Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Piedmont hotel reviews
  4. Saluzzo hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel San Giovanni Resort

Reviews of Hotel San Giovanni Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via San Giovanni 9/A, 12037 Saluzzo, Italy

#3 of 17 hotels in Saluzzo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 504 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    10
    My favorite place to stay in Saluzzo.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not easy to reach by a car. Print out the plan as GPS will not help much. :-)

    My favorite place to stay in Saluzzo. A place with a historical genius loci and with great friendly stuff!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    10
    It’s an amazing property celebrating its history but with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Read the instructions carefully if arriving by car!

    It’s an amazing property celebrating its history but with modern details. It is superbly well designed and executed. Quite exceptionally well done. Absolutely outstanding!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    9.2
    Very very friendly staff particularly Alberto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The on,t negative comment was the bed linen was not of a high quality and the pillow cases were of similar quality and was particularly unimpressed that no under pillow cases were not used which I think should be a necessary requirement.

    Very very friendly staff particularly Alberto. Very good buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Very atmospheric and peaceful place to visit.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    10
    Superb Service, Beautiful & Historical Italian Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, the views and the history of the Hotel were all amazing. The Staff were excellent and as we had a exceptionally early morning checkout they made us a breakfast box filled with goodies for our long journey. So friendly, wish we could have stayed a week!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    9.6
    Staffs, they are very nice, friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Staffs, they are very nice, friendly and helpful. Hotel located in an ancient Monterey on the top of Saluzzo, historical area. Definitely will come back again. Staffs are amazing.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    10
    Very impressive hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit tricky to find the hotel by car, but hotel was providing good instructions beforehand.

    Its one of the greatest hotel experiences of all times. The hotel is very nicely rebuilt, you can almost feel 14th century spirit there. Very, very good breakfast. Fantastic reception, we felt very welcome. The manager Massimo was kind to upgrade me for free into bigger room due to my wheelchair. The friendly man at the receiption made us feel very welcome.... and what a view from room's window... its breath taking :)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent...wish it could have been longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, we had some problems actually reaching the hotel as it is in an old section of town with very narrow, one way streets, and if you miss one, it's very difficult to retrace your steps. It took us a good hour to finally find the place. By then, we were ready for a drink!

    The hotel itself is in an exceptional building. We didn't have enough time to really appreciate it all, but it was extraordinary how the rooms have been converted from a former nunnery. Very comfortable, extremely picturesque and a destination that is worth seeking out.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.6
    A tasteful stop with comfort and lovely staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather....😄

    Generally, I am not a fan of renovated monasteries or convents, but this was an exception. The integrity of the renovation, the tasteful simplicity, along with comfortable rooms made it a stellar stop.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel has a great court yard but rooms were small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small with a strange smell to the towels. It had a portable air-conditioner which had the pipe leading outside via your door to the patio. This left no room to exit that side of the bed. The restaurant does not cater for guests staying at the hotel. If you want to eat at the restaurant you need to book early....staff did not tell us this when we arrived resulting in us having to hike down the hill to the town and worse all the way back up to the top at night...big problem if you have already made the trip twice during the day.

    Saluzzo is a beautiful town to visit. San Giovanni has a wonderful court yard to sit in a relaxing atmosphere and enjoy an afternoon "spritz".

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    9.6
    Such a beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a beautiful location! I definitely recommend for a definitely unique Piemonte experience. The views from your window, the courtyard the church next door are unbelievable. Saluzzo is an amazing experience. The breakfast was amazing, the restaurant is a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    9.6
    The old convent was beautiful and each room amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The old convent was beautiful and each room amazing! We loved walking through the old little town. There were not many restaurants or shops open near the hotel though... but the hotel restaurant and breakfast were excellent!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    9.2
    The attraction of the hotel isn’t its facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The attraction of the hotel isn’t its facilities particularly. Rather it is the lovely setting in Saluzzo, the beautiful restoration of the convent and the amazing heritage of the building and it’s surrounding. The staff are also very helpful. If you’ve traveled from the Langhe, try the local microbrewery and the beer bar opposite the Castile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great place in a middle of a small village, full of charm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The corridor is a little bit noisy... But otherwise everything very good.

    Great place in a middle of a small village, full of charm and also peacefull. NIce hand made cakes for breakfast and of course very good italian coffee! The view from the room when you are on the side of the interior garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I would have liked is tea/coffee making facilities in the room but there is a cafe/bar.

    We stayed for 2 nights here and loved the location. Lots of walking as the hotel is almost at the top of the old town so fairly steep cobbled streets that are so interesting to look round. Very helpful, friendly staff. Lovely comfortable room. The whole hotel has lots of atmosphere and is very interesting to look round. The restaurant is superb and situated in an old wine vault. I would love to return someday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    A great spot and very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really enjoyed our brief stay here. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to help make our anniversary a special one. The restaurant downstairs in the “monk house” was brilliant. They served us the most beautiful meal for a very reasonable price. We would recommend this place to anyone wanting that little bit more special attention to detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.3
    beautifully designed hotel in a restored old monastry but standard rooms are rather small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the size of our standard room was rather small and allthough very nice designed a bit unpractical to put our belongings away, certainly in the bathroom

    the surrounding of this middleage monestry, which was very nicely restored with respect of the heritage but with modern design

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Fabulous experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was spectacular

    The breakfast was spectacular. The staff was wonderful even to the point of finding us a guide at short notice to tour the city. They also arranged for us to have a private cooking lesson in the kitchen of one the best restaurants in Saluzzo. It’s a beautiful facility with all the charm you would expect in a Medieval city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great base for exploring the centro storico of Saluzzo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a tad institutional, without the artisan breads, jams and touches we met elsewhere in this region which prides itself on its superb local foods.

    Friendly staff, atmospheric cloisters, characterful hotel in a medieval setting. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.6
    Pet-friendly paradise with welcoming hosts and an abundance of charm.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extraordinarily friendly staff. Absolutely charming property. As nice a breakfast buffet as we've found after living in Italy for 9 months. We travelled with our small dog, and the hotel was very welcoming to the pup. Location is wonderful, nestled in the warren of streets in Saluzzo's charming pedestrian zone. We wish we could've stayed longer, and next time we'll definitely try the restaurant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.3
    The resort is very charming and the old monastery atmosphere...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could be a bit more comfortable, maybe with a different choice of pillows and a duvet. The room is a bit small if double occupancy

    The resort is very charming and the old monastery atmosphere is very peculiar. The staff at night was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    10
    The hotel was very beautiful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very beautiful. The best part of our stay was the staff. The two people working in the reception (a young woman and older man) were delightful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    8.3
    A romantic and special getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    I liked how unique the hotel was, it was in such a beautiful setting which made it even more romantic. There was a great amount of choice at breakfast. The staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect but hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were average and they could do with more pillows...

    Breakfast was delicious- sitting have a drink at night the staff would bring you plates of food to nibble on without any cost or promting

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    Undoubtedly the best hotel experience I've ever had the pleasure to partake of!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't stay long enough here.

    The conversation of part of a convent to boutique hotel is stunning. The historic atmosphere is palpable in every aspect of the hotel, especially in terms of its seamless integration with attached historical property (namely the church). It's location in the old part of town is also incredible. Little touches like the linen (being actually linen), old furniture, keys and doors to rooms, and the amazing staff give an experience far beyond the 4 star rating! We absolutely loved our time here!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    8.8
    Now considering to get married there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit overpriced due the high demand

    Beautiful historical building in the heart of Saluzzo. Amazing staff (Maria was very kind with us!), great restaurant downstairs (35 euro the complete menu). I would definitely come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    7.1
    Atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a nice place but a bit too expensive. The beds were only 1.9m and there was no coffee / tea service in the room. One could expect that for the price.

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel in Saluzzo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only annoyance was that the courtyard and communal areas were open to the public so occasionally large groups of tourists would descend on it while we were outside enjoying a bottle of prosecco. Not sure if it is the case all year round but was a bit irritating while we were there.

    Fantastic hotel in Saluzzo. It is situated in the prettiest, old part of the town although easy to walk to the main modern center. Our room (and the hotel in general) was gorgeous. There were wall frescos in the room and all around as well as a few chapels and function rooms with stunning religious decoration. It's been very well refurbished, keeping all the original character and features while providing modern facilities and comfort. We also ate at the restaurant there which was superb (the best place we ate in Saluzzo). Well worth the money. Would be the perfect venue for a romantic break or wedding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.6
    We'll be back 100%!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stay at the San Giovanni Resort was a real retreat! The neighbourhood and the convent are very silent and peaceful and the hotel staff so lovely and helpful - we felt like spoiled being taken care of so much. We'll be back 100%!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    9.6
    Lots to offer the historian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better air conditioning and tea making facilities in room would have been icing on the cake,

    Friendly, warm and gracious staff, lovely building with interesting historic status with access to cloister and church.Thoroughly clean facilities. Doors from room to balcony. Room not large but well arranged. Saluzzo has much to offer .. We stayed just two nights but it could have been twenty-two. Recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    10
    Luxurious resort in old convent in Piemonte!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What an absolutely amazing place!! It felt like stepping into a museum :-) Great service and the breakfast was fantastic!! The hotel is located in an old convent - and you can enjoy a glass of wine in the garden overlooking the church tower. We had dinner in the restaurant located below the hotel - super charming and fantastic food and wine! The old part of Saluzzo is a charming with lots of history and museums. If you're ever in Piemonte, you should definitely pay Hotel San Giovanni Resort a visit!! The room was spacious and the bathroom was nicely renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    9.6
    Winderful stay at beautiful monastery in charming Saluzzo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Wonderful hotel in old convent in beautiful and calm atmosphere. We had large room with large terrace facing beautiful court. Nice toiletries and good breakfast. It was also nice to borrow bicycles from hotel. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. As a bonus it happened to be Saluzzo early music festival with lot of excellent free concerts (one at the San Giovanni). Saluzzo was charming town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    6.3
    Some lovely staff but we felt the management could focus more on the clients.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was noisy and inefficient. No action taken by staff when complained. I had asked the staff to arrange a special surprise to mark our 30th wedding anniversary. This was ignored entirely. Poor water pressure made shower and bath inadequate.

    Charismatic building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    10
    Beautiful historic building, fabulous interior decoration,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful historic building, fabulous interior decoration, good food in restaurant and for breakfast. Saluzzo is a beautiful city, and needs more visitors!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    10
    Living in history, a wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 11, with the frescoes, amazing. Highly recommended their restaurant in the cellar and loved having breakfast in their cloister with the central olive tree.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    4 DAYS OF SERENITY AND GREAT FOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I CAN THINK OF ANYTHING.

    Upon arriving, immediately felt at home. Their professionalism was only exceeded by their sincerity, helpfulness and friendliness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    A special place for our special occasion, simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had such a wonderful experience in every possible way. The resort was beautiful, the room was amazing, the staff was so friendly and professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    10
    Beyond lovely
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing! Gorgeous, so modern yet still its soul

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    9.2
    Beautiful old monastery building in the historical centre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful old monastery building in the historical centre, great private balcony with views of the tower and courtyard, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    10
    A trip back through time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to find, even with GPS. Road signs not sufficient. Lots of stairs from main street.

    Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful to stay in such a historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed the cellar restaurant wasn't open

    Wonderful to stay in such a historic building. The breakfast was unbelievable!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    8.3
    great for a couple of days
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unique rooms and building - converted old monastery, fascinating place to stay in

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    9.6
    La location è suggestiva
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    La location è suggestiva

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    San Giovanni Resort is a wonderful place for a short break, we’ll definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The junior suite is simply wonderful, very spacious & comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.6
    Loved Saluzzo and the hotel was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dead plants on the balcony

    Fantastic hotel. Kept many of he old features of he monastery, but combined with 21st century comfort.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.6
    The food and Chef in the restaurant were exceptional,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    unfortunately the two service staff in the restaurant let down the rest of the hotel

    The food and Chef in the restaurant were exceptional,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    exceeded expectatons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff and beauty

    special hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    4.6
    Miserable & Grey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con fixed, portable machine very very loud. Breakfast poor, very poor ambience, seemed almost deathly !!!!!!

    Location, authenticity

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    The hotel staff is very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit tricky to find the way using Waze.

    The hotel staff is very helpful. Restaurant is excellent and personal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    noting

    good location.good stuf.beatiful city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location and comfort in a wonderful historical town
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise of the heating.

    The breakfast is wonderful with a large choice of pastry, beverage and other good things. The staff is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    The bulding and updated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bulding and updated rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.6
    The staff was super friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location in an historical property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location in an historical property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Exceptional expierence, really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional expierence, really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful atmosphere in ancient building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Hotel de charme

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    Everything wonderful!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything wonderful!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    Fantastic - cant wait to stay again but this time with my family!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    9.6
    Stunning place to Chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful calm hotel... serene

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    10
    Mystic and magical stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Magical and mystic feeling to stay in this old convent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    9.2
    Simple, elegant rooms, good, modern bathroom w jacuzzi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar at the hotel didn't have gin and was too brightly lit to be in any way cosy for a drink before dinner. Parking was tight and saw one other customer knock bits off his Range Rover trying to get out of it.

    Simple, elegant rooms, good, modern bathroom w jacuzzi. Great views. Reception staff were all cheerful. Tried the restaurant downstairs which offered decent food at a fair price.

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    10
    Excellent place, atmosphere and facilities in an ancient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Narrow roads to the castle are challenging but doable.

    Excellent place, atmosphere and facilities in an ancient castle marvellous. Unbelievable place in good sense. Really worth of visit of couple of days. Much more than expected.

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2015

    10
    This hotel is in a lovely old building in the centre of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because the area is so quiet and the building has big vaulted ceilings, the noise of guests and staff in the corridors echoes around in the mornings. You need a town car pass to drive to the hotel - this pass was emailed to us a few hours before we came, but luckily we found somewhere to print it out. It would be good if Booking.com had sent this out immediately with the confirmation.

    This hotel is in a lovely old building in the centre of the historic part of town. The area is extremely quiet. Our room was great, with access to a balcony overlooking the central courtyard and 2 old bell towers. Breakfast was excellent - a good healthy selection.

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    10
    I absolutely loved this hotel and the fact that they had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wouldn't change a thing! :)

    I absolutely loved this hotel and the fact that they had done such a loving restoration of a historic old building. The location was perfect, on a hill overlooking the city, the staff were super welcoming and friendly, the rooms were spotless and stylish, and I really enjoyed the town, which I had never visited before. Cannot wait to return to Saluzzo, and especially to San Giovanni. A wonderful stay!

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    9.6
    such a friendly staff especially Simone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the first drive to the hotel!

    such a friendly staff especially Simone. Nothing was too much trouble. The 'hotel' experience was incredible, and something that we will always remember.

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2015

    8.3
    The charm of this hotel located in a beautiful monastery and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning. Very problematic in summer nights. The service was ok but not up to the standard you would expect in such a place.

    The charm of this hotel located in a beautiful monastery and a very nice village

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    10
    This 15th century convent has amazing views of Saluzzo, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This 15th century convent has amazing views of Saluzzo, a hidden gem in Piedmont. The staff is incredible, the rooms are impeccable; an interesting mix of modern and antique. It is attached to a beautiful church, which you can enter directly from the courtyard. The hotel is in the center of medieval Saluzzo. Must defintely experience the restaurant as well.

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2015

    7.5
    Perfect location for exploring beautiful Saluzzo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our particular bedroom could be improved by a lighter, more cheerful colour scheme, instead of grey which makes the room depressing during rainy weather. A chest or some shelves for clothes would have been nice. A surprising amount of noise from next door bathrooms.

    Perfect location for exploring beautiful Saluzzo. Car park directly outside. Hotel provided very good directions. Extremely welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2015

    10
    Magnificent setting, with tasteful and charming decor and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Interesting driving through narrow winding old streets to arrive, but worth it.

    Magnificent setting, with tasteful and charming decor and restorations throughout. The medieval village architecture and local museum just a few meters away (Casa Cavassa) had unexpected beauty and art works. Do not miss nearby Castello della Manta if you like medieval/gothic art. Staff all very courteous. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2015

    9.2
    The hotel manages to integrate its monastic heritage with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heater/aircon did not seem terribly effective. Mosquito mesh in the windows would be a great plus.

    The hotel manages to integrate its monastic heritage with dignity and e.g. offers modern bathroom facilities that fit in style and composition to the ancient ambience. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    9.2
    Staff are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff are wonderful. Hotel is restored church monastery wonderfully managed by community and private investors attached to a beautiful 14th century church, also in the process of restoration. Community is friendly and quaint. Wonderful two day stopover on the way to Sanremo...

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    8.3
    The experience of staying in the modernised monistary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The experience of staying in the modernised monistary.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2016

    9.6
    excellent hotel with unique architecture (interior and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent hotel with unique architecture (interior and exterior). professional and friendly staff. excellent interior restaurant.

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2016

    10
    Fantastic location, beautifull building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location, beautifull building

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2016

    10
    Really Charming place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really Charming place .

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel San Giovanni Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: