Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Francisco 3 stars

Via Magellano 8, 08020 Cala Gonone, Italy

#13 of 17 hotels in Cala Gonone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 245 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Rom was very comfortable and the private balcony was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rom was very comfortable and the private balcony was great. Location was perfect. Three minutes to beach. Staff great. Helped me sort out the GPS in car and breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and the room is very spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is not well isolated, you could hear people in nearby rooms and in the corridor.

    The staff were very friendly and the room is very spacious with a balcony and very clean. The breakfast was wonderful with the best bakery in town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value, location but uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was really hard.

    Location and cutely decorated! I would stay here again over the other hotels nearby that are over double the cost (we also stayed at Cala Luna which was nice but not worth the money).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location & service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the smaller side compared to other places stayed, but it was still comfortable for two people.

    Very friendly welcome and helpful staff! Great location, only a few minutes walk to the seaside/beach. Adjacent restaurant provided discount to guests and we enjoyed a lovely meal with excellent service. Great selection at breakfast too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    The room was nice and with a terrasse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the third floor but the escalator reached only to the second one...

    The room was nice and with a terrasse. The personel was friendly, the location very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really squeaky... also, being British, I missed not having a kettle and tea in the room!

    The breakfast was great! Also the biscuits left in the room. The staff are also brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont give you complementary water or anything. Not even on the day you arrived. They have a mini fridge in the room but it was all empty.

    Location is perfect! Employees are nice and helpful. Everything was clean. Overall its has a good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast continental but small selections of fruit, plastic tomatoes from supermarket.

    Very nice place. Lots of attractions. Next to the port, in the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for. I personally think it could be a better experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of kitchen below us. Noice from restaurant next to our room. Not working fridges in the room. Stink in the room when we arrived. Long black hairs in the bathroom and generally not very clean.

    They left key for us in the door as we got to the hotel very late. We got room with balcony as we requested and upstairs. Really like destination.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Great location and staff! Franco booked a boat tour for us and it was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling in the room was too low (we were on the top floor with the attic type sloped ceiling) and we hit our heads a few times.

    The A/C and the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wi-fi wasn't very reliable or a very strong connection. Especially during buys times of the day.

    Everything was very clean, the towels changed and bins changed daily. The staff were very helpful with arranging things, especially the taxi home. The breakfasts were lovely and lots of choice, never long lines to get anything you wanted, and it was all very fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely stay in beautiful Cala gonone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work. I think it worked once for a little bit in the week that we were there, but it was very slow and it wasn't worth trying to use it. The other thing which was the only real negative was that we were staying in what was advertised as a 'double room' however the bed was two single mattresses pushed together. All the double rooms they advertise are like this, which is soo uncomfortable for a couple as one falls down the gap in between the two beds. As my boyfriend said 'the bed would be perfect for an unhappyily marriaged couple'. We strongly recommend having real double beds as this would have dramatically improved our stay at the hotel.

    The hotel is a cute family run hotel in a very good location near the sea front in Cala gonone. The staff were very friendly and it was a very clean. You could use an umbrella given by the hotel to take to the beach for free whilst you stayed there. The restaurant was delicious with a real lovely atmosphere and always packed. Hotel guests get a 10 percent discount there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Cala Gonone revisited almost 50 years later : Unspoiled and Refreshing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lacked Nothing ! Still Authentic Sardinia.

    Authentic un-spoiled Sardinia: Extremely friendly , informed and accommodating staff. Excellent value. Not being very computer able......I thought that I had booked a hotel out of the center ,with a pool ! In fact I couldn't have booked a better Hotel anywhere. Thankyou. We will be back,and probably with friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Clean hotel - good breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean hotel - good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Great breakfast and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking provided but plenty nearby

    Location near Beach and great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Discount at restaurant next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small and very bouncy. Should maybe be replaced.

    Discount at restaurant next door. Breakfast was good. Location was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay to check out the Gulf of Orosei!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints!

    Rooms are nicely decorated, clean and have air conditioning! Nice breakfast selection. Staff helpful. Great small town on the coast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Good stay for those who like beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't super comfortable. I deplore this hotel isn't very environmental friendly.

    The breakfast was good, as well as the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Great value for money, pleasant atmosphere, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money, pleasant atmosphere, good breakfast. Good experience!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Loacation, stuff was very nice and very helpfull!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has no vegetables or eggs, the coffee from the machine is low quality

    Loacation, stuff was very nice and very helpfull!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Franco = god
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. Franco is the best!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Great break, 4 nights was the perfect amount
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friendly responsive staff,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    5.4
    nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    despite the confirmed booking.com reservation the reception informed us at the arrival, that only the first night is for sure... there is no sound-proofing in the building, every door closing is clearly audible in the room they run out of yoghurt and bread often at half past 8

    nice location

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    Everything perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny detail: the fridge in our room didn´t work for the 5 days we stayed. They were kindly enough to let us use the bar fridge.

    Everything perfect. Wi-fi, staff, location, cleanliness, everything superb. Franca and her assistant are super nice!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.3
    Good localisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi did not work in our room, whereas this service was included in the price. There is no hot water during the mornings, which is quite inconvenient for the mornings showers.

    Good localisation. The personal was available and welcoming. Nice rooms. Décent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.5
    Good and comfortable location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little too expensive...!

    Good and comfortable location!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: