Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Lorenzo 2 stars

Via Rosina 4, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#295 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 925 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.8
    Superb location, shàbby, poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 50 stairs to climb to get to get to this hotel, and no assistance offered. 5 beds packed into one room. Parking exorbitant at 25 euro per day. Generally a rather shabby, poorly kept hotel

    Hotel has a superb location, walking distance from from the major museums, squares, etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was on the upper floor

    located exactly between the train station and the city center, the staff was very friendly and helpful, they let us keep our luggages even after check out for a couple of hours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    Tipical dormitory which get enough score to be called 2 star hotel but I felt like a dump hostel
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price we paid for a bedroom which was a wardrobe with small window, cables and flying power boards to attach devices and old carpet was a total rob . Shared bathroom one floor above which was 1.5 square meter toilet with shower hose and not even a hook where to hang a towel or a little soap dispenser for wash hands.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Location, location, location. Basic hotel but fine to put your head down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was definitely very basic, the worst part was how noisy the hotel is. My room was next to reception so literally heard everyone coming in, chatting away and then the noise in the morning, crockery clinking etc was a nightmare :(

    Location is the main draw to this place, 5 mins to the Duomo, 3 mins to Mercato Centrale, 10 mins to Ponti Vecchio! Staff very pleasant as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, close to the downtown, parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not the newest, you should have high expectations.

    Very close to Firenze downtown, one minute to Medicci Chappel, just opposite Central Market. They offer paid parking in a garage about 100m from the hotel. Good value for money. Clean and safe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location, affordable price at minimum (but acceptable) room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel in 3rd floor but no elevator so it's not convenient with big luggage. room very small (around 6qm) and simple (a bed, a chair, a table, a fan, a small fridge and an air-con)

    Located in city center, near a local market. Hotel is clean in general Receptionist is very friendly and smiling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    The room was very dark and the ceiling were too high and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have iron box as people who come to stay carry lot of luggage and the clothes do get crumpled. It’s helpful for the long run. Kettle for tea and coffee. Safe for valuables.

    The room was very dark and the ceiling were too high and we could see the dust as it was not cleaned properly. There was no safe locker like all the other hotels we stayed and we had to give our keys everytime we went out. We were carrying all our valuables (laptop, passport n ornaments) with us due to this reason. We were so disappointed when we asked for an iron box and they did not have it which we expected all the hotels to have. No kettle for hot water. The most frustrating bit was, when I booked the hotel I selected book now and pay later, they blocked my money from my bank account even before we arrived. When we arrived I paid from a different card and the money they blocked was released after 4 days. As a result I was not able to use that money as their bank did not release it.. it was frustrating as I kept that money for my expenses n I had to use my credit card which was inconvenient for me. The only good thing was the location, rest everything is a big NO and we will never come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location- right outside central market walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reservation said wifi was included. You did not have WiFi unless you were in a particular spot in the lobby, and that’s actually something I needed and what I based my reservation on

    Great location- right outside central market walking distance from trains

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, the carpet, the ventilation in that tiny room wasn’t that great. bathroom could use a bigger shower curtain but you get what you pay for.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location, but noisy street and thin windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs to reach the reception are a bit steep. It is not possible to control the heating in the room, so we had to use the air conditioning to balance the excessive heating, which is a waste of power. The windows are quite thin and do not block noises at all, such as night activities and garbage disposal from the street. The blinds are also fixed and do not provide full darkness at night.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    The place is value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is what appears to be one toilet that is shared by a lot of people. Furthermore, the shower facilities could be upgraded so as that you do not need to wipe the whole bathroom when you are done showering.

    The property is located in the center of the city close to the main attraction sites. Furthermore, there are convenience shops and the main train station within a walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    2.5
    The worst hotel in my whole life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Worst hotel i ve Never been visited.the rooms were dark without any window and dirty.the personal of the hotel was bad and not friendly. I was sick because of this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is on the second floor with no lift access. Our room was adequate, rather dark but the bathroom was great.

    Excellent central location. Close to restaurants, markets and the railway station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.6
    EMMMMMM.... will not recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. No Lifts! Unhelpful staff manning recep upon our arrival "said sorry you paid 70 Euros a night and nobody can help" - as if to imply its our fault - so we had to drag our 4 nos. mid sized 20+kg luggages + smaller bags up winding flight of stairs to the 3rd level room ourselves - Talking about a warm welcome. 2. Dark, dingy hotel with controlled access.

    Besides Location, nothing else.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Central location at bargain price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Given the location/price ratio, you cannot expect five star accommodations. My room was small, but everything was clean, well maintained, and comfortable. Those who are looking for water, kettles, (or an elevator - this is an old building in an old town!) should keep in mind that there is an alimentari right next door and bars that sell cheap coffee everywhere. For the money I saved on the hotel bill, I could afford to buy plenty of water and very nice meals in the neighborhood.

    The location at the center of Florence cannot be beat. Neither can the price; the rates are amazingly affordable. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Location and staff were the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With little investment the hotel can be a much better place. Paint the walls and new sheets and some decor would not do any harm.

    The staff is great and helpful. Well organized and available all the time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Good value of money esp travelling with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom on my friends room needs updating as it floods after taking a shower and the toilet seat are high for the children.

    Near the market , train station and easy to explore around

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.2
    Barely acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, 51 Steps up to second floor 🤬. Staff carried our 2 bags for us). Breakfast not included, was €5 extra for stale croissants & coffee (juice and cornflakes available)🤮. Room barely big enough, noisy at night (we were on street side). Description on Booking.com was lacking in these details😡.

    Good location - That’s it😠

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is in a fantastic location, easy walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a fantastic location, easy walk to everywhere (train station, galleries/museums, food, shopping). There is someone on the desk 24 hours, and I found all the staff were lovely. The furnishings were quaint and characterful. The bathroom could do with some updating, however it too was in keeping with the quaint furnishings. Access was up two floors (4.5 flights of stairs).. it was heavy going with a big pack on my back. I would recommend this place to stay, but be mindful of accessibility issues.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.2
    Charges too much for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced: 85 euros for room without bahroom. Hotel is in the second floor without ascensors. Shared bathroom not clean.

    Localization, near San Lorenzo Market

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Great clean, comfortable location in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night and morning because of the market stalls

    We had a comfortable room for 5. The bathroom was new with a wonderful shower. Beds were very comfortable. Very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    San Lorenzo accomodated our needs for one night, late arrival and included bathroom for under $100
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed to learn that we couldn't have the breakfast that was included in the price because we got in too late and they'd already ordered. Seems they should have included us in their order because we had a reservation or corrected the order or somehow accommodated us .

    We needed a place that could let us in at midnight. San Lorenzo was good for that. And we had our own bathroom - the two things I needed. We had to take a taxi from the airport when we arrived due to the late hour. But the next day we were able to walk to the train station so the central location paid off in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Dont bring a heavy luggage if u do decide to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of stairs to climb in order to get to the rooms so if you're carrying heavy luggages.. Good luck :)

    Friendly receptionist, pretty good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to climb stairs and if you have big luggage it might be difficult. The bathroom is shared but i guess thats common.

    Very good location!! Right infront of the market and the train station is near.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.8
    not good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    its an old looking hotel with no lights and no many guest waiting in hotel even in prime location. the reception person changed thrice in 4 hrs and looks like the hotel is just running for sake. Doesn't look healthy for a couple or single girl to stay in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Short time stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.You need to consider that the hotel is not suitable for old people. There is no lift, and at night time it is a bit noisy. 2. Wi-Fi signal was poor. 3. There was unpleasant smell when we checked-in, that why we had to open windows ( and it was 32 C degrees outside).

    1. You choose this hotel only for the location. It is in walking distance from the center of Florence, main attractions, Central Market(which is brilliant). 2. Bathroom was clean. 3. Size of the room is decent. We stayed only 1 night, basically it wasn't bad for short stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    3.8
    The location was excellent, which was why i booked here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    You walk up 3 flights of stairs with your luggage in the sweltering heat to be told by the check in guy that your $180 a night room has no AC, and when I ask if there is a room with AC we could upgrade to, he laughs sadistically and says "a room in Florence with AC is $600 a night". It is a Friday night, we have been travelling all day - I figure we can survive and things will cool as the night falls. He brings us to our room, which - although we asked for separate beds (I am travelling with my 16 year old son) we get a room (or really a cell) with one full sized bed. I feel pretty much like there is nothing we can do. It is 4 pm in Florence on a Friday night and the front desk guy has told us a room elsewhere would be $600. I gird myself for a rough night in the most expensive hotel we have booked for our month long stay in Europe. I want my 16 year old son to see central Florence before we have to take a train out to Austria the next day. We leave our luggage on the disgusting red carpet that feels disgustingly moist under our feet and head out. "We didn't come here to be in a room anyway" I tell myself. The location of the San Lorenzo is quite excellent. 5 minute walk and you are in central florence. Across the street also is an amazing marketplace with gourmet food. Don't miss it. - Okay so midnight we return to the room. With the lights on, I can see how utterly filthy this place is. There is a window with bars on it above the bed. The front desk man had said if we opened the window, mosquitoes would come in. I thought "how bad can it be?". So I open the window because the room is sweltering. Mosquitoes swarm in because the window opens to like another apartment area where people must have sitting water on their walkways. Close the window. We pull the disgusting bedcover off the bed and my son tunes in to the meager wifi that struggles to connect thru the dense walls.

    The location was excellent, which was why i booked here. Too bad the hotel is such an overpriced flop house - it was by far our worst stay in Europe, and the 2nd worst place I have ever stayed in my life of international travel (worst place was a $5 a night in a small town in Guatemala where the mattress was on the floor, if that gives you visual for comparison).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    Sleep in an oven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation (one tiny high window to protected courtyard) and no air conditioner. Barely tolerable with fan in Florence in June. Do not recommend in summer!!!!!

    Very clean. They stored our bags for us while we toured all day. Shower tiny and up a staircase but good water pressure. Great location but not worth the price without a/c and windows.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is a good one with kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor wifi connection

    The hotel is a good one with kind staff. The location is very good, 5 minutes walk to Duomo. The room was beautiful and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.3
    Staff were quite helpful and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt a bit moldy. No elevator, though it's already mentioned in the description, I still need to emphasize that the levels are higher than modern buildings. It's quite some climbs with heavy luggages.

    Staff were quite helpful and hospitable. Central located, walkable distance to all sightseeings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    A good locale in Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to San Lorenzo Market. And, a short walk to the train station and to the Accedemia to see David. We stayed in a quad room that was a good value. It had a small refrigerator that we used to keep some water bottles cold for our return to the room. The windows blocked the street noise from the market and restaurant below, so the room was quiet. Receptionist was friendly and nice when he checked us in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Hotel was close to most everything, there was a park near by...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to use a parking garage and it was not stated in the booking or hotel website prior, might be a good tip to add for future travelers. Also, the hotel was pet friendly but would not let us leave our pet in the room without supervision. Also something that should be mentioned on the website prior to booking.

    Hotel was close to most everything, there was a park near by for our puppy. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant Stay (Good value for money)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The hotel is on 2nd floor with very steap stairs, not good for old people or if you have big luggage. Needs an elevator after long day of walking the city, so hard to climb the stairs. - No refrigator, so if u r staying long time cannot bring food to avoid spoiling. - Also no kettele for boiling water and preparing some hot drinks for yourself. But all this was clearly mentioned on booking, so expected.

    - The room is clean. - The bed matress is very comfy. - The room decoration nice. - The bathroom is well prepared. - The staff are friendly. - The location is perfect, near the train station (8 mins walking), also only walking distance from the city center and main piazza and all the shopping and restaurants. Sure will recommend to friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommended place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the fact that this hotel does not have an elevator which at the same time is part of the charm of Florence.

    I liked the fact that the hotel was right next to the markets and I loved Bruno & Mariano, they where wondeful to us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy at night and early morning but probably is to be expected being so close to market sellers. Hard work carrying suitcases up 3 flights of stairs - no lift!

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    A good base if you intend to visit the Firenze essentials
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked to stay 2 days. Unfortunately, we lost the last train from Milano to Florence and missed the first of the two nights! No one from the hotel paid any attention to our absence (trying to contact us and find out what's happening, showing an interest). When we communicated with them (from a hotel in Bologna where we finally passed the night) they first wanted to make sure that we would pay the whole amount of money (for the 2 nights booked). We didn't intend to pay less money (it was our mistake to miss the train). We just found the behavior irrelevant. and got surprised cause the reception staff we met face to face the next day was really helpful.

    Nice place. Near the center of Florence and not far away the train station. The staff we met was friendly, really helpful and well informed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy neighborhood late midnight (probably from the downstairs restaurants ), difficult to sleep even if you switch on A/C and close windows tight.

    Near to Train station, safe,clean and comfortable with family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Friendly hotel close to the train station and the historical city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just for information..the hotel is on the second floor and there is no elevator. So for seniors it could be difficult to climb the stairs more times a day.

    The hotel was very close to the city centre, we could reach everything by walk. The staff was very friendly, we could leave our luggage there after our stay, while we went to sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.1
    Location of the hotel is great, close to city center but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am tall, so bed was too short for me.

    Location of the hotel is great, close to city center but quiet at night, many restaurants around the corner. Very nice staff, very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel made a prepayment authorization of the whole amount of accommodation but didn't charge it. Only blocked the money for up to 30 days and made it unavailable until the refund. I have to pay cash the entire amount at the front office. But I t may be also my fault because I did not inform better.

    The location was the best: right next to Mercato Centrale, really in the very heart of Florence. The train station is 5-10 minute walking distance. I traveled with other 3 friends and stayed in a 4 beds room with private bathroom and the room was clean and comfortable. The wifi was good. The hotel is at the second floor of an old building ( although the majority of buildings in Florence are old) with no elevator. So there are a few steps to go up but this did not bother us. Overall good money value hotel. I would stay here again keeping in mind the payment policy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Can recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a little bit afraid after seeing photos of the rooms made by guest, so in the hotel we were positively suprised. Room was big, clean, with a nice bathroom and comfortable beds Reception is open 24h In the hotel area you can find, even at night many shops open. It is close to the city center and to the bus to go to Piazzale Michaleangelo Quality/price range is very good :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    5.4
    Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heat in the room. It was January so we were freezing to death. Just one air conditioner which gives out hot air but then it wasnt to make the room hot.

    The beds and toilet was nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Good location, disturbing stairs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Disturbing and inconvenient too many stairs, very difficult with luggage, however, this is almost stated in their description, second floor with no lift! - We had to leave the key every time we go out, this was my first time to be asked to do so in a hotel. - Wifi wasn't stable most of the time. - A bit noisy because of the San Lorenzo Market

    - Good location, walking distance to everywhere. - Very near to Santa Maria Novella Train Station. - Friendly staff - Clean room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.3
    Decent enough stay but perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Night staff were rude and un-accommodating. very poor hospitality in comparison to the day staff. Asking for simple hot water & tea bags proved to be an arduous task. There is no lift- so you have to climb a few flights of stairs.

    Location was amazing! Perfect for exploring the city and right opposite the amazing food market. Bathroom facilities were good and room was comfortable. The lady at the front desk was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.9
    Good worth for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not put out info on the Web page about extra fees (town tax). STAIRS! OMG of you have got big/heavy luggage be ready! Three flight of stairs,although they warned us about that.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. Great location,10min walking distance to the center of town and to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay in the Heart of Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The San Lorenzo was exactly what we wanted for our stay in Florence (and exactly what the other reviews have indicated). This hotel is in the heart of Florence and a tremendous value. We stayed in a 3-bed room with an attached bathroom (wet bathroom, which fascinated our 9-year-old). The beds were "camp beds" (again, you will see this in the other reviews), but they were comfortable and clean, as was the bathroom. The owner of the hotel was on-site for most of our stay and was very nice and helpful. The hotel is also located across the street from the Florence Market, which provided a great place for quick meals, though there are also wonderful sit-down restaurants very close by for a more authentic experience. If you want to stay at a hotel that is a wonderful value and very close to everything in Florence, this is the place to stay. If you want to spend time seeing Florence and get a good nights rest after a day of walking this beautiful city, stay at the San Lorenzo. If you want a spa experience, Florence has other options for a lot more money. We highly recommend the San Lorenzo for budget-oriented travelers (with families) who want to focus on experiencing Florence and the joys of traveling.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    4.2
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived at the hotel around 14:00 the member of staff asked me to come back at 15:00 to checkin so they can clean the room. Later when i got there at 15:00 the same guy asked me to wait another hour to check in, i had to wait like till 16:00 to get the keys. the staff was not friendly. they don't have fridge in the room and the bathroom wasn't clean as it should be. And I'm pretty sure that blanket hasn't been changed for ages.

    The location was great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    A warm welcome in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As in many older buildings, there was no elevator - which is also noted in their advertisement. Those with mobility problems might have some trouble climbing the stairs with luggage.

    The location was very convenient and easy to reach on foot from Santa Maria Novella station. Reception was friendly and courteous, and the room clean and comfortable! They were also happy to store our luggage on the last day while we explored the city before catching our train.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    I love that location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love that location of the hotel. It was very close to everything and there is a carrefour express just around the corner! Stuff in hotel was great and friendly and there was always someone behind the reception desk, so if you need help with something, they are always there for you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    will stay here again)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was a little bit noisy, cause in the morning there was some works on market squere but it probably sоmething occausinal

    the room was very cosy, everything was clean, the location is excelent and You have a wondefull restaurant ZA-ZA near the building )

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    Definitely a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I traveled with my grandmother and her friend and the amount of stairs was a challenge for them. They also noted that we had the very top room with no emergency exit available. There was no breakfast on any morning as was advertised. Also the staff (according to my grandmother) wasn't very pleasant or helpful.

    The beds were fine and the location was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money in wonderful Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs but the management carried my bags up and were extremely kind and helpful. The property was well managed

    I loved the location and it was clean. I was worried cos of a bad review but the staff were caring and kind. The room was immaculate as were the shared facilities. I would definitely recommend it and hope to return some day. Every effort was made to ensure I was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a shared bathroom which was kept spotless up until the last day. We also didn't have air con in our room but I think it is an option in other rooms so request it when booking.

    The location is excellent, only a 5 minute walk to the train station and main square. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.8
    Great location, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was a bit loud. FYI, hotel is on the 3rd floor, and breakfast is not included in the price.

    Great location very near important sights. Refrigerator in room. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Agreeable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no proper shower! Room was small and dark. Bad accommodation.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Good position and quality/price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good position and quality/price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Wifi inside the rooms

    Location, value for money and very clean. Also great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Very well placed, near to all facilities and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Very well placed, near to all facilities and close to amnisties.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is an extra 5€ per person per day.

    Room was good sized and comfortable, very clean. Staff pleasant. The location is very good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was nice

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value, friendly staff, shared bathroom but was always available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Just a night stay. Nothing more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs to climb to reach to the room. Very ordinary rooms.

    Nothing mentionable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Friendly Personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Location. Helpful Reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    A good choice for a short stay in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room with shared bathroom has in fact no real window.

    Perfect location and nice staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Possibility of leaving the luggage before checkin

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.0
    Too much noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    good ,very good room and all things in order very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good ,very good room and all things in order very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Located in city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor wifi signal in the room. Signal often broke down.

    Located in city centre. Walking distance of 'everything'. Value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good staff and excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    3.8
    It is not acceptable to stay for 4 days and on the first day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is not acceptable to stay for 4 days and on the first day to be told that the linen and towels will not be changed for that period!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    practical in the heart of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic old interiors, however, in line with the price you pay

    practical in the heart of Florence. Nearby parking facility at reasonable price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.4
    Kindness of the host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness. Noise (there was a night when we heard a couple fighting and no one did anything).

    Kindness of the host. Reception opened 24 hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of (nice) stairs without lift difficult with child

    Nice old furniture, bathroom with bidet

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Lorenzo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: