Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rugapiana Vacanze 3 stars

Via Nazionale 63, 52044 Cortona, Italy

#26 of 63 Holiday rentals in Cortona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is minimal and is served at a cafe nearby consisting of one cup of coffee and a croissant. Very small bathroom and poor water pressure. WiFi didn’t always work. Our room was on the third floor with no elevator which is not a problem for us but could be for people with limited mobility.

    Great location in Cortona. The room was quiet and spacious. Free public parking about 7 min walk. The owner is helpful and can answer all your questions. If you are only staying a night or two, this hotel does the job.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely unpractical when travelling with a baby, like we did. Lots of stairs - and they start immediately inside the entrance door, giving no flat surface for the pram while you open the door. The parking offered is - probably like all Cortona hotels - outside the city wall. Not the hotel's fault, but we found the parking info on Booking.com misleading.

    Nice room with character, in a super central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi and the breakfast was poor.

    This is a bed and breakfast in the main road of Cortona. It is okay for a one night stay, but not really good for a longer holiday. Breakfast is ridiculous, you get a voucher for a caffe house 200 meters from the property. The "continental breakfast" contained only a cafe or tea and a croissant. The bathroom is so tiny, you really have to think on your next move while you are in it. Wifi didnt really work.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the one bedroom apartment and the facilities that were advertised were absent. Tea and coffee making facilities consisted of a pot to boil water in and nothing to actually make the tea or coffee in. There was one glass and a few pieces of crockery. The iron bed creaked and clattered all night. The "quiet" room was above the street. We discussed our dissatisfaction with the owner and he relocated us to a double room which was completely satisfactory.

    We liked the location. The included breakfast was in the cafe down the road where we could have a coffee and a pastry. The staff there were very welcoming and we enjoyed the food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place to stay. Massimo was extra helpful. Great location and the rooms were beautifully decorated so you felt like you were definitely in Italy. I would highly recommend this place. Cortona is a beautiful town and worth a visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't find a kettle in the kitchen and there was no complimentary tea/coffee etc, which is usually standard. It was quite hard to find any staff at the guest house, as we sometimes required assistance with hot water, WiFi etc. We had to call the manager a few times, which is expensive if you're visiting from South Africa (R15 to 1 Euro).

    Our room was situated in the best part of Cortona, overlooking the main road. Great atmosphere. Large bedroom suite with lounge, dining area and little kitchen. The manager was a really friendly, helpful guy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Claustrophobic. The room is a decent size, but the narrow winding stairs and tiny vestibule make you feel like getting out could be tricky in a fire. In the room itself there was one window but covered by large shutters that can only be fully opened if the window is open (and only the middle slats operate for light) -- and when open you only see the side of the next building very close. Bathroom tiny and no counter space. Should have booked a room with mountain views -- Cortona has plenty of them! Also - there is a kettle but there was no coffee or tea bags ?? Breakfast was down the street - nice enough place for a coffee and pastry, but not so convenient to have to go out of the building for first morning coffee.

    Lovely room interior (exposed stone walls, etc). Good bed linens and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is included and consists of vouchers for coffee and a pastry at one of the local cafes down the street, which was delicious. However it would have been great to have options for food that was a bit more filling.

    We stayed in the apartment for 3 nights after getting married in Florence and absolutely loved it! The bed was among the most comfortable we have ever had at a hotel or bed and breakfast. Massimo the owner is very friendly and helpful. Location in Cortona is very convenient, right on the main street leading into the city. We will absolutely stay here again and are already trying to plan our next trip!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a thing

    Check in was fast and easy and the room was available early. Great location. Our only complaint as we had to leave so early the next day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast offer was coffee and croissant at nearby cafe where service was rather indifferent.

    Great location, large room with good bathroom, comfortable bed, and owner very helpful; I left on Sunday but found there were no buses or taxis to take me to nearby Camucea station (5klms); owner stepped in and kindly drove me there. Many thanks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were travelling as two couples. We reserved a Deluxe 2 bedroom apartment w/ 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The apartment facilities are listed as: Air conditioning (We had none), Fan, (We had none), Free wi-fi (did not work-mgr apologized but did not fix), 2 bathrooms (we had one). Upon check-in, a third party, who did not know anything about the property showed us to our apartment. Through our entire stay, we were left to "figure it out". The property mgr was very unsympathetic to our complaints (especially about one bathroom. We were left to assume the two bathroom apartment we had reserved was given to someone else. Very disappointing.

    The location. Right in the heart of Cortona

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a slight issue with the hot water but the owner was very quick to get it all sorted for us.

    Cortona is a breathtaking oasis ontop of a hill. The accomadation is in a perfect location close to everything but very private too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our small room needed to be decluttered as there were too many unnecessary "decorative" items which made it even more cramped. Shower needed a good scrub to remove stained grout..

    Excellent location with many restaurants just a short walk away. The manager was most helpful when needed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming room which was actually an apartment with kitchen and cooking possibilities. Location superb, and really welcoming and helpful staff. Nice with the conserved old details of the building.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beakfast was absolutely poor: only a coffee (at least it was good) and a croissant, we had to pay to get at least an orange juice. The parking is free though it's outside the city walls; it's natural in case of an old town like Cortona, but it's not easy to carry your luggage upstairs with an escalator existing at only certain levels.

    The location is perfect: being at the heart of the town is amazing. The room was nicely furnitured and clean (but instead of real air conditioning there was only a fan).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast (1 croissant and a coffee). It was ok for us, but for other people?

    The location and the room was excellent, the host gave us nice suggestions for sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big apartment overlooking canal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was great in providing info!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to free parking, main square, attractions. Friendly staff, easy to communicate with. Room was pretty and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosimo the manager was fantastic... !!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room temperature need a better breakfast choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Struggled with wifi on the laptops but not the phone or tablets

    Great host, very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming, super nice apartment!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Croissant breakfast near cafe

    Nice place in middle of the city.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could do with aircon maybe in the top room and although there was a fridge and coffee machine tea-coffee or milk was not made available

    everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public Parking is a bit away like 10 mins with stairs and elevator.

    Center, very nice room in old building with great decor.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    just perfect

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I like it very much

    Stayed in June 2016

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Rugapiana Vacanze traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: