Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Lorenzo a Linari Resort

Loc. Linari 220 - San Rocco a Pilli, 53018 San Rocco a Pilli, Italy

#4 of 4 hotels in San Rocco a Pilli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 177 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    A very comfortable and convenient place to visit Siena and other attractions in rural Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about

    Very helpful and courteous staff. They took pains to ensure that our stay and visit to Tuscany was worth the while. Gave very good recommendations about restaurants and places to visit. Very friendly and nice. The swimming pool was a great way of relaxing after a whole day out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful surroundings and incredible building in need of some updating and food services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool requires some attention and the lack of facilities like restaurant and bar

    The property did not have any facilities, when booking I was under the impression there was a spa as specified in the name. In fairness the owners had just recently taken over and were obviously trying to start up but there was no access to a restaurant or pool bar etc. You definitely need car hire if staying here as everything is a good 12/15 minute drive away. Otherwise the staff were very helpful and polite. With a young family it would have been nice to have access to more food/drinks or even basic supplies available for purchase like bread etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The place is so peaceful and relaxing, you are virtually...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There should be more road signs to get you to the place, we had to stop two people to ask for the directions in order to get to the Resort.

    The place is so peaceful and relaxing, you are virtually surrounded by nature. We were waken by the birds singing every morning. Hopefully, next time we will have more time to spend it in the beautiful garden and by the pool of this Resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, good location but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price for the cleaning is very high. For 65 EUR we expected every day cleaning. Chairs are really uncomfortable. Also the table was funny - we could eat like quin and king on two sides only. Not appropriate for 4 persons at all. Apartment could be very uncomfortable for 4 people . The website of the resort promises much more than you can actually get. No breakfast, no spa, no restaurant available at the moment.

    We arrive at the end of April, at the beginning of the season, thus it was very quite. We expected the Tuscan country-side and we stayed 3 nights only, so no big expectation for comfort. This is very good location and starting point to visit nice towns of Tuscany. It is located near to Siena, what allows you a quick escape for a drink there. The staff is very nice. They gave as good tips where to go, where to eat locally. If you like historical old buildings with authentic furniture you will enjoy the romantic stay in this Resort, but if you prefer a modern equipment, the smell of the apartment might disturb you. The heating was very good. You could adjust it to our own need. This is perfect 10. Wi-fi was good. Parking place was good because there were not a lot of guests in the resort at the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful base from which to relax and explore Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms and kitchenettes are no longer 'brand new' but the space available and the charm and quality of the setting more than make up for this.

    This was our second time staying at Linari, and we absolutely love it. Magical setting, affordable room rate (there are two different grades at different price levels), and easy access to Siena by car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to step back in time...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning, since I was on the very top floor, 52 steps and two landings, it was hot. However, many windows to open and a fan was provided. The beauty of this ancient building made up for it.

    Very serene and relaxing. Breakfast served pool side by owner, fresh and yummy. Very friendly staff and beautifully maintained building. View from my room was spectacular. The Spa was an extra bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful buildings, views and location but felt more basic than the name suggests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This felt more like a self catering room than a wellness/spa resort really. It's very basic in terms of facilities, no air con, no place to sit apart from a pew or hard back chair in the room. There only seemed to be the owner and two other members of staff on rotation which felt a bit like you were left to your own devices a lot of the time! When we arrived we weren't given any information about BBQ facilities, the spa, treatments, the rooms being cleaned etc etc - even where to put our rubbish out! There is a poolside snack bar which you can just help yourself to and write down what you have had which is good, but due to that it's a bit messy, lots of flies and needed a good sort out really, the pool didn't really seem to be anyone cleaning or dredging it for flies, so I did it a few times! Also the pools surrounding areas need a bit of TLC. We stayed for 5 nights and we didn't have a cleaner or fresh towels once. Also the spa seemed to be shut a lot of the time, we popped our head in once we'd found it and it all looked very shut up.

    The property itself is absolutely stunning and the views are breathtaking. Its very quiet and perfect for total relaxation by the pool all day, and its a great base for exploring the region, Siena etc. The staff and owner are very welcoming - you feel a bit like family being welcomed into their home

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    The situation of the hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and corridors very acoustic, nice swimming pool but quite cool. I missed a comfortable armchair to sit in in the room. Quite simple bathroom but clean.

    The situation of the hotel was perfect. Calm and beatiful place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great Escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing. A great place to escape to. The building is an old monastery so the place has that historical feel to it. Great room, great pool. San Rocco a Pili is a 5 minute drive for restaurants, groceries and a laundromat! Great place to run or walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location and views for an amazing price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had issues with the boiler and shower so unfortunately had to have a few cold showers. There was a large group of people staying at the same time as us who were partying by the pool at 2am which spoilt the peace and quiet of the accommodation slightly.

    The location of this accommodation was stunning. Great for relaxing - the pool facilities were lovely. Our apartment was so spacious and ideal for 6 adults. Lovely staff and great restaurant recommendation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Fairy tale country house with fantastic gardens and pool - perfect to relax and go for walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very few signage to find the property.

    It was wonderful to have my own kitchen to try out Italian dishes that I wanted to prepare myself. The house and gardens were exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.4
    Self catering apartments not a hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is actually self catering apartments which is not clear. If the property was called Linari Self Catering apartments it would be better. You need to go to the nearest town and buy food and drink before you come as there is no restaurant onsite. We didnt realise this and it seems from other reviews this has happened many times before too! We also arrived and were told we couldn't use the spa which was one of the main reasons we booked it. You can only use it in the daytime so you need to be aware of that too. The apartments are clean but old and a bit musty. The rooms we had looked nothing like the images on booking.com. So we were disappointed and felt this was not good value for money.

    Beautiful rural location, fantastic views and wonderful old building. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    6.7
    Place with amasing atmoshere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Apartment wasn't clean enought. Cleaning ladies could work better.

    Very nice place, old buildings with great atmosphere. We had a biggest apartment with 4 bedrooms, it was very comfortable. Had everything what we needed. Very nice swimming pool with exact number of sun beds as guests. So we always had as many as we needed. Location in the midle of nowhere, what was perfect for us. Great views on wonderful Tuscan fields.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Ideal AgriTourismo spot just near Sienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building and grounds in the country side just 10-15 mins drive from Sienna. We stayed one night while on a 2 week self-guided bike tour through Tuscany. The pool was a special treat after a long hot day of biking. Thankfully, the manager's email guided us to the location, without which it would have been hard to find. Once there, we loved the serenity and seclusion. While we didn't make our meals while staying, it was obvious that many families were enjoying their apartments and cooking their meals on-site and eating in the beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    3.3
    This is not an hotel more a time shared flat. No service at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No service at all. Bed sheet was not changed in 10 days. Room was not cleaned in 10 days. Had to ask for toilet paper and trash bag. Do not expect a 3 stars hotel service.

    Quiet property in the middle of Toscana in an old mansion.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    Under The Tuscan Sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No local supermarket for food supplies. Four flights of stairs to reach one apartment and no lift.

    Great swimming pool and bar with coffee machine. Lovely old converted monastery with beautiful grounds in the Tuscan countryside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    A gorgeous location in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Electricity kept going off.

    Beautiful Villa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant with some frustration related to going back and forth to the hotel from drives around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No other facilities located within easy driving distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.5
    Only good for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi. Uncomfortable bed. Very load location full of families with children. Not good for a private stay.

    Pretty location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Would be nice if either breakfast was provided or a basket...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if either breakfast was provided or a basket as unless you had a car supermarket quite a distance away

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Great for a getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and surrounding countryside was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    2nd time for us...hope to come back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The birds singing in the morning...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no dailly housekeeping and also breakfast...

    Architecture, view, nature...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best experience in Tuscany ever. Laura is so nice The tuscany dinner is a must try

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    we have had a wonderful time, our daughter loved the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    do not expect to much of the breakfast.

    Beautiful area, Quality-Price value, super!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    A bit off the beaten path;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit off the beaten path; very quiet and relaxing with beautiful surroundings. Made travelling with a 1-yr-old "almost" relaxing! Also our room was very spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.1
    The location is almost perfect for middle Toscana region, in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    For along 1 week stay our room was not cleaned even once, although we asked for. when we arrived the gas supply for the appartment (stove + hot shower) was not working, but it was fixed the following day.

    The location is almost perfect for middle Toscana region, in a 50 minutes drive maximum for most far destination im middle Toscana, with good access to Siena, just a 10-12 minutes drive. Bruno, the owner is lovely and also the staff with Gabrielle. The place itself is enchanting, and has its magic.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    5.8
    Beautiful magical setting 20 minutes south of Sienna in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No screens on the windows and we were only provided one fan for a four bedroom apartment. There were some insects and it was very hot and difficult to get a good nights sleep during July. When we asked for extra fans they said none were available. This shows a surprising lack of interest in the comfort of the hotel guests. We had to try to buy our own, wasting time & money. The 4 bedroom apartment was very spacious & reasonably well equipped, although dusty in the corners. The fridge was not full size & some of the shelves were broken, not good enough for 7 people. The wifi was poor and not available in the apartment.

    Beautiful magical setting 20 minutes south of Sienna in a former monestary, lovely grounds & views, great atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    4.2
    Hotel does not offer cleaning facility, you have to clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel does not offer cleaning facility, you have to clean your appartment, they offer free towels only on the first day, after thst you havd to pay, location is in s beautiful spot but very far.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    This old convent has really beautiful grounds and amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was served quite late (from 8am) so we had to leave by then. The rooms could do with more airing but otherwise it was fine.

    This old convent has really beautiful grounds and amazing views of the countryside. It was a good base from which to explore the area and the rooms were spacious, basic but comfortable. The bathrooms were working well and renovated, and we had a little kitchenette as well. Great value for money!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    5.4
    The external & the point of view,the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is a little outdated and old-fashioned,not really cozy as we expected from a resort

    The external & the point of view,the building

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    We had our best time here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had our best time here!Beautiful place,great accomodation,nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Bruno is such an amazing host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!

    Bruno is such an amazing host! He was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was great and the cappuccino, amazing#

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.3
    Rooms cramped and uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our dog was made to feel really welcome

    Rooms cramped and uncomfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    6.7
    Its history
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Its history

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    Very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable and clean. Perfect blend of antique setting and modern comfort. We loved the old key to our apartment.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    10
    ¸Locaction, flexibility of stuff, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    ¸Locaction, flexibility of stuff, breakfast

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: