Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santa Caterina 3 stars

Via Marconi N 10, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy

#10 of 10 hotels in Orta San Giulio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 605 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot when we stayed no AC in hotel or room. On the last day we stayed a lot of breakfast food had been eaten and selection limited and not re-filled. The bed in our room was not comfortable

    Very clean. Newly decorated and modern Ikea style. Refreshments and cake available free from 3pm was good. Breakfast amazing choice of gourmet styled food. We enjoyed the 20 minute walk along the lake into Orta. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Aracoelli is more of a dormitory building than a fully functioning hotel. Reception is down the road, and the public area is a bit sparse with no comfy chairs, which would have been appreciated seeing as the furniture in the room was a bit quirky. The breakfast was reasonable (bread wasn't fresh), although on our second day there was a bit of a staffing issue, but it got sorted eventually.

    The Hotel we stayed at had a lovely position right in the middle of old Orta, but we didn't stay at Santa Caterina. A couple of days before departure we had a call to say they had an "environmental problem" (we were never told what it was) and were offered alternative accommodation at Hotel Aracoelli, so all my comments refer to Hotel Aracoelli even though I booked S Caterina. One of the strangest things about Hotel Aracoelli is that the showers are a sort of semi wet-room style (one glass wall open at both ends) situated in the main body of the bedroom. This is, at first sight very weird, but the shower itself is excellent and we didn't have a problem with water flooding the bedroom so not a problem. And let's face it, if you want it all the same as home, what's the point of going in the first place?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tiled floor and hard surfaces in the buffet room meant that every sound was highly amplified - i.e. the space is too noisy. Found the tiled bathroom floor dangerous when wet. Need to put a rubber mat down between the shower and the toilet to avoid slipping accidents.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent. Liked the availability of snacks, tea, and coffee in the afternoon and evening. They had lots of map options for exploring the region by foot or by car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was spotlessly clean but incredibly badly designed! Nowhere to put anything, no shower hook on the wall so you could only bath in the narrowest bath I have ever seen (and we are not overweight people!) and the toilet was the most ridiculous shape ever - very uncomfortable! Be aware that this hotel is a full 20 minute walk from the town centre too.

    The rooms are large and spacious, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was superb, but you need to get there early - they didn't restock very often!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy street. The WIFI didn't work in the room and was only "reasonable" at the downstairs computer.

    The staff were very obliging. In walking distance to most attractions. There was a huge choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms at the back, noisy. Ugly. Had to pay extra for airco and parking. This hotel used to be nice but we will not be going there again.

    Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't impressed that we had to pay €10 for parking when there was free parking 100 metres away. I feel if you are a hotel guest, parking should be free. A small complaint but Hair dryer was poor.

    Hotel is well located and was spotlessly clean - good location but 15 minutes walk to the town. Good buffet breakfast , everything was self service and they supplied facilities for cooking if you wanted to make an omelet etc. Small but pleasant garden for sitting or relaxing. Free access to internet. Room was supplied with fridge with free soft drinks or cake .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating on during the first weekend of october. When it was turned on, it was only on for 5 minutes.

    Great value. Nice welcome and the breakfast was very good as usual.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall a nice stay. No bad points

    Super breakfast with fresh cheese and pies. Awesome. If the weather allows it, you can even have breakfast in a very nice garden! Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to use different coffee burner method that doesn't get to hot and burn coffee.

    I love the location and helpfulness of staff. Morning food was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi works the public area only.

    It was a lovely hotel, exquisite decor, pretty garden, excellent breakfast. An easy walk to the center of town. The safe garage was the real bonus. Extremely helpful staff...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the location of the hôtel, close to the Sacro monte and not so far to the city center. - the breakfast was delicious with a lot of choice - the free drink and sweets you can take whenever you want

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unachieved feeling - lack of furniture: night table - tv screen size: an add on for a kitchen hanging high - cleanses to be improved - parking charge and entrance to the hotel Location 1.5km from interesting part

    People of the Hotel: professional and friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is not free inside the hotel, but they have one 200m further (outside). It's a little far by walk to reach downtown

    They have room for the night if you hungry with free snacks. Orta is a great little town, we went by chance when they have jazz festival. We eat at the restaurant of the hotel downtown with discount of 10%, really good restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel felt a bit "studenty" for us....but nice decor and touches (like the coffee room and "honesty bar")

    Breakfast was stunning, wide choice of fresh produce.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Significant road noise, especially in the rooms right above the street. We changed rooms for our second night and slept much better!

    Very nice place with an excellent breakfast buffet and very helpful staff. Also a lovely private beach area on the lake with lounge chairs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a 10-min walk from the hilltop Unesco world heritage site consisting of a number of historical chapels, well worth visiting particularly early morning when the views across still lake are spectacular. Hotel quality is very good with quiet room overlooking garden or courtyard. Price also low even if you choose air con or parking supplement but there is free parking 2 mins away too. The breakfast provided at this hotel is exceptional for the price. It is a large buffet of all sorts of cereals, fruits, cakes, meat and bread.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean lines

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean non-descriptive hotel. Quite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern apartment, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pulizia camera e reception

    torte

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms haven't got any wifi connection and A/C

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    charging for parking in the hotel garage.

    nice stuff. very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice and very clean hotel located between railway station and Orta san Giulio town. The personnel was very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities a bit dated

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to take care crossing the road as no pavement!

    Good position just out of town, helpful staff, big bedrooms, amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi

    Excellent choices for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big family room. Breakfast exceptional. Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditioning did not work the first evening and was very uncomfortable as we had a room high up also.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    noithing.

    everything OK.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is a little bit run-down and the rooms are not very well-maintained. The bathroom has no ventilation and is a bit musty. Wifi only really works in the lobby. The hotel is close to the train station, but there is no nice way to walk to the hotel, as the main road is narrow with a fair bit of traffic, and has no sidewalks. Although it is a short distance, it is better to take a taxi.

    The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent and abundant. Beds are comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a strong smell of synthetic cleaners. This is not good for you. You can clean without them. Electric lamps in the room were very poor. The tv screen extremely small and almost impossible to see form the bed. We were offered af cup of coffee in ´the welcome room´, but it was cold - we asked for new coffee, but were told that the coffe was fresh. They wated to warm it up by turning on the coffee maker. We gave up.

    The staff was helpfull. Good bed. Breakfast ok.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose the hotel as it is dog friendly and havig stayed before we knew it has a good location, spacious rooms and a good breakfast, all for a good price.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking in Garage (+8€/day) Free parking 5 min.from hotel Inkl.very well breakfast. Afternoon: Water and cake/ cookies free. Friendly staff. Clean room (superior) 15 min walkway to orta center/ lake orta.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi worked only in the comon rooms on the ground floor

    The staff was very nice and helpful, the room was cosy. The breakfast was good with a great selection of cheese, ham, fruits etc.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The road in front of the Hotel is, though rather small, very busy. We stayed Sat night and traffic with very keen motorcyclists and sort of racing car drivers kept us awake almost all night. Walking to the center of San Giulio at the lake front (Piazza Mario Motta), is decent, as soon as you got over the main road. It's 10mins downhil and 15 mins up, back to the hotel. Easy.

    Thre breakfast is superb, for Italian hotels: fresh fruits, a wide range of breakfast items and very good coffee, indeed.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only available on ground floor.

    Good location with parking, helpful staff, excellent breakfast buffet, coffee & cake available in Welcome room.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the airconditioning system need some boosting. Do not expect view of the lake!

    Friendly and helpfull staff, excellent breakfast, intresting decoration, comfortablr rooms. The "welcome room" provides free snacks and soft drinks, and cosy atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing wrong with the hotel but the location wasn't ideal. Sure, it isn't a super long walk to the little town, but when it's hot out it's not the most convenient location. Also, there are no sidewalks by the hotel which makes walking a little risky. This is only for a couple of hundred meters though but still. Wouldn't walk here with children. Another thing was the wifi which only worked in common areas and not in our room. And last, the parking by the hotel is paid and if you want free parking, it's further down the road which we didn't know in advance. Just so you know.

    Very spacious room with great bed. We also had a balcony which was really nice!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is clean, a nice brakfast and a good value. Although hotel is not on lake, it is actually well located for exploring Sacro Monti di Orta, and the town of Orta. As we explored the area (beyond town lake front) the location of hotel actually improved. Hotel is very close to Sacro Monti di Orta, and to Orta San Giulio.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although a bit further from the beautiful old town, a walk down the hill to explore the town and back again at sunset was one of the most memorable afternoons of our holiday. The hotel is neat and offers a huge breakfast buffet - by far the best breakfast on our trip.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    On a motorbike trip through the Alp countries. Nice hotel, beautiful location, very friendly staff. And he most exquisite breakfast we've had all week, better still: all year.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Centraly controlled air con was on all night and was noisy. Had to sleep under the doona as it got quite cool.

    Price for the proximity to the main town was great. Walk in was interesting. Approx 20 mins. Exploration, swim, apperitivo and dinner and it was then a pleasant stroll home. Plan to do it this way, as it is the most effective.Ba

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No wifi in rooms only in public areas, at breakfast: first comes, first serves -> they didn't refill the empty croissants busket etc., bath room was very small and old, room and hotel interior didn't match together and felt somehow cheap

    extraordinary breakfast buffet, friendly stuff, nice garden and public area

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I got caught out and didn't have cash on me. Probably didn't read the instructions on line for this. Needed to go into town before next stop instead of on way to next stop. The owners took me in their car to find a cash-point and return! How is that for consideration and patience!

    View from lovely spacious room. Friendly family. Close to everything - if you have a car. Off street parking secure and great. Lovely garden we didn't have time to sit in and enjoy as we were more on the move than stay put visitors. Great spot to exit from a cruise ship before heading off on your destination or to explore up and down the coast. Breakfast fresh home-made Italian self-serve. A beautiful table setting, crockery, etc., and coffee :)

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi only worked downstairs in public areas (but not dining room) which is not so convenient.

    Location was close to the lake and town and easy to find. Breakfast spread was plentiful with lots of options. Reception was excellent and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit bare, we also didn't have the beside tables.

    Breakfast is great, you can eat whatever you want - all is fresh and perfect Room very clean

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a single thing!

    The breakfast..beyond incredible..the service..exceptional..the room, immaculate and comfortable..

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    everything reat hotel friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    non c'e WIFI

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fine breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pay for parkin Purple room?

    The breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely basic hotel, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was a bit boring, terrible coffee.

    Good, clean room. Quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Huge selection for breakfast and all good healthy items plus some sweets

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The manager was rude. Breakfast horrid.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Perfect Service

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Crossing the street in front of the hotel can feel somewhat risky.

    Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to cook your own eggs and limited choice for breakfast, also no towels!

    Location and friendliness of staff, also the price

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is very bad and the room looked awful I didn't stay there

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellant breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short walk from Orta village

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Santa Caterina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: