Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Francesco 3 stars

Via Jacopa De' Settesoli 7, Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy

#322 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 583 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only downside to our stay was the poor sound isolation : our room was right next to the staircase and oriented towards the street, so personally being a light sleeper I had to wear earplugs.

    A great hotel in the heart of Trastevere with super friendly staff !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was situated in a nice area in Rome, but it was not too busy outdoors. We really enjoyed the friendly people of the hotel. They helped us out with all our questions! The hotel is not so big, which was a plus point for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room disappointed us, did not enjoy it at all. Small and dark, plastic carpet. Needs a renovation to mach other areas of the hotel. Also you can hear your neighbours quite well.

    The staff is extremely nice and helpful! Also the breakfast was excellent - quality, variety and taste vise! Main areas - loby, breakfast area and cocktail terrace on the roof are modern, well maintained and great to spend time in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were smallish and had very little space to unpack clothes and store luggage. The room had no bathtub.

    The hotel was clean, quiet and well located. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative to the stay was there was an ironing board in the room with no iron. I suppose that is if you wanted to iron a shirt/packed your case properly. Not sure if that was just our room... Shame the roof top bar wasn't open but, it was the time of the year that it was not open.

    Excellent location within Trastevere, walking distance to all sights as well as great restaurants and bars in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are just looking for somewhere to drop your things and go and explore the city. Room/Bathroom was clean and comfortable. If you are doing a short city break, I would highly recommend this Hotel to others. Staff were extremely helpful when providing suggestions of places to eat as well as being able to book tickets for us for certain sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only things that could have improved our stay were a shower which got slightly hotter - in mid February it felt a bit like warm - and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    We loved this hotel! Such great value, buzzing area but slept so easily. Will visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The 7am church bell woke me up earlier than I cared for (I suppose that's a common issue in Rome...) Also, poor insulation from the noises in the nearby room.

    Nice location in Trastevere, a short walk from the tourist attractions of the city center (also, don't miss the sculpture by Bernini in the church nearby). The room was smallish, but it looked clean and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was spacious, with good-quality fittings (I especially appreciated the large shower box). Wifi free and reliable. Friendly staff and good selection of music in the lobby (mostly classic rock/blues). I did not try the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfectly located. Hotel is next to 2 different tramway stops (#3, #8) and one block away from Trastevere main road. Hence it is rather calm at night. Clean rooms, large bathrooms, comfy baby bed, good breakfast and professional staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    fan in bathroom would have been nice

    Availability to bus lines especially and shopping and the cappuccino s Lots of help from staff with computer concerns. All the smiles

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room very clean, breakfast : good croissant, good choice of juice, pastries, fruits, breads, cold cuts, cheese etc. food was beautifully arranged in an elegant room. Good location and good transport to Rome and to the airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our visit to this hotel. Friendly amd helpful staff including Maryann on breakfast and si the barman. Enjoyable hotel in a great central part of Trastevere. 30 mins leisurley walk to Colesseo.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel is well situated in Trastevere which is our favourite district in Rome. The staff were very helpful, the room comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi system attempts to enforce Facebook "likes", pretending there will no connection else (I recommend you tap on "already liked"), and begs for license to make postings. The receptionist may provide you with an alternative solution, but also here your mail will be collected and used for survey mails. Is this "free wifi"??

    Very nice room and bathroom. Located just outside the crowded tourist area, but in easy walking distance. Roof terrace. Cheap price for this standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is ver scary. Homeless people sleeping in the streets. Very noisy with buses.tram.snd car traffic. Graffiti everywhere. Garbagae in the street. Very difficult to find the hotel. Surprised us on last day that they don't accept visa payments. Had to run 20 minutes to find ATM Almost missed our shuttle to the airport. Breakfast was very poor quality. Bread was stale and the meat and cheese looked. Liked it had sat out all night. Very disappointed in our stay!!!!!!!

    That we made it to the end of our stay without being mugged.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wonderful old fashioned charm. Very good breakfast. Perfect position. Staff friendly and welcoming. Room was comfortable and the wifi worked! Close to public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pity that there are no parking available for the hotel clients. If not a garage like it would be expectable at least some parking places in the street reserved for the clients would be nice. Around it's all paid parking places and it's difficult to find one. In our case we had to leave the car in a garage around the block (20€/day)which if you are traveling by car in the end it's a considerable cost if you stay some days.

    This is a nice and quiet place in the famous neighbourhood of Trastevere. It's a relatively modern hotel with 24h reception and very nice staff. Inside the room it's nice to have a safe that you can set the code and it's useful to leave your values. The location is quite nice, around you have plenty of places to eat and you are about 15/20 walk from the centre of Rome. When i return Rome, a wonderful city, I will definitely consider this place again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say anything bad. Just wish we could stay there more

    Best location! It's close enough to the center with public transport, but that doesn't matter because it's in trastevere which is Amazing! Hotel staff was super nice and helpful. We loved everything about this place. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room. Remainder fine though the reception area is not comfortable, but fine for short stays.

    we have used the hotel many times. We ere there for one night and all was fine but would need a larger bedroom for a longer stay. Bar on the roof just right as the weather was kind. may stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No food available in house. Room rates a bit on the expensive side

    The location was pretty on point I must say. Walkable distances to most attractions plus ease of access to public transport. It didn't hurt that the Tiber was only a few min away as well. The staff were very courteous and friendly. My check-in, check-out was very smooth. These guys always have a smile on their faces, which makes any tourist feel comfortable right from "Hello" . The bartender, Simone deserves a special callout! The place was clean and hygienic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All beds in Italy were hard. No exceptions here, but best pillows I experienced on the trip.

    Fantastic staff. Great location in lively, but not touristy part of town. Tons of excellent restaurants and nightlife. Short transit,or walk to main sights in Rome. Rent bikes in house for 15 euros and ride the nearby river path! Roof bar a plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi was working, but the connection dropped quite frequently, forcing me to log back in several times. Usually, once you are connected to a router, you stay connected.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We really don't have any substantive complaints. Perhaps more handsoap in the bathroom would have been a tiny improvement?

    The is a great hotel for independent travelers who want a base of operations for a few days of exploring the city. The understated urban decor was spot on. Staff was helpful and professional. We could walk to pretty much everything (Forum, Pantheon, old center city, Vatican) with the exception of the Villa Borghesie. The local neighborhood (Travestere) is full of bars, restaurants and nightlife. Rooftop bar was an added bonus. We would absolutely stay again, in fact I wouldn't even bother to look for another option.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price wise this was not a cheap night's stay. The drinks were also on the pricey side but then I guess that's what you expect for a capital city. In this case I think you get what you pay for. It was lucky we weren't planning to park at the hotel as parking is virtually impossible. The staff did have some suggestions for where to park but we had to double park just to drop the bags off. However, in this location you don't need a car so we were happy to give it back to the rental company.

    The room was lovely (if a little small) and the bathroom was particularly nice with a huge shower. The location was great, being walking distance for an energetic person to both the Vatican and Colosseum (though in the hotter months it's also right by the tram if you prefer). The eating areas around Trastavere are also a short walk away. Drinking cocktails in the rooftop bar was a delightful way to end the day and really made our stay. Breakfast was also good and all the common areas are lovely and relaxing, nice view of a courtyard for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For guests who arrive at the hotel before checkin time (2 pm), WC facilities were basic. A long flight, early morning at the hotel, might not be the best.

    the staff was very helpful with information on pretty much everything. Hotel facilitites were good. Nice restaurants around. Rooms were nice and clean. Good toilet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The traffic noise from the adjacent street was noticeable during the day.

    My wife thought the breakfast omelette was the best that she had ever eaten in her life. The front desk staff was very helpful with all of our travel questions. The roof balcony was a great touch. The bed was great, and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small for the price. It was also ridiculously noisy - we were woken every morning by the plumbing. Also, the church bells went off at 6am and 7am. I wouldn't recommend this hotel

    Good location, clean, good-value breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only complaint was that the concierge was unable to work with us to make reservations at restaurants. A little more help with this would have been much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are just delightful. I really appreciated that it was dark in the room at night... shutters blocked out the sun and any light from outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked that they had bicycles for rent at the location, I highly recommend getting one and riding the bike path along the Tiber...breathtaking at sunset.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Such a wonderful place--recommend highly. Fantastic breakfast, helpful staff, comfortable beds, huge towels in bath (!), windows that opened out into the courtyard, and the rooftop can't be beat! Will definitely return to this hotel if I am lucky enough to get back to Rome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV did not work. The bathroom light went dead and IT was not fixed untill the day after.

    Very Nicke breakfast with lots of fresh fruit. Helpfull and freindly personel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No individual con, it was centrally controlled which meant we had terrible sleep every night , fridge broken and not fixed / swapped although we did report it when we arrived

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room at the end of the hallway and because of that we shared a wall with the other room bathroom so we heard the water on and off all the time...

    Good service, smiling staff, good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on street so could get hear the sounds of the street.

    Love the hnuxe accommodations, great location in the trastevere area while still convenient to center of Rome. Loved the heated towel racks in bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite small for a double but the positives outweigh that. One point is someone should tune the very fine piano in the Reception !

    The location and comfort of the hotel and the helpful and effective staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely view over rooftops from our room. Very quiet. Buffet at 5€ extra was nice, plenty of choice. Lots of good restaurants and bars nearby, we walked everywhere to see all the main sights. 24hour check in a bonus- many other hotels in Rome seem to charge extra for late arrival. Trastevere has a lively ambience and less touristy than the centre, would definitely stay here again next time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hot. Unclear whether bottled water was complimentary. Room doors slammed hard, which is a pain if you go to bed before the noisiest person in the hotel.

    In a quiet bit of Trastevere, with only a short walk to restaurants and bars. Also an easy and short tram ride from Trastevere station, which costs only €8 to get to on the train from the airport. Amazing Bernini sculpture in church next door - and you'll have it all to yourself. Good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The walls were a little thin, so we heard our neighbours too much, and people in the corridor. The room was a little small, but the bathroom was a good size. The bathroom did not have a bath. The lift was not working the day we left. The electronic payment facility was not working when we checked out: this meant we could not choose to use our debit card instead of a credit card; the hotel processed the payment later and promptly sent a receipt.

    The location, just a short walk from numerous restaurants in Trastevere, and not too far from the Sisto, Garibaldi, Cestio and Palatino bridges leading to the main sights on the other side of the Tiber was good, if you are happy to walk. Some tram lines very close by also. Don't miss Bernini's sculpture of the Blessed Ludovica Albertoni in the church of San Francesco next door. Breakfast (not cooked, but with some prepared dishes such as bruschetta) was excellent and plentiful (thought the jam dispensing machine caused frustration for some and amusement for others). Charmingly, the breakfast room looked into the garden of the neighbouring Franciscans. There was some paying parking in the square outside, but there was a paying garage 50m from the hotel. Overall it was comfortable and good value, and provided a good base for a great time in Rome. The Franciscans' tolling bell and their cats added some charm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were so helpful with directions etc. The breakfast was perfect for starting the day, great coffee and a variety of breads/cheeses. Our room was quiet, shower was powerful and hot, plus a constant supply of towels. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the breakfasts and particularly the prepared fresh fruit however the coffee was very ordinary filter coffee. We asked for cappuccino instead which again, was very bland. We ate breakfast elsewhere on our second day to enjoy better coffee.

    The location was great for us - relatively quiet but still close enough to all the restaurants and bars Trastevere has to offer. We found it close enough to walk everywhere - like the Vatican, and the colosseum. Worked well for us. Rooms were clean and serviced daily. Safe didn't work in my room but I didn't bother to get it fixed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Great location in Trastevere, close to restaurants. just a short walk (10-15min) to city center or you can take the tram. tram and bus stations 1 min away. clean room. big bathroom. helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast was a disappointment.This hotel used to do fantastic buffet breakfast with freshly made pastries but the current buffet breakfast was more of a budget breakfast with bad filtered coffee.

    Stayed in this hotel before. Beds have improved as well as a shower. Fantastic location.we love this area. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bathroom sink wouldn't drain. There was only one outlet in the bathroom, and it wouldn't work. This meant that we both had to blow dry our hair without a mirror, and my girlfriend had to curl her hair our in the bedroom without a mirror as well. I wasn't able to use my electric razor in the bathroom either. The hotel staff wasn't very friendly or helpful. We asked one time for them to call a restaurant for us to make a reservation, and they wouldn't. They were a bit rude when it came to asking questions about their services they offer. We went up to check out the rooftop bar a couple times, and I don't think it was ever even open. Probably due to it being November, but it should be advertised as closed if it's not open.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few little bits of the decor that looked tired. Also staff never told us about breakfast and whether this was an option or not.

    Clean room, with the amenities you might need. Towels and complimentary shower gel all ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is some noise like from a vetilation, but it was off. But it seems that hotels often have this.

    Great staff, excellent location, big room big bathroom, nice bed and a view! No complaints

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lights werent properly working, even broken, room was smaller than I thought they would be, terrace closed.

    Bathroom was great, the room was small but clean, staff was fairly serviceminded.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was very little hot water. I stayed for 3 nights, showered every day and only had one warm shower. The walls are very thin so I could hear the couple in the next room arguing each night

    Trastevere location!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The roof terrasse bar wasn't open (we stayed in November), but we found a nice bar within 5 minutes walk. We had thought that Trastevere is very central, but actually it took about 15-20 minutes in public transport to get to the centre.

    The staff was extra friendly and helpful. They gave good advice and directions, and even printed our boarding passes when our flight was cancelled! The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable, while still remaining old style and quaint. Great value breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms, closets and bathrooms were spacious, modern and well kept. The 5€ breakfast buffet was excellent, fresh and kept replenished. Front desk staff spoke English and were helpful in providing directions, accessing free wifi etc. The location might seem a little odd, but it's safe at night and only about 150-300 meters from the Viale Trastevere/Indurno stops for the #3 and #8 trams which connect with the Roma-Trastevere train station where there's the FL1 regional train to/from the airport. I stayed at 9 different hotels on this trip, and this was one of the best, albeit a little more expensive, but worth it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get the air conditioning to cool down the room

    The front desk was extremely helpful with everything from finding a restaurant to printing out my airline ticket

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower door leaked somewhat, due to poor waterproofing. Wifi worked but kept popping off.

    Awesome breakfast with a lot of options. The rooms were small and simple, but adequate with a big window that could be made totally dark, a small frig, etc. It was within walking distance of stores and restaurants, yet the hotel is on a quiet street. I like staying in that area of Rome (Trastevere) because it is quaint and old. The staff was helpful with directions and spoke English.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer in the bathroom failed (as all electrical items can) but it was rapidly resolved.

    Excellent location for the tourist with a wide selection of restaurants and bars nearby. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Was recommended to us by friends and we would do the same.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't have chosen a more perfect hotel to stay in. The hotel is similar to a boutique hotel, small, friendly and within walking distance of many sites we were in Rome to see this trip. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small uncomfortable bed. Towel hook in shower coming off. Toilet seat cracked and without two supports. Used this hotel in 2016 and thought it very good but prices have gone up a lot and maintenance hasn't kept pace. Manager needs to keep his eye on things.

    Good breakfast with good staff. Helpful reception staff. Convenient for Trastevere. Quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ironing board would've been helpful, as well as information in the room about Wifi, the hotel in general, and recommended places in the vicinity. Felt a little rushed when I checked in.

    Location, staff, rooftop bar and the general standard of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been more comfortable. Asking for an additional pillow helped and the staff was happy to oblige. The in-room safe was small to store a tablet for safekeeping during the day. Breakfast is ok at best. The staff struggled to keep the dishes full, even with a partially filled room. Wifi works well when you can get connected. The setup connects thrpugh a social media account and sometimes took a while to connect.

    This property was a pleasant surprise!! Just steps from the bus and tram stop which will help you get anywhere easily. The routes start early and run late into the evening so you are not confined to more expensive taxis for travel to the historic areas. The hotel also has bicycles for rent if you prefer this over other options. The rooms are clean and the temperature is well regulated. Outlets are plentiful and storage is ample. Windows let in a good amount of light and window coverings allow you to create darkness when needed. This property is in a neighborhood that is not touristy, so expect to experience an area where Romans live moreso than a tourist area. There are multiple local restaurants and shops within a few blocks' radius. Those that we tried were very good and their prices were reasonable. The desk staff are more than happy to help with recommendations and directions based upon your plans. They will also arrange airport transportation for you for a fixed price. Finally, there is a roof deck where you can relax and the views are very nice. Good choice! I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was terribly uncomfortably and it took us four nights to get used to it!

    Staff were lovely and very helpful, the room was very clean, the breakfasts were excellent and the location was brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, rainy weather closed the roof bar.

    Great location - just steps to good transit links, bars, restaurants, and a convenient Carrefour Expresse one block away. Nicely appointed rooms, very nice multilingual staff, excellent breakfast options. We were very pleased in all respects.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clean, well appointed rooms with great views from the 4th floor. The breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Trastervere is a trendy, safe, quieter area of Rome with great restaurants, a good vibe and a smattering of amazing churches to visit. You'll find a gorgeous Bernini sculpture in the church right next door to the hotel. Perfect location to conveniently take in all that Rome has to offer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to Rome is very convenient. Vibrant night life around the area. Restaurants are walking distance from the hotel. Staff are very friendly and knowledge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There isn't a separate comfortable lounge and the roof top terrace is better viewed at night. Rooms are looking tired. I previously visited in 2003.

    Buffet breakfast is very good. Ideally located in Trastevere district. Room is smallish but adequate.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    Staff were so friendly and facilitating. They were generally interested in helping make our experience as enjoyable as possible which it was! Room was spotless and air-conditioned, breakfast was lovely and varied, roof-top terrace had lovely views and was a great place to relax and have a drink in the evening before going out. We'd definitely recommend it to others! Thankyou!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some hot snack food. Available for when we came back to Th hotel about tea time

    The room was delightful the breakfast great but the staff were amazing They were so informative and cheerful The location was great I enjoyed out stay 100%%

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we stayed in was cramped and dated - a room from a budget chain hotel in need of a refurb, NOT a boutique hotel. We weren't expecting 5 star luxury, but we were expecting a room shown a little love and charm, not a gloomy little bed box. We were so disappointed we actually complained (which we never do). The lady on duty said she would arrange a room change the following day, but the member of staff on duty then knew nothing about it - in fact he said we were in one of the best rooms, so we left it, not wanted to ruin our stay by moaning! In addition to not having enough room to swing a cat, should we have wished to, the air con was too noisy to leave on, our fridge didn't work and they have this daft system of using the key to turn the lights on, except you can't find the switch - because it's dark. If you want somewhere basic, in a good location then I suspect you can get better value elsewhere. If you are expecting boutique hotel, this ain't it.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good. The room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is really good and the staff is great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice cosy hotel with beautiful view of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice area. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top terrace closed. Being hit with TOURIST TAX on departure.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking at the Hotel, only on the streets around.

    Staff made extra breakfast because I had to leave to Airport before official breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise. Do not book the rooms on the street side !

    Location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Nice bathroom and comfy bed. Woken each day by peel of church bells calling faithful to mass.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition in the room.

    Good location in Trastevere! Good breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small than average room

    Extremely quiet close to transportation and soooo many restaurants👍👌✌️

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good breakfast Easy to connect all over rome Very good services

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Francesco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: