Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Francisco 3 stars

Viale Lombardia 55, Città Studi, 20131 Milan, Italy

#81 of 424 hotels in Milan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1339 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Real good 3 stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing Just I was Looking for Iron and they didn't have :(

    Nice location ,good price , very friendly staff , delicious breakfast ,Hotel located in very good area near the Linate Airport and 2 metro station are close , that was not my first stay and wouldn't be the last ,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel poor airco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco is mainly directed, so it shut of automatically within 30 - 45 minutes after turning it on. With 30 degrees outside and staying on top floor it get very hot in the room. Went down to the reception 3-4 times an evening to ask leaving it on. The employees don't know how it operates, and hope by clicking some buttons it stays on. Breakfast is a little poor, after nine o'clock they don't fill the warm side of the buffet. Not really a problem for us, however a little strange cause breakfast is till 10.

    Location is perfect, 5 minute walk from the metro. Hotel is very clean. The owner had a birthday party saterday evening. When we went down for a smoke, we where directly invited to have a drink and something to eat. Great atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Staff was attentive and my wife has a gluten allergy, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    Staff was attentive and my wife has a gluten allergy, we notified the hotel beforehand and the owner made sure to ask us who and how many and provided a basket full of gluten free crackers, pastries, bread and breakfast items at the breakfast in the morning. Also we had an issue with the hair dryer and the staff asked to immediately if they could enter to figure out, which they did and all was great! Would definitely stay here again, is located on a lovely tree lined street, a bit far from cathedral to walk so we called an Uber and it was quick and easy. GREAT local restaurant a few blocks from hotel called Nuovo Convento, best staff and food and local prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel itself is on nice street in walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minus was thin walls. You could hear everything your neighbours did in their room.

    The hotel itself is on nice street in walking distance from metro station. The room was small but had everything you may need and was clean. The personnel was friendly and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, staff very polite, delicious food/breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, don't hesitate to book a room at this hotel, really the hotel is great, the staff is great, it's worth the money. Thank you very much for everything, Regards KC

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Keep up the good work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV had mostly italian channels, I would like to have some internetional ones (BBC/CNN etc), but that is a detail.

    Staff was very helpful and made our stay pleasurable. Breakfast was very delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Was nice and good trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brakfast was good but maby should be more variety during the week but actually very positive experience!

    Breakfast was good, little but very comfortable rom, very clean and stylish bathroom. Personnel was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Simple but nice. Good for a long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really small. A shelf would be great. The breakfast is good but have to wait for re-fill and ask extra for coffee.

    The room is relativ big, modern and tidy. Not too far from the city. The location is frequented but the windows are isolated. Simple but nice room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, room was cosy and very clean, good location of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is the same every morning. A little bit noisy because of the traffic outside the window

    Great staff, room was cosy and very clean, good location of the hotel (~7-8 to metro), nice and quiet backyard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    you have to leave the key everytime at the reception and to ring if you enter and to take the key for the room. And I didnt like that it s more expensive if you book using booking.com

    the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Super breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super breakfast! I always expect a lot from it and at San Francisco, my expectations were completely fulfilled: warm food, bread, cakes, fruits, great coffee and my favorite, Nutella :). Great, friendly staff. Everything was clean. The room was quiet, a bit small but was enough for the three night stay. Two metro stations near by, so travelling was easy. Great value for your money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    nice room, staff very kind and friendly, good breakfast with...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice room, staff very kind and friendly, good breakfast with several fresh and baked products. Hotel is nicer once in than from outside. very good value for money considering prices in Milan. I do recommend this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice location - not far off the city center and just 7 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location - not far off the city center and just 7 min walking distance to metro. Quiet area - we had windows into the garden on the back of the building. Very good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Milan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable. Not many attractions or good restaurants nearby.

    Good location near 2 metro stations and Central Station. Great staff. The room is clean everyday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.3
    Very Average
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room, Bathroom was ridiculously small. 10am check out. You had to leave your room key when you left the building. Lift only fits 3 people

    Good Mattress

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    It was good in place not good in air condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    better air condition better staff cooperation

    the room temp control with staffs. It was cold in first night and I catch cold. That night it was raining and i was wet. It was awful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Very clean and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's 4km away from the main atractions, the nearest Metro station was 500m away, but there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel. The breakfast was really good but could have a few more options. In the last 2 nights the Internet didn't work, this wasn't the hotel fault, but wasn't great.

    The facilities where good and really clean. The staff was always available and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing major I came for breakfast half an hour before they close and some options were not available

    Very clean Lovely room Good lunch, liked the coffee, pastry and fruits Friendly staff Close to the Central station and metro

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Decent hotel, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very professional, helpful and friendly staff; metro station Loreto (green and red lines) is 10 minutes walk from the hotel; it is possible to find a free semi-legal parking spot on the street (people park their cars on a lawn, which is kinda illegal but that's beside the point); coffee and croissants;

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    clean comfortable room, very good breakfast, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 minutes walk to the metro station, not as near as expected,a little bit noisy as our room was beat the reception!

    clean comfortable room, very good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Very quiet and excellent staff - would certainly use again & very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Metro from Loretto didn't feel particularly save so changed to travel from Piola which was bit further but felt much quieter and easier to find.

    Booked here for 2 x Single rooms for 3 nights for Milan Derby. Metro at Piola was easy 5-10 minute walk. Single rooms were excellent and quiet. Very good breakfast & very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Very satisfied with the hotels, position is good, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very satisfied with the hotels, position is good, close to the Metro, the room is very clean and comfortable, hospitality with staff, and most importantly, breakfast was great and so rich, is my the best breakfast in Italy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good. Convenient to metro, bus and tram lines. The hotel was in busy area but was quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very private.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    breakfast-inclusive price is a good deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room insulation could be better...I could hear the TV next door.

    The hotel is located in a quiet/safe area while still within 10 min walk to metro. My single room was very tidy and clean. upon check-in i saw the room next door was being cleaned in a quite thorough way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Accessible and central without being noisy. Everything you could need for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast, comfy beds. Awesome shower and very clean. Plenty of plug points and little balcony was a bonus. Close to the metro and also to main stations to the airport and regional rail service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    It was a nice stay, recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awesome breakfast. Pastries and coffee were especially very good. Location was a bit sketchy at night but easy to get around the city. (10 minutes to Loreto Metro/Subway Station)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff, open 24 hs, beautiful garden, breakfast with many options, supermarket 300 mts away, great value for money! I will be back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect and I will visit this hotel more in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Room was perfect for the job (sleeping) and together with the bathroom very clean, modern and in perfect condition. Breakfast was a combination between continental and Italian breakfast (or both) so the best of both worlds. Parking was free and in front of the hotel. Location was a 5/10 min walk to the Metro or rent a bicycle further up the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Modern air conditioned room, super clean with a nice modern bathroom, nice garden area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room with no view. Staff efficient but not friendly, smiley.

    Room was super clean with a lovely bathroom. Air conditioning and area to sit outside nice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Good service by all the staff especially the Filipinos, they're happy and smiling all the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there's an ice machine and laundry machine.

    It's clean, all staff are friendly, accommodating and helpful. Elevator is a must for convenience. AC is strong for a hot weather. Breakfast is good has more choices than the previous hotel we stayed during this travel. Close to the bus station. Train station is little bit far away but walkable. Overall the best hotel that we stayed during this travel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Amazing, will definitely get back next time in Milan!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guess they are not very used to gluten and lactose free breakfast, but I appreciated the effort and I am sure they will improve!

    Lovely facility, modern furniture and pleasant, clean environment. Breakfast in the garden is a lovely touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and clean rooms with working(!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd like to see some vegetables at breakfast not only fruits. Wierd policy with accepting guests.

    Very nice and clean rooms with working(!) air conditioner, friendly staff, varied breakfast buffet with freshly baked croissants, good location close to piola metro station, 45 minutes by walking to the center. I would stay there again with pleasure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Ok, very nice place to stay for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ok, but you have to be quite early. When you come late there might nothing to eat.

    Nice, small hotel. A bit far from city center but near metro station. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Air conditioning, efficient use of space, a fridge, shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the single bed uncomfortable... too hard for me

    Air conditioning, efficient use of space, a fridge, shower is lovely. window opens, shutter to keep out the light at night. nice breakfast in the garden!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    - bathroom lights are really special :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - sometimes we had to wait too much until ham or cheese were served at breakfast

    - bathroom lights are really special :) - friendly staff - clean rooms - great atmosphere of the hotel - delicious breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable 3-star in easy reach of city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For me no problem but located outside city centre. However, it is a few minutes walk from Loreto or Piola metro stations. Total journey time to city centre (including walk to metro station) maximum 20 minutes.

    Comfortable 3-star as advertised. Sound-proof and with good air-conditioning in hot weather. Helpful staff. Excellent breakfast in pleasant room or in garden. Ask for garden-facing room. Very happy with my stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Great Place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is not 300 metres from Loreto Metro station, but it's located 800 metres away instead.

    This hotel has definitely high standards compared to some places in Italy. Excellent breakfast served in the garden outside. The place is very clean & for a change unlike other places in Italy, there is a fridge in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    A nice place for budget travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very nice and most friendly and helpful except the Caucasian ones who did their duty but without a smile ! Room and bed and shower and a/c and breakfast are great . Wifi was strong . A bit away from the town center ..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place !! Will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except we were woken up by knocking on the door to clean the room. We said we don't really wanted it clean , but they said they HAD too. This was not really necessary

    Pretty balcony, comfy beds, good location a few minutes from the metro stations. Plenty of linens, good lighting!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Good overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe for travelers who stay longer the fact that storage spaces are open could be an issue...but this also adds to the modern style of the hotel. In turn for the nice atmosphere during breakfast, the place was rather small, we had to share the table with another couple for the last part. It din't bother us at all, but could be a small issue for others.

    We checked in late in the evening and left after breakfast so we din't have time to really experience every detail, but for the time we stayed it was ok. Nice atmosphere during breakfast...mostly young people talking and laughing, but not as loud as to disturb others.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent ratio service / price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower, bathroom and WC are all in one narrow room.

    Breakfests were excellent! Beds were very comfortable! Our 12 years old daughter get also massive bed, no folding bed for kids. ;-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Staff is super kind, room is extra clean, breakfast is out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold as the weather was bad.

    Staff is super kind, room is extra clean, breakfast is out of this world ;) NUTELLA PANCAKES! :) 30 minutes on foot to the centre, underground is close. We have to leave earlier than breakfast time, and they made us a travel package, they are super helpful. I can recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect place to explore the city, 20 min walk from main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to explore the city, 20 min walk from main station, short metro ride to city. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Excellent Hotel! AC Problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    However the only major drawback was that the air-conditioning was only set on heat. It was not possible to change to mode to cool the room. Given it was a very hot week and the only window was on a main road, we were with no AC and could not open the windows (due to the noise pollution). Making it very difficult to sleep at night. When complaining to the hotel staff we were told that the AC setting could only be set by a technician. I believe that in 2017, one should have the possibility to use the AC as desires. This was the only drawback of the hotel! All the rest was excellent!

    The hotel was superb and great value for money for a 3* hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice and modern hotel with good breakfast and good bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice, recently renovated hotel. Nice modern rooms, bathroom with rainshower. Breakfast with bread, eggs, fresh fruits, pancakes, cake, ... Green and red metro lines are nearby. Friendly staff. Good wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    A super deal in pricey Milano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in should always take distance travelled into consideration, not being able to check in noonish after travelling from North America an issue. 1st time this has happened to us. This our only complaint, desk very helpful after checked in, fire alarm also an issue, but no alarm would be worse!

    The location was between two subway stops, either within 10 min walk, the best restaurant in Milan within 2 blocks, recommended by staff, Beatame, was fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Excellent working travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff as excellent. The guy at the reception ,Douglas,he also helped me to solve a problem with my laptop! Good breakfast with pancakes and Marple syrup.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    You won't be making a wrong decision
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like about it!

    It's a small hotel in the middle of Milan. It's clean, comfy, the staff is very friendly and we liked it much. You have the whole street in front of the hotel to park your car and it's a quit neighborhood!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.9
    Good location (but in a neighborhood with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast overrated. If you don't come at 7 AM there is no more food for you. We asked for more eggs/pancakes/sausages but they refused to make new ones.

    Good location (but in a neighborhood with lots of prostitutes during the night), nice room and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    A good hotel in Milan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes the air conditioner was not working properly, but overall everything was good!

    Everything was good; the breakfast was delicious, especially the coffee! The room was small, but comfortable, everything looked quite new. The hotel is in about 10-15 minutes walking distance from metro / the begginning of shopping street. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    An enjoying staying!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! The room was wide, comfortable, clean and modern! The hotel is situated near the metro station and the breakfast was super cool!! We could choose from a variety of products and foods and everything was so fresh and delicious! We want also to give special thanks to our friend Nikheel who works in San Francisco hotel! He was so kind to tour us around and show us the town too! Grazie mille Nikheel! We will be back soon!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely clean room. Terrific breakfast! Location was a fair walk from the nearest metro station but coped in the end. Very helpful, polite, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, very friendly staff, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from the metro station.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, good breakfast, interesting room ;) , very clean and extremely comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.1
    Hotel meets the needs on the edge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff fulfill their obligations and don't make much effort to be nice and give support to the host. There's no parking around. The nearest metro stations are far away, but it is possible to go walking.

    The rooms are good. Is a hotel for those who are in Milan for business or just passing through for a few days. It's not a hotel for the family or to people who go to Milan for tourism.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Good value money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel gave very good Value for money. The breakfast was good and the rooms clean. The bathroom in my room was renovated and comfortable. It is locad 7 minutes walk from Loretto metro, and has to bus lines stopping right outside the doors. down Lombardi street there is a good restaurant called Parsifal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Excelent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They advertise free parking but there is only street parking and I believe is not free. They didn't reply to the emails requesting clarification and we ended up not renting the car.

    Excelent value for money. Subway at walking distance and 40min walking from city center. The room is very nice and stylish and the breakfast is excelent. If the weather is good, the outside eating area is very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.8
    Plenty of choice and good coffee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Plenty of choice and good coffee! Nice garden out the back to sit in. Served 7 til 10 so can be up early or late. Room was clean exactly what we expected for basically £50 a night. 15 min walk to Milano Centrale station. Also on a side street so almost zero outside noise from traffic etc

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    Large and quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No big complaints, only smaller points: Basic breakfast, but was OK. Closest metro is 600-700m away, but 3 bus lines connecting to metro, Centrale and old centre.

    Large and quiet room. Breakfast on the outdor terrace. Nice and unobtrusive staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were professional, bilingual and warm, Moreso the young lad Nikheel - who was very helpful with information on how to get around and seeing to it that our requests were met. This made it a generally lovely stay in Milan. The breakfast selection was wonderful too and the croissants were delightful. I would definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    A gem of a small hotel w/ great breakfast & staff, a/c, & bus/metro connections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This comment is not a negative; it's a helpful suggestion to the hospitality industry. I would encourage all hotels, in Milan, not just this one, to publicize the bus line #s one can take to and from the train station, indicate the number of stops they make, and the name of the stop where one gets off to get to the hotel including which direction to walk to the hotel and how many meters away it is. I believe it was bus 71 which you can take directly from Hotel San Francisco to the Centrale train station. (Verify this, since it's been a month since we used it!) ) I would even encourage all hotels to include the link for the city bus system. Milan is so blessed to have excellent public transportation and their guests would be very appreciative. We are senior citizens ages 66 and 78. We avoid the metro when getting to and from the airport or train station to the hotel because often there is no electric escalator or elevator at one, if not both ends of the line. As senior citizens, it's hard for each of us to carry luggage up & down long flights of steps. But 1 step up or down needed when using a bus is completely doable! Once settled in the hotel, with no luggage to carry, we're happy to use either buses, trams or subways! Help seniors and handicapped people travel by promoting things that help us participate with ease in your city's beauty. Now, the good stuff about Hotel San Francisco:

    I loved the assortment, freshness and quality of the food items provided for breakfast. Eating outside in the courtyard made it extra pleasant. Derek with whom we checked-in at the reception after a 27 hour flight at 9 pm was kind, friendly and helpful. Our request for a quiet room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard was honored and greatly appreciated after such a long flight. The decor is simple and straight forward but attractivve and very comfortable with everything you need. The bathroom seemed recently remodeled if not brand new. The a/c was a welcome relief ever day after the extremely hot and humid July weather. We were very close to the metro as well, maybe a 7 minute walk. And bus transportation is widely available. The the city transportation website is easy to use and figure out! Another plus to go all over the city. The man who prepared our coffee and the woman who served it for breakfast were also friendly and helpful. I appreciated the sunny disposition of all of the staff. That attitude is important to feel welcome, especially in a foreign country! The same man who served our coffee also checked us out quickly and efficiently when we left, and told us the bus # to take to the Stagione Centrale, and where the bus stop going in the correct direction to the train station was located. It went smoothly, better than the metro where you have to carry luggage down a long flight of steps; better than a taxi costing 3 times more. I believe the bus ride was about 8 stops and not more than 15 minutes. The hotel's neighborhood was pleasant and residential. We had a wonderful fish dinner at a small restaurant 1 block north of the hotel on the right. It was tasty, well prepared, reasonably priced and the staff was also friendly. We hope to come back to Milan and we'll definitely stay here again. We wholeheartedly recommend Hotel San Francisco as a great hotel to stay at! Thank you for a wonderful stay and many beautiful memories!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was continental but good selection and stuff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel and people 🍀
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pilow

    Wonderful services, people and rooms. Location fair 😊🍀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel close to University and to the metro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is nice and the location is good. Very convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice room, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, clean, modern room. Spacious bathroom with awesome disco lights, couples will love it ;) Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and organized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little far from Central Station

    Very clean and organized. Neon lights were super. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were spacious.. neat and clean..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Very small cosy hotel in the center of Milan , 2 stations of Green line are really close,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the size of room ,& lack of refrigrator for hot season.

    Staff, location , price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Great city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Clean, modern, comfortable with great staff and services and a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of air conditioning

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good location, very kind and friendly stuff, rich...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location, very kind and friendly stuff, rich breakfast. I would definitely recommend it and I will choose it next time I visit Milan.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.3
    Very small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Ticks (almost) all the boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh juice in breakfast

    Comfy, clean, well located, good brekkie

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Everything was Ok , Very Good breakfast , every day tidy...
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was Ok , Very Good breakfast , every day tidy clean room , I recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Francisco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: