Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Luca Palace 4 stars

Via San Paolino 103, 55010 Lucca, Italy

#5 of 33 hotels in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 216 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Luxury accommodation. Lovely very spacious room with extremely large comfortable bed. Well equipped bathroom with nice products. Nice nibbles served for the early bar. Extremely polite and helpful staff. Great secure parking adjacent to the hotel.Just inside the city wall so easy to reach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything!

    Staff were lovely and always very helpful. Room was excellent and large. Bed was large and comfey. Breakfast was good. We stayed for our wedding anniversay and we received a complementary bottle of prosecco - very much appreciated! Would have no hesitation going back to the San Luca Palace hotel again. Many Thanks for a great 3 days!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything but as a British traveller would have much appreciated tea and coffee making facilities in the room!

    This is a beautiful hotel with excellent accommodation and furnishings. The staff give a warm and friendly welcome which is sustained throught the stay. The luxury of car parking in such a small town as Lucca was a real bonus especially as the car park is shared with the local police - no worries about the safety of the hire car!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room.

    The room was spacious; the staff were delightful - helpful, charming and courteous, going out of their way to help us and make us welcome at all times. Breakfast very good in terms of both quality and variety

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints. Only thing missing was a kettle in the room but this was more than compensated by the cafe/bar in the hotel.

    Excellent location, great room, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable lounge and relaxing cafe/bar. The location within the city walls allowed us to slow down and spend our days exploring the fascinating city of Lucca. Location allowed easy exit from Lucca for exploring the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea and coffee making in the room would have been good.

    The hotel is brilliant, the room was good and the staff friendly and helpful. They have free bikes if you want to take a cycle around the town and the walls. The location is excellent if you want to enjoy the medieval town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was really annoying kept dropping off and you had to log on constantly 2 nights we couldn't get on for about 2 hours

    Clean friendly and great location. Our room was very large and had a nice aspect with windows you could open

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really isn’t anything to dislike.

    Location is fantastic, near the walls, near great restaurants but also quiet & a good nights sleep is guaranteed. There is an amazing buffet provided during your early evening aperitivo - perfectly prepared by Benito & drinks expertly served by Franco. Stop here for a cocktail.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would have been nice for T and coffee Wifi was non existent in our room however 😕

    Free cycle use was such a bonus and the location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea / coffee facilities or iron in the room. Would have expected both for a 4* hotel ?

    Lovely clean and well presented accommodation. 200m from the bus station just inside the city walls and only 2 min walk to all that Lucca has to offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is really nothing in this hotel to dislike.

    Staff as always were friendly, helpful & extremely professional. Location is excellent & for a busy town the hotel is quiet so a good nights sleep is assured.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a luxury hotel, very tired and poor breakfast. After paying the bill €770, we sat outside to wait for our taxi, ordered coffee which they then charged us for! Poor form

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small but perfectly ok for our stay

    The service was excellent - the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were friendly and welcoming and really made our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were all particularly friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.The location is perfect and Lucca is a lovely place to visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wow! What a fantastic experience we had staying in this lovely hotel in the gorgeous city of Lucca. We were greeted very warmly by reception at check in. They had decorated our room especially for us and it made us feel very special. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was lovely. Just a pity we could not have stayed longer. Could not recommend this hotel enough for anyone visiting Lucca. And the free bikes provided by the hotel to explore the city was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Bed was too firm. Bath as well as a shower. More space for storing clothes

    The manager was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not their fault, but make sure you call to get instructions if driving first - much easier way than GPS says :)

    Amazing staff - very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were very large and beds extremely comfortable. The free bikes were great for exploring!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No real outside space to sit and chill. There was a very small seating area at the front of the hotel but this was very small.

    Hotel staff extremely friendly/helpful. Lovely rooms, hotel very well situated just inside the gate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could do with with fresh pastries rather than industrialised bought ones.

    The rooms on the courtyard a very quiet, perfect for a good night's sleep. We had a little time to use the complimentary bikes and cycle around the city wall. Staff are very helpful and generous with their time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was filling but freshly cooked eggs would have been lovely.

    Spotlessly clean rooms & staff are really friendly, professional & really cannot do enough for you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishings and bathroom a little dated but acceptable. Bed good size.

    Location excellent. Staff ditto. Car park adjacent and price not unreasonable compared with Pisa hotel. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The spacious room was cleverly decorated and it's got everything you can possibly need. Quiet and cozy hotel. Elegant in every way. Classy. Perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a thing...totally great place and stay. We hated to leave, and would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Lucca.

    The hotel was inside the walls of the city, so we parked the car and walked everywhere in this beautiful city....the hotel room, amenities, staff, and free breakfast were all excellent. Small, boutique hotel, and staff got to know us personally, and gave us personal attention every time we saw them going in or out, and helped us print boarding passes, borrow an umbrella, make dinner plans. Anything we needed.So glad we stayed here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed at this Hotel previously, from the moment we arrive, the welcome from the staff & comfort level are excellent, we cannot praise all the staff highly enough, the breakfast is extremely good, we look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to call the front desk to get the air conditioning to work.

    The only thing I did not like was the air conditioning control. My room was very stuffy and despite my turning on the AC nothing happened. I complained and then magically it worked. Apparently they control the temperature of the room from the front desk. I did like they're complimentary bicycles.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at the front of the hotel until about 2am but it was August!

    Very helpful staff and the hotel bikes are great fun to use to explore the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Situated just inside the city walls with free parking and access to free bikes to explore. This is a great hotel, beautifully maintained with very friendly staff and nice breakfast. Its a bit more expensive than some of the other hotels but as soon as you go through the doors you know why and you don't mind! Cycling around the city is the best way to see it so take advantage of the free bikes and enjoy!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The most outstanding aspect of this independent hotel is the staff; their kindness, friendliness and professionalism far outweigh any other vague indicators to do with facilities. Nothing is as important as humanity and care.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, great location, friendly, kind, generous staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful large room, good bed. Excellent helpful staff. Wonderful Aperol spritz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very hard hotel to fault! It was simply excellent.

    Comfortable, luxurious hotel with excellent staff in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of traffic noise early on the street side (with window open)

    Friendly staff and a great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great location. Beautifully decorated room. Above average breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Water of the lavabo didn't flow properly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    water from the shower was somehow leaking on the floor

    friendly staff, good breakfast, everything is furnished with an imprcable taste

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was brilliant - as always.

    Always a warm welcome - beautifully clean hote.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to have newer bedsheet

    Small and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to criticise

    The hotel was perfect for our needs in every way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Good English spoken.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we did not like!!!!

    A great place to stay.... Central and the staff are exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very helpful in directing us to historic sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service and friendliness of the staff was excellent. The bar is the best in Lucca.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is magnificent, the staff are extremly helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is pricey for what you get.

    Nice rooms, great breakfast on site (Prosecco and salmon!!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a room at the rear or higher up would be better - more light - avoid first floor if possible.

    super location and parking for the car.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only being able to stay for a short break.

    Great location, staff professional & knowledgeable. Consistently clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints at all

    welcoming, friendly, excellent location for just meandering round the lovely Lucca and very italian.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Service was amazing from all staff. Could not fault the place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath tub

    Wonderful staff. Large rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is too weak

    Great location and awesome staff. The breakfast is pretty good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    Staff, friendliness and location was superb...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for in and out access to the walled city, fabulous staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very welcoming, breakfast very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited WIFI. Needed more as need to keep an eye on work.

    Nice room lots of room, Breakfast ok not excellent but Bar prices reasonable for a Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very ordinary a bit disappointing

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was helpful, the location was perfect. I would stay here again and absolutely recommend it to anyone staying in Lucca!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very attentive and helpful. An ideal spot from which to explore the town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful staff. Quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just 15 mins from Pisa airport. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for sightseeing and catching regular bus service to Pisa and the airport.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The entire staff was extraordinarily exceptional. The managers, the desk clerks, the bar tenders and those participating in the phenomenal breakfast experiences all went out of their way to be kind, helpful and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was slow at times

    Staff were fantastic, room was first class and our total stay felt we were like royalty. Nothing wasn't too much trouble and free bikes to use and friendliness of everyone made our stay memorable.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Group

    I was traveling with a close friend, and we were delighted with our stay from the very first moment. The hotel is inviting and the staff excellent. We will be returning soon, without a doubt.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good.

    Huge bedroom. Huge variety of food at breakfast. Amazingly friendly staff. The hotel location was ideal, on a buzzy pedestrian street inside the city walls. And it was so close to the bus station that we had almost 'door-to-door' transport from Pisa airport.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The San Luca Palace is a beautiful hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is elegant, and the breakfast was one of the best we have had - lots of choices and all that we ate was delicious. The bed was comfortable and our room was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we had to leave Bicycles need much attention.

    The staff is excellent. Franco was so nice to talk to about the history of Lucca. Free parking Excellent breakfast The location is perfect Room is comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I appreciated the location within the walls and the hotel parking space just feet away from the entrance. The staff gave an excellent recommendation for dining the one night we were there.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything & have stayed here many times. There is nothing to dislike.

    Simone & his staff are always excellent & nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi variable in different parts of the building - but a very minor gripe.

    Excellent location in a great town. Very comfortable large room. Staff were excellent throughout. Very good breakfast, and very nice, well-stocked bar. Private parking next door (payable)

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very large room, well furnished. I was traveling solo and offered to take a smaller room, but they wouldn't hear of it. Staff was very friendly and genuinely helpful. Excellent help-yourself breakfast . No restaurant in the hotel, but plenty of options nearby. Would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!

    The staff are wonderful - professional, knowledgeable & always very helpful. Breakfast is always very good. Insider tips from the staff always useful.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were hard as well as pillows

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful room and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We missed having tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

    The ambiance, the excellent breakfast and the efficient staff.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: