Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal Palace 4 stars

Via Tommaso Cannizzaro 3, 98122 Messina, Italy

#6 of 9 hotels in Messina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 562 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    Not a lot apart from the fact that it was very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised with free wifi which was misleading because you were unable to connect to the wifi no matter what you did.

    Not a lot apart from the fact that it was very close to the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff were fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. Everything was as it should be.

    The staff were fabulous. The breakfast was excellent. The room was great, we received an up grade.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Short walk from station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many choices of restaurants for dinner in the immediate area. Carpet in hallways was very worn and the timber door to our room was catching at the bottom and not easy to open.

    Location was close to the station and the rooms were quiet, large and comfortable. Staff were welcoming and professional. Lift was easily accessed and large. Breakfast choices and service was excellent in a well appointed dining room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast was terrible but good selection of items to eat

    Room was spacious and hotel close to port for next day departure. Staff pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Old traditional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old traditional hotel. Charming in its own way. Very convenient to the train (and bus) station. Cannot comment on breakfast, as we didn't have time to try it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    An Old Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff retained our documents for an hour to register. We didn't understand why. The hotel should invest in some changes to follow the new tendencies.

    The breakfast is good, with a lot of stuff. The room had a big and wide bed. Good view for the main street. The hotel is in one of main streets and pretty close to all downtown. The hotel have car parking but we put the car outside because in that day was free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    comfortable pleasant overnight stay before crossing over to Calabria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no direct access from garage to hotel. Garage entrance at back of hotel means that luggage has to be unloaded first at hotel entrance before car parked in garage

    conveniently situated for catching ferry to Villa San Giovanni. About 10 -15 minutes away from ferry terminal depending on traffic. 10 minutes walk to city centre, Duomo and shopping area. safe underground garage parking beneath hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, clean and comfortable in spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to have a proper bar and an evening restaurant.

    Clean and well located near station and central Messina but quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Screens are cheap!
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is frozen in the 70’s with zero upgrades to the rooms. Their ac was not on so I had to use my windows for cooler fresh air but they don’t have any screens on the windows so that invited a lot of mosquitos. Their doors don’t really close too well and was always unlocked when I got back after it was cleaned. This place is packed with conferences and it appears that is the cash cow which they concentrate on.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    great rooms but overall tidyness can be greatly improved
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as soon as you walk into the hotel, the carpet is DIRTY! come on, is it that difficult to have the carpet at the ENTRANCE DOOR hoovered twice a day?? that is just unacceptable in a 4 star hotel you only have 1 chance to give a good first impression....and this hotel certainly did not impress me

    I liked the room very much, modern and upgraded, clean and tidy staff is kind and quick to answer questions but management should train them more on how to run a 4 star hotel, where I take tidiness a given Management is responsible here, not staff. I as entrepreneur teach my own staff and demand from them the level and quality of service I want. You should do the same.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    The staff were excellent - especially when we checked out especially when we tried to book a ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband found the door to the car park closed on him and he was left in the dark at night time which did not please him much.

    we loved the fruit and the cheese and the pressecco for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything is good

    the property looks old but its nice and conftble they have good breakfast and the staf is helpfull even for the car they have a garage we were 100 percent satisfied

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Room was very very spacious and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    underground parking has limited height (165 cm). We have been warned but when you have rental car you are not able to choose. There is no enter from garage to hotel. You have to go out (on the street) and then use main entrance for hotel reception.

    Room was very very spacious and very comfortable. We had also nice view on city center. Breakfast was delicous with huge selection of fruit, sweets bakery etc. Also prosecco was available for breakfast and delicious coffee. Hotel has underground parking with a lot of space for car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    In my opinion, this, apparently, much maligned hotel is a lot better than some people think
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This hotel may be a little dated, but it was really quite OK - and it was very reasonable! There seem to be a few negative comments on here, but I dare to disagree! The tram stops just around the corner so you can get to the centre quickly and cheaply. The tram also goes right to the other end of the bay to the wonderful Museum. The breakfast was very good and the place was spotless.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very good location, very comfortable room, very convenient for transport and sightseeing, great place to stay in Messina. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    Basic hotel, nothing special really.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole of the hotel looks shabby and dated, the public areas and the bedrooms need updating. The air con in our room was not effective and the arrangement of the furniture made the room feel cramped. The breakfast was Ok but nothing special. Coffee served lukewarm and fiddly toaster.

    friendly staff, good central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of parking in Messina was found.

    Staff were very helpful. Hotel was nice and clean. Breakfast was good. Close to port if you want to take a ferry too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    3.8
    Not Royal & NOT a Palace. Very expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This square block building looks like it was built in the 1960's with decor to reflect the glory days of travel circa 1910. However, whatever era it was built in it has not been decorated since. It is filthy, dull & dingy. The bar service is pathetic and so were the serving staff on both nights'. The breakfast 'service' is even worse. I have never waited so long for coffee on a morning. The same woman both mornings messes about making sure the cheese display is straightly aligned or the jam looks nice! I counted nine tables of people at breakfast but only 2 tables had coffee, the rest of us kept asking for it politely? Italy runs on coffee so this was incomprehensible. If this hotel was cheap i.e. 1/2 the price then it would be OK for £35-40 but it's actually very expensive. It has never been Royal and it's certainly not a Palace.

    The location near the ferries in order to leave quickly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Old-decorated hotel in the heart of Messina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs re-decoration, mainly the bathrooms. We had to ask for towels, which is not ok for an expensive hotel. The parking entrance is really low (less than 1.70m height), so we had to remove the antenna from our car to enter.

    Nice hotel in the heart of Messina. Comfort bed, perfect to rest after touring around. Private parking. Nice breakfast with many choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Very Convenient, Very Basic: Good Base to Explore Sicily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning and internet Wi-Fi / barely functional. Hotel is in need of some real love...

    After a long day aboard trains and ferries, you want to be able to find your hotel – fast – and collapse. I’ll give Hotel Royal Palace an “A” for convenience: a straight shot / 10 minute walk (or less) from Messina’s main ferry port, right in the center of Messina’s old-town port. The glorious cathedral is 10 minutes away, and there are several nice, simple local bars and restaurants around. The hotel is popular with members of the military, police and transportation workers. It’s functional but not fancy. Everything could use a coat or two of paint, but it’s clean and possessed of a friendly staff. But, don’t expect room service, and don’t expect 4 star luxury. There is no pool, and the gym is better in photos than in reality. Also, the Internet and Air Conditioning are both “promised” to be fully functional and strong. However, neither are. Plus, although it says it is offered, there is no laundry service (that WAS a disappointment since we had a week’s worth of clothes we were counting on getting refreshed). The best part: the breakfast – one of the biggest and most complete buffets we’ve yet seen to start the day. If your goal is to find a “base camp” for Sicily exploring, “Hotel Royal” Palace works fine. We did day trips to Stromboli and Taormina, so up early and out the door worked great. The central train station is, literally, just cattycornered from the Hotel Royal Palace. Strobomoli is a 90 minute hydrofoil cruise away (go in the morning, swim and come back at night) and Taormina – perhaps Sicily’s most beautiful and historic town – is a 30 minute train ride. Truly, you cannot visit Messina and not take in the remarkable Greco-Roman theatre at the summit of Taormina. Messina is a gritty yet welcoming city. Under the graffiti and grime, there’s a lot of charm, and a rich history. We happened upon an outdoor commemoration about the Battle of Lepanto, whose ships sailed from Messina in the 1500s. Fascinating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.2
    Stay Away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel suffers from benign neglect; needs major upgrades. Pictures shown on website do not reflect the real condition of the property. Underground parking ramp is at 45 degree angle with low overhang; getting in and out is a real adventure - especially with a stick shift!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Convenience plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a restaurant at the hotel would have been fabulous

    Location was great so near the train and bus station but not noisy at all. Very comfortable and clean and staff friendly and helpful. We were hungry earlier than is normal to eat in Italy so could not find a restaurant that was open. Had to have snack and ice cream instead.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Suprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is free but has a 1.65m height restriction, also very steep entry so low laying cars could have an issue. Uses scrapped on exhaust but got in ok.

    This hotel is far better then its given. Its dated but clean tidy and very professional staff. Stayed in 5 star hotels far worse than this hotel. We came of the ferry at 11:30pm had no issues checking in and getting a cold beer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Room was large with view over park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything specifically I didn't like. I felt the hotel offered value for money.

    Room was large with view over park. Bed linen clean and crisp. Large bathroom with shower over bath. Good food selection for breakfast. Handy for public transport. Car parking on site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    Average hotel in a busy noisy city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking, but only for small cars. We had to pay to park on the pavement, and our car was a Zafira. No restaurants in vicinity. Shower had miserably low flow. Noisy tramlines out front. If you can, stay out of town.

    Bed was big and comfy, large selection at breakfast. Handy for city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.4
    In walking distance of main square, yet old fashioned and ran-down hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ambience old fashioned and is in need of dire renovation. Immediate location shabby and needs clean up. Hotel staff could be more friendly. Underground parking is dirty, humid and has a high risk of damaging your car upon entrance through a very steep ramp.

    Location in walking distance from the main Cathedral square. Own parking facilities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No towels available, I had to ask for towels. Minibar at a cost and expensive. Needs refurbishment

    Close to port and other amenities. Breakfast good. Free parking in hotel garage

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to talk about its a little bit dated like 1990's but it's very nice

    Good for a Base to travel around the south of sicily easy start point we saw just about every thing we could. The staff were great and always very helpful breakfast was unbelievable good GREAT TIME

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    Very good and diverse breakfast, good location, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It seems old and it needs more improvements, although they have done some already.

    Very good and diverse breakfast, good location, comfortable and large enough room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Sicily adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location from Ferry Port, especially if arriving late. Secure parking, height restriction! Breakfast great. Room comfortable with aircon. Hotel is a bit dated - retro, but it is good value for money. Friendly staff. Spaciois room. Clean! 👍

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Wi go was a problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi go was a problem. Carpets in hallway was dirty & old.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Messina
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic. Older style decor.

    Nice big room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Good Location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old and not good value for money

    Good Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    A brilliant hotel thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A brilliant hotel thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    Don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room is not "superior" at all

    Location is close to ferryport, so that I can get in right after arriving at port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Clean hotel in Messina, but could use some updating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated interiors and fixtures A/C only working during certain months.

    Clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Very helpful staff large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff large room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to docks with parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    site with a very good experience in hotelling
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old fashion style, some fornitures to be made up a little bit

    site with a very good experience in hotelling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Good place and very nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned grand hotel still in good shape today

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with the kindest staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I loved everything.

    Everything was perfect !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    with better rates could be a more acceptable deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    with better rates could be a more acceptable deal.Over 80 euros in low season is quite pricey

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is not well equipped. Taking a shower leads to a fluid on the floor. Air exchanging system is not working.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bed ; clean hotel with good English and Continental breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean hotel , comfortable large bed, very nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Hotel with a good location but average value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, some refreshment needed

    Good location, good breakfast, parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    A memorable holiday !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast at Hotel was abundant and very delicious. Staff were very helpful. Bed was very comfortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    See Messina strait
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not it's best, there was not bath towels in room.

    Spacious room, good breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Don't have a car over 1.6m
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet is weak. Parking is not possible for cars over 1.6 m high. Everything else is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was spacious and very clean. I appreciated the crisp bed linen and he bed itself was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Ideal for a stop over in Messina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Free parking. Late check in. Good buffet breakfast. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    6.7
    Convenient pit stop in Messina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no restaurant

    location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    5.0
    HOTEL NEEDS TOTAL RENOVATION
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    HOTEL NEEDS TOTAL RENOVATION

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled a little stale

    Good location, good breakfast, large room , comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    6.7
    Good location if travelling by train or ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decoration and no restaurant facilities when I stayed in August.

    Good location if travelling by train or ferry

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic stay fantastic staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made my stay a pleasure and went the extra mile to see my needs where meet

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.5
    excellent location in a place with transport problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a restaurant in the hotel would have been helpful

    central location,helpful receptionists in a difficult city

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    7.5
    Close to the railway station and main attractions of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No suitable sockets in the room to charge a laptop, and even the adaptor courteously provided by the reception only fitted sockets in the lobby and the breakfast hall. My baggage left to the care of the reception after the check-out remained exposed at the counter for the whole day

    Close to the railway station and main attractions of the city, good old-style hotel with a big lobby and a pine grove in front of the entrance. Good breakfast. Beautiful views from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    10
    The hotel is just across the Bus station.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    no comments

    The hotel is just across the Bus station. The rooms are all accessible; Hotel is very clean; Buffet breakfast is delicious and the staff are very helpful/friendly. We had no problems with our Guide Dog!

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.1
    Professional staff - odd that you have to squeeze past the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Professional staff - odd that you have to squeeze past the wheelchair access ramp that occupies 90 percent of the stairs. Helpful staff - busy breakfast area - you have to ask for a proper coffee otherwise you get the 2nd rate coffee jugs. Easy access from train station - tin Messina everywhere I ate staff seemed grumpy to foreigners and nice to locals - interesting authentic Italian town - don't mention the m word ?

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    Proximity to Stromboli aliscafi ferry port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience but our S Max was deemed too high to go into the hotel's underground car park. Local car park closed on Sundays but onstreet parking possible at a small price ( free on Sundays). However, hotel staff v helpful and got us sorted. Hotel had an air of slightly faded glory: Shiny but empty chrome holders for tissue box . But this is Messina...

    Proximity to Stromboli aliscafi ferry port

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    We arrived in Messina on the train/ferry from mainland...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived in Messina on the train/ferry from mainland Italy and the hotel was only a short walk from the arrival pier. It had a welcoming feel and the staff gave us directions to an excellent local restaurant. We left next morning on the ferry to the Aeolian Islands.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.5
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pay for parking in garage which has a very uncomfortable steep ramp.

    Location is good. A varied selection and choices for breakfast. Helpful and efficient staff at the desk.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Hotel staff very courteous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    Hotel staff very courteous and helpful. Recommended a wonderful family run restaurant for dinner nearby, great food and friendly family. The breakfast at the hotel was was great: variety and quality of foods.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel turned out to be old and stale, and in contrast to the photos on the site. As you enter the hotel, you can just smell the stale air and we knew instantly that we made a mistake of choosing this hotel. The location was in really seedy and run-down part of the town. The side streets were dirty and messy and didn't feel safe to walk at night. If you have a car, there is a car park beneath the hotel, and the entrance is in the back of of the hotel. The steep incline (of at least 45 degrees) and very LOW ceiling to get into the car park, takes a bit of bravery to drive down and up. We were in Taormina for a couple of days earlier, so I was used to driving up and down steep inclines but I didn't expect the entrance to the car park to be this challenging. My little rental car Fiat 500 struggled to get out of the car park; at full throttle and 1st gear it couldn't drive up the ramp (with just me in the car). Had to roll back down and then drive up with speed to make it up the ramp. Also, there was no direct access to the hotel from the car park, so you had to walk up the steep ramp, walk around the block (past a pile of rubbish on the corner of the streets). My Sicilian friends looked in horror when I told them where we were staying and mentioned that I chose the worst hotel in Messina: they should know, they live there. And I couldn't agree more. I can't write about the breakfast because, frankly I can't recall what we had since obviously it must have been so unremarkable.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was nice with a good amount of options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was hard with 2 pillows. We asked for 2 beds and got 1.

    Breakfast was nice with a good amount of options. Close to the bus which brings you to the beach. Good restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.5
    Roomy suite,conveint location from the ferry,good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not really all that strong in our room..had to go to foyer to make Skype call.....which was noisy

    Roomy suite,conveint location from the ferry,good breakfast and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    8.8
    Staff were excellent and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are older style but clean.

    Staff were excellent and helpful. We had a mosquito problem in our room and they provided a quick and effective solution. Staff also recommended a great restaurant around the corner!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    7.5
    Everything in moderation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not bad experience but be careful, SATNAV will not take you to the correct address! The hotel is 500 m in the opposite direction! 10€ parking fee in a very tricky, low sealing (1.6m) underground garage

    Everything in moderation

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    9.6
    Hotel Royal Palace very convenient for train and sites at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel Royal Palace very convenient for train and sites at Messina. Breakfast fantastic, best we had in Italy (we stayed at 10 other accommodations). Room and bathroom very good. WFI excellent. Decor really interesting, beautiful Murano glass light fitting from the 60s or 70s. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.8
    Location - friendliness of staff - comfort of room -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi signal was poor - perhaps because I was on the 6th floor.

    Location - friendliness of staff - comfort of room - breakfast, both service and content - especially the scrambled eggs!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    5 minute walk to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5 minute walk to station

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Lovely room, good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room, good position. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was hard and since it was two beds put together, it was somewhat uncomfortable.

    Breakfast excellent. Staff very nice.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    3.8
    A 4 star hotel in a big city cannot have 30 years old...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A 4 star hotel in a big city cannot have 30 years old furniture

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Royal Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: