with lots of eating places on the way. An excellent trattoria just round the corner. The pool is great, although it could do with a little more shade. Great staff. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    A wonderful, hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A wonderful stay at Villa Hotel Royal that completely exceeded our expectations. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. This is a beautiful hotel hidden away in the hustle and bustle of Florence - we cannot wait to stay again. It is a 10-15 minute walk into Florence centre via quirky rustik streets. This allows you the perfect opportunity to explore. By not being in the centre, you can relax by the pool and enjoy the peaceful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything but perhaps tea and coffee facilities could be available in room and free water.

    Loved loved loved the hotel. What a absolutely wonderful experience for our 10th anniversary! Staff were amazing and very helpfull on arrival, location was perfect out of the way of hustle and bustle just a 15minute walk into center. Pool was ideal to cool down! Breakfast was superb good variety and very clean again staff couldn't do enough for you!. Can't wait to visit again with the children and we will be returning to this hotel. Thank you again for making our special celebration extra special hotel royal.;)))

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely building, grounds, staff & breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe my room was a bit small! It was only a single room and I imagine there is nicer rooms throughout the building.

    It's a really nice hotel with a lovely atmosphere & style. The grounds are lovely and well kept. Breakfast is very good and all staff were friendly. The pool is a big plus to escape the mid afternoon heat !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    Good looking on the website, very disappointing in reality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos you see on this site are extremely photoshopped (digitally manipulated). They do not correctly represent the room we stayed in. After checking in, I had to check the booking.com page just to see if this was really the room we booked. And yes, I saw the photos from the exact room we stayed in. It looks amazing on booking.com, while in reality it is below average. We also asked for a room with view, and they said that they have arranged a room with nice view. Our only window was looking at a gray wall. The breakfast seems rich at first but the food is low quality. The hotel has a large garden/entrance where you can easily find a spot for parking. When we checked out, we were told that it costs 25 euros per day! Pool, too, costs extra...

    Not much to like about this hotel except the location. Even then, you can find better locations (closer to city center) for similar prices and better breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff and good location. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is...average; there's nothing bad about it, I wish they'd served proper fresh coffee rather than machine dispensed. The other issue we had (though we didn't bring it up with management) is that at night they don't restrict access to outside and some guests were quite loud drinking on the patio, wouldn't let it go against the hotel, but would be better if at 9 or 10pm they stop people going out to the patio.

    A great hotel, nicely located with only a short walk to the centre of town. Also there's a great little grocery shop half way down the same street as the hotel; they serve fresh orange juice and large bottles of water to prepare you for the day! Great hotel with helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Looks like a fancy historical great house. Feels like an above average economy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was cold despite June heatwave and I had to pay 5 Euro per day to use it. Breakfast room was too hot.

    Historical house close to downtown. Excellent breakfast. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.5
    SCAMMED
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have always booked for two and was told the booking was for 1 and no double rooms avaiLable and we were not permitted to stay and charged for no service a scam by any other name

    I have booked and was forced to pay for service I did not receive. This is a booking dot com scam and I will be reporting the matter to asic and other regulators

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Very convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t none to dislike.

    I was very relaxed and felt so good. It’s worth for the money I paid. The location is central to all attractions in Florence.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The pool area so relaxing the staff are super friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for the pool should be included in price x

    The pool area so relaxing the staff are super friendly and the breakfast is beautiful some thing for everyone x super friendly place deco beautiful and well looked after will be returning xx

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel's name reflects the feeling we had - it is royal. Well worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only could have been better if we had more time to enjoy the pool area.

    Out of about 6 hotels we stayed in for this trip I would rate this one at the top. The price was at the top of all but the facility is beautiful, room was very comfortable, breakfast was the best we had all trip, service was great also!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Expected more for the price and the info provided.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated, as well as some other areas in the hotel.

    I found the room was dated and with a very small window at the top, so no views at all. Expected something better from the photos, etc. The hotel would benefit of renovation, although some areas like the garden were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    A great find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not have been happier. This place is a real find. Immaculately clean, wonderful helpful staff and a beautiful place to stay at a great price.

    Everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Lovely historical villa!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely historical villa! Excellent grounds and comfortable beds!...we especially enjoyed the staff. Emanuale was absolutely wonderful to us as was the next night’s receptionist. Great job by the owners in hospitality. I recommend this to everyone who wants an elegant hotel with a beautiful garden and pool!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Our room was incredible, 4 beds with doors opening to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location could have been slightly better but we didn't mind the walk into town.

    Our room was incredible, 4 beds with doors opening to a terasse in the garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    5 nights in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel with a good pool area about 10 minutrd walk to the city centre. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were given room 39 which is probably the best room in the hotel with a lovely terrace area. Rooms very clean.

    Could have done with some tea/coffee facilities in the room. Car park very expensive but I guess it is a city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was good (regarding Italian standards) and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Walls are not soundproof, and we were unfortunate to have very noisy neighbours for the most of time.

    Breakfast was good (regarding Italian standards) and the pool was a nice rarity in Florence.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that They charge 25 euro each day for parking inside their own free property not outsource or public or private parking.

    Very short distance to city center Room had beautiful balcony which was a +

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    A great place to make your experience in Florence even more unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is such a beautiful place (a reformed mansion) with a great location, close to the Duomo and other attractions. Great breakfast. Staff is really lovely, I had issues with my flight and the receptionists kindly helped me to get in touch with the company's Italian customer service line, and that was much appreciated. I had such a great time in Florence and staying in a nice hotel definitely contributed to that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was very nice and a lot of variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did NOT match any of the picture shown. While the lobby and other areas of the hotel are nicely decorated I felt a bit “catfished” by the room, it was dated and did not meet my expectations.

    The breakfast was very nice and a lot of variety. I’m vegan and found it easy to have a nice breakfast from the fruit and salads they provided. They location is also in a relatively close proximity to the museums and if using the trains not a far walk from S.M novella.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice rooms, friendly and helpfully staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was red hot at the end of may, yet the pool could not be in use till June 1st. Also breakfast was crazy, I lost my table 2 times.

    Great location, nice rooms, friendly and helpfully staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    I don’t know why this place got rating so high, I was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know why this place got rating so high, I was really surprised when I saw the room. Small and dirty, not convenient to public transportation, and obviously online photo are photoshopped. Bathroom is small you can barely turn around when taking a shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not available. Even though the temperature was 26 deg it was not deemed to be summer & therefore air conditioning was not switched on.

    Elegant rooms Cleanliness On site parking 15 minute walk to the centre of Florence Helpful staff Lots of bars & good restaurants close by that were not as busy or expensive as those closer to the main attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    While the experience was still enjoyable it was not made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the experience was still enjoyable it was not made clear that the booking was for their 3 star section as opposed to the 5 star. All images show off the 5 star section without explanation or indication of the 3 star section where we stayed.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Royal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: