Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Lorenzo 3 stars

Corso Garibaldi 3, 23022 Chiavenna, Italy

#2 of 5 hotels in Chiavenna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 331 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management seemed cold. The room was bare... Nothing in the minibar... No rubbish bin. The shower pressure was weak. Terribly disappointing for the price we paid.

    The location and the breakfast. The view from the room was very picturesque.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be more than a continental breakfast for extra payment...

    Very clean,enough space +large balkony...Good parking-garage under hotel equipped with elevator direkt to room level..Nice restaurant in the hotel for good dinner...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my 4th time at San Lorenzo and it is such a nice hotel. I love everything about it. The food in the restaurant is fantastic, the service is great, the beds are comfy and the rooms very clean. The wifi works just great. Right in the heart of the old town. Accessible to everything. Parking is a bonus! I never stay anywhere else. Thank you San Lorenzo for another super visit!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beside the room and associated restaurant there is nothing else in the hotel.

    Rooms were very modern and new, and extra large beds in the room enough for a family of 4. Breakfast was not too bad as well, a typical Italian breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Insipid breakfast, which is usual in Italy, but poor coffee is not!

    Small and no frills, but clean and reasonably comfortable room in a charming little alpine town. Helpful and efficient staff. Restaurant is not too bad.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would like to check-in at 14:10 on 03.08.2016, but there was no one at the desk. We contacted staff in the restaurant next to door for help and then still had to wait for a while till the person came. Besides it, it will be great if the room will have a water cooker with some tea bags.

    This hotel has modern facilities and a nice breakfast space. We are satifisied with the cleanliness and the air-conditioning. The location is great, just near our favorite restaurant "Crotto Ombra".

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The description of services in booking.com does not meet actual situation. Personnel didn't pay attention to the special request regarding the room (otherwise I would choose another hotel). Very noisy air-conditioner. Very modest breakfast. Problematic communication in English. Thanks to bald man who helped solving parking problems (the lady was quite rude).

    Only wifi was good, however it couldn't compensate other inconveniences such as very small room for 3 persons, very noisy air-conditioner, modest breakfast, personnel's unwillingness to solve parking problems.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Right in the heart of the old town, lovely rooms and great breakfast. We also ate dinner at their restaurant which was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was lovely, with a fresh modern design in seemingly the most up market part of town. The rooms are very functional and comfortable. We had to change our stay from 2 nights to 1 night last minute (missing the no charge amendment date) so the owner covered our evening meal as an unexpected gesture.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of a problem checking in, but staff sorted it out quickly with an upgrade!

    Comfortable modern rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this whole town is a huge ripoff, just go to next village

    location is nice, it is pretty central

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    City location, with a big garden and lovely rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    honestly everything. Genuine, no frills, but more than just traditional. Perfectly in tune with the culture of the area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great central location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Friendly staff. Underground parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have stayed here twice now with adult family and this is the best hotel. I don't get the other reviewers. It is so much more than basic. It is in the perfect location in Chiavenna. The restaurant is wonderful (try the local traditional gnocchi) and next door is a great wine shop. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The room is updated and comfortable with great views no matter what side you are on. Parking is in their private underground garage and accesses the hotel via an elevator. I will stay here again. It is a great hotel. Enjoy!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing!

    Location to town and shopping, best dinner we had on our trip and best night's sleep! This is a lovely hotel and I highly recommend it. Parking and WiFi were easy to find and use. Lovely updated facility. I hope to stay again!

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities are minimal. For example: the shower is very small with no place to put the soap and shampoo. Wifi was free but one had to re-register repeatedly.

    Location is very good. Free car parking of the hotel. The hotel is new and modern

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con (only in summer apparently) and heating on full blast. No tea or coffee in room. No information in the room and staff on reception not friendly.

    Modern and clean Good location Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was terrible for a 3 star hotel. The bar wasn't open in the evening and the place lacked character.

    The location was great, the room was spacious and a great bathroom with hydromassage shower.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The amazing view from your room

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Non English speaking staff

    Few steps from the rail station, rooms and hotel really clean, staff friendly and helpful !

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Easy parking, very good restaurant for the evening, full of people, great food and atmosphere. Rooms good for the price. We come back!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Room very clean and silent

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location service breakfast tranquility

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of a common space. Soundproofing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast no so rich.

    Hotel is in the centre of the city, is a nice place with a good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the empty fridge / minibar stank; the very complicated shower

    the location next to old town and grotti is perfect

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    reception a bit odd - felt like a hostel

    Room very comfortable & spacious. Garage for motorcycle was great

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic but excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was very helpful, breakfast was fantastic, and the view was outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very clean and a stones throw from the station. Could not have been better.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: