Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Lorenzo Guest House

Via Degli Apuli 46, San Lorenzo, 00185 Rome, Italy

#2623 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 105 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    A bit more attention to detail and it would be a great place with great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite dirty, we were also told breakfast was served between 8-10am and we went out the room to find where this was at 9:30 to be told that breakfast was finished at 9:30 and was actually served in the room but no information about this was given at all and we were offered coffee at this point. A bit disappointing when we chose a room with breakfast included. The air conditioning didn’t work very well and I found the room very warm as well.

    Friendly staff, clean bed, good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom could be better - lots of water on the floor, broken door handle, trash bin way too small

    tasty breakfast served in the morning, room pretty big and cozy, comfort bed, air conditioning, good room service, tram stop and grocery store very close to the guest house

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Clean areas, nice service and breakfast, good location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean areas, nice service and breakfast, good location with a good night life and restaurants. Close to metro stations when you need to go far from San Lorenzo, otherwise just walk because you will get to know a lot of places!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    Our room was big and clean with air condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a list of preferable products for breakfast that we were supposed to choose and after that we didn't get the things that we chose. We had to remind the stuff about breakfast and it seems that they throw away the lists that we filled out. Once we got one portion of breakfast instead of two. We weren't completely happy about the localization because we sometimes were afraid to walk as it was getting dark ( many homeless people and drunks).It was safe to walk during day.

    Our room was big and clean with air condition. They serve delicious croissants and coffee (when they don't forget to serve it). It takes about 16-20 minutes to get to Termini on foot. Tram stop is nearby (2 minutes walk).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Good price-quality level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping does'nt speak english and diddn't clean the room. Only change towels and the bed ( towels every two days, bed one time)

    The owner was very friendly! Very close to the tram. Very good restaurants in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay at San Lorenzo Guest House
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall our stay at San Lorenzo Guest House was very enjoyable. The guesthouse is located close to Termini but I bit further away from other main areas in Rome. However, the San Lorenzo neighborhood really comes alive in the evening. The staff was really nice and helpful, the wifi wasn't working in my room the first night but it got fixed immediately after I pointed it out. Everything was very clean as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice easy place. Really good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet wasn't working for the all stay. Breakfast is very basic, quite poor. Somebody was making woks in the upper floor and construction works woke all the hotel up at 7:10 in the morning.

    The staff is nice and friendly and trying to solve any problem you may have.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    Good clean place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too hard for us which is a personal preference but beside that nothing else, and sign could be bigger as we almost missed it!

    Staff were lovely, and made some of the best coffee on my travels. Good location area looks dodgy but didn't feel unsafe at all, and walked to and from all the major sites. Close to public transport. Rooms are of an older style but are clean and we enjoyed the seperate rooms for our kids (teens) and us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice and comfy place, if you're prepared for some typically Italian quirks
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My Italian is not that great but most of the times I can manage. However, it was very hard for me to understand what some people of the staff were saying. The owner speaks English, fortunately. With checkout there was nobody and I really had to get my plane. I think it all went okay.

    A clean and quiet place, no noise, perfect to get some rest. San Lorenzo is a lively neighbourhood with lots of students who can be noisy. However, you won't notice any of that at this guest house.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    9.2
    Super clean and comfyguest house for those on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful welcome. Lovely clean comfy rooms. A good choice of breakfast. Excellent value for money, had a really nice stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Great. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vincenzo the owner was extra kind. This B&B is perfect well connected to all the sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Clean staff was very friendly and spoke English
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean staff was very friendly and spoke English

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Our stay was very good although I wouldn't recommend the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.8
    San Lorenzo is comfortable, convenient and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps made it a little clearer when a staff member is on the desk/reception and when not.

    San Lorenzo is comfortable, convenient and friendly. The room has an ensuite, a small fridge, a kettle and Sky TV. There are many lovely eating places nearby and it is off the tourist trail. I was very happy there and would recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.1
    1. The breakfast was simple, but tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The area around the hotel looks a bit rough, but the staff members said that it was a safe place. 2. I found the room a bit dark, so you need to leave the window open if you want more lighting. 3. We had to pay an extra city tax not included in the room price, so that was not so good, but we understand that this things happen. 4. They do not have reception 24 hours a day, so you have to get all information that you need when you find someone at reception.

    1. The breakfast was simple, but tasty. 2. We found all facilities in the room, including hairdryer, kettle. 3. Although without knowing much English, the staff members tried to be nice and helpful. 4. The hotel helped us to book the taxi to the airport, so it was really convenient.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.3
    Rooms are renovated and looks new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After evening no counter manning. If require assistance. 1st time locating the the hotel from rome train terminal is chanllenging.

    Rooms are renovated and looks new.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.5
    Close to Tibutina station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In 24 Jan, 2016. The house is really really cold!!!! No heater. Even with the AC, its working but no effect at all!!! Cold!!!

    Close to Tibutina station

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    6.7
    The breakfast was pretty good, they could change their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room stank of smoke. It was revolting, especially as I'm pregnant, no staff around to tell this to.

    The breakfast was pretty good, they could change their supplier for the stale pastries though

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Everybody was super nice at the guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everybody was super nice at the guesthouse. The rooms were clean and modern and had air conditioning. There is a supermarket just around the corner and the bus stop to get to the center within 15-20 minutes ist only 100 meters away, if not less. And there is a little kiosk to buy the tickets just right in front. My brother, my little cousin and I enjoyed our trip to the fullest and loved the hospitality of the San Lorenzo guesthouse.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.3
    room was comfortable and air conditioning was good.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast was not reasonable. Bathroom's cleanliness was not proper. Area around the hotel was not so clean.

    room was comfortable and air conditioning was good. supermarket and tram very near.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.6
    All was perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Place a little ugly area, but easy access to the same center and walking to the Coliseum is 25 minutes.

    All was perfect ! Super house keeper ( Dansins) :)

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.8
    Friendliness and helpfullness of the staff and owner.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The room may be a little bit bigger. Wifi gets slow sometimes.

    Friendliness and helpfullness of the staff and owner. Very close locaion to both Termini Station and Sapienza University.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.3
    Helpful receptionist, connected me with my Italien friends...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Thre should be coffee & tea facilieties in the room to make the place better.

    Helpful receptionist, connected me with my Italien friends for free. Nice breakfast included some sweet rolls. refridge with cool drinks in it. Many young people to talk around during week-end.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    7.5
    staff is really very helpful and well informed about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

    staff is really very helpful and well informed about the place

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    8.8
    We like so much cleaness of the room specially of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like so much cleaness of the room specially of the bathroom. Quiet street in a nightlife zone.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    10
    Really nice staff, warm environment, great breakfast :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really nice staff, warm environment, great breakfast :)

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.8
    Excellent value for money, nice staff and delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy air conditioning

    Excellent value for money, nice staff and delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.5
    Location - Ease of transport to major places of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location - Ease of transport to major places of interest

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    7.1
    Very nice personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice personal

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse San Lorenzo Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: