Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Clemente Palace Kempinski Venice 5 stars

Isola Di San Clemente 1, 30124 Venice, Italy

#27 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 730 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful breakfast but at 48 euros! Some attention to detail needed on maintenance eg of bathroom fittings. But didn’t spoil a beautiful stay.

    The location, space and ambience are absolutely divine. A real oasis to return to after a steamy day of tourism in Venice city. Wonderful grounds and pool area. Great, knowledgeable and helpful concierge, Michael.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Would definitely go back again it was an amazing hotel with amazing staff we really enjoyed our stay there and the weather was perfect as well so we couldn’t of asked for anything more definitely a 10/10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tired so we had to move around to find a room that was more recently renovated. The pool bar service was slow and the common parts of the hotel ie. corridors, although grand in style, were tired and sparse.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in all 3 restaurants were not bad with the fine dining restaurant being a little overpriced for the food (would have liked to pay this sort of price in a Michelin starred restaurant) but we did pay for the setting overlooking the lagoon which was candlelit and romantic. The food in general in Venice is not as good as those in Rome when we went.

    Quiet and away from the crowded Venice centre but within only 10 mins boat ride away. Feels glamorous travelling in and out of Venice centre by the hotel’s private boat everyday. Huge grounds with well maintained garden and bonus of swimming pool and kids club for families with children. The kids club is open till 10.30pm! The Guests we saw were almost all well dressed and properly mannered. The hotel is grand, stylish and has old money charms. Staff were friendly too. We would love to visit again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly nothing.

    Fantastic Hotel on its own island, complimentary boat service by Riva type made me feel like James Bond heading into Venice on a mission, so easy dont let this put you off.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in room, shower drainage slower than shower pressure causing water to rise

    Excellent "Lady in Red" Guest Relations experience, very helpful Concierge team, beautiful property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing hotel with fantastic facilities. Extremely clean, good service by all staff members. Make sure you try the bar outside at sunset and the food. An absolutely great 5 star experience. If weather permitting make sure you use the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    San klemente island was previosly home for people with mental deseases, after renovation it becomes 5 star hotel, but the building still looks like hospital. It’s nothing to do in the hotel, and the transportation to and from Venice is just a waste of time. Breakfast in the hotel is very usual, as other services there.

    Swimming pool is clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests have to use a private water taxi from Airport to go straight to the hotel as they do not offer their own transfer service, cost €280.00! It unfortunately took nearly 2 days to offer an alternative room after reporting faulty air-con several times. Everything else, excellent!

    Perfect location to relax and visit all the sites! Hotel and grounds immaculate, service and restaurans very good. Prices as one would expect on a private island. Will definately visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though heated, the temperature of the swimming pool was actually too low. You would think that a hotel of this standing and price is able to arrange a 28 degrees Celsius water temperature.

    Just perfect. The green and quiet island away from busy Venice, the complementary shuttle service to Venice, free tour to Murano. Great staff. Specifically I should mention Antonio - wonderful concierge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were exceptional - amazing customer service, very attentive, welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was superb - a large selection of foods hot & cold on the buffet and other dishes cooked fresh from the kitchen. The coffee was brilliant. The boat shuttle service ran every 20 minutes from the hotel and docked right beside St Mark's Square which was very convenient and nice to escape the hustle and bustle after a long day sightseeing. Lovely bar too which you could relax in for hours if desired.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather cold. Inattentive staff on occasion

    Spacious long corridors, like a palace. Actually the best was the concierge team. They made up for the sometimes lack of English fluency not communication skills of other staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could be better Drinks were too expensive in the bar

    10 min to San Marco by shuttle boat Luxury stay in private island with swimming pool and breakfast with champagne

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle does not start until 8.50 which is too late when you have a tour booked at 8.45 had to get water taxi which charged 65 Euros for a 7 minute trip.

    Away from the crowds grounds were lovely bar was great although a little expensive. The rooms were very nice and the bed particularly comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    The hotel was very luxurious and comfortable. The boat to take people over to Venice was very reliable and the staff were really welcoming and helpful . It was our wedding anniversary and we received a lovely bottle of fizz, some chocolate strawberries and a beautiful card which we really appreciated. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had difficulties getting our room temperature right as the air -conditioning system had been turned off. The hotel's response was amazing. They gave us an upgrade to fabulous rooms by the lagoon.

    Great property on its own island. They offer free shuttles to and fro the main island. The staff is top notch. ould definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall it was excellent and we would go back but if being really picky, the hotel toilet paper and paper tissues were quite cheap. Total dependence on wooden boat ferry to get to Venice may not suit all and anyone not steady on their feet could struggle getting in/out the boat.

    Super start to short break holiday taking boat from Marco Polo airport to the hotel. Really good location - despite being on an island they have a dedicated ferry to St. Marco's running regularly. We slept very well as the island is so quiet. Bed excellent and room size more than big enough - breakfast expensive but well worth the cost. Will definitely return !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I haven't yet looked into the maritime regulations in Venice but the first shuttle service was, if I recall, at 8.50am. Quite an early riser, this limited my ability to travel into Venice without a taxi in the early hours. On the plus side... it forced me to relax :)

    Exceptional hotel, frequent shuttles to and from San Marco's Place and so well kept... Would love to go back next time we're in Venice - we were there in early September and made good use of the pool while also discovering a lot of Venice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The costs are extortionate. No tea or coffee facilities in room and 9 Euro's for a coffee

    Great grounds and facilities to relax when away from busy streets and canals of Venice. Great way to arrive and depart Venice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were served meat told it's halal. It was Not! How can a hotel like this make such a mistake? Maybe being Muslim is just not respected enough here. We were not compensated for this other than an apology and ling explanation of how there is no GM foe the hotel and that they are struggling to raise standards. We ordered a cheese sandwich for my son. Took 1hr. Came with ham! The girl who took our call said pull it out and throw it in the bin! What part of Muslim do they not get! We called foe the duty manager. We are told give your son a salad. He is 12! The kitchen is now closed! Whose fault is that? We said no. It's now 2hrs from ordering a meal. Duty manger is so upset and 're does the sandwich. It's bread and has cut cheese and hit lettuce! I mean how can u screw up a cheese sandwich. So I Google images of cheese melted sandwiches. He is so ashamed. My son slept hungry. Ate chocolates! Next day served "halal meat it's not halal! Pool boys did not help get us a bed. We are Indian. However two white people came and they got the empty bed. We got it under a tree! They found our reaction funny! We mentioned this again to the duty manager as the hotel we were told has no GM, by Monica. Honestly so many little things happen. I would stay on the main land next time and this just ruins Kempski name. Either shut down or get you hotel to 5 star. What you charged us and what we received was highly unfair. So that I am not lying have a look at what I got two hours after ordered a cheese sandwich for my son.

    Concierge!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staf not well trained, had to wait one hour for my handluggage...staf on shuttle boat vey unfriendly, food and drinks mediocre,the whole palace is nice but too grand.

    swimming pool and nice staf at recetion

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive to eat and drink at the hotel. Spa treatments were also to expensive and the spa itself very ordinary. They also advertised heated swimming pool which was extremely cold. As well as airport shuttle which did not exist. You have to pay for your own water taxi

    We liked the location of the hotel. Also the cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming Pool had some broken bits - some very small work around the edge is needed - but that did not stop us from enjoying the pool and beach bed. Steam & Sauna Room - Could have been better is there was an attendant there - It is a huge hotel and difficult to find the place but again No complaints. 1 thing I definitely recommend to the hotel is to have free boat transfer from Airport to Hotel & Return - You have nice boat's so why not extend a little more for your guest - makes feel spoilt. Overall - Awesome experience - will surely visit again soon :)

    Staff - Very Lovey, Friendly, Helpful and Smiling - And also they gave us free Upgrade on arrival. Property - Beautiful Property, Good Rooms, High Ceiling, Classic Decor & - Good activities like Tennis, Golf, Pool, Jog & View...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The salmon at breakfast No eggs & beans offer at breakfast Without water pressure on the sink

    The island and the palace The staff is eager to please The running horse and the fancy red tractor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks by the pool were silly prices. Annoying to have to spend €7 on a small bottle of water.

    It's a magnificent building. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was a great size. Excellent shuttle boat service every half hour into Venice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service was very slow

    Peace and quiet of the island location made accessible by regular shuttle boat to St Marks , Beautiful grounds and views. Freindly and accommodating staff. Luxurious accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food is probably weak point. one breakfast was a disaster because of poor waiter service. did not eat diunner in hotel.

    Gardens, tennis, uncrowded pool, great views from the island

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    San Clemente Palace Kempinski is placed on the island, therefore we needed to park our car very close to water taxi station. And via Booking.com and hotel we did this very easily, thus we captured hotel reception just 30' after coming to Venice. For us location of the hotel was perfect! We usually have loved to spend a couple hours to visit some places and then to rest. This hotel allows our expectations perfectly, after tasting Venice when we had be back, we walked, used the pool, had lunch in a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is absolutely unacceptable!! We were really so very disappointed both in the spa itself and the massages, which are very expensive and not professional. The sauna and steam rooms are old and smelly and there are only 3 relaxation beds which are located in the wet area. It's a dingy, dark, uninviting space. Such a shame as the spa really lets down the whole hotel. The staff are really friendly and accommodating but way too junior and inexperienced. For example, our waitress tried to de-bone our 90 euro fish and left us with a few forkfuls of mess. Again a shame for such a beautiful, elegant hotel.

    Location. The gardens. The building. The pool. The rooms are lovely and very clean. Breakfast was varied and well presented. Boat transfer was on time and easy. The food quality in both restaurants was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool attendants to assist with towels and beds. Take a credit card, food and drinks pricey

    A beautiful hotel and grounds. Luxury just minutes from Venice where you can relax and unwind in a peaceful location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Dolce Restaurant

    Paradise Island! We found the sckp last minute while we were waiting for a boat to go to another spa for the day. I looked you up on Booking.com and decided to book a room for the next night. We were already staying at another hotel in Venice which was not up living up to our expectations. After our night with you we regretted not spending our entire vacation at the SCKP. Claudia (blonde) at the front desk and Kataryna were a sheer delight, as were the lovely ladies in red and surprise bottle of prosecco was such a lovely touch for our anniversary. Everything was SPECTACULAR with the hotel, room service/food and poolside service. The restaurant for dinner was absolutely HORRENDOUS! We read the reviews about how awful it was but decided to try it anyway, what a mistake. My husband is a celebrity chef and we were appalled with how guests are treated there. This restaurant is a thorn in the side of the otherwise perfected San Clemente. Please, please, please fix this. Overall we were so happy with our experience at San Clemente, that we are looking at your other resorts for our next getaway. Warnest regards, Christine Von Legge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a beautiful hotel where we could get away from the hustle and bustle of the mainland. The staff were excellent and the facilities superb. The hotel shuttle was perfect. We will be going back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The absence of proper catering capability (nothing really outside of the luxury restaurant at extortionate rates), the poor professionalism of staff, the poor attention to clients, the extraordinary time you have to wait when you ask for something (a coffee, a drink, a question, some help...)

    The location, the beauty of the buildings, the quality of the rooms and their decoration, the shuttle to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night

    water taxi rate as suggested by concierge 2 times more expensive than direct booking.

    experience Venice in the most relaxing and comfortable style. wonderful island, great building, most relaxing pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There did not seem to be any simple breakfast options other than the main breakfast room meal in the mornings. A café option, just with coffee and a croissant would have been nice.

    Fab location, scenic boat rides back and forth from the city, lovely gardens and large swimming pool area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a limited view but it was an upgrade to a lagoon suite from a standard room

    Fantastic location with free regular shuttle to St Marks square. Lovely pool area. The whole lication had a fantastic atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Despite not opening the windows, there were mosquitos and the occasional fly in our room. Not sure how they got in, but my wife and I suffered numerous mosquito bites which were extremely irritating. The staff did what they could, but didn't solve the problem (which shouldn't have arisen with the windows constantly closed). Mini-bar prices were extremely expensive

    Breakfast was excellent. Room was beautiful and nicely furnished. Staff were great and extremely helpful. We were visiting for our 35th anniversary and had mentioned this in advance - on arrival our room was upgraded and the hotel left complementary wine and strawberries which were very nice gestures.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive. No one showed us the property in order to explain all the facilities. No upgrading granted even though the hotel was not fully booked (I know because they offered us to pay for another room). We ordered a few things in the pool bar and they didn't bring it to us.

    Beautiful place! Very romantic. Love the pool and all the nature.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    I thank the hotel staff. Me and the bride enjoyed it. Put the hotel at 5+. Will definitely return to this hotel. You gave said atmosphere. It is very important that have employees speaking in Russian. Thank you!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to arrive being prepared to spend. It's no surprise. But it's worth the premium prices for the location and experience at San Clemente. It is utterly, utterly wonderful.

    It's extremely hard to fault anything about this place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant and bar were very formal and pretty expensive. Wasn't expecting that and didn't have the proper attire on this trip.

    Boats were always on time. Breakfast was excellent. Grounds and property were beautiful and it was nice to have the spaciousness after being in Venice proper. And there is a beautiful old church on the grounds - absolutely lovely. The Concierge was excellent and helped me weeks before arriving with restaurant reservations in Venice and how the boat/taxi system works. Just send them an email - they respond right away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like tea and coffee making in room for that early morning cuppa.

    Everything about this hotel is fabulous - facilities, staff, location, everything. It's a tranquil oasis of loveliness on a private island far but not too far from the madding crowds in Venice. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle that runs regularly to San Marco sobit is easy to get in and out of the centre. It was lovely to escape the crowds after a morning sightseeing and then return in the evening refreshed for dinner, allowing full use of hotel pool and facilities in the meantime. So much more than a city break - a real holiday!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My dinner at Clemente Bar was a huge disappointment. We ordered chicken burger and spaghetti, the food was on our table after 1 hour (!) waiting time. Burger was raw inside which is unacceptable for chicken! Although they haven't charge me for a burger it didn't compensate that the quality of dinner was just awful. The second disappointment is room service. I ordered breakfast in the room for 3 mornings in a row. The order form was never in place after I used the first one. On a 3d morning they simply haven't got the order form from the handle outside the door. After I called reception it took another 40 min before they took the order and another 20 min to bring tea and croissant to the room.

    Amazing garden and a pool area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service at the restaurant.

    Beautiful island with a beautiful view however the restaurant staff was understaffed the first night I had dinner there and dinner took about three hours food was excellent though and the service was corrected in the following days I went to have dinner at the hotel. Concierge staff was extraordinary and all the advice that gave.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A second restaurant for the evenings would be handy. Bar food alternative not up to standard although main restaurant fantastic

    Loved the space. Perfect for families if you want to visit Venice but not be on top of it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a recommendation: offering an ala carte breakfast option (not just pastries) on the terrace as an alternative to the buffet.

    From the boat ride from the airport until we left the city, our vacation was lovely. The concierge was superb -- well-informed with exciting itineraries offered with "front-of-the-line" tickets offered ad well as a trip to Moreno. In addition, we also enjoyed cocktails, a delicious dinner and the beautiful modern art installations. Rec for children.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service menu and pool bar menu. Very disappointing to hear that they are unable to make you a club sandwich or a burger. Such a beautiful place should be able to accommodate such small requests. When I was by the pool I witnessed at least three different guests requesting similar orders, burgers and club sandwich. I strongly recommend improvement to the menu! Still love the place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    What some will see as an advantage is also a disadvantage: you are "isolated" and faraway of the real Venice. If you do not want a full fledge breakfast you have to wait till 10 a.m. to get a coffee and cornetto at the bar or pay the full breakfast price of 40 Euros or so. We would have preferred to go out and have a coffee in an Italian bar nearby. See my comment above.

    Excellent hotel on a beautiful island

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The history of the island is wonderful and the facilities are too. The staff are always there but very discreet the rooms are well accommodated with lovely furniture and everything you would need for a very comfortable stay.After a day in Venice returning to the island is like being transported to heaven.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff aren't very good. They didn't switch on the air conditioning in our room because "it isn't cold for italians". I was surprised given we were paying 1000s of euros we should be treated better. No kettle in room. They did add one but charged 8 euros for it. Should be complimentary when the price tag for staying is high.

    It's a stunning island to escape to. It feels very luxurious. We had the room upgraded which was a nice surprise too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The staff were always helpful, kind, and knowledgeable. The place itself is amazing. Clean, great facilities & the food is delicious. There is also a shuttle service from & to the main island that is absolutely free & they arrange for private water taxis if U need them.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food selection at the breakfast as well as room service menu (No breakfast options to order at your room) The room temperature as the cooling A/C was not in operation despite the warm weather

    The staff were all amazing, very friendly and always ready to go the extra mile to help. The room size was excellent, this also apply the the bathroom. The shuttle service to the city including the timings and comfort of the boat

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great experience due to excessive costs Very very expensive Only fine dining available at extortionate prices Bar service for drinks took ages

    Lovely bathrooms with both shower and bath The fresh bread baked on-site

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm welcome and goodbye when we arrived and departed The upgrade and warm wishes for our 4th anniversary The cocktails in San Clemente bar The beautiful breakfast at Insieme The well kept grounds around the palace - perfect for morning walks The regular shuttle to and from San Clemente to San Marco All the friendly, accomodating staff at San Clemente

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glasses cleanliness (not smelling good) even after washing them like 4 times! & then they offered a paper cup!!! Not punctual at the breakfast opening time. They don't get you the order as requested.

    The location is amazing, specially on sunsets. It is a historic building & loved every small detail!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not really welcoming. They were trying to sell some membership before letting us the room is ready or not. The hotel quality is great but not nice to see very disappointing breakfast. It was average.

    The hotel itself is very nice, great experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really friendly staff- every single one. All had a smile. Efficient boat launch taking you to and from hotel to St Marks. Magical place with a lake and sculpture in the grounds. Went swimming in outdoor pool in middle of October! Warm enough. So quiet and peaceful. Wonderful breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of one- high cost.

    Tranquil, beautiful, comfortable and dry place next to a noisy and crude Venice. Hotel shuttles run every half hour. The hotel has an excellent restaurant, quiet and good food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel. Beautiful private island with very comfortable rooms and great staff. The breakfast was amazing too. Strongly recommended for honeymoon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room is a bit small for the price, it has not double door between the room and the corridor what makes it some noisy at some times, they stop air conditioning the 1st of october what makes some rooms hot to sleep, they block the cost of the whole stay plus a daily deposit from your credit card at the arrival. Room service is very good but the cheapest bottle of wine is very expensive.

    The island and its facilities are amazing, the building is great, the restaurants and breakfast rooms are very good, the shuttle between the island and S.Marco works perfectly, the breakfast food and service is very good and, overall, the amazing kindness and profesional quality of the service persons.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    INDOOR FACILITIES FOR THE RAINY WEATHER PERHAPS MORE BEAUTY AND HEALTH FACILITIES BUT WASNT THAT BOTHERED ABOUT EITHER REALLY AS I CAME TO SEE VENICE

    SUPERB STAFF AND LOVELY SURROUNDINGS

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the boat service was regular, efficient and short (about 5 minutes) it would have been nice to come and go as you wished maybe directly into Venice. That said in the summer months you could enjoy the outdoor pool which few would have in Venice itself.

    Staff super friendly, beautiful place on its own island with a quaint church and grounds. Boat service was regular and efficient

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was inedible.....

    Formal restaurant was over the top fantastic!!!!! Most creative and balanced food we found in Europe. Chef and his team are to be commended. 3stars for sure!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    The staff were exceptional. The hotel and furnishings were beautiful, with a stunning pool and gardens and delicious breakfasts too. We would definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone else.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful location and facilities, lovely staff, bottle of Prosecco in room, upgraded room. A fascinating contrast to the crowds in Venice, itself a fabulous city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    25 Minutes queuing in a corridor for the breakfast Check in Staff exceeded

    The location, the architecture and the garden The boat shuffle for San Marco Effective Concierge

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved it all.

    The whole place! The location was excellent and the shuttle boat service great.The outdoor areas, especially the pool area were lovely. The grounds gorgeous. The staff could not be more helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our things were stolen by the cleaning staff and the hotel managements didn't bother to check and try to resolve the problem! the staff opened our shopping bags while in the room and stole some of the things in them!! although we highlighted the issue while we were there no action was taken! for such a name in the hotel industry we expected more from management at that point! it was a very bad way to end a very nice stay in Venice. We don't recommend this hotel to anyone!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just stay away from their "fine dining" place. Their pool restaurant is a lot better and doesn't require reservations.

    The location, the views, and the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - breakfast should have been better. - baby crib/cot was too small for a 2 year old. - we've arranged meet&greet transfer to the hotel which includes boat service for 2 people and 4 pcs luggage and costs 215 euros. we had 2 pcs luggage. we were charged 30 euros more for our 2 year old baby. that didn't suit kempinski.

    + perfect hotel, beautiful garden.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel should offer a pickup service from the airport and the train station, even if they have to tack on an extra charge. Venice is extremely crowded and negotiating transportation options to the hotel is annoying upon arrival. The location is a bit remote (despite the shuttle), so it is not for someone who wants to have immediate access to Venice. You have to figure shuttle times into your schedule. It limits spontaneity. Fake/plastic marble on furniture is below expectations for such a high end hotel. Italy is the land of Carrara marble.

    Nice shuttle service to San Marco. Beautiful grounds. The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The restaurant has 1 Michelin star, great but they mAnaged to forget bringing out wine bottle till after the first course was started. Then they brought the wrong bottle 2) the breakfast service is a mess. Borderline offensive. You arrive into the restaurant and you have to wait close to 15 minutes to be seated while there are 5,6 tables available but that have yet to be cleared by the staff. As you stand there the hostess/Maitre d' makes no apologies. If you ask the wrong waiter for something he tells you he can't take your order you must ask your own table attendant. 3) an order of coffee arrives 20 Minutes late and is usually wrong, by the time you've already gone to the buffet and ate most of what's in your plate. Once it arrives you see the waiter wandering around so confused for every single order not knowing which table ordered what. Same for your eggs they walk around in confusion with your eggs till finally the terrible Maitre D' figures out who ordered what. 4)At the pool , you have to pick your own towel and lay it out where you please. Hardly ever is there a waiter coming to offer a drink 5) the concierge is not helpful they don't have preferred taxi companies nor gondolas they just say pick one when you get there. The concierge isn't keen on organizing anything for you and seems to have no relationship with outside restaurants to make reservations. It seems it's done to push you to stay at the hotel and eat at the restaurant. The concierge is definitely not helpful and not 5 star hotel worthy. THE only thing that's 5 stars at the hotel is the premises and amenities, food beverages and conciergerie services are mediocre

    Beautiful exquisite property. Breathtaking views and site. Being on an island right across St Mark's square with a very convenient shuttle boat every 2 minutes, is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gastronomic restaurant was disappointing and the wine list too restricted

    To relax : The gorgeous swimming pool in the magnificent garden surrounded by the lagoon ; in the evening this is pure magic The start of the day after an early swim or jogging : a somptuous breakfast in the courtyard

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've tried hard to think of something, but failed!!

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast choice and quality of food was the best we'd ever experienced! It was lovely to come back to a quiet, secluded place, with beautiful grounds and pool, after a day in Venice - we loved having the 10 minute boat in and back and the shuttle was always on time and ran regularly. Staff were all very friendly and helpful without being intrusive, definitely 5* service all round

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls in room scuffed by suitcases (not mine!) and the glass in the Chandelier was broken...just little things, but important.

    The exclusivity of the property and also the Boat drivers!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Clemente Palace Kempinski Venice traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: