Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal San Marco 4 stars

San Marco 848, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#233 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1215 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed to be stressed, nice enough, but not as helpful as at other hotels. They offered a “free” trip to Murano, that was only to one glass blower. Would recommend going independently on a vaporetto to Murano and exploring other glass manufacturers. Breakfast was not particularly good.

    The location can’t be beat. Not too far from a vaporetto stop (or two). Air Conditioning was good (if not also noisy)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    An excellent location in a beautiful old building with comfortable furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were quite efficient but rather disinterested - continued private conversations whilst dealing with clients.

    The location was perfect for the city centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    GREAT LOCATION AND COMFORT ROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    STAFF IS NOT COMPLETELY FRIENDLY, BREAKFAST IS NOT COMPLETE AND WE ASKED FOR BOILED EGG FOR KID WITH EXTRA CHARGE UNFOURTNITLY THEY DID NOT ACCEPT !!!! WE ASKED FOR TAXI BOT TO AIRPORT, MOST OF HOTELS ASK TO TAXI COME TO NEAR THE HOTEL BUT THEY ASKED US TO GO WITH OUR BAGGAGE TO SAN MARCO TAXI STOP !!!

    GREAT LOCATION VERY GOOD TO SAVE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY YOUR STAY NEAR THE SAN MARCO SQUARE, ROOM WAS COMFORT, THANKS FOR HOTEL TO PREPARE THE TEA MAKER FOR OUR ROOM I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT REAL VENICE HOTEL BUT STAFF SHOULD BE MORE FRIENLY

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    It was okay. Venice was expensive - food, drinks, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised tea/coffee making facilities but none available even though there was a kitchenette in the suite. Only provided with plastic, disposable cups for drinking - no glasses or cups.

    Location was good for sites to visit. Hard to find on arrival as address is San Marco Square but situated just behind the sqaure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Large, spacious multi room suites, older, vintage looking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, spacious multi room suites, older, vintage looking, charming. Slightly dated but very very spacious for Venice hotels. Excellent, excellent location. Couldn't ask for better.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, average accommodation with no fridge or coffee/tea facilities in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "suites" component of this hotel actually comprises various apartments scattered over various buildings, so quite a complicated route to get to the apartment in which one has been booked from the reception. The apartment was very spacious with an open plan lounge / dining room and kitchen. HOWEVER, there were NO cutlery (knives, forks and spoons), NO crockery (cups, saucers and plates), no hot plate, no oven, no kettle nor microwave, and, therefore, NO facilities to make any food, heat any food, or to make any tea or coffee in this "apartment". Just tea and coffee facilities would have been appreciated. Also no fridge, not even a bar fridge, to keep water cold in a Venice heatwave. Maintenance issues - curtain could not fully close the first night so woke up far too early. TV never worked the full length of our stay. Bathroom door handle was broken. All maintenance issues were resolved except the TV. There was a continuous odour of insect repellent in the air ALL the time, within the building and within the apartment.

    Great location - one block from St Mark's square. Good breakfasts. Daily cleaning. Great Air conditioning in the heat wave - thank heavens!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Not likely to return due to concern of safety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The narrow passages/stairs to get to the rooms giving one a Claustrophobic feel. Only one way in n out . Passages are narrow and could pose a fire trap if a fire should break out. Wooden Beams running across the room 's ceiling.

    The friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Approx 3 KM away from city. Connectivity to city center is not good. They don’t have shuttle service, neither dirwct connection via public tranport. Breakfast is average. WIFI is very poor

    Rooms are good and clean. Staff is very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Loving Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, very basic, bathroom was tiny, pricey for what you get but that’s to be expected in Venice.

    This property is in the best possible location for San Marco. Staff on reception are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    We asked to be moved as the original room was very small,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to be moved as the original room was very small, the bathroom was not clean there was mildew all over the tiles. The ceiling had dirty marks on it an the heated towel rail was in breach of health and safety. For €300 a night I was left disappointed, there was also building work happening next door, builders commenced at 8am, the early morning drilling was not pleasant! This was not disclosed at the time of booking. The staff were friendly and the location was central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    An Extraordinary Stay at the cradle of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally, everything was very professional, except one "small" thing: I have sent a request for extra 2 hours check-out time (I am a genius and frequent traveler member) but the hotel can't accepted !?

    The best thing is THE LOCATION in the center of everything, that makes your visit to Venice to be very effective. The 4* hotel with a traditional taste makes your visit to Venice to become "complete"!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    The location more than makes up for the small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny rooms. In Fawlty Towers speak, the bath was not was not big enough to drown a mouse!

    Location on Piazza San Marco is amazing - I would stay again despite the tiny rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Very satisfied with accomodation and helpful staff. Made my short stay in Venice an absolute pleasur
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got lost prior to arrival. Lady at the the desk gave me a small map of that part of Venice around the hotel and that was invaluable. Should be linked to web site for customers to access.

    Location very very handy to. The St Martins Square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Charming small hotel in Venetian Style a couple of meters away from San Marco!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My friend had a mosquitoe bite which turned into an allergic reaction, she felt something crawling while in bed. Unfortunate, but we didn t find anything and we did tell the staff at the Reception desk. I would advice however they have some Emergency Kit with desinfectant, antiesthaminic creams, or mosquitoe spray in case of need.

    Very good location, we had two single bedrooms, unfortunately no lift to get there. But the rooms were charming, decorated in a Venitian style with city views of Venice. Very good value as we had an online offer. Will definitely keep an eye on Royal San Marco for future venues.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    The reception staff were really welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't rate this as a four star hotel. we were put in a suite that was very spacious but hadn't been decorated since the late 80s. It was grubby.

    The reception staff were really welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely beautiful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walk from docks to hotel toting luggage is gruesome. I would suggest anyone staying in Venetiae should pack only what you'll need for your stay, otherwise an investment in porter service will save you much anxiety and stress!

    What a memorable and remarkable experience! Love the quaint hotel, impressive. Location is fabulous. Must stay in Venetiae for the experience. A bit on the expensive side, however it is the only way to truly experience the ambiance, culture and intrigue of Venetiae!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, good staff, okay facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door locking mechanism did not work. Bed was not comfortable. Lighting was minimal.

    Location and staff. Helpfulness and friendliness was great. Facilities were good, but need some updating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    A holiday like no other, I mean where else can you take a waterbus to wherever you want to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. It was hard to come home though . This is a beautiful relaxing atmosphere. Only one question - when can i come "home" ?

    Closeness to St Mark's Square. Fully recommend the Basilica and the Doges Palace - for the Doges Palace if you appreciate art you could happily spend all day there. either go first thing at opening or later in the day (which we did at 5pm) . The day we left we went up The Bell Tower. What amazing 360 views. Also worth a trip to Dorsoduro for a walk along the promenade. And before I forget a very short stroll to the Rialto Bridge. The choice at breakfast. The staff friendliness. The fact they were able to accommodate my mother's need for a walk in shower. Yes the bed and pillows were firm which did not bother me . I guess you truly cannot put into words what Venice is like. It is a unique experience like no other.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    Weird Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing light switch cover in the bathroom. The Wifi was too weak to be used in our room. Weird hotel layout. we had to go across an alley, up 1 floor by elevator, down a hallway, down a short flight of stairs, around a corner, down more stairs, then up in another elevator to our floor. Staff was not friendly or helpful.

    Good location close to the San Marco Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food and beverage options were very limited. The breakfast buffet was weak and lacked options. The bar/restaurant is actually in the hotel but not staffed as it has been outsourced to/operated by the restaurant across the street.

    Location / convenience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Average experience, does not worth money paid
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not as it looks in the photos. The bed was not comfortable, the hotel room is not as cosy as it looks in the photos. The room was not welcoming.

    Perfect location. Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Gladly go back to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel being an established building with adjacent acquired buildings forming its linked network of rooms to let - getting to your room is not the easiest experience. This however was not a negative issue for us

    We enjoyed the entire stay as well as all the facilities and morning breakfast. Being our forth stay there we are planning to go back there for our next visit to Venice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely ideal for us especially as myself and my sister are disabled. We loved it. xxxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    Location was superb, bed extremely comfortable, good, hot shower, lift to all floors, fabulous breakfast and we sat in the lounge area on the mezzanine level for a little nightcap. Perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Ok but would prefer elsewhere. 4/10.. possibly 5 for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I purchased a suite, which according to the staff i got. However, the room was two singles put together. When i asked if i could see another room, they gave me the key to a room with a king size. When i asked if i got switch she said no as the kingsize room was a standard?

    The property had two good things... 1 the location and 2 the breakfast facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.8
    It is not a 4star value, rathet 2 😏
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning is broken and maling noise in the rooms and on the floor. Then I could chage the room where I could switch off the airconditioning and the fridge to make quiet and evently sleep.

    The location is great, close to St Marc Sq. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    2.5
    Regretted staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs!! The double room we booked was very small and dated. Looked nothing like the photos!! The next day we paid extra for a room upgrade. Over the next 2 nights I was bitten all over. Not knowing they were bed bug bites until we got home, I contacted the hotel to let them know. They replied with “yes we know about the infestation, it was the previous guests” and they offered us a free room upgrade the next time we visit, yeah we won’t be going again thanks. We have now asked for full refund, but have only been offered £25 by Booking.com for 10 days of itching, huge embarrassing bite marks and a weeks worth of antibiotics and piriton. The aftermath of the trip has completely overshadowed the fun we had in the city. Stay somewhere else!!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is literally in the center, close to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand the city itself is a museum, and I understand the building and room are old, but we would like to stay in what we booked, but when we arrived there, the staff gave us a room that can’t fit 2 of us, door couldn’t fully open because the room was too small to fit a bed and it has nothing to do with what we booked via booking - based on the pic. After we went down and asked for change, we’ve been changed to the right room in another building. I understand it was New Year’s Eve and every where in Venice is full and expensive, but I think we should get what we booked at the first place

    The hotel is literally in the center, close to all the places you’d like to visit in Venice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay and would definately stay in this hotel again if we go to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the hotel in winter, the heating could've been improved as it still felt cold inside the room during the night and early morning.

    The receptionist were very helpful and friendly😊 The room was clean and comfy, the bathroom was really nice and spacious. The location is superb since the hotel is located at a walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay at Royal San Marco.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel in the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed itself was not comfortable. It concaved in the middle and was hard on the sides. I think they should upgrade the mattresses, but hopefully it was just my room.

    It's a very pretty hotel in the perfect location for seeing Venice's major spots. It was quiet at night. But I also traveled off season so it may be different in the summer. The room was generally comfortable, except the actual bed. The breakfast is decent, with good coffee. The staff is helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    This Hotel is in a fantastic convenient position which why I have stayed thete the last couple of t
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of the food at breakfast . Not very nutritious or healthy by my standards but a reasonable spread .Impossible choices for gluten free or vegetarians with very unhappy or neutral staff working in that zone . Could really update the quality here

    This Hotel is in a fantastic convenient position which is why I have stayed thete the last couple of times I have been to Venice. It is a well appointed well priced Hotel in a fabulously located position .nicely decorated Venetian interiors if you choose a room in the front building .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Underwhelming, but well-located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We returned one evening to the hotel to be told that the bath in our room was somehow damaged and a plumber was mending it. We were unable to bath/shower that evening, and the chemicals that had been used to mend the bath smelled really awful. When we returned the following evening (our last there before an early morning departure) we were told that we were being moved for the night to a first floor room so that the bath in our original room could be replaced. Pity this wasn't offered sooner. The replacement room was very small and quite gloomy.

    This hotel is just a hop and a step from St Mark's Square. It's an ideal location for a visit to Venice. Having initially been given a fairly basic and compact 5th floor room (lift goes only to 4th floor) I am not sure that we experienced the 4* qualities the hotel boasts. Breakfast was adequate but unimaginative for a hotel of this quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    Above average but room for improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very very uncomfortable (my boyfriend ended up sleeping on the couch) we complained after our first night and were told all beds were the same but they put mattress topper on which helped a little but still not good.

    Location was great and size of our suite was fab. Reception staff were so lovely, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    2.5
    Its very bad and dont recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor hotel, very old and small rooms , no maintenance, poor and damaged furniture , very limited buffet on breakfast, the value of the paid money against the hotel level and quality is extremely high

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Great Hotel. Super Breakfast. Class.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WI-FI wasn't great and an English news channel would have been good. Having said that who wants to stay in their room in Venice.

    Its an older hotel, a bit quirky but full of character which typifies Venice. It is right on the door step of San Marco Square a perfect location. We enjoyed everything about the hotel. Staff helpful, breakfast superb and set us up fro the day. We had a suite which was lovely. Highly Recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a suite with a kitchenette but there were no utensils at all for us to use. There was a jug, microwave, fridge and 2 water glasses. I asked reception for coffee and coffee cups and I was told the jug is not to be used and that I should heat water in the microwave only. We had purchased a bottle of wine and there were no wine glasses in the room the woman at the hotel was very rude and told me to use the 2 water glasses to drink our wine out of and when I told her that wasn’t good enough that the hotel was supposed to be a 4 star hotel, she relunctantly brought me 2 wine glases to the room. Very disappointing stay with this hotel.

    Check in and check out staff were nice to deal with and helpful when organizing water taxi to the airport. The location close to St Marks Square was awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    It's the best place if you want to be close to San Marco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fresh eggs/omlet for breakfast, pls add them to menu))

    It's the best place if you want to be close to San Marco square, lots of good cafes around. Room is nice and cosy, staff is friendly & eager to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Central stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was quite small; Overall price, I thought, was quite expensive - but I realise that you have to pay for the location;

    Location was very central - could walk into San Marco square in two minutes - and to the water boat stops in 5 minutes; Breakfast was copious and good; Bedroom had a small balcony and was pleasantly decorated; Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.2
    Terrible public transport and hotel staff. Beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the water taxi to the hotel, I have never met such unfriendly staff.. I'm all my travels. Venice is extremely busy with tourists

    To be absolutely honest. I only enjoyed st Mark's square

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Not sure if I'd stay here again. For the money $357(with two Breakfast), bit of let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannel view was view if construction to building next door. For the money paid I expected to at least have the instant coffee and tea provided in the room, even though the suite had a kitchenette there were no glasses and only one can of coke and two bottles water. Even the cheapest airport hotels provide coffee in the room.

    Great location just off San Marco Square. ve Suite was well appointed,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Very close to San Marco square I got double twin suite so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some unpleasant smell from the canal but that common to other locations in Venice. No water taxi dock nearby so reconsider if you have large number of luggage.

    Very close to San Marco square I got double twin suite so the room was spacious. Staff were very helpful and friendly. They gave us complementary trip to Murano island which is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Did not meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Engineers tried to enter my room multiple times during my stay despite me leaving the 'do not disturb' notice outside. Cleanliness of room could be improved.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.8
    We loved the beautiful city and unique atmosphere of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not at the standard we expected. Coffee only from machine,which was not working when we went on the second day. Very crowded room for breakfast. Self service free for all! Atmosphere was not welcoming.

    Very comfortable beds Great Location so close to Piazza San Marco

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    tv was poor could not get it to work

    great room with a view and good breakfast. Central location was great and we got a free up grade room. We would certainly stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    2.5
    Niente
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel ever Dirty Room disgusting small and dirty Who gives them 4 stars???? I will never ever stay there again My room was smelling mouse I book room in this horrible hotel because it was reduced price form 300e to 100e and it was my mistake I didn't expect room like that in 4 star hotel!!! That is a cheating of people I could have a much more nicer room in this price I have pictures of my room I will send it to newspapers

    Niente

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the rooms, the helpful attitude of the staff especially Ester - she was very helpful and her co worker i am forgetting his name very positive attitude.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Loved Venice not so much the accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude when confirming a late check out that had been organised but had been a mistake somewhere along the way. Thin walls so could hear the cleaners walking around and constantly sounded like someone was trying to get into our room.

    Location was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    The location is super close to San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older receptionist during the night doesn't belong in the customer service branch. He is not a people person and should not work in front-office. He's too grumpy and if he has to talk, he'll also let you know he hates his life.

    The location is super close to San Marco.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.6
    I would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor and musty smell. No lift to my floor so had to carry luggage up two flights of rickety stairs. The room and bathroom were very small, with stained carpets and damaged furniture. It was one of the ugliest and disappointing hotels I've ever stayed in. It felt like a 2-star rather than a 4-star hotel.

    The location was excellent as it was minutes from the main square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a family stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great little place in a good location. The staff were helpful in pointing us in the right direction. When we arrived it was my birthday and they helped find a nice restaurant close by that was awesome! The room was far bigger than we had imagined and even had a big balcony (view from balcony pic attached). The breakfast was basic but covered all the bases. It was the first time I'd ever seen coffee flavoured yoghurt! :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Convenient comfortable stay for 1st time family trip to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection did occasionally cut out, but was reasonable. Iron / ironing board was not available, and it was explained to me when requested, that they did not allow irons to be used in these premises due to fire risk.

    Convenient location - easy quick walk to San Marco square, Doge's Palace & St. Mark's Basilica, and shops and restaurants. Also easy walk to Rialto bridge through the maze of streets. Family suite was quiet,private and spacious. We appreciated my parents' room being closely located to our suite. They had a spacious comfortable suite as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.2
    There is no elevator to go to the rooms higher than forth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator to go to the rooms higher than forth floor!! Very small single room; no room service at night! It should be three stars or less!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location and good for family stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was very small and we were on the 5th floor so we used it a lot. The breakfast had great fresh juice and coffee, but food selection was not great overall and the egg omelets they put out were really not very good. We were told we could order eggs a la carte but the staff were so busy we almost felt guilty to do so. This hotel has an arrangement with a glass blowing company on Murano and you get a free water taxi to and from Murano and a tour. But the tour is really a sales pitch. Saw 5 minutes of glass blowing and then into the galleries. Hard to move off of the property of this glass blowing company - you need to take a water taxi to another part of the island. So it ended up being a time waster for us. We ended up returning to Venice and then taking the ferry to Burano - well worth it. But if glass blown sculpture is your thing, then Murano is a must. But I recommend going yourself and not taking the hotel offer.

    Great location off San Marco Plaza. Lots of shops and stores nearby. Very nice hotel, room was large, and we fit all 5 of us in there. The service was good. Very quiet and we slept very well, though the beds were a little hard for our taste. We would stay there again. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location, smells like mold
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell like mold in the room when AC is working, I couldn't breathe and had to turn off AC . It was hot and humid and no air. When I opened windows, it smelled from the canal

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.0
    Good location is the only positive thing I could say about this hotel. Give it a miss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Linen in passage ways out side bedrooms and in passageway. When we arrived it was pouring rain and I explained that I had to go and get my wife and luggage from water taxi point. No offer of assistance or umbrella. Bed in original suite was hard as stone when I went and queried if something could be done they offered a sheet to fix it???? Eventually after some discussions the manager agreed to see if he could find a suite with a softer mattress next day. This he did and the next bed was much softer. The breakfast was a real none event, cold egg, cold bacon and a crush to get cutlery as everything else in all in one spot, including the staff entrance and exit to the kitchen When leaving hotel brought down our luggage which was put on the porters trolley to be taken to the water taxi. Whilst doing this we found that one of our case had a broken handle. As I had packed and locked then a short time before I am certain this was done by hotel staff. Rooms have kettle but no cups, coffee or tea. Could not in good faith recommend this hotel

    Good location. Porter organised by hotel when we were leaving was fantastic. Patient and polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Staff very helpful, location within reach of most facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room seemed a bit busy especially around 9 am when we arrived for breakfast. Maybe their busy period.

    Staff very helpful, location within reach of most facilities including St Marks Square, very good value for money, cleanliness. Our room booking was upgraded from 1 single and 1 double room to a suite of two double rooms with all amenities, at no extra cost which was extremely comfortable. Offered a private water taxi to Montana at no extra cost. Breakfast was good. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.4
    Excellent location but hotel did not live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower did not work and only fixed two days after reporting it. The bedroom dressing table was dirty when we arrived. There was no complementary tea/coffee. Overall the hotel was shabby considering it was supposed to be a four star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite had even a kitchen but there were no cups, cutlery &c. It would have been nice to have at least a couple of cups and have some tea/coffee in the room.

    We stayed only for one night, but we were upgraded to a suite. The location is excellent, just a few steps from Piazza San Marco. The room was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    We had a kitchenette but no crockery or cutlery, I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a kitchenette but no crockery or cutlery, I was happy to buy my own coffee, milk etc but there were no cups! The hairdrier didn't work and there was no plug to fit the bath. The reception was in a seperate building to the apartment and a bit of a maze to find. The location was excellent. The apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.1
    Good accommodation with some small remarks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have vacuum cleaned the room more thoroughly. There was quite a strong room fragrance smell.

    The location to the S:t Marcus square, friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff made me pay extra for a porter in order to have a water taxi even though I had no luggage. The room was very different from the website images - very disappointing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, sensational rooms, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location, sensational rooms, very helpful staff. Just a shame booking let us down with their website not working properly and spectacularly no one in customer support or IT even wants to listen to our experience. So next time, we will book this amazing hotel through another agent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    6.3
    Venice is outstanding but the hotel disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small and the bed and pillows too hard. The buffet breakfast had little assortment and was not changed at all during the whole stay of three nights.

    Location close to San Marcos and staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Alright stay at the st Marco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very limited and one member of staff cleaning away the tables. They had a bar within the hotel which would have been an added bonus if it had been open.

    Staff friendly and helpful, great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    3.3
    Reception decoration promises a good stay but once in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception decoration promises a good stay but once in the room it is a real turnoff and really really too expensive for the value Seriously, I can't recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.2
    Cleaning Staff saw my birthday card and wrote their own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No crockery or cutlery in small kitchen in appartment

    Cleaning Staff saw my birthday card and wrote their own. Reception staff came back to the room when I inadvertently locked the safe with no code Huge appartment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The warm breakfast was rubberised eggs and bacon in a warming cabinet. The continental breakfast was fine and the fruit was fresh.

    Beautiful entrance. Room was very large , but tired. The bathroom however seemed recently improved and fantastic. It was only for a night, so suited the purpose. I have stayed in nicer hotels in Venice, but for the price and especially the location it was acceptable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Clean, and nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle and when i asked the reception, she doesnt respond positively and point where i can get hot water (the bar) but she looked to monitor screen not toward me or the bar... which i found very rude specially with the expression as if she doesnt care

    Bathroom very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in superb position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is literally in the most touristic spot of a very touristic city and restaurants nearby reflect this in inversely proportional quality/value.

    Position , efficient, friendly staff. Views from bedroom. I had asked for room on a high floor and I was given one..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    3.3
    Very disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited services. Laundry service doesnt work during weekends - I ve been advised by staff to take my laundry to self service 8 km😪 Very poor breakfast - limited offer of hot buffet (only one weird kind of egg omelette). Zero hygiene standard - forks and knives have been put together in one central bin for whole restaurant - if some guest suffer of any infection , we could bring nice additional souvenir from Venice.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.1
    Family suite close to St Mark Basilica is beautiful room and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most expensive room we stayed in on our trip. Breakfast buffet could have been better for the price of the property and buffet staff was kind of unfriendly, Beds/pillows were not very comfortable. But overridden by how great the location was.

    Amazing location. Very happy to have a room so close to San Marco square. It was close to so many sites making everything was so convenient, especially when girls wanted to shop and boys wanted to rest. Room was absolutely beautiful and very good size. Easily slept 6. Included 2 bathrooms and kitchen. Because it can sometimes be a challenge to get a room for our family with multiple children in one space, we loved this room and would be willing to stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Ok, but not really comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dark, dirty, and dusty. The closet was falling apart, the bathroom window was wide open - and it was really hard to get to the outside shutter -, there was a smudge of eye pencil in the mirror, and I actually found mosquitos in the room.

    The location is excellent - you can get to Piazza San Marco in less than 30 seconds. Haha. The breakfast is really good with a lot of options.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location!!!! As other reviews have said, the decor is dated, but it adds to the beauty of being in such an old city! The rooms were small but as a base could not fault the hotel! Breakfast was lovely and overall we had a fantastic stay. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Lovely short stay in amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was hot and stuff when first arrived. Unable to use aircon/heater remote properly but all okay once opened a window.

    Amazing location, good breakfast overlooking a canal. Comfortable room, very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Brilliant location highly recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Check out and in was excellent everything ready on arrival and departure. And a tour of murano included in booking which was an excellent suprise

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantatstic choice for Carnival time in St Marks square !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carnival time so busy and expectedly so , noisy guests next door but only a two nights

    Room and. Breakfast high quality Stayed 5 days and very close to St Marks squire

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Royal San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: