Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Francisco 3 stars

Viale Carducci 68, 55049 Viareggio, Italy

#21 of 56 hotels in Viareggio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 444 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is really nice and just in front of the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the breakfast can be improved a little. But it is not an issue, it was not bad.

    The hotel is really nice and just in front of the beach! the staff is very kind and they make you feel very welcome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Fair value for money. Great location and view, very helpful staff at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from neighbor rooms and the corridor - soundproofing could be better. My room was situated next to the room where cleaning ladies took fresh towels etc - and starting from 8-9 a.m. I heard their talks and laughter next to my door. In addition there were no "do not disturb" plates in the rooms - perhaps that could have helped :)

    Excellent location, friendly staff at the reception desk (helped with recommending restaurants, parking etc), nice beds, sea view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Well located hotel near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small.

    The location. The quality of the bed was good. Bathroom ok. Break fast very simple but fine for a few days Staff very nice and helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean, Basic but good value, friendly helpful staff, excellent location, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a hike to the train station, didn't replenish bathroom toiletries often. Breakfast quite basic but adequate. Didn't have iron or ironing board in room and hotel unable to provide, but do offer ironing/laundry service at cost. Some residents said rooms at front can be noisy.

    Excellent location opposite seafront and shops etc, discounted beach rates and discounted on-street parking. Hotel clean and basic but staff very helpful. Excellent shower.Bed comfortable and room has air-con which is handy as rooms facing road can be noisy from traffic if window open. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice breakfast and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The linens were clean, but there were spider webs on the ceiling and when we opened the window a breeze of fresh air blew dust from under the bed into the room. So room could have been cleaner.

    Nice breakfast and great location. Well kept up hotel and room fitting the hotel category.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, well worth the money and Viareggio is very nice especially in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately I only spent a night with my wife at the hotel but it exceeded my expectations for a three star hotel. The only regret is that they did not have parking on-site, however they gave us a rate of EUR5 parking ticket for 24hrs which was acceptable. We wish to go back one day in summer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    A very nice hotel with a perfect location, sea view, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice hotel with a perfect location, sea view, great breakfast and super helpful staff. We really enjoyed the two nights and will go back for a longer stay in the season. Viareggio is an original seaside town – so nice and cozy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is located on the beach front and our room had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is fixed to the wall, something which I find to be a nuisance.

    The hotel is located on the beach front and our room had a sea view. The semicircular rooftop terrace was amazing: you had a view of the sea on one side, and a view of the mountains on the other. Great place to have a glass of wine and see the sunset. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Staff was great, breakfast very nice and plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    4.6
    Not the best, loud, not super clean. Good spot if you like to party
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like sewer, we wanted a non smoking room but it stank of stale smoke. We would have opened the window except the hotel is adjacent to a nightclub so it was too loud, even with the window closed. If you're into beach parties then it's a great spot, but if you're looking for something more low key and relaxing, this isn't the place for you.

    The staff was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive on the beach - be prepared to pay €35 for two beds, two chairs and a parasole.

    Excellent location. Great staff, very helpful and friendly. Pleased we had a sea view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.4
    The most expensive hotel during out honeymoon in Italy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most expensive hotel during out honeymoon in Italy and probably the worst one = the worse value for money by far. Personal was ok but not really nice, so was the breakfast. There was a loud music playing until like 2am outside so we couldn't really sleep. Also the free beach was pretty far away and the one that work "with" the hotel costs something like 15Eur minimum per person.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    We we can recommend the hotel but we would not recommend viareggio beach because of jellyfish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small and even being a hotel by the sea it didn't have any place to dry beach towels.

    Location and breakfast were good. Being able to rent a bike was quite good. The staff is friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Location , quality of rooms good for money , staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location , quality of rooms good for money , staff were helpful but didn't offer any information on parking or near by beach discount or near by attractions or excursions When I asked I got some abrupt answers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    We loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this place. Super friendly reception staff and breakfast staff. Great value for money. Quite a charming vibe to the place. We asked for a quiet room and it was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very helpful but you really have to go and ask (as I am not this type of people). For example, the day when we checked in.. the receptionist didn't mention if they have any corporates beaches which we can pay less as their hotel guests. We found out this on our last day.

    good location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel Sooperb Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only thing that could be improved was the very hard mattress, mattress topper would be a very good addition.

    2nd visit to this hotel and will return again, very friendly staff location is to die for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was too hard for our taste. We had difficulty logging into wifi. May have been user error😊

    The room was clean and comfortable. We had a balcony that faced the street. We were there for the Carnival, and the parade passed right in front of us! The staff was excellent and very accommodating. Breakfast was served every morning downstairs, and was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    beautiful location and great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located close to the carnival parade on Sundays. it is the perfect spot to stay there during the craziness of the carnival. i took beautiful pictures from the balcony of my room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Great stopover in Viareggio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bed was a bit hard, but everything else was perfect!

    This was a very nice stop for us on our way to Tuscany. Access was easy from the autostrada, parking simple, room very comfortable and breakfast wonderful. Staff was most helpful with our travel plans and in recommending places to eat.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    A trip into the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location wasn't worth the cost. Hotel very dated theme (1970s Miami).

    Location is great, next to The Grand Hotel on the seafront. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    We loved it here. We will be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh fruit for breakfast would have been nice

    Jean Lucca was our very own Italian coach each morning at breakfast. Absolutely charming as we're all the staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.2
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't a problem for me, but I think that a larger person might find the bathroom uncomfortably small to navigate. There is some sort of garbage removal at night (around 1-2 a.m. on one of my nights) at the beach (nothing to do with the hotel, just the location at the beach) that smells a little burned while they're close, so not pleasant but it passes fairly quickly, and good to know that it's not anything to do with fire. :)

    Excellent location on the Viareggio beach promenade halfway to Lido di Camaiore, about 35-40 minutes walk from the train station. Had a single room with a little balcony with a view to the sea - the room was just as expected from the booking.com description and reviews. A small, very clean room with hardwood floors, fairly new bathroom, safe, minibar/minfridge and balcony, just what I wanted. Not luxurious in any way, but a step up from very basic. The bed was the normal Italian quite hard (bot not the hardest) style with a hard pillow. That's been the case in every hotel (except for luxury) I've stayed in in Italy, so just as expected. There was aircon, but I didn't use it. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Would absolutely stay again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location, sea views, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Good breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Delightful resort with easy access to experience Italian culture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    No choice of tomatoes or eggs for breakfast. No English speaking news channel on television.

    Attentive,efficient pleasant staff.Great sea view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant, friendly place to spend a long weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, staff. See my Trip Advisor review -- My only comment was the room was a bit tight. To be expected, of course.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located for all Viareggio attractions but especially Carnival
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The small single room had a promenade and sea view balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    good location, very kind and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location, very kind and helpfull staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Good accomodation quality for fair money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for this money...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    All good
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location for a fab few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for a fab few days

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    Verry good
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely staff, simple but very nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lovely staff, simple but very nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Not just one of seaside hotels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was incredibly friendly stuff. They helped me with everything everywhere. Very clean (even not 100% new repaired room) and nice balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.6
    Very nice people, ready to help with any problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Very nice people, ready to help with any problem. Quiet, beautiful and clean city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.8
    Location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    Altogether a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room bit small

    Good position, cheap bikes arranges, nice breakfast, good value

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    Great location, great staff, very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Not great room for money. Average breakfast, no variety at all.

    Great location, great staff, very clean!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Definitely going back next time in Viareggio!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seaside view beautiful, but slightly noisy

    The Location, staff and room, all superb value

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    7.5
    next to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air-condition

    next to the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    8.8
    Delicious croissants for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower was fixed and water flow wasn't good, really uncomfortable to wash your hair. No terrace, a bit noisy when you open the window.

    Delicious croissants for breakfast. Parking places on the street. Sea views from every room we have booked. 24 hours reception. English speaking staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff was brilliant, always smilling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was brilliant, always smilling. At breakfast they have only cold food, but if you ask they can cook you an egg. Nice view from window. We loved this hotel.///Labiausiai mums patiko personalas, tikrai labai paslaugus ir draugiškas. Visada su šypsena. Pusryčiai tik šaltas maistas, bet paprašius išverda kiaušinių. ////

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    7.1
    We've had only the breakfast included but i didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We've had only the breakfast included but i didn't like the fact that they didn't had much to eat for vegetarians.just bread,cheese, fruits and yogurt... So for us 6 days with that kind of breakfast wasn't so happy.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.1
    Sea front with good view, staff were helpful and pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some loud bars over the road may have been a pain in high season but it was low season when we went.

    Sea front with good view, staff were helpful and pleasant enough

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Music venue playing to early in morning over road. Wish I'd known this happened with seafront rooms then I would have taken a back room

    Helpful staff. Comfortable clean room overlooking sea after I asked. Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    The hotel is quiet and peaceful and the rooftop terrace was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is quiet and peaceful and the rooftop terrace was especially so. It is definitely worth it to pay a little extra for the ocean view.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice hotel, very clean, in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked a room with sea view but on the first floor it's only a partial sea view

    Nice hotel, very clean, in a good location.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendlines and an amazing view on the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendlines and an amazing view on the sea. The management made it possible to get breakfast at an earlier time.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Great situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great situation. Fantastic value. Always the most helpful and professional service. Weather not bad either. Probably our tenth stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    7.5
    Helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast. Bread is hard. Fruit salad from tin fruit. Fact that you cant use the beach without paying.

    Helpfull staff Spaceous room

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    8.8
    Beaches ,eateries,location,laid back style amid great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beaches ,eateries,location,laid back style amid great architecture

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: