Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Lazio hotel reviews
  4. Rome hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of San Anselmo

Reviews of San Anselmo This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Piazza San Anselmo 2, Aventino, 00153 Rome, Italy

#60 of 976 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1234 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    9.6
    Luscious garden property in old Rome, close to many ancient sites
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spectacular property with several well appointed common areas, wonderful gardens in a mansion. Absolutely beautiful. Breakfast offered many choices, staff was superb. Will definitely be back here on our next trip to Rome.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    10
    A delightfully quiet spot. Breakfasts in the garden & easy access to plenty of good places to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress could have been a touch softer.

    Croissants could have been better. The honeycomb they offer at the breakfast buffet is sublimely devine and for the rest you are spoiled for choice.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    10
    Situated in a beautiful part of the old city, with a close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. It was a perfect stay.

    Situated in a beautiful part of the old city, with a close walk to the river via the monastery. Very professional and helpful staff. Breakfast outside in the lush garden. Nice terrace and jacuzzi in the room. Very good breakfast. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay :) !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was good!

    Beautiful building with lots of character in a really lovely location. A short walk down to the main sights of the city. Lovely stylish rooms and a nice garden at the back To have breakfast or a drink. The staff were fantastic and went out of their way to make our stay great, would highly recommend staying there! Thanks to the team.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel with Amazing Garden Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much to fault really, we found our room quite small, especially the first one out in the garden - we moved inside the main building and it was a lot better. So if you have a lot of bags - I would suggest specifying that you want to be in the main building. Other than that - enjoy your stay and tell Fabio I said ciao!

    The rooms are quite small, but hopefully you’re not in them very often anyways. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the location is good - close to the Colosseum area. We mad very good use of the beautiful garden area, often recharging there after a day touring before getting ready for dinner. When we got home from dinner, it was the perfect spot for a night cap - there is also a nice outside area at the front of the hotel. The breakfasts were delicious. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    9.6
    San Anselmo was a great base for a trip with friends to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of my friends experienced a liitle confusion at check out.

    San Anselmo was a great base for a trip with friends to explore Rome. The location is fantastic - quiet and peaceful away from the hubbub of the centre but still in walking distance of all the main sights. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I loved my room with balcony on the 3rd floor - amazing views. Highly recommended and I would return here like a shot. PS Breakfast delicious!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    9.0
    Peaceful stay, friendly staff, beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Little room for storing clothes in the room. Breakfast staff a bit formal/distant

    Reception staff is very helpful and friendly. Handy advice and problem-solvers.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    10
    Perfect spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely converted mansion on a leafy square up a side street. Plenty of calm space to sit comfortably, inside or out, including following good breakfast. Beautifully quiet and dark bedrooms.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    10
    Lovely, lovely, lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much. My shower took me a day or two to figure out. 😁

    Gorgeous hotel, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff. Great location for many of Rome’s best historical spots.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    10
    Best hotel in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative.

    Best hotel in Italy. Everything was amazing, starting from first come and check-in, ending by luggage safe for check-out day. The hotel room was amazing, the staff really friendly. Near the city center and different facilities. Breakfast large and delicious. We will come back when will be next time in Rome.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    7.9
    Stunning Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the map it says the all the sight seeing bits are close but there a good 10 minute Taxi away but taxis aren’t expensive. No coffee or tea facilities in room :(

    Stunning Room Very attentive staff minus one member who was very rude at breakfast Our room had a gorgeous view (The Gold Room) Very clean

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    10
    Location is great, very close to the main landmarks in Rome,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is great, very close to the main landmarks in Rome, also close to bus stations. The area is calm for peaceful night sleep. The room was very well decorated and there was a jacuzzi in the bathroom which I found super helpful after long walking days in beautiful Rome ! I really recommend it

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    5.4
    Just Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Jacuzzi in our bathroom was not working. The location is not 10 minutes walk from Colloseum as they describe. You need at least 25 minutes and the hotel is located on a hill. After an exhausting date we always had to return with taxi (around 12 euros cost per night). Breakfast is limited. I was expecting a bit more from a 4* hotel in a metropolitan city. During our check-out we requested a taxi to take us at the airport and the taxi driver tried to charge us more. He was asking for 48euros while there is a fixed rate of 30 euros for Ciampino Airport. I had to call back to the hotel make a complain in order to force the taxi driver to come back and give me the 18 euros extra I paid him. A 4* hotel should be very careful with the taxi services they are working with.

    Nice cozy hotel, in a very quiet area. Nice backyard to enjoy the breakfast. Room size was big enough.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    7.5
    The location is one of the best in Rome, the gardens are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are a bit too full and the bed was way too hard

    The location is one of the best in Rome, the gardens are nice and relaxing. Service is very good and the personnel very very noce

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    8.3
    Very elegant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The airport shuttle services, listed as an available option, does not exist, although they can arrange a private driver @ 60 EUR, so if that matters, look elsewhere.

    As beautiful as it looks on the pictures, truly elegant place.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    7.1
    When you have a marathon on a Sunday when loadss of guests...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When you have a marathon on a Sunday when loadss of guests are leaving, you should be able to come up with suggestions on how to arrive at the airport, especially since it happens every year.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was great. The room was fantastic. Breakfast was good, with good variety for vegetarians. The area wasn’t touristy but perfectly place within easy walking distance for all locations. The staff were great. Would definitely recommend and when traveling to Rome in the future we would definitely book this hotel again

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent boutique hotel, with superb staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a little remote and a 10 minute uphill walk from the closest Metro, but that is what you get if want a lovely hotel in a quiet location.

    Fantastic boutique hotel. Helpful staff. A small hotel that goes the extra mile to ensure an excellent stay.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    9.0
    Absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would’ve liked tea and coffee making facility’s in my room

    Great location , great staff and hotel was just perfect . Went the extra mile in everything .

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Great location and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like many modern hotels, the outlets turn off when the key is removed which meant we had to unplug the mini-fridge and use that outlet with a multi-outlet adapter to charge our spare batteries during the day.

    Location on the Aventine hill was great.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    8.8
    Worths every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed is too hard and pillow isn’t too comfortable

    We loved the check in. The guy was wonderful allow us to check in four hours earlier and we could even choose the room. Gratzie

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    10
    Great location and surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and surrounding area. Staff amazing and extremely helpful . Lovely rooms , the hotel was super clean . Breakfast was first class too and nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    9.2
    Great hotel in lovely quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    At the end of a long sightseeing day the walk up the hill wasn't ideal, but it's worth it when you get there.

    Hotel is in lovely quiet neighbourhood surrounded by grand old villas and churches with great views round the corner. The hotel looks great and the staff are lovely and really helpful. Breakfast is fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    10
    Wonderful place to stay and easy walk to the Rome sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were pleasantly surprised at the nice room and very comfortable happy hour. We were greeted with a lovely juice beverage and helped with our luggage. We chose this hotel because it was close to the Jewish Quarter and especially because of the 'on site' parking. It far exceeded our expectations and have already told friends (who are coming to Italy in a few months), to stay here.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    For someone who has traveled most of western Europe (Italy 4 separate times), this was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The neighborhood and location is perfect with parks and views overlooking St. Peter's Basilica, elegant area with church schools adds to the clean, safe and affluent vibe. Walking distance (10 min walk) to Trastevere neighborhood which has the best pasta kitchens (Da Enzo, Carlone). Also 15 min walk to Colosseum/Palatine hill, 5 min walk to Circus Maximus (also a metro stop). Regarding breakfast, the black coffee (american coffee) and honeycomb made it extra special and got the days started off right. What more do you want for the price.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely room and decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better. It is about a 30min walk or so to get to the city centre.

    Lovely room and decor. Modern. Good tv and view. Friendly staff and even gave us complimentary prosecco for my boyfriends birthday!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    7.9
    Place was clean and staff helpful when asked but no facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Taxi was booked by hotel we said and showed them the airport name but driver took us to wrong airport so taxis ended up costing £120 euro and we just made check in with minutes to spare

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    6.7
    Good boutique hotel. Could of been friendlier but would stay again.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff could have been friendlier, I felt that the slight disdain may of been because we were females (not partners!) travelling together. The barman was atrocious and in my opinion the reason that the bar was mostly deserted. There was a far better younger chap on the morning we checked out, had he been on in the evenings the experience may have been much improved.

    We loved the decor and the juice on arrival. Also although we did not make it down to breakfast in time, we were given free coffee in the bar and offered croissants.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was really small. Mattress wasn't very comfortable. Moreover, I asked for a double bed but got two single beds attached instead. Free parking was great but I had to call someone of the staff and wait for them coming with me to open the gate every time I had to collect or drop my car.

    Good breakfast. Excellent location. Nice staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.2
    coasy and fancy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything was just perfect, very comfortable hotel for couples location is just perfect for those who likes to do extra walking in a very nice neighborhoods to reach their desired destinations reception staff very knowledgeable about city activities and can provide you with best information according to your wish and staff can also respond to your requirements through an email prior to your stay the place make feel like home especially when you return from your long day events

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    6.3
    The breakfast was good, eggs were scrambled nicely which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff seemed very dry. The man at reception when I arrived was almost rude. It felt as if they weren't happy with "my kind" (mind you, I'm a 30 year old middle class woman with a 10 month baby). They also weren't very helpful or engaging. It would've been so cool if they would've tried to ask a few questions about what I'm looking for out of my stay and maybe pass on a few helpful tips. The pictures of my room were nicer than the room ended up being, which isn't all that surprising, but still a little disappointing. The bed was horribly uncomfortable, which *was* a surprise, since the reviews all said that the beds were great. The location was a little further out than I would've preferred, but that's no ones fault but my own ignorance of the area.

    The breakfast was good, eggs were scrambled nicely which is a seemingly simple thing but most can't execute. Coffee was good and strong! The jet tub in my room had strong pressure and was very nice. The cleaning lady was SO sweet and very kind about me being in my room while she cleaned. And she was also very nice to my baby. The bathroom was pretty. The bar area was also nice. The price wasn't bad.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect break away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were extremely pleasant and always very helpful. Lovely quiet hotel and located within walking distance of most attractions if not very close to bus/tram stops. Would definitely go again!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    Would stay there any day and any time
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi was a little slower than expected.

    The staff were very polite. The rooms and appearance of the hotel were excellent. The hotel was one of the nicest I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all. Everything was great.

    It was a great experience in Rome. The staff, the location, the greeting, the room, breakfast - it was all amazing. When I visit Rome again, I would definitely like to stay in San Anselmo again. Totally recommend.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.2
    We loved the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi was very poor quality

    We loved the hotel. As a large group of 11 people in total in 6 rooms. We all loved the hotel, fantastic rooms. Great breakfast and overall amazing value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay - a beautiful, very well presented hotel in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect stay - a beautiful, very well presented hotel in an amazing location in a great City. Nice and quiet too. Breakfast was great with lots of options :-)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    Nice little touches like a drink on arrival and the use of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit hard for my liking and the tv in our room we couldn’t really watch because it was blocked by the massive drapes overhanging the bed frame.

    Nice little touches like a drink on arrival and the use of a mobile phone you can take with you when out and about. Breakfast is good too and the street outside is really quiet at night. 20 minutes walking to the colosseum and forum.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing weekend in Rome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are things that could be improved such as bathroom size and facilities, but if you look at my overall rating (which is excellent) you will realize that the things I did not like did not really matter. This is a hotel that I recommend and where we will definitely come back!

    The choice of breakfast was varied and the staff very professional. Please note that indeed, the hotel is not quite in the heart of the city center of Rome but it was a plus for us who like to walk. Please count about twenty minutes by walk to reach the Colosseum for example.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    8.3
    Rome was wonderful full of surprises and made better by a wonderful hotel away from the maddening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a lovely idea to offer two cocktails for 10 e however they weren’t . You need tall glasses and a normal amount of hi and tonic don’t ruin it by being mean with both , you would sell twice as many .

    Our table in breakfast room was sunny a great start to day , great selection of good tea and fresh fruit , peaceful start to day . Rooms was small but very comfortable , bed linen and bed really comfortable plus pillows were great .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.5
    very good, but a bit pricey for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    soundproof is not great. you can hear everything from behind the door. furniture requires maintenance (creaking doors in the shower cabin) quite dusty (clearly visible dust flying around the room on the sunlight)

    very peaceful surrondings, walking distance to Colloseum, Trastavere, etc. decent breakfast not far from the airport (30 mins)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was surprised by city tax I had to pay - probably, i dismissed this information.

    Lovely hotel, situated on the top of Aventine Hill close to orange garden in the calm and beautiful area. We woke up every morning listening to birds singing. Our room was pretty small, but as i understood, there are plenty of other rooms. The hotel staff is doing their best to make you feel comfortable. Breakfasts are served in the hall viewing small inner garden with plenty of pastry, cheeses, you defenitely shall not be hungry.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    The room was beautifully decorated and quite spacious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival, we had our least pleasant experience as the night reception was largely rude. A request for a restaurant tip was replied to with a 'go down the hill and you will find something'. One also needs to know that the walk up the hill to the hotel is a bit steep!

    The room was beautifully decorated and quite spacious, especially for Rome. The breakfast was very good and the staff was generally helpful. Don't miss out on looking at the famous St. Peter's Basilica secret peep hole that is about a block away on the small square!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Just excellent...!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We're used to a kettle to be able to make hot drinks late at night - but that was the only minus!

    The hotel description upon which we made our choice was accurate - and nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location within easy walking distance to FAO,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Mattress was a tad hard, no exercise facilities nearby, breakfast selection somewhat limited (would have been nice to have raw, unsweetened muesli and fresher bread).

    Excellent location within easy walking distance to FAO, Circus Maximus, the Colosseum, etc. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Beautiful old world Hotel on the Aventine hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing possible to say negatively about the hotel is that the beds are a bit hard as is common in many places in Europe.

    Beautiful old world Hotel on the Aventine hill. Updated in the last few years to include all the best amenities. Wonderful bathrooms wonderful bedrooms great staff and an outstanding breakfast. Their coffee is particularly great. Lovely garden.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    9.2
    We would happily go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was a bit of a challenge - getting in and out and trying not to floor the whole room.

    Excellent location within walking distance of nice restaurants, very peaceful at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.6
    At first I thought it was a little bit out of the way but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At first I thought it was a little bit out of the way but soon realised that this was really good as it was just outside the real hustle and bustle of Rome. You can walk down the hill and there are lots of lovely restaurants. It’s a very local area and so these restaurants cater for the locals in Rome rather than the tourists. We loved it here and will definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel but needed to adjust the room temperature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was set too high and our room stayed warm at night. Since we were unable to adjust the a/c, we opened the windows but it was still too hot and we were invaded by misquitos.

    The customer service was fantastic! Everyone was very nice and helpful! Our room included a cell phone for our use which was such a bonus especially since our personal phones were not working well in Italy. We will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely small....even the bedside table was turned lengthwise because it didn’t fit between the wall and the bed. For the price paid it was a disappointment.

    The location is great. Looks nice from outside. A little dated inside.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Loved staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I loved everything. The location 10 mins walk to Circus Maximus. The welcome drink on arrival suggestions for restaurants as we arrived late. The room internet mobile the lovely balcony and the fabulous breakfast. This was simply a beautiful hotel to stay at.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    5 Stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was in a quiet and beautiful part of the city. It’s a hidden gem. The service is faultless. The reception was very welcoming, offering cold drinks on arrival and a complimentary Proseco in the evening just made us feel very special. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was delightful both the food and the ambiance. We would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    30th Anniversary in Rome
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walk back was uphill...

    Though it was a 20 minute walk from Venice Piazza we liked the quiet and safe neighborhood. The local restaurants never felt touristy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was excellent and Id stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent. One of the reception staff was a little abrasive - when i asked for a taxi in 15 minutes he said it was not possible to book in advance and that i needed to return when i wanted to leave. The location was a little far from town after a long day walking around the city.

    The staff were welcoming and helpful. The bedrooms were perfect. Lovely breakfast. Amazing patio garden.Very quite area of town close to a lovely park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.1
    Economy room smelled like mold and the toilet is basically...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Economy room smelled like mold and the toilet is basically inside the shower. It is the 5th tine in 4 months we have stayed at this hotel and were in normal rooms other times which are nice. One would assume that loyal returning clients receive good treatment but when I complained about the room the response was extremely arrogant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    10
    Must be one of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing that i didn't like. This hotel is perfect in my opinion. However, i can see how some people may struggle with the uphill walk in the final approach to the hotel. This did not detract from my experience in any way though.

    The room, especially the bathroom in our upgraded detached room, was amazing. The staff were all so pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. The hotel itself was very pretty in a peaceful location, yet close enough to all that Rome has to offer. This hotel must be one of the best in Rome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.6
    It had old world charm and was in a good position to walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    It had old world charm and was in a good position to walk to restaurants at night. A short taxi ride from the Vatican etc and close enough to walk to quite a few other attractions. Staff were soooo helpful. Couldn’t fault it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower door was not quite long enough to prevent water leaking all over the bathroom floor. We had to mop up lots of water after each use. Changing the shower door would easily solve this.

    The room was decorated very opulently and was perfectly clean. There was a Jacuzzi bath/shower in the bathroom which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was amazing! So much on offer! The hotel is located in a more residential area so is nice and quiet at night, but means there's about a 20-25 minute walk to the Colosseum and other landmarks. The staff were also very welcoming and hospitable, and spoke very good English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    I would stay here again and will recommended it to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The overall experience of the hotel location and staff. The hotel is located in a quite residential area away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist area but with in 15 minute walk of some of the famous sites of Rome. If you get tired of setting in your room then the garden is just the place to read a book of have that conversation. The staff are great. Home away from home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, lovely hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was full and on this occasion I was in the room with disabled access on the ground floor, so the loo was a bit high off the floor for me! And it was quite noisy with the bar area outside my room.

    The hotel is in a great spot, walking distance of all the sights. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautifully decorated. I have stayed there twice on business, and would happily return and pay to stay for leisure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with its own face.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main thing in this hotel is the artisan stylistic especially of the breakfast room. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was loively with a good selection of food. Nice lounge and bar in the small garden. Location is nice for people preferring a quite site at the famous Aventine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    This enchanting hotel is now one of my all-time favorites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I had reservations upon booking this hotel as I have seen gorgeous hotel photos before, then arrived to find that the pictures were only of the upper crust rooms. We had a smaller room, so I hoped for the best. Let me tell you, we had a gorgeous room with the most stunning chandelier and upon opening the windows could hear the church bells ringing in the distance. The garden and courtyard areas were magical and we loved having our breakfast there each morning. Afternoon tea became a fun routine along with a game of chess. This hotel was away from the noise and loud touristy areas and became our peaceful escape. The spread for Breakfast each morning was impressive and was available long enough to accommodate various routines and schedules 7-10 a.m. The housekeeping staff were very thoughtful and never intrusive. We hardly ever saw them, yet our room was attended to impeccably. We were just around the corner from a really neat landmark, The Aventine Keyhole. Be sure to check it out. We fell in love with Vincenzo at the front desk. He was so thoughtful, friendly, resourceful, and accommodating. He went way above the call of duty at every encounter and even did some legwork for me when I was struggling to cancel an outing. Upon leaving, our entire party of four went to say goodbye to him, but we were especially sad to see Vincenzo wasn't working that day. I tried to add more photos but my computer wasn't cooperating. Do yourself a favor and stay in this lovely hotel. Everything about it is charming and entrancing ... just like Rome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was so charming and very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not much I didn’t like. I would have liked for it to be a bit more central to things, but it was not bad. We were able to walk everywhere, and we would not have been able to see some of the views and things we did, if we hadn’t stayed at this hotel!

    The hotel was so charming and very beautiful. It has a nice garden, and a very nice breakfast. Our room was also a nice size. The hotel is also very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location way from the bustle of the city but a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Lovely location way from the bustle of the city but a nice walk to the central area. Breakfasts are super. Our second stay (2014 was our first) and maybe deco getting a bit tired but the ambience and value for money mean we’ll choose SAN Anselmo when next we return. Soon I hope! Well worth considering for your Roman holiday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.2
    Very lovely chic hotel not too far from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was confusing but i’m sure if we asked someone we could have figured it out.

    We had a double room for one night and it was beautiful and cozy. I loved the decor. It was slightly larger than I had anticipated as well. Loved the breakfast options. Location is not too far from the centre and we were happy to walk everywhere. I would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    10
    A lovely oasis in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was beyond expectations.

    Service and attention to detail was perfect. Discrete attentive staff, lovely rooms, excellent breakfast. Quiet convenient location for visiting this side of the city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    10
    amazing value and class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the rooms are a little noisy during the night because people walking outside in the halls

    breakfast was amazing, staff super friendly and helpful, the location is in the middle of rome with amazing views just outside the hotel. also super close to the Colosseum

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Excelent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    internet connection was very very poor.

    The location was perfect, nice quiet area, but realy close to all main attractions. Room was superb, realy luxorious. Perfect breakfast. And the best receptionist!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel waa lovely to stay in.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel waa lovely to stay in. They breakfast facility was good however would have prefered a better selection of food. Bed was comfortable and staff were amazing. Be sure to check total cost of the stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value just a proper walk into Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a decent walk from the center of Rome. Really you need to use buses and metro.

    The room was magnificent. The bathroom was huge and really well designed. It even had a jacuzzi shower! Breakfast was delicious and the maids were brilliant. If I come back to Rome I will stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel tucked away from the busy city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we didn't like about the hotel. It was further away from the main sites then we thought. At least a 20/30min walk to Colosseum. Not a lot of restaurants close by.

    The hotel was excellent, the rooms, staff very helpful and attentive. Breakfast was amazing everything you could want.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was there with my husband for two nights, we got room “Romeo and Julia”, it was balcony room, inside was really clean and beautiful, we loved and enjoyed staying there. It’s not so closed to famous viewpoints, but only 15 min by walking, I’d say pretty convenient. At night was quite and lovely!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.9
    Good location, near to most places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath rooms is crap, if you have a bath or shower the bathroom get flooded Toilet seat is located towards bath, never seen in my experience such a toilet Interior decoration need re-doing

    Good location, near to most places Nice bedding and good air conditioning also fully filled mini bar Staff is very helpful and professional Good breakfast and also they willing to pack for us if we are leaving early or late

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    a haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is a little gem, on the Aventine Hill, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the busy City Centre and main streets but perfectly placed for walk down to the main bus and tram lines (Via Marmorata) or a short taxi ride if required (booked by the helpful Hotel desk staff). Do not miss an evening stroll along the Via Santa Sabina to view an athmospheric sunset of the San Pietro from the balusters of Parco Savello. The old city village Trastevere is also just a pleasant walk away and a haven for foodies. The Hotel has air conditioned rooms and a wonderfully tended enclosed garden, equally enjoyed for evening drinks and morning breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff, clean but small rooms and located about 30 mins walk from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was pretty small Location was up a big hill about 30 mins from the centre

    Shower and bath with jets Nice breakfast with outside eating area Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    8.8
    Incredible hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was beautiful! We were welcomed with a drink and staff were very quick to help. Our room was gorgeous and it was very clean. Bathroom was spectacular. We were also given a phone for the duration of our stay which we could call from and access the internet while out exploring Rome, this was a life saver and was such a brilliant addition to our stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse San Anselmo Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: