Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Domenico Al Piano 4 stars

Via Roma 15, 75100 Matera, Italy

#21 of 34 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1203 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Very well located modern 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was poor

    Location on the edge of the Sassi is excellent giving convenient access to the main piazza & the old town. Parking garage is very good . Modern 4 star hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great stay in Matera, a town where it's easy to take amazing photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely modern hotel, in walking distance of the sights of Matera. Big buffet breakfast. We had a great last minute deal on bookings.com, at 4pm in the afternoon for that night. We would have stayed another night, though the hotel was totally booked out. Parking was easy, we had an on street park in front of the hotel, though the hotel offered parking in their courtyard for 20 euros/day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    It was right near historic center but didn’t have to drive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No available parking when we got there, had to pay to park in nearby garage

    It was right near historic center but didn’t have to drive into it. The hotel was clean, comfortable and staff were very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Convenient to central attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately when checking in to the hotel, we were not greeted in the same friendly manner as the young man who I am sure went out of his way to get to the hotel. However the next morning, when we checked out the same clerk was much more friendly and courteous. Maybe she has a good nights sleep and woke up in a better mood.

    Very convenient. Nice breakfast spread. Pleasant outdoor patio to have breakfast. When entering the outskirts of Matera we asked directions from a young man who was getting into his car. He told us to follow him and he brought us directly to the hotel. We made a number turns that would have been difficult to followed verbally.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    What didn't we like? The lady on reception - who's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What didn't we like? The lady on reception - who's disdainful attitude towards my partner and myself for daring to complain about the lack of AC in our room was completely unacceptable. Asking for something that we paid for is apparently frowned upon in the San Domenico. Avoid this hotel. There are many other far better hotels in Matera.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    It was a happy choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A table in the room would have been useful.

    The location is at the entrance of the Sassi. 104 room overlooks the inner courtyard, is the peace and ensure a quality night's sleep. Underground parking for 15 euro\/day. Breakfast is excellent, with many dishes, cakes, coffee preferences. It was a happy choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the street overnight is not possible, so you have to park a bit further away. Therevare pinned up notices to this effect, but the desk staff should have mentioned it. Street parking cost us about 5 euros but the hotel parking was 15 euros. Even had to fill in a ludicrous police form for the car, which can't have been necessary. Our fault for not speaking Italian I guess.

    Breakfast and location. Right by the sights. Fabulous shower and all new facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Hot and uncomfortable, but your experience might be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in December was terribly hot. We turned off the heat but it would not stay off. In the middle of the night we woke up and it had reached 27 C (80 F). It was too noisy to sleep comfortably with the window open. Rough night, beds and pillows were also hard.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking is conveniently located underneath the hotel (15 Euros a day). Breakfast is amazing -- tons of choices, both sweet and savory. Location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect location in the center of the city, walking distance to the main city attractions. Great staff and excellent service and very nice and rich breakfast with excellent service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Would really recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From above, you understand the the answer is: nothing.

    Hotel San Domenico is the kind of place you chek-in, get to your room, go out, have breakfast the next morning, finally check-out and realize later that everything went just smooth and fine. You try of something that could have bother you and frankly, no, it was just perfect. This is what I call peace of mind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location to explore the sassi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything you expect of a hotel - comfy bed, perfect location and gluten free options for breakfast, if required. If you have a car there is parking underneath at a small cost for your convenience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.0
    Nightmare with air conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot day and the air conditioner didnt work properly. It felt as if they had a protocol because the first time we told them, they asked if we had the finestra chiusa and "rescheduled" the temperjature on the computer (phase 1). When we came from a walk, the Room was even hotter and they told us that the air only worked with the card of the room and they gave us an extra one so we could leave it working while we had dinner (phase 2). When we returned to the hotel, the room had the same temperature and when we asked them, they were receiving a phone call from another customer with the same problem. They came with us to the room and confirmed that the air conditioner wasnt working properly,so they finally changed our room to a superior one with no extra cost (phase 3). So, if you find yourself with this problem, make sure you let them know from the beginning and insist to obtain a solution.

    Ubicación y el parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Location was good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was preset to go no lower than 20*c and did not cool the room at all. Major problem when the temperature outside is around 38*c. NOT GOOD.

    Location was good; right next to the 'new' city and walking distance to Piazza Vittorio Veneto.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Matera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Two small beds pushed together, felt like you would slip off.

    Issue with passport. Front desk very helpful! Much thanks, All spoke good English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not get reliable wifi in the room, we complained at the desk but nothing was resolved. We could get connected in the public areas without problems.

    Location was awesome, very close to the sassi but with easy access for those arriving by car. They have a very convenient paying parking. They honored the 10Eu/night rate that had been quoted when I booked months ago though the parking was now listed for 15Eu/night. Room was comfortable. For breakfast they had one of the biggest spreads I have seen in any hotel. Lots of options both savory and sweet. We did not need lunch after that.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Plenty space in the garage which is free of charge for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi, it was a very poor connection which was breaking up all the time. It is a simple thing which can be resolved quickly nowadays.

    Plenty space in the garage which is free of charge for the guests. Beautiful breakfast with very large variety and very well presented. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice for business stop, I hope to be back there for some holidays.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window in my room was small (but I really didn't ask or care as I was there for work). When leaving the garage with your car you shall push BOTH buttons to open the barrier, they'd better put a bigger notice sign with a light on the wall there....

    Very close to the historical center (i Sassi). Staff has been helpful and very nice, I actually enjoyed a conversation at breakfast time, which rarely happens to me. Wifi was perfectly fine, which I absolutely needed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small with old fashioned furniture.The staff was not friendly

    The location was perfect to explore Matera.The hotel has its own unterground parking. The room was clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Autumn stay in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think they should eliminate the moquette, which gives a wrong impression of old .

    very good location, close to town center. Very good breakfast with good choice. Very clean in the room and toilette. Possibility of parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Loved Matera definately will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small

    Breakfast was unbelievable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Location - proximity to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - proximity to old town Great facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast, renovated bathroom, electronic window blinds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, renovated bathroom, electronic window blinds, and very close to old UNESCO town/Sassi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast, comfort and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price.

    Breakfast, comfort and location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Near the bus station. Also not far from the city centre. Good for short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast super,near to old city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    The most amazingly interesting city- an absolute must for any world traveler!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Arrived without a booked sightseeing tour and hotel staff were very obliging in organizing that for us and giving restaurant suggestions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful with me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful with me. The location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, great service and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, great service and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    No hot water for shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Good Palace bear center
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel gas some work and renovations to do

    Good for visit matera

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Very close to historical centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to historical centre. Ample underground parking at a fee. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Super clean and comfy. We'd love to stay next time we're in Matera.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend - great lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real view. Room a little small

    Excellent location- walked to center for touring and restaurants. Had parking garage which was a definite plus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very good. It is rich in fruits and traditional food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    A perfect location for visiting matera
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window in the room

    The position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed/mattress was quite uncomfortable - needs to be replaced.

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Staff disponibile
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Camere all'altezza

    Staff disponibile

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Nice, centrally located facility. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very modern facility with underground parking. Nice touch were the slippers in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Great location and delicious breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner noisy

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Bed was comfy and breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Simple non descriptive room in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No character.

    Convenient location. Simple practical room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Down town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff..

    Down town!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    ALL GOOD I GIVE 5 :STAR
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LOCATION CLEAN STUFF &BREAKFAST

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Second time in Matera - one of the most beauty locations in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfest. Few steps from historical core of the Matera. Excellent position.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming staff, very comfortable room, location is superb, very large selection for breakfast with helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel to visit Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good breakfast and good parking space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Lots of cakes for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of cakes for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    excellent location, clean room, safe parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor ambience in lobby/bar area

    central location, clean room, easy and safe parking, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable city hotel near public connections
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delays at early breakfeast

    The rooms are quite large The small lobby is comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.9
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Central location, Friendly staff, Comfortable room, underground parking and wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    5.4
    Location and parking very good. Otherwise, disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Utilitarian. Hard beds. No coffee/tea facilities in room. Breakfast cost extra.

    Location perfect for Sassi. Hotel parking (free).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location, worth the parking fee staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, worth the parking fee staff were friendly and enjoyed the toasted sandwiches for breakfast. Useful tip that the hotel gave us on getting our entrance to the park early for an amazing walk to the other side of matera ,great views back.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    6.7
    The hotel location is excellent and onsite parking garage is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a 4 star rated hotel it was not very clean, especially the carpets. There was no one to help with the baggage. The included breakfast was not fresh and mediocre.

    The hotel location is excellent and onsite parking garage is a great feature.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Staff gave us a map immediately & recommended a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff gave us a map immediately & recommended a restaurant which was excellent. They also squeezed us in for a 2nd night, when they were full. Good secure car park. Location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.9
    Good place to stay to visit Matera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was too warm when we arrived and we had to insist they turned air con down. The room display doesn't function it is all controlled from reception- why have a control in room if it doesn't work?

    Good place to stay to visit Matera. Good parking and easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    5.4
    Very centric hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff in the reception wasn´t very talkative when we checked in and we had to ask a lot of questions, like if we were supposed to know about the details of the hotel. Eventhough the hotel is clean we found a lot of hairs when in the carpet in hour room.

    Very centric hotel. The room was modern and furniture and bathroom was fine. The breakfast buffet was good, with different choices. Waiters were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in a great location for visiting the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable hotel in a great location for visiting the sights of Matera. Excellent breakfast and overall good value for money. Underground car parking.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the bed uncomfortable for a four star hotel.

    The staff were very accommodating. The breakfast was excellent. In general the room was very good. You couldn't find a better location and the hotel and room was spotless.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.3
    Location is great, private parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old rooms, but clean enough. Got room for invalids, nobody tell about it. After room was changed on normal. Restaurant didn't work at 10p.m. Planned to have dinner in the room.

    Location is great, private parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.5
    Location could not have been better, especially with a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No working climate control during entire stay. Men working front desk were not at all helpful; women were better.

    Location could not have been better, especially with a car. Wonderful breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.3
    Close to Matera's old town, close to shopping streets,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    average breakfast

    Close to Matera's old town, close to shopping streets, good amenities

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    8.8
    Clean and friendly hotel - staff were great - fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - maybe a kettle in the room but not important :0)

    Clean and friendly hotel - staff were great - fab location

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    comfortable amenities and very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    offish attitude

    comfortable amenities and very good location

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.6
    Good location, very easy to find which was important as it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, very easy to find which was important as it was raining.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    rooms walls need painting

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oh did not work air conditioning did not work we'll and room service was lacking

    Helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast Rooms (is not a four stars hotel)

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Really good location, just yards from main square in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really good location, just yards from main square in a quiet street. Very good breakfast, onsite parking at E10 per day

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    Staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was excellent. Location good

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    Nice up to date hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice up to date hotel. Very clean and modern.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.5
    Absolutely perfect location with on site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aircon wasn`t working.

    Absolutely perfect location with on site parking.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: