Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Giorgio 4 stars

Viale Garibaldi 34, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy

#8 of 13 hotels in Civitavecchia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Convenient hotel for cruisers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was dreadful: the waiters were amateurish and the food was disgustingly bad and expensive in their restaurant. The buffet breakfast was just adequate: most other guests kept asking for more of everything to be refilled on the buffet

    The room was comfortable with a sea view; the staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, hotel parking is very small and I had to park my car in the street for extra 'penny'.

    Nice hotel. Very good staff. Very good neighbouring restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Will not book this hotel again. Booking.com needs to investigate this common practice from this hote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transferred to a poor hotel out of town due to ‘overbookibg’ Turns out this is common Booking.com needs to investigate Please forward me a refund between what I paid San Giorgio and the cheaper Mercure Sunbay they put me in !!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Convenient for cruise travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast range average. Room was mezzanine bedroom bath down, stairs tiny and difficult, not explained when we agreed to upgrade. Service areas untidy and not well maintained.

    Convenient location, shuttle service to cruise terminal and from Rome. Reception and porter staff excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    An ideal hotel for a 1 night stay before a cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here the night before our cruise - the room was 'ok', it's a good hotel for one night, but would not stay for longer. Staff were excellent. If you are joining a ship, it's easy to walk to the bus shuttle stop instead of paying the high cost that the hotel charges.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable Hotel and Great Stopover Before boarding Cruise Ship
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room with great outlook to ocean. Good location on beach front and pretty night walk along water to old fort, Roman digs and fishing harbour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    2.9
    A disappointing hotel that was expensive for what it had to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pet stains on the carpet are a concern . It was hard to get assistance. It reminded us of a 1970s era old decor flashback hotel !!

    Its handy for the port if cruising etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Checkout too early ..... and generally didn’t feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t feel very welcome on arrival . The taxi driver was surprised no one was there to help with cases at the front of the building and we didn’t see the lifts so we dragged our cases up the stairs to then get a bit of a lukewarm reception. The receptionist kept answering calls when we were checking in which was frustrating. (This was the same when checking out!)He then told me about the 10am checkout. I have never known a hotel to do this!! Had I have known this I would have selected another hotel. I’m sure this was clear on your site but in the 21st century this seems ridiculous and therefore not something I looked out for. This meant we had to wait for two hours after checkout for the shuttle to the cruise terminal! The twin room was strange..... and dangerous. The staircase leading to the bed felt like sleeping in a treehouse which looked fun but there was the added worry that you could fall off in your sleep. Also I nearly fell down the stairs in the middle of the night as there is a rip on the carpet of the top step . I hope this will be fixed before someone has a serious accident . Before my stay I kept being offered transfers from the hotel which were pricey (I’m told because of a 50euro tip needed to compensate for an Italian holiday). I therefore took a cab which ended up being half the price quoted and gladly tipped the cab driver. I resent being told what to tip and as it would have been a shared shuttle that was an unreasonable cost. I booked the cruise transfer through the hotel which was good but I wonder if a local taxi would have been cheaper than the ten euro per person paid. As you could almost see the ship from the hotel. So to reiterate I waited two hours after a super early checkout to get their cruise shuttle bus for ten euro per person which was on the road for less than ten minutes. Although that said walking it with a case isn’t an option and I’m not sure a cab company would bother for such a short journey.

    Lovely beach view; nice building, cute paintings . Fairly good breakfast on nice patio. Pretty bathroom; polite staff loading cases on the ship shuttle bus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Pre cruise stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location!! 5 min walk to train station, town center, beach/waterfront and many restaurants. Room was a little worn and odd layout but knew that going in to stay. The upstairs/loft where the bed was hot as the AC was mostly collecting on the first floor entry area. Other than that very reasonable and comfortable. The restaurant, Bistro 34 was excellent. Best food in town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Good stay for a night and a quick city tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was totally average and furnished old style.

    Very well located with a good Italian restaurant inside (advise to book as some locals are also coming).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    WeWe will stay there next time we embark in Civiteveccia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    FANTASTIC location for cruise ship guests. Hotel provided a shuttle bus to take guests (and their considerable luggage) to their ships for a nominal charge. The outside photpgraphs of the hotel need replacement as the exterior has changed to the point our cab driver drove past it. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pull out bed was made up with single sheets and was uncomfortable.

    The shuttle provided for a reasonable fee was excellent. It drove us straight to our cruise ship. It would pay to take the earlier shuttle if you want to get on board early. The hotel was close to the main streets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Conveniently located near the port, good breakfast on-site,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is dated; room was a little musty, but not unexpected so close to the water.

    Conveniently located near the port, good breakfast on-site, staff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good pre cruise stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance needs some tlc..replacing the carpet and cleaning the windows would make a big difference

    The staff were very nice and helpful too... and we had a nice seaview room with good aircon... very handy for the port. Good location for a pre or post cruise stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our friends room was very near to the public bathroom being used by guests at a birthday party, so subject to noise. It would have been nice to be previously warned that the hotel restaurant was unable to accommodate us because of the party, that said there were many good restaurants immediately next to the hotel.

    Breakfast was very good, with a variety of pastries, cooked items and juices. Hotel convenient for the ferry terminal with secure parking. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Fine for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seemed to be only one public toilet on the ground floor. The shuttle bus supplied by the hotel (10 Euros per person) was 45 minutes late which did not reflect well on the hotel.

    The bar area is very good with very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing stay. Others appeared to have a sl better experience, but we will not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our booking was for a second floor room with free WiFi. We were instead given a ground floor room which was round by the kitchens, and which was obviously use as their disabled room. It was cavernous, dark and grubby - shabby paintwork, disgusting carpet (looked as if it had been bleached), uncomfortable beds. Bathroom had everything, including the mirror and wash basin at such a low height that they were very difficult to use (wheelchair height). Shower was grubby and uninviting - we actually chose not to use it at all. Layout of the room was very odd, being on two levels joined by a steel factory-like staircase. Bed, TV wardrobe, dresser and bathroom were on the lower level and there was a sofa by itself on the upper mezzanine level which was an area which appeared to be intended for a double or king bed. Finally the free in room WiFi was not accessible in this room, although we could use it in the lobby. Expressed disappointment to hotel staff but this was met with indifference.

    Booked this room for a pre cruise stopover, 1 night. Breakfast was good. Position for port very good, other than that, very disappointed (see below).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location for a pre-cruise stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a typical European hotel room in terms of style and size, so set your expectations accordingly. I would definitely stay here again.

    Perfect location for a pre-cruise stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things: plastic glasses at breakfast, a feeling that the staff were undermanned, only 2 small bottles of water in the room (charged for).

    Glorious location overlooking the sea front and close to bars, restaurants, shops, sights. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent. We had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little more information in the room about the hotel and also surrounding area.

    Lovely little hotel with sea views. Shops and restaurants nearby. Very handy for cruise passengers. Train station a five minute walk with trains to and from Rome. Hotel extended our room as we had a late flight back and also arranged our transport to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for non-smoking but the room 1st allocated smelt of cigarettes. The next room allocated was a lot smaller & the air-conditioning didn't work - but was supplied with a fan for the 2nd night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.4
    Convenient for port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable. Sheets and pillowcases were strongly perfumed. And didn’t fit the bed properly. Bed was up some stairs above the lounge but there was nowhere to sit and the stairs seem quite dangerous specially at night as the bathroom is downstairs

    Convenient for port.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location. Overpriced for what you get. It is no more than a 3 star hotel. No way near 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms old and need to be redone. The only staff that was extremely nice were the staff in the breakfast room and restaurant. The front desk was not helpful. Overall, we were very disappointed with the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Good not great, but acceptable for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very ordinary, and the dining area quite crowded.

    Good not great. Room was clean and the hotel was reasonably quiet. Great location if you're headed for the cruise port. (Why else would anyone visit Civitavecchia?)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did leave my cpap hose at the hotel room but that was my problem....oh well ... our short stay was very nice.

    Excellent hotel. Very nice bathroom and great mattress. Even though our stay was only one night we enjoyed how close your hotel was to outside cafes and the walk along the ocean. You also helped coordinate the shuttle from Rome and to out cruise ship. The pastries were wonderful in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    It was nice but the taxis drivers are lazy in this town. They would rather not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel needs to have a shuttle from the cruise port to the hotel because there are only 21 taxis in this town and they will charge you 30EU to take you even 10 feet. I sent them an email requesting an early check in and information about a shuttle. I never heard back. The ice machine didn't work. Some things in this hotel just don't seem to work.

    It was a nice hotel. The restaurant was very nice on the patio at night. Decent prices and good service. It had a really nice complimentary breakfast with lots of pastries and even bacon and eggs if you ask.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Location, helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is outdated. It is not a 4 star hotel. More a 3 star hotel. In our opinion, the price is too high for the conditions we received. The room is big, but the quality is not a good one.

    Location, helpfull staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    A poor facility and not worth half of what we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was two story with NO view even though we paid a premium The bed was upstairs but everything else downstairs The bed was like a rock and the one pillow provided was as flat as a sheet

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.2
    Look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not able to sleep due to the noise above us - the sound of chairs moving around in the restaurant/dinning facilities above - which persisted until past midnight. When we complained to the management we were told this was a problem for all guests on our floor. (We stayed in room 221). The essential purpose of a hotel is to provide a quiet place for a restful night of sleep. On this count the Hotel San Giorgio was a miserable failure.

    The shuttle service to our ship was very satisfactory.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff. Hotel in a great location on the Civitavecchia seafront.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disembarking from a cruise and the Hotel very kindly allowed us to check in at 10am - saved us a lot of sitting around. They also arranged a very reasonable transfer to the airport the next day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    You must stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not fault this hotel. It was convenient for my husband and I to stay here. But when we arrived it was raining but that didn't stop us we had lunch at the local restaurant and it was beautiful. The hotel staff were amazing accommodating to our every need we had dinner there and you must try the food it is amazing. I had the local cheese selection sea bass and Crème bûrlee it is a must try. The hotel was clean and tidy. They even organised a coach for €10 per person so that we can leave our luggage at check out until our coach arrived later on. This was convenient as we could not explore the area the day we managed to look at the local streets and there is so must to see and do if time was our friend we would of spent hours walking the pavements. Best location to catch a cruise from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok to stay one night before cruise, otherwise find another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and the room so small, you could hardly move around. I did not care for the fact that we had to pay 8 euro each for transportation to the port only because we reserved the room through Booking.com. Had we booked directly, it would have been free. That makes no sense. The van was going back and forth all day anyway. And we would not have known about the hotel were it not for the Booking.com website. It was mostly the attitude about it that hit me the wrong way.

    The location and the friendly staff were the only good things about this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location, easy walk to shopping & dining, wonderful view of the Sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    New mattresses for bed in our room would be nice.

    The only downside was the bed; my husband and I awoke with aches and pains. However, we had a beautiful view overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. I'd stay here again. All levels of staff were fantastic from front desk staff, waiters, bartenders, concierge and bellhop. The transportation to the cruise port was phenomenal and far exceeded our greatest expectation!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is old and rough around the edges. Needs some care and attention. Also, we had a room which had the bedroom upstairs. The stairs to the second level were very narrow and awkward. They were tricky to navigate at night.

    Great location and decent restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.6
    Will not recommend this hotel or use it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is definitely not a family friendly hotel. We were a party of 16 people, all family going on a cruise. We had six rooms, including a junior suite and we ate in the restaurant the night before. Despite the fact that we spent a lot of money they charged us 50 Euros because my grandson accidentally split some juice on a chair. They said we had to pay for the cleaning of it. Never experienced this in a hotel before.

    Not a Lot. Rooms very tired.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Close to train station and walked there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs going up do no work for luggage and old people. Elevator mainly for luggage

    Close to train station and walked there. Had shuttle to cruise ship

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    We arrived early and asked for early check in, if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived early and asked for early check in, if possible. Obviously, there was availability, because if we wanted to pay more, we could have early check in. But when we didn't want to pay more, it suddenly became unavailable. (sad face) Other than that, a nice stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.0
    .it can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because we book it through booking.com. They charge us $10 pp for shuttle service,

    Even if you book through booking.com. They should give you free shuttle

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Great place to begin a cruise and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot milk for a tea latte. Not having a map for the port area. Luggage area not visibly secure when loading for shuttle to port. Next time will use Argo bus to Port shuttle for $$ reasons.

    The beds were nice and firm. Breakfast was varied and fresh. Loved the fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Other than the above comment, it was fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we realized there were stairs in our junior suite we asked to be changed which they did to a room looking off to the alley for a less price, but charged for the junior suite which we thought was very unfair Was not aware bathroom downstairs bed upstairs. We are an older couple

    Loved the deck for breakfast...also great staff serving. Overall...great hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Very convenient if you are taking a cruise from Civitavecchia port.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rotating entrance hurt my foot....be careful.

    The hotel is old and the room was smallish and the window would not open but otherwise comfortable and accessibility to Civitavecchia port is remarkable. We walked to the port shuttle and the walk is about 1 mile or so in the streets of the town (not by the sea). Would I go back to same hotel if I am going on a cruise....definitely. The area is also worth visiting without cruise...it seems to combine old and modern facilities and there is a walkway by the sea that looks lovely. The setting is peaceful and we walked at night and had supper at a nearby outdoor café. The breakfast in hotel was in a sea view patio and food was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    It served our purpose which was getting one night's stay prior to leaving on a cruise the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given was a little odd... barely enough room to walk around the bed, and a metal staircase RIGHT beside the bed that led up to an odd loft area which had a (single) bed and wardrobe .. I guess it could have been used (as a last resort) for sleeping an extra person. Have to be careful getting out of bed that you don't crack your head on the adjacent stairs. Not a great room but for one night it was ok.

    The hotel offered a shuttle to the port (for the cruise we were taking) for a nominal fee. I'm glad we didn't try to walk to the ship dragging our luggage... It is farther than you think. It was nice to have a breakfast included so we didn't have to find a restaurant before checking out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location for one night pre-cruise stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 euros per person is excessive for shuttle transfer to port. The port shuttle return to station was only 2 euros.

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Close to train station, a great range of seaside restaurants and pleasant promenade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    It was ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very attentive and at times borderline rude, the rooms are very small and some are not very clean, the shower is difficult to use, almost impossible to adjust water temperature.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    It was ok, would come back for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small, not very clean, shower wasn’t working properly, hotel stuff were getting annoyed every time they were asked questions. They were trying to help but not always. The value for money definitely wasn’t there. I asked where I can find inexpensive restoraunt to feed kids lunch. They recommended hotel restoraunt where very small lunch for 3 people was over 60 dollars.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is perfect; nice view of the tirrenian sea; rooms spacious and clean; bed confortable; lots of bistros and trattorias around; nice breakfast table; nice terrace for dinner; very nice hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.3
    Location close to the port for embarking, and lovely staff (...
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too old, noises, and 4 star for This hotel is too much.

    Location close to the port for embarking, and lovely staff ( just the girl at the breakfast )

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.2
    Took gloss of holiday, have used you numberof timesbefore with no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not as booked and smelled, alternative room was down grade but would not reduce charge. 2nd room had black mould inside and outside shower. We have complained by telephone to your office but without satisfactory outcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Happy to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical European-style hotel which costs quite a bit for the rather small room and bathroom that you get.

    Excellent location. Clean, comfortable, functional. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Large room with comfortable bed on upper level reached by a staircase. Helpful staff. We got transport provided by the hotel to our cruise ship for a small cost which was very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    2.5
    Would never say there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and unhelpful staff, no one to help you with the luggage, they just would stand and watch your struggle to carry all your luggage up the fancy stairs that in the picture. About the pathetic stinking room I don't even want to talk about. My wife has left her pyjamas in the room but we contacted hotel on arrival from the cruise 7 days later. They never respond to my messages through booking.com I have called Reception hopping to get in touch with them when still in the aria but respond never was there so I have called again from Rome and been told that they found it an will send it to me to my hotel in Rome just provide address. Send them address via booking.com again no reply after contacting again they respond to my message about check in time dated over months ago. So I have called booking.com to step up and help, and been told that hotel doesn't send it because they worry it may get damage in transit WHAT?? pyjamas?? Come and pick up your lost property from hotel (they give me that option) will cost me €110 each way. Thanks for your pathetic service but no thanks I can buy new pyjamas but you will not buy your reputation!!!! Sorry for long review but I wanted everyone who thinking to stay in this hotel think twice before booking into this hell of a place.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    It was perfect for one night and recommended for a convenient cruise location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not on site and was not handicapped accessible or safe for children.

    The location was close to the cruise port and the Staff was very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for pre/post cruise stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dark and could do with a little updating.

    We stayed here for one night pre-cruise embarkation and it was an ideal location for this. The staff were very helpful and although the room was basic it was clean and comfortable and perfect for one night. Great restaurant and bar and a lovely terrace. Good choice of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Excellent for a pre-cruise accommodation - Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent.

    Very friendly Reception greeting and nothing was too much trouble. Room very clean - overall very enjoyable experience - would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is located on the sea side and the room had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not aware that the beaches in Civitavecchia are not for swiming. It is useless to be on the beach and not being able to get into the water due to polution. We had to travel to a nearby town to enjoy the beach.

    The hotel is located on the sea side and the room had a great view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    2.9
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, room temperature was hot, view was of parking lot, stairs were very dangerous, furniture and carpet old and smelly. Very bad!

    Staff not friendly at all. Plus I reserved a shuttle from the hotel and paid online however i did not receive any confirmation via phone or email so i took other transport. On reaching the hotel and explaining they shook their heads rudly and said sorry no refund and brushed us off.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was horrible- The hotel is in the heart of the action which is nice, but good luck finding parking on Saturday evening- took about 45 minutes to find a parking spot-- Also, our carpet was wet since it appeared that they just cleaned it and had a smell---

    Staff is great and very friendly. The hotel bar/food as well as the breakfast area-- Location was great for us for visiting family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    It was a great location and we had a nice view and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner didn't really work and the room was a little dirty

    It was a great location and we had a nice view and the staff was really nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    The staff both at the hotel and restaurant was pleasant all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff both at the hotel and restaurant was pleasant all the time. The two rooms with a sea view were special. In one of the room, the air conditioning was not working and the staff changed us to an equivalent room swiftly. The hotel was also very close to the port for the cruise. I will go to this hotel if I am around Civitavecchia again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little could have been better

    Very helpful staff. I left my car for a 10 day cruise for a reasonable price. The arrangements for drop off and pickup from the ferry terminal were good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Great experience if not for them being understaffed at breakfast when busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast first day was pretty good, got better when they offered to make us cappuccinos as they had an automated coffee machine 😒The next day they were too busy so had to drink that horrible stuff. Anyone who can't offer you a good coffee in Italy should be ashamed.

    Hotel staff very pleasant and accommodating. Location is perfect. Beach, restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. Overall I would stay here again if not for one thing....the coffee!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Great Location if getting a cruise but would not stay more than a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was below the breakfast room so we were woken at 6am by the sound of tables and chairs being dragged across the floor. After ordering our food in the restaurant, we had to remind them that we had not received any food ETC. after waiting for around an hour. The staff were very good and did give us a free round of drinks and nibbles.

    The location is great if you are taking a cruise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable stay on way to cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little dark but not a biggie!!

    Room was quite large. Bed very comfortable. Stayed there as we were meeting the cruise ship the next day. Had a convenient shuttle service (for a fee) to get to ship the next day. Made it easy to get there with all of our luggage. Plenty of restaurants to walk to for a meal. Breakfast at hotel was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel San Giorgio is in an excellent position close to the port entrance, restaurants and shops. We had a lovely room with a window facing the ocean. We stayed here for 4 nights prior to boarding our cruise ship. They organised a private transfer for our group to the cruise ship at a reduced price. Our room was comfortable and cleaned daily. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    superb location within EASY walking distance from station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    superb location within EASY walking distance from station only 5 euro from rome as compared with over a 100 by taxi.swimming pool available accross road free mon to fri.ate in restaraunt not recommended,had burger didnt complain but it was cooked rare or not far short of raw,should really have sent it back.my only serious complaint would be the cost of the port transfer 10 euro each.there were 3 of us cost 30 euro,we travelled by coach and train from fiumicino airport for said 30 euros differance one is 1km the other in excess of 60km that in my eyes represents a rip off,believe transfer is free if you book directly with them,have'nt gone into price differential.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    3.3
    Dated hotel, with unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy airconditioning Lumpy bed Refused to get us a taxi to the port Unhelpful staff Hotel has seen better days, was like fawlty towers

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Would definitely stay here again before or after a cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transportation from the cruise ship . There were no taxis available at all so we had to walk pulling our suitcases. Part of the shower door was missing. The a/c blew right on the bed, very uncomfortable.

    Location was great. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a long wait to get into our room.

    Conveniently located. Breakfast was wonderful and was served on the third floor with view of ocean and if you wanted you could eat on their large terrace. Room was inviting with a view overlooking the ocean. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    This is a good option to stay for a short time before boarding your cruise ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel restaurant didn't open until 7:00 pm, needed reservations and had a small menu. There were restaurants with indoor and outdoor seating along the boardwalk but they seemed more like places to have lunch. The bed was very firm with simple bedding.

    The location was very close to the port and was on the sea boardwalk but because of that, our taxi was unable to drive up to the hotel entrance. The distance was a shot walk to the entrance with our luggage. The bathroom was large and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for the money. Nice room. Clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast in the morning on the top floor of the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location and service near the port of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great and near port. Restaurant dinning was excellent, and all staff were very professional & curteous. We would stay again and recommend it highly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    rome in day and the cruise the med
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually it was fine.

    I rated based on hotels that are more expensive and luxurious,but as a place to layover for a cruise,it was excellent location to train to Rome and the port. It is probably the best hotel in civitachhia so I would recommend it for any one cruising that wanted to spend a day in rome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for pre-cruise stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about in our short stay.

    Very good breakfast--large selection. We did not use the restaurant. Staff quite helpful. We loved the waterfront just across the street. Convenient shuttle to the cruise ship, only €10 per person.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about really, perhaps their restaurant was a little bit overpriced for a coastal resort

    great service we managed to get in early after a long plane trip followed by a train trip from rome. the hotel was easy to find and amongst restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.1
    ok for an overnight stay for catching the cruise ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our party of 4 attended the local fare tasting session for 10 euro per head from 6pm-8pm.We arrived at 6pm and got shown to a couple of armchairs, 2 footstools. with a tiny table in the middle. the tasting platters were too big to even fit on the table! As there was numerous dining tables and chairs free we asked to be seated at a proper table and chairs,( some had reserved on but many did not) we got told very curtly "no reserved for management" When we left at 7.40pm there were many tables which had not even been used! Also there was a large man smoking a cigar in both the reception area and the dining area on a few occasions.Now seeing as this is a non smoking Hotel I was surprised by this, I wondered if he was management?? if so he should have been setting a better example. also $10 euro per head to take you to the port is a bit expensive when its only about a 5 minute drive.

    Great location for catching a cruise, Nice reception staff, very helpful and polite. Male waiting staff were abrupt and one in particular was quite rude when we asked about moving tables, Rooms were small but there was a good shower in bathroom. Breakfast was nice. Plenty of variety.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Giorgio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: