Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Domenico Palace 5 stars

Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#17 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    A beautiful spot to enjoy Taormina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location a short walking distance to gorgeous shops, great restaurants and attractions. The best outdoor patio for afternoon drinks and fabulous breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Unforgettable oasis in a former monastery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were one of the younger couples there and the front-desk staff showed a bit of condescension like we didn't belong. Yes, we splurged on one night there but we would've appreciated the same service that was extended to everyone else

    The palace itself had the most exquisite gardens, a really lovely pool, quiet from the bustle of Taormina and an amazing view of the sunrise. We got lucky and had lightning storms on our morning there and it was pretty unforgettable. Also, the breakfast was on point -- and the background music made the whole experience feel very cinematic -- like, as some have described, you were in a movie.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    A room with a superb view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room which had an amazing outlook was very old fashion and in desperate need of refurbishment Hotel may claim 5 star rating but whilst they have bedrooms as tired as this I regret I can’t agree

    Location Style Gardens

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Historic property with views and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheaper rooms have no view, just over backs of buildings and walls. We did not go to the hotel’s beach but were disappointed by the €25 per person charge we were told it would cost to go there with the hotel shuttle. This seems excessive. Beware eating in the hotel’s Michelin star restaurant before checking the menu as it seems extremely expensive!

    Lovely historic building with great views. Easy to walk into town to lots of restaurant Nice terrace for breakfast with views over the sea. Nice pool area and gardens. Sparking wine on breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    superb loaction and views from the several terraces, however, the hotel is now in need of refurb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very difficult to find ! The telephone number in the booking.com system is in correct and we could not contact them for assistance. When we advised them about this at check-in they seemed uninterested !... This was for a special occasion 80th birthday celebration and we specifically booked rooms with a sea view. The rooms only had a partial sea view with one room showing only the view from behind a big tree and we when we pointed this out they said that they were fully booked . For the price we had paid this was not acceptable and only when we stood our ground did they offer a complimentary dinner on the last night .

    We loved the location of the hotel and the beautiful architecture of the amazing building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    San Domenico lives up to its 5 Stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not serve dinner before 8 P. M. Also we could not get a breakfast/brunch package to take along with us at 3:30 A. M. We would have to pay for it. They would serve us our paid for breakfast but only in the hotel.

    This 5 star hotel is the best in everything. Their breakfasts are awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Delightful, luxurious but expensive base from which to explore Taormina and surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expect to walk great distances between room, public rooms and pool! Pool area disappointingly small for such a large hotel - slightly claustrophobic in ambience, affected by intrusive road/traffic noise just 'over the hedge' (and noisy guests). Eyewateringly expensive refreshments! Eyewateringly expensive bar prices throughout!

    Excellent location from which to explore Taormina and environs. Luxurious comfortable room with large, comfortable bed, (small) balcony, good bathroom (including bath!) and beautiful view. Friendly, helpful, english speaking staff in all areas throughout the hotel. Beautiful gardens and wonderfully 'historic' inside. Excellent breakfast on lovely terrace. Enjoyable "inside" cloister bar. Beach facility offered at "Stockholm Beach Club". Good value at Euro 20 per day, but expensive refreshments - Euro 28 for a club sandwich :-( !! (look out for Julia the masseuse - excellent 30 mins!) Strongly recommend visit to Baroni di Villa Grande on lower slopes of Mt Etna (45 mins drive) - Excellent wine-tasting lunch (good value). Own car preferable (at Euro 25 per day parking) but not essential.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    4 days of luxurious living - we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Luxurious hotel with wonderful gardens and courtyard, first class service, beautifully appointed room with wonderful sea view. Breakfast is served on a sunny terrace overlooking the sea and the food offered is very extensive. Coffe and tea made to order and served to your table - something none of the 4 star hotels could manage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    extremely nice. once we moved our room to a bigger one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room way too small. no charging stations for phone by beds. air conditioning not optimum. no place to unpack luggage in roomm

    historical. old well kept breakfast included

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Old style luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Slightly dated bathrooms but made up for with luxury toiletries.

    Beautiful hotel with stunning grounds and views. Lovely out door cocktail lounge set within old cloisters (hotel was a monastery). Amazing buffet breakfast. Very helpful staff and concierge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.0
    A room fit for monks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms were not luxury as rated. The air conditioning was deplorable. The rooms were fit for monks, not travelers with high expectations.

    The grounds were stunning. The pool was lovely. And the location great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Rates we paid on booking.com made it worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Relies on it´s past glories, although public areas are well maintained, the room could do with updating and better maintenance. The shower curtain was ridiculously short, impossible not to flood the bathroom. We ate and had drinks in some of the many bars in the town, as hotel was very expensive.

    The view from the hotel is picture perfect. The building is very charming, the courtyard with pianist and bar in the evening is very tempting. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the bay.... what better way to start the day. It´s straight out of the hotel into Taormina, and just a 15 minute stroll to the amphitheatre. Would have liked to have tried the Michelin 2 starred restaurant, but unfortunately we just weren´t hungry enough to justify the special treat. Valet parking was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Old school luxury in the heart of a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all! Just perfect

    Breakfast was delicious! Great spread and available until 11am, which I love on holiday (means you can have a great lie in)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Amazing hotel but horrible rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a sea-view and I really disliked the rooms. For a hotel as nice as this i truely believe they can renovate the rooms. I have been in alot of luxurious 5 star hotels but the rooms where never like this! I would rate everything in the hotel 5 stars but the rooms 3 stars. The locks on the door of the rooms where as if from the 50's and the room was very very old. I understand if they wanna keep the feel of a convent but for as much as we paid i wouldof preferred a better room honestly. The view though from my room was amazing truely and to wake up to a view like that :D. So go to this hotel and you will be amazed by the entrance and the lobby and all of that but dont get your hopes up for the rooms ( ONLY the room views)

    The hotel was previously a convent, so to have that experience where your sleeping in a luxurious convent is amazing. The hotel is very well kept and clean and up to the 5 star standards. The viewssss my god where suberb from this hotel and its location is wonderful! Just a couple of minutes away from the entrance of the beautiful town of taormina.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was supposed to be ocean view. You could barely see the ocean. Small room.

    Bed was comfy. Beautiful setting and beautiful building. Great food but expensive. Great service.Close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is the most beautiful hotel I've ever seen in my life. I just wandered in the corridors, in the gardens, on floors where I had nothing to do, just because of the wonderful Art collection. The staff is wonderful. Everyone knew my name and room number from day one. It felt like a wonderful family. If your house is the most beautiful house in the world. The food ia delicious. The breakfast is huge, with a breathtaking view. I also tried the spa, which was an experience I 100% recommend (Cristina is an amazing masseuse, and so nice!!) They have a shuttle to the beach, a partnership with Lido stockholm where everyone is extremely nice as well, and the food there is the best I've had in Taormina. It was a wonderful stay and I am surely coming back very soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful setting, disappointing service for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was really not good. Housekeeping made the room always quite late and then in a hurry and badly. We even did not have toilet paper, and when we requested it housekeeping came in almost annoyed to show us where the paper was (supposed to be) and just left with - shrug and an "ahh" when they saw there was none. Laundry is supposed to be available every day as per the info on the bags in the room,but when we called on Sunday morning we were rudely lectured it was Sunday. Also we kept getting asked if we were checking out that day, despite having a longer reservation. And as the hotel is quite beautiful expect quite a few weddings which will then close up parts of the hotel areas

    Location is amazing and it is a beautiful old monastery with a fantastic view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    The San Domenicon Palace is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The San Domenicon Palace is exceptional. An old monastery transformed into a luxurious, beautiful modern hotel. The service everywhere in the hotel is is absolutely extraordinary. What a pleasure!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Good location, very particular building preserving the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, very particular building preserving the original characteristics of a monastery with all facilities for a business trip. Staff professional and always available.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Taormina location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to room and multiple steps to get there Dinners were held inside when you have a lovely terrace

    Food excellent as was bar service in cloister

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Amazing garden and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool working time could be longer

    Amazing garden and atmosphere. Perfect service, excellent breakfast, beautiful panorama terrace, and the diner at Principe Cerami restaurant was a spectacular experience for the senses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding accom. Super friendly staff. Beautiful, historic building. Best breakfast in Italy.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free chilled water at the pool is normal these days. A coffee machine and tea-making facilities is normal. TWO bathrobes not one is normal (what the hell was that one bathrobe thing? Are we meant to share?). And having to pay 25 euro A NIGHT for parking is beyond ridiculous. We had to argue and they took it off the bill but why spoil even 1 minute of a repeat customer's outstanding experience? Having said all that, we will still return and we still recommend it to all our friends and family: there is none better in Taormina.

    We are absolutely madly in love with San Domenico Palace. The convent itself is breathtaking and we like to sneak into the rooms and yards which don't seem accessible to the public. The breakfast is probably the absolute best in Italy although this time they 'forgot' the cannoli with rikotta each time and someone really needs to teach them how to make a decent cappuccino as they have no clue. In Italy, that's like treason.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was disapointed to see a shower curtain. Not very hygienic! Hotels of this standard should have shower screens.

    The hotel is unique. So much history and character. A real haven having walked around busy Taormina. Excellent breakfast served on a beautiful patio overlooking the sea. Beds were very comfortable with linen sheets. Heaven!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used complimentary bottled water in the rooms. The air conditioning wasn't on yet for the season which made nights too warm in the room (too many bugs to leave windows open).

    The view, gardens, restaurants and facilities were excellent!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.8
    nice location, but ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    construction all around the hotel, the hotel did not warn us even though it was foreseeable (G7 preparation), prices overrated

    great breakfast on the terrace, nice old palace atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Piece of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool was open but it had no bar/refreshments service. Water of the pool REALLY cold.

    Fantastic location, great views. Breakfast delicious. Sense of history being at this old hotel. Everywhere fragance of the orange and lemon blossoms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Simply wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive at the bar for spirits, double Jack Daniels and double Bacardi with Coca-Cola, 70 Euros, ouch!

    The location - Ionian Sea and Mount Etna with a beautiful interior, a Dominican Monastery originally, simply beautiful. Breakfast is perfect with everything on offer.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel in a fantastic frame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property needs some refurbishing which the freshly new owners will have to address. Some rooms could be improved.

    Unique location, spectacular views, fantastic staff, excellent restaurants of which one Michelin 2 star, Taormina is magic, Sicily is memorable starting from its history. San Domenico is a must.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    A great location steeped in history
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The porter ! Terrible moody and unwelcoming - very obviously hating his job and just hanging around for a tip

    Location, food, great cocktails , gardens, cloisters, relics, history , Edwardo the consierge was very helpful and all the private tour guides were great. Mario, Franco and Antonio

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym.was rather basic and small for a luxury hotel.

    The views from most parts of the hotel was splendid. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice including porridge which we both loved. The egg white omelette I ordered was perfect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    4.2
    outdoor breakfast location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.extraordinary room form/not square. extra hall 0,8mx4m. 2.longwaiting more than 5hours till we can get back our passport. 3.look like give us hope for late checkout and asking us to return nextday after breakfast but then no late checkout and we have to rush after breakfast.

    outdoor breakfast location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    Incredible building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A route march from Room to reception. The guy on reception had an attitude in that he was doing you a great favour in dealing with you! He could have been a Parisian!

    good sitting out area around pool. V good garden area. An incredible building worth seeing in its own right.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost.

    Upon arrival after a long day of travel, the staff took charge of our car and our bags. Every staff member was serviced oriented, helpful and friendly. Very large yet so beautiful historical building centrally located with magnicent views, breakfast on terrace overlooking the Ionian Sea with magnificent scenery, cocktails in the open air gardens with piano player providing the exceptional mood. Rooms were very large and the view from our third floor room was exceptional. Very pricey but well worth the money for an exquisite treat!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    First class hotel steeped in history with panoramic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing location and buildings with views of the coastline and Mount Etna. Beautiful manicured mature gardens. Fabulous service and food. The photographs do not do this hotel justice. Outstanding!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    A calm oasis just steps away from the bustling streets of Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is a very special place. We were staying for our 25th wedding anniversary and I don't think we could have found anywhere better to celebrate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    A Wonderful Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The springy bed was too soft and gave me a sore back each morning. My husband however like it.

    Beautiful bed linen, doona & bath towels; wonderful view; lovely wooden furniture, very courteous staff; great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Monumental!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a dinner in the hotel and, although it was good, I must say that it could have been a better value for money. There are places in Taormina where one can eat better and far less expensive.

    The hotel is monumental. It is like staying in a museum which used to be a monastry. High ceilings, long corridors, old furniture, old paintings and mirrors on the walls, ancient sculptures leave the impression you went back in time. Private gardens are stunning too, as well as the views from the hotel. Breakfast was the best in my memory,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    We loved the gardens and the pool, and the view was magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist who checked us in said she was upgrading us from a luxury double room with sea view to a de luxe double room with sea view, However, when we checked on the website, we found we had been given what we had paid for!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    3.3
    Lovely hotel beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast staff a little cavalier. Served coffee in a milk jug with no lid which meant it went cold in seconds. Never told that we could have an egg or omelette cooked found out last 2 days then chef disappeared more than he was there. No dedicated concierge. For a leading hotel of the world I expected one. Reception staff perfectly helpful but we had to wait for check in check outs and no information was given unless specifically asked.

    Beautiful premises very nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Memorable experience, excellent staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there on our wedding night and Eduardo was very accommodating with our requests to make it such a special day. Staff were so welcoming. Excellent hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    This is one of the best hotels that I have stayed at. It really is a Palace.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful location, with amazing views;very romantic. Very comfortable beds. Staff is very accomadating in arranging for tours,and recommendations for dinners.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Taormina itself very touristy...tempting to stay in hotel or travel around etna to escape

    idyllic views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    The view of the gardens, sea and Etna were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view of the gardens, sea and Etna were wonderful. It is an enchanting property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Rooms small- bathrooms even smaller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mineral water provided free of charge in the rooms

    Beautiful building with wonderful views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a great time at San Domenico, real luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't well communicated that the parking wasn`t included.

    Very comfortable beds, excellent breakfast and stunning view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    The views, the pool, our room, the breakfast, the location were all special. We loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location and amazing views from the.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location and amazing views from the. Breakfast terrace . .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly Staff, Great location and fantastic breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly Staff, Great location and fantastic breakfast offering

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Is a beautiful place but is not upkeep nor is a luxe hotel or 5 star as they anounceced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden

    The maintenance is down, the shower was falling down, no clear place to plug the cel charger

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing to dislike!

    It was a wonderful stay, definitely San Domenico Palace is a place we want to return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Location was perfect! Short walk to shops & restaurants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy hour.....drinks, service,& fantastic setting in the cloister!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location meant no cabs. Old style charm

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty small with basic facilities. The common area was nice though

    The concierge Cristian was awesome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Beatiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms should have more electricity plugs.

    Wonderful view from our room. Very good breakfast. Beautiful gardens and great service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Paradise in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish i stayed here longer

    Fantastic breakfast and gorgeous hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Luxury tinged with History
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the terrace - food & view superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Super accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The breathtaking view. We visit Taormina each Spring and always stay at Hotel San Domenico.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Great Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Hotel, one of the best of all in Italy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    Great location for a dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a bit dated. For the price they are charging a hotel refurbishment is required

    Location was great and views from terrace were superb

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Great Hotel, would stay there anytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great concierge and all around service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    3.3
    Don't stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.0
    Reception staff were excellent, as was housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very average and theyvwere slow to replenish food

    Reception staff were excellent, as was housekeeping

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    A brilliant way to end a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Utterly unique, expensive and worth it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Super location, shame about the front desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff were rude and unhelpful.

    Gorgeous building with beautiful interiors and finishes. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room although called superior was considerably smaller than the rest of our party's

    Character of property

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    A great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    all. It is a real Palace managed by staff who know how to to treat guests as royals. Bravo!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    The most tranquil and beautiful hotel with stunning views and comfortable rooms☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is high

    Staff were extremely helpful and polite

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Browse San Domenico Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: