Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Anselmo 4 stars

Piazza San Anselmo 2, Aventino, 00153 Rome, Italy

#42 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1188 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Nice neighborhood with an authentic feel, yet hotel conveniences and very safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was just OK - the emphasis was on the sweets, so if you like that, you'll be fine. To be fair, I wasn't finding great bread or coffee anywhere we went, so it wasn't just this hotel. There aren't very many rooms, so perhaps it isn't practical to try and provide a big buffet. The upside is that breakfast feels private and not overrun with people.

    We were given an upgrade to a large room on the upper level with a balcony which was sumptuous and very quiet. This hotel has views from all sides as it is on a hill, next to a monastery and in a beautiful neighborhood. The service was most excellent, the stay very quiet and pleasurable. They provide a free phone - I've never seen that before and it was a great perk. Breakfast was OK, though a bit tiring as it never changed - but they provide English-language newspapers, cappuccino and a quiet patio which made for a very relaxing way to start the day. The train stations are just down the hill and a couple blocks beyond (the San Paolo station is not marked on the outside - it's right next to the pyramid). Easy ride to Ostia Antica and back for three euros. There is also a taxi stand at the end of St Anselmo which made grabbing a taxi very convenient; 15 euros to get to the Borghese Museum, much easier than figuring out buses and such. Restaurants all around - just walk and choose. The pyramid building and adjacent cemetery were a nice exploratory walk. The old Rome wall is all around this neighborhood and walking about was great. We would most definitely stay at St Anselmo again and again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Couldn't have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In an ideal world the hotel would be a little bit nearer to the historic centre of Rome - but then it wouldn't have been so quiet. Loved it.

    Beautiful rooms and excellent service. We had a lovely view over the rooftops. Breakfast was excellent. The whole experience could not have been better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    We will definitely return. Could have spent a week there exploring neighborhood restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Morning coffee was average. They did not offer expresso or latte. Shower was new and beautiful but leaked on the floor. Extra towels were brought immediately, though.

    Room was classic and bed was comfortable. Some rooms had their own terrace although ours did not. Wonderful, delicious breakfast (except coffee was average). Great selection of meats, cheese, pastries. Melon was out of this world. Beautiful, peaceful backyard to eat in. Beautiful landscaping. Wonderful local neighborhood and restaurants (excellent!) were a short walk. Very peaceful here and a short taxi ride to main sites. We loved it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, tranquil location away from the hustle and bustle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, tranquil location away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of Rome. Easy walk to many of the city’s attractions. Friendly, helpful staff and excellent restaurants just down the (quite steep!) hill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron for the room, you have to go to a room where there is one broken ironing board and a poor iron

    We were upgraded and given complimentary prosecco for our anniversary. Totally unexpected. Lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Just Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, most spoke English. Breakfasts were amazing. Nice patios front and back. Leisurely atmosphere Very flexible on booking, paying, and scheduling. Walking distance to all of Rome’s great features, touristy sites, shopping, and restaurants, yet very quiet neighborhood location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    3rd time staying here, and I love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maids were less attentive this time. Not dirty by any means, but iif you don’t need your bed made and tidied every day, it doesn’t matter.

    Staying here is like being in the country, but right in the middle of Rome. So quiet, surrounded by trees, but a stone’s throw from the traffic, museums and restaurants. Also, the breakfasts in the garden are great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent stay was a shame we had to cut our trip in halve because of flight cancelations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More coat hangers in the wardrobe

    I really liked the handy tablet which every room as, you can take it out and about , made getting around Rome very easy .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel and differnt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst our room was a bit small, it was a comfortable place to crash at the end of each day.

    Lovely building in a quiet part or Rome. The staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was excellent. Loved the bath in our room, Roman style, like a pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Bijou boutique hotel with great personality nestling among villas on the Aventine Hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We boooked the cheapest room which was cosy and well furnished but had a garden door with a fixed window but no openable window. The photos on the website make this clear but I think I’d prefer to pay more and have an openable window.

    Excellent location on the Aventine Hill, next to varies villas. Quiet with very ittle traffic. Bijou sort of place, small but exquisite. A good breakfast and good professional service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    A hotel that realy gives your holiday an extra luxurious touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first day the cleaning was not done. And the bathroom lacked a good shelf of some sort, and hooks for the towels by the sink. The free wifi was non excisiting, going up and down constantly, so we could not yse it. Probably way to small for todays use of internet and data.

    The atmosfair and the calm sorundings was lovely, yet not far from city center and the local area is a real plus, very mutch the feeling of genuin Rome with good bakery,deli,wineshoo and many resturants where we was tge only tourist at night. The hotel feelt very luxurious and the staf was very accomidating. The smartphone that was free to our disposal during the stay was a great extra thouch, we could use the satnav and Google resturants on the go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    It's a really pretty hotel- I loved the decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in late April, before most hotels had turned on their air conditioning for the season, so it was warmer in the room than I would have liked.

    It's a really pretty hotel- I loved the decor. We were given refreshments while checking in, which was a nice surprise since it was a hot day. It probably had the best breakfast I've encountered during my 3-week stay in Italy. Spacious garden area where you can sit and relax, there's a little nook with a canopy of blossoms that is really peaceful. The way the common areas are set up, it's great for someone who is an introvert like me and needs to get away from other people. I found the staff to be helpful and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Perfect romantic break in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The free smart phone was genius! Giving us real time maps, local places to visit and eat. The room was beautiful and the staff were lovely. Perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Magical, made some wonderful memories with great friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect magical

    What a little gem ! On arrival the staff we Happy and friendly, the decor of the hotel was lovely, spotlessly clean , all the staff were helpful friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. Although a good 15-20 minute stroll to The coleseum, it was quit nice to be away from the huddle & bustle, a short taxi journey took us to Trevi fountain and other nearby attractions €15 ... well worth it ! Overall we had an amazing few days in this lovely hotel and magical city, made lots of memories , and hopefully we'll return soon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was a little remote but we were very pleased.

    Was a little walk to metro or to Coliseum-but was in a good neighborhood and the hotel was small and very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very helpful and nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and nice. They offer you a phone with WiFi for your stay without a cost, which is very useful. Breakfast was good to start the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    A beautiful small hotel with fun high ceilinged rooms decorated in a dramatic romantic style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawback was that the invitingly big opulently decorated bed had a very thin and hard mattress - maybe the least comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff seemed to be less pleasant the higher they were on the hierarchy of the hotel management. I couldnt decide if the the front desk staff, particularly the older gentleman, was having a bad week or just disliked me. He seemed to find it inconvenient or a burden to answer my questions.

    The room was decorated beautifully, A round table and chairs by a lovely window looking out onto the gorgeous tuscan neighborhood, a nice big mirror in the bedroom the bathroom was fantastic. Black and white marble floors and shower, tub surround, on the counter of the double sinks, heated towel racks with warm towels waiting, a jacuzzi tub and show by the window and both a bidet and a toilet. The ceilings were high and the colors of the bedroom were quite aesthetic. The breakfast buffet was extraordinarly generous and delicious. The dining room was lovely and the sitting room/living room also very inviting and pleasant. Both were decorated in a hip fun luxurious style.. The door staff, maids were very warm and cheerful and breakfast room waiters and bar staff were formal yet friendly. would go back again - this hotel is in a hilly residential neighborhood near many beautiful hisotircal sites, and the Coliseum on a charming hill away from the tourist area, quiet and birds singing outside. We could walk everywhere or hop on a bus as well. The hotel's dinner recommendation for our last night was fantastic, a very authentic family owned Roman restaurant on the river, with a dining room downstairs, out of view, Trattaria Lo Scopettara.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in quite location in roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly small and bathroom a little tired. But otherwise nothing to dislike.

    Location was excellent for us, very quiet area - although with quite a steep hill to climb possibly not suitable for everyone. Staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was good lots on offer. Made the weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    A special hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the need for a few more coat hangers, we have no complaints whatsoever.

    We loved the location, the decor in the whole hotel, the large bed, the shower, the breakfasts. Additional bonus of the travel buddy (never had this facility before and very useful for finding restaurants, routes, discounts, travel.) staff were very accommodating and provided useful map and nearby restaurant locations. The waiters and staff looking after our rooms were very attentive to our needs. Although it was too cold to eat outside, the garden area looked very inviting and would make a lovely place to eat and drink. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a memorable stay in Rome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Quality stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room didn't have a little cover above the door to the balcony, which made it really unpleasant to even open the door during the rain. This was inconvenient and strange, because the next room's balcony had such cover.

    Beautiful, big room with a complete style to it; big balcony with panoramic view and table with chairs. Bathroom had a comparatively big set of shower accessories. Hotel gives you a free to take and use mobile phone, with internet access and unlimited calls during your stay; it was a life savior in our case and definitely a cool bonus overall! Breakfast was diverse enough and we were served with a teapot with hot water from kitchen for our drinks. Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and perfectly for a little run around most of the tourist attractions and close enough to the east railway station. There is a great viewing point nearby overlooking Tiber and the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    I am a lover of Aventino and this hotel in particular
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only point was the shower/bath system which did not work well. It doesn't meet the high standard of such hotel

    Very beautiful hotel and very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We like to walk and this hotel is on top of a hill. So, if you're logging 30,000 steps in one day down in Rome, the hill can be a little daunting at the end when you're tired, but that was our choice. The surroundings were worth the extra energy it took to get there on foot!

    This hotel is simply gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was charming, clean and warm. This was our honeymoon and they made it special with champagne and nuts delivered to us upon our arrival. The surroundings are absolutely charming atop the hill, next to a school. You can hear the bells when you open your windows and there's not a lot of street noise, which provides great rest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Would uniquivically recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. Out of the tourist hustle and bustle, but close enough for everything to be easily accessible. The staff were superb, and the concierge went out of his way to assist us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    San Anselmo is a fantastic place with superior staff service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    San Anselmo is a fantastic place with superior staff service and delicious food. So romantic room with beautiful, climatic decor and location of hotel caused that our stay was really special. We will come back there for sure!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, beautiful hotel in a historic area! Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is quite far away from the centre, so if one wishes to walk, there is a half an hour walk each time. When walking you need to go up a hill to arrive to the hotel, so after a whole day of traveling you might not be really in favour of it!

    Hotel is beautiful and in a very quiet area. Each room has a different decor with most of them being in antique style. Our room, although not very big, was beautiful and very comfortable. Staff is very friendly and breakfast overall was good. Tea is even served free of charge in the afternoon to all guests! There is even a mobile in the room which you can use during your stay in the city! Buses and trams are not far away so the centre of Rome can be easily reached. Excellent experience overall and will surely return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel to stay in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing about the stay was the heating was on everytime I come back to the room.. so it was very warm! personal preference really!

    The property was nice to look at, felt very cosy to just sit and have a drink, staff were very helpful and genuine. 100% stay at this hotel again and also recommend to friends too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again. Beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel was situated just out of the hustle but was within walking distance of all attractions. Clean facilities with lovely breakfast to set you up for the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Hectic sightseeing returning to a quiet, central, clean hotel with great staff. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being British we could have done with a kettle in the room. Poor bathroom layout, although clean, meant the shower flooded the bathroom which was not ideal.

    great location. very friendly and helpful staff who spoke good English. Good value for money. Very clean. Breakfast wasn't at all bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel in a quiet location. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Friendly staff. Nice lounge to have a drink in after a long day sightseeing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Quiet place in Rome with lovely staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It got a tad cold and the aircon/heating in the room did not work.

    Staff are really great and helpful and the hotel is in a quiet place, while still close to sights such as the Colosseum and the Bocca della Verità. Breakfast has a lot of variety without being overwhelming. Breakfast coffee is good, but for Rome, not the best. Rooms have tea and coffee facilities as well as robes which is appreciated! Toiletries are really wonderful too and feel great under the rain shower! There was a free handy in the room to take with you when you go out. I used it for maps and phoning places.....even the States - all included. Taxis to the airport are for a fixed price, which makes things easy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. This was our fourth stay at the San Anselmo, and we were not disappointed. During off-season winter months, the San Anselmo is an extraordinary value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    This is a beautiful hotel in an equally beautiful location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful hotel in an equally beautiful location, an oasis of calm and quiet in an otherwise busy city. The rooms are spacious, the service is excellent, the staff are helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location, charming rooms and public spaces, helpful staff. Doesn't get any better in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Something the hotel can't do much about: restaurants (the hotel serves only breakfast and drinks) and retail are all down at the bottom of the steep hill. After a full Roman dinner, for example, it is a tiring slog back up. But it's good for you!

    During previous stays in Rome over the years, I had walked past this property and thought that it could be a very nice place to stay in the Aventino, which is my favorite part of town. The opportunity came up during this visit, and, in terms of quiet, convenience, friendly staff, and on down the list, it exceeded all of my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Staying at the San Anselmo was a 60th birthday treat to visit Rome and we were not disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we were not disappointed on any level, as the staff did all they could to us most welcome.

    A beautifully styled small hotel, with friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was relaxed, with a lovely variety of hot and cold food,and attentive staff. The rooms were finished to a high standard and felt luxurious and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey. No restaurant. But top notch ones are close by so no worries.

    Perfect location. Nice atmosphere and family like. Super nice to take a run from the hotel and a couple of lap arround Cirkus Maximus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful experience in a beautiful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the front desk personnel could have been more helpful and welcoming.

    This is an exquisite hotel in a stunning location...an oasis of peace and quiet in the busy center of Rome. We have stayed at the San Anselmo on several visits and will do so again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good location for relaxing. Not too far from the main attractions. The staff were very attentive and the hotel was clean and warm. I will highly recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was safe and staff friendly, but the room was noticibly uncomfortable and somewhat dirty.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was horribly uncomfortable. We woke up each morning feeling very sore from the bed. The floors were dirty and the gaudy curtains and shelves dusty. The bathroom was also very tight and uncomfortably small. The shower was too small and the door opened in front of the sink so you had lesss room at the already small pedestal sink. The eggs and bacon and breakfast were tasteless.

    The staff was superb and extremely kind and helpful and the location was a peaceful quiet area with a 5-10 minute walk from the metro. This honestly made the negatives worthwhile. The breakfast was an American style breakfast with eggs, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal. The granola, yogurt, and fruit were delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfection in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Love, love, love this hotel! The most beautiful accommodation, superb, friendly service, amazing buffet breakfast, quiet surroundings yet within walking distance of the main sights. I didn’t want to leave. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Rome. Truly stunning!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and attentive staff in a gorgeous square outside the bustle but close enough to walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too firm and was starting to get a backache after 3 nights. Bathroom was a little small.

    Breakfast, beautiful location and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Faultless stay with excellent room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room does not have a mirror at the dressing table, making it impossible to dry hair while partner is for instance shaving. Shower unit is silly. Too many knobs and plastic bits. Not in keeping with this otherwise well designed room

    When we said the room was too warm, the receptionist reprogrammed the Aircon immediately from his desk. Unprompted they provided free Prosecco on my wife's birthday. Taxis were called and arrived within 3-4 minutes - nearest rank is only half a mile away. Very easy to walk to Coliseum and other sights, even though in a really quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    The best hotel I’ve stayed so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really loved the professionalism of the staff and the recognition we received. The room was fantastic with all its facilities and amenities. The service was on the top level and definitely we will come back soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Great quiet location, everything walkable, breakfast great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small (Economy room so kind of expected it). Although furnished very well and very nicely, was just a bit tight moving around at times with big suitcases

    Great quiet location, everything walkable, breakfast great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    - Breakfast was really really good with a great selection of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to add

    - Breakfast was really really good with a great selection of fruits, yogurts, pastries( croissants, cakes), cereals, different types of hams and cheeses, scrambled eggs etc. Very happy to find out that they upgraded our room as we have asked to have a room with a - balcony. - a mobile phone was also included with free wifi and international calls that you could take it with you to explore Rome. - Clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    3 nation through one keyhole just beside of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is so good, by foot 15 minutes to Colosseo and 20 minutes to Piazza Venezia. Also there is wonderful highlight where one hole you can sea 3 countries, just 2 minutes away by foot from the hotel San Anselmo. The staffs are very friendly and the breakfast very delicious and lots of choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Romantic stay at the San Anselmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Stunning location in a lovely residential area of Rome. A great place to recharge the batteries after a busy day walking around the sites and shopping. A good choice of restaurants 5-10 min walk from the hotel which are off the beaten track and give you a taste of real local cuisine. We have been visiting this hotel since we spent our honeymoon here 9 years ago and it has just got better with time. The hotel even provides tea, biscuits and cake in the afternoon which is a new addition for us and just what you want when you return from a busy day. The staff are so helpful and friendly - nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel, particularly for romantic get-away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Second visit to this lovely hotel located in a wonderfully quiet area of Rome. Room was quiet, nice and spacious and bed was huge and really big with a very comfortable mattress. Nice little balcony, great shower and spotless throughout. Breakfast was very good & plentiful, but perhaps not excellent. However, we wouln't seek any other accommodation when in Rome & will definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    The staff was very helpful even late at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was a bit difficult to find based off of the address listed. We had to look up the address on Google rather than using the address given. The name was confused with apostrophes and full street names. I was also a bit disappointed that the jetted tub did not work.

    The staff was very helpful even late at night. The Room was really clean and well set. Breakfast was wonderful and full of fresh fruit. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and small hotel in a quiet part of Rome. Definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only con would be the distance to public transport. The metro is a good 10 minutes away however there are buses/trams located nearby. If you don't mind walking, which we didn't it was perfect for a stroll through history. Circo Maximo, the Forum and Colosseum all nearby and a walk along the River Tiber to many more attractions.

    Beautiful, small hotel around the corner from the Knights of Malta keyhole on Aventine Hill and in a quiet part of the city. Our room on the third floor had a lovely view over Rome and a nice balcony to sit out on. The breakfast buffet consisted of eggs and bacon, cereals, juices, cold meats and sweet treats. The staff were attentive and friendly. Wifi was excellent in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyable trip to Italy and this little hotel was the cherry on top.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms were on the small side, but furnished well. Booked the hotel thinking we were close to sites, but took taxis all the time as we were too tired to walk anywhere. We went on 8 walking tours in 7 days!

    Very nice hotel, tucked away from busy street noises. Breakfast was complimentary and a good variety with attendant staff. Bed was comfortable. Felt like we were in a boutique type hotel. They loaned me a handheld hair dryer as the one in my room was not adequate for me. They also loaned us 2 umbrellas due to unexpected rain. Evening snacks were available with a limited menu but tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    This hotel tick all the boxes for us in terms of location and was great value for money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room had two shower heads one of which didn’t seem to work .

    Great breakfast . Large comfortable bed and freely available WiFi . No messing around with passwords . Staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too far off the city center to go back during the afternoon. The form of the bathtub was a bit strange, not sure if it can really be used as such or just as a shower...

    Very calm location, lovely and clean interior, comfortable bed, very good value for money (we booked a couple of months in advance)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    San Amselmo is a lovely, quiet refuge in an otherwise chaoic Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our stay at San Anselmo was absolutely perfect! It is on a quiet hill-top, well away from the chaos of Rome. Upon arrival we were welcomed with a refreshing drink, then ushered to our room; our luggage was brought up quite promptly. The front desk helped us with sight-seeing directions as well as dining suggestions. Less known sights within an easy stroll were pointed out to us on an easy to read map which also listed/described local restaurants. The Coliseum/Forum area are in walking distance as well as the Metro and a train station to whisk one off to further destinations. A complimentary refreshing afternoon tea was a nice touch, though we preferred to enjoy their Happy Hour in the quiet, peaceful garden following a busy, crowded day of sight-seeing. Breakfast was lovely. There was a wide selection of foods: pastries, breads, eggs, fruit, cheeses, cold-cuts, yogurt, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was beautiful in decor and service.Staff were so helpful and friendly and even upgraded us and gave us prosecco when they found out we were there for our 25th anniversary. The restaurants around the hotel were fabulous and reasonable and we felt safe. A local bus took us to the Vatican for 1.50 euro- so easy to walk back from the city or get transport.WE will return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding charming old mansion with period fittings,beautiful greenery and unobtrusivce service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhat removed from city center

    Room was charming-beautiful view-sterling,large marble bathroom Beautiful, quiet neighborhood Lovely sitting areas and nice breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Made our stay in Rome a dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely stunning in every respect- view from our balcony, room decor, staff support, location within walking distance of Colosseum.... perfection in a delightful boutique hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Lovely quiet hotel, but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t what we expected, didn’t resemble the rooms shown at all, it was dark and marose (mirror room). We only had the breakfast one day, it wasn’t great - terrible coffee. The outside space didn’t look taken care of, and therefore wasn’t appealing to stay for breakfast. The iron is in the basement in some dreary corridor. Four star hotel? - offer to do the ironing or offer a less uncomfortable location for guests to do it themselves in. Last but not least, we wanted to have a nightcap one night - they had a less than desirable merlot. The only wine available. It’s Italy - could you really not scrounge up a decent chianti? Not impressed.

    The hotel on the outside was gorgeous, especially the outside sitting area in the front of the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Peaceful, charming and elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No instructions for the shower/bath control and deadly cupboard door. That's all

    Everything but especially the total tranquility after the madness that is Rome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Living La Dolce Vita in Aventino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff in every aspect, classy hotel design, located in a quiet area, but still relatively close to City centre. Superb breakfast choice with good coffee, served in a wonderful setting. Nice garden for relaxing. If booked 6 months in advance, like we did, this hotel is also excellent value for money. A hidden gem of sorts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    I highly recommend Hotel San Anselmo for your stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very charming and the grounds are beautiful. The room was nicely appointed. We liked that there was a breakfast each morning. The best thing about Hotel San Anselmo was the staff, especially the two head concierges. Very professional, efficient, helpful, and courteous. They made our stay the best it could possibly be!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    All excellent but could never stay in that room on account of no fresh air
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE BEDROOM (802) DID NOT HAVE A WINDOW!! WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN WARNED. There was a door leading to a passageway at the rear of the hotel that could not be left open through security.

    Decor, comfort of bed, quiet location of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    It was amazing to be around and to talk to staff The location was amazing and property was Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non applicable there was nothing I didn't like

    I thought the staff were amazing and they was so lovely to talk to the bedrooms look good and pretty I liked the location of the property food was good would definitely go there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As was the case with all of our hotels in Italy, the only English TV channels were news stations (BBC, CNN)

    Great breakfast. Great neighborhood. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Lovely holiday in a relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There could have been tea/coffee making facility i the room - that would have made it complete.

    The hotel was lovely- the area was so quiet and peaceful after busy days spent sightseeing. The hotel staff were really helpful with all kinds of information and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    A quiet place to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were either hard or lumpy/soft and we probably should have asked for other options but our stay wasn't long enough to bother.

    Tranquil oasis in Rome away from tourist hotspots, close to public transport and easy walk to city centre and many attractions. Room to move in room and lovely breakfast/lounge/bar spaces.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.0
    Lovely looking hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on arrival was most obnoxious and set us off in the wrong direction for a restaurant. Hotel too far out of Rome center and it's a long walk to find a restaurant

    Lovely looking hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    A nice convenient and friendly hotel with small rooms in need of modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the smallest double room we have ever encountered in any hotel with an additionally small bathroom. It was not possible to pass each other in the bedroom without giving way and we are not large people by any means. The bathroom is unsuitable for elderly guests with difficult access into the shower over the bath. The shower head kept slipping making a shower quite challenging. The shower screen also leaked leaving pools of water on the marble floor which was a potential danger. The jacuzzi was a surprising addition, however a larger room would have been preferential and in my view this room should have been advertised as a single room.

    We liked the quiet location and the private garden which we were told is a rarity in the centre of Rome. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly in every way and the breakfasts were plentiful offering a wide choice for all tastes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Our stay was perfect. Great staff, clean and nice rooms, with a great location. We plan to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like I said the beds were hard but what would one expect.

    San Anselmo was fantastic. The beds were hard but what else do you expect in Europe. Other than that we had the most amazing experience! My wife and I were on our honeymoon and we received the best service. We had a welcome prosecco and our own personal balcony. The breakfast was perfect and the staff was so friendly always with great recommendations. The room was spacious and we loved that it was far enough away from the center of the city to have some privacy, but still close enough to walk to the coliseum.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay, beautiful small, intimate hotel. Excellent staff Nice to come back to after sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No evening meal apart from basic snacks available in the hotel. Numerous restaurants within 10-15 minute walk easy on the way down but quite a hill to climb on the way back!

    Very good breakfast and a daily afternoon tea was a very welcome addition. Beautiful decor and quiet, peaceful location within easy reach of buses. Taxi to central Rome about 10 euros from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    A marvelous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starts at 7am. I had to be at the airport at 7am. However, the hotel did prepare me a continental breakfast back to go, which was nice. Also, there's a €6 gratuity fee. These are minor issues, only serving as an FYI.

    I really, really love this hotel. I love where it's located, I love how it's designed and I loved getting a complementary glass of red orange juice. I will have to stay there again to fully experience it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Its a wonderful small hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their aukward decoration. We had a huge lamp hanging over the bed a meter high in a rather smal room

    Its a wonderful small hotel in a beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel giving peace and quiet away from the heat and noise of the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is situated on a hill with no shops/restaurants/public transport close by - the walk down is no problem but steep when coming back after a long day. Period style and elegance does not always make practical.

    The hotel is set in a very quiet residential area. It has a cool, quiet garden so plenty of outside space for breakfast, drinks, sitting and relaxing. Staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. Excellent English spoken by staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    An Oasis In The City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, hotel and location were all incredible! The desk staff were so helpful with directions, where to eat, which bus goes where, the subway! The rooms were immaculate. We went out well after 7pm the first day there (we arrived late) after freshening up and we came back and our room had already been restocked with clean towels and totally cleaned up again! It was so nice after traveling all day by car to come back to a fresh room! And we had a secure parking lot and the valet would just retrieve your car and bring it to the front of the hotel. Their breakfast was amazing, with an assortment of fruits, meats, cereals, rolls, pastries and eggs and bacon.The staff made you wonderful espressos, cappuccinos, etc... They had a very lush and tranquil courtyard where you could eat breakfast in addition to a beautifully appointed dining area inside. The interior of the hotel was mostly old elegance mixed with well chosen modern pieces. The location was a gorgeous, tree-lined neighborhood that was a 15-20 minute walk from the Coliseum, the Palatine and the Forum as well as many shops and restaurants in a very non-touristy area. Close to the buses and a tram/local train. Buses were much better thsn the subways. I would stay here again and again - amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    great hotel not so great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location. the hotel sits on a hill which is a problem, you need to take a taxi, or have a long walk. there is nowhere to eat next to the hotel, so after climbing all the way to the hotel, if you want to go out and eat you must walk it all again.

    Hotel and stuff were great. breakfast was very nice. The AC was excellent! (there was a heatwave) very clean. We loved staying there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean. Lovely intimate hotel. The front desk went out of their way to assist us with planning last minute tours . Overall a fabulous experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Anselmo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: