Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Marco 3 stars

Via Campo di Marte 2 , 06024 Gubbio, Italy

#6 of 19 hotels in Gubbio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1661 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view. The room had a small door leading to a small balcony with a high wall, so you had to walk out to get some light and limited view of the village.

    Spacious room, adequate breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like single use plastic cups for juice unacceptable these days and set a poor tone. Cold milk for cereal hard to get. No toast. Poor selection of fresh fruit. Coffee machine not working, although alternative was provided. Generally disappointing breakfast.

    Value for money, good for an overnight stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of park for the car.

    the kindness of the staff. Good breakfast with both salty food and sweety. Good location of the hotel, inside the city wall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately staff weren’t interested in helping with questions. At checkin I was kept waiting for over 10 minutes while the receptionist argued loudly on the phone. After that I needed help with a bus booking as I needed someone to talk to the company in Italian. No interest at all and just went back to work. Thankfully a very nice person at the visitor centre made the call for me. Wouldn’t stay again, plenty of other options close by.

    Room was adequate and good value for what I had paid. Good location, easy walk into the main part of Gubbio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in Gubbio Christmas week and the San Marco was the perfect choice. It is across the street from the main piazza, super easy to park (we have a large family van), Gubbio Express train is a 2 minute walk, and we had a view of their famous Christmas tree on the hill from our room. There is a hot chocolate shop (32 varieties!) around the corner, and we got a great restaurant recommendation from the very helpful, friendly, front desk staff. Breakfast was easy & plentiful. The architecture and furnishings were typical of the area. Why stay in a cookie cutter hotel when you can have a place like this?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi didn't work in our room. We were given a booster plug but it didn't help. Although spotlessly clean the bathroom had a musty smell.

    The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the taxi's are a little expensive from the airport so maybe a package deal in with booming the hotel?

    The photos were ok but I didn't feel that they do the Hotel justice. I was a bit aprehensive until we arrived at San Marco and it was absolutely beautiful! Even the standard rooms were perfect. The prices are excellent and we opted to stay an extra night which was no bother to the hotel staff whatsoever who are so accommodating and speak excellent English. The location is pretty much perfect too! It is right in the Centre of Gubio surrounded by lovely restaurants/bars. We even had the pleasure of a Street market which covered the whole town. I recommend taking the little tourist train and the chair lift up into the mountains, this is where you get to see the real Gubio. I would definitely recommend the Beautiful hotel and the stunning area to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The croissants perhaps. But the yoghurt and fruit was perfect.

    It is a delightful friendly hotel. Nothing was too much of a problem, location is perfect, and the staff are extremely pleasant. I would recommend it very strongly. No pressure is put on you and it is the perfect hideaway. We loved it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose a room that had air conditioning as we brought our 12 week old baby. We dressed our baby for bed appropriate to the temperature along with bedding and the hotel staff kept turning the air conditioning off at night presumably to save money. Not ideal when babies cannot regulate their body temperature, I then would have to strip my baby down in the early hours and remove his blanket. It was disappointing since we paid for a room with air conditioning. Our friends stayed in an attic room and had a fan in their room so benefitted more than we did and paid less.

    Lovely bathroom, rooms were very clean, location perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some issue getting the air conditioner to produce genuinely cold air. But it wasn't hot in the room.

    The breakfast was great! Typical Italian breakfast. Lots of Nutella. Night staff was truly kind and helpful. The room had a roof/terrace to walk out on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, but windows opened onto pleasant garden. No parking, but found free street parking 200m away.

    Charming typically Italian, brilliant staff, clean, adequate rooms, good breakfasts and a lovely garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally wrong information listed re hotel facilities on booking.com. Hotel lists parking, air conditioning and wifi but none of these were provided: we had to park a long way from the hotel in an open public car park and pay a foreigner who asked for money when we parked. Wifi in room non existent and we were told to log in out of our room. This still did not work. Absolutely no air conditioning in room and when we asked at reception at first we were told the government did not allow them to turn it on as yet (it was early June and this is summer??) and then we were told they actually didn't have air conditioning. When we questioned why parking, air con and wifi were listed as facilities when, in fact they weren't provided, the receptionist told us "I can tell you're going to write a bad review so why would I offer you a discount.....

    Man who checked us in was extremely friendly. Easy walk into town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle for making tea. Could not figure out how to operate air conditioning. No toaster in breakfast room.

    Lovely rooms. Very accommodaring. I made an error booking online and it was corrected without charge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Just be aware that this is a very nicely done renovation of a very old building so don't go expecting USB charging points and ultra modern finishes.

    This hotel is very beautiful thanks to its history as a reception centre for pilgrims overs the centuries. There is lovely stonework and wood construction throughout and a lovely courtyard garden where kids can play. The breakfast was a really nice continental buffet. The location just outside the entrance to the walled town is very convenient for access. Gubbio itself was great - narrow streets and walkways, the Roman theatre and the funivia ride up the mountain to the Basilica of St. Ubaldo offers thrills and fabulous views over the valley and the surrounding mountains. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful with any request.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a very low ceiling, which would have been ok if I were smaller in stature. I've a lump on my head, so I'll remember my stay! It was great to have radiators, unfortunately they wouldn't switch off.

    Great location from which to explore an amazing town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little dark - the window overlooked a shared solarium roof terrace. Necessary to close shutters when privacy required. Kept banging myself on wrought iron bed - but my fault, not that of the bed !

    Location excellent. Friendly helpful staff. A rather beautiful hotel with imposing public spaces.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a busy street and either window was closed and room was stuffy or window was open and room was noisy. Also missed the atmosphere of being in the old city.

    Room nice, breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi would be stronger.

    The breakfast was correct. There was a nice inner court in the hotel, with plastic tables and armchairs. Our rooom (No.130) had a big balcony too, with a stairway to the inner court. The hotel just in the center, but quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking, but all of the local hotels are the same

    It was clean,the staff were friendly and helpful, the reception and breakfast area was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was fantastic! Such an array of fruit, cereals, pastries, cakes, breads, meats and cheeses etc. The location was really convenient and easy to get to and the cost of my stay was extremely good value. Very happy with my stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Parking can be interesting. Nothing on site but the staff are helpful and will guide you.

    Super location, with easy access to the town. Good breakfast. Lots of eateries locally and gelaterias (compulsory). Nice garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My first impression of the outside of the hotel was a little disappointing. However as you step through the door, the décor is stunning. It may be that town regulations stipulate the external paint colour, but it looks a little drab.

    The location of the hotel is excellent and the garden was a super place to unwind with a drink. Our room had access to an outside patio and overlooked the old part of town. Inside the hotel it was tastefully furnished and just a delight to sit down and look through the old books on Gubbio. The staff were excellent particularly Deborah who took immediate action on a small issue with our room and was an absolute mine of information when it came to parking ( at no cost) and places to visit in and around Gubbio. She is a terrific asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Was exhausted after walking from Pietralunga to Gubbio. Spacious hotel and staff were very helpful! Our Italian very poor and staff at reception booked accommodation for our stay at agriturismo the next night. Breakfast was fresh and a good variety. Room very clean and lovely shower!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor WiFi and extremely narrow bathroom.

    Nice hotel, very good location in the city centre and easy to find free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi... Rude reception staff Rooms need renovation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to access by car, easy to find the street parking. Good breakfast, nothing fancy but nice. Clean rooms. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed, good breakfast and lovely building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location nearby historical center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise, which was a bit too much if one is sensitive.

    This is a good value accommodation, staff was helpful with storing bicycles

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic... Croissant and coffee from bar next door

    Comfortable modern rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed was a stretcher type, not very comfortable

    Beautifully restored building. Awesome breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Variety of items on offer

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ventilation was quite noisy. My room needed fresh air.

    The hotel is quite stylish. Extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should label breakfast items clearly for nut allergies, especially the cereals.

    Excellent location, great deal for a family.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A range of options for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not feel especially welcomed at reception , in exiting etc. Just felt like they were doing their job but not a lot more

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    incredible value for money! Pleasant stay in beautiful Gubbio.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tutto

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fabulous - just outside the ancient city wall of gubio. Impressive buliding with +3.5 to ceeling and massive stone walls. Aircon not even needed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They really try (most of the staff), but it doesn't work out.

    Location and price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice of breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not reachable in the upper floor

    Perfect position

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff at the reception!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the shower screen leaked and flooded the bathroom, we informed staff who were very helpful, so hopefully the fault rectified for the next guests. (room no.. 156).

    The room very attractive, (no.156), the hotel situation ideal for the Ceri!! Second visit for the Ceri, staying both times at The San Marco. Could not stay last year as a booking of 2 nights was required. Will be certainly booking for next year.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is not in the very center of the town, you have to walk 500m (with some steep ascents) to reach it.

    Beautiful hotel in the fascinating town of Gubbio. The personnel is very friendly and gives full help and advice to enjoy your stay in their city, especially in the occurence of some celebrated events like the Feast of Torches ("Festa dei Ceri") on 15,May and the Medioeval Crossbow Contest at the end of the same month.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A fantastic reception area. Beautiful stonework. Very lavish! Staff was very accommodating as my Italian is not good. This would be an excellent choice for business groups or large families as well.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No fruit at breakfast

    It's not in the old city center but you can reach it by foot quickly. Good place to stay if you come with car. Clean, confortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend, Gubbio is beautiful! The hotel room was basic but very clean and the hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring the town. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Desk staff were great but not so nice was the grumpy waiter who lost patience with our stumbling attempts at Italian.

    Nice hotel, great location a short walk into town.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was difficult, but part of that was due to the fact that there was a huge festival going on so most of the parking areas were full or closed off to the public. The bed was fairly comfortable and I slept well, but if you are used to a cushy American bed you may not be happy.

    The location was very convenient, the staff was friendly and helpful (though they speak limited English), and the hotel lobby and the room were lovely. If you are looking for a well-situated hotel with Italian charm, this is the hotel for you.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although there was a good selection of food at breakfast, the continental breakfast items (i.e. cheese & ham) had a strange taste and the fruit juices weren't very nice either. However the cakes, pastries and hot drinks were all fine.

    The location is ideal for seeing the sites of Gubbio and the room was spacious and clean. We had a great view as well.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    early check out

    single bed for two of us - adult and 7 years old child was big enough to sleep confortably during the night location perfect in the centrum free parking

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff without exception were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nono

    Very convinient location. buses, restaurants walks. hotel very clean and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work in our room so we had to go down to reception area

    Great staff. Great location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would never pick that size of room again for a couple might be good for a single person

    Over all hotel was great

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom has a weird smell. The bed mutresses are very unconfortable.

    The location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The washroom was way to small, bed was very uncomfortable

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The open shower.

    Great staff, beautiful hotel. Great Value.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed uncomfortable, dark room, Fridge not working, internet not working

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large beds, spacious room with bathtub.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning leaking on floor

    Close to town

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Noisy air-conditioning.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wlan working poorly inside the room

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The friendly and helpful staff made. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. my stay really memorable The huge bathtub was a plus.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't like the breakfast.

    Really nice location. Staff was very helpful. Wifi was ok. Room is pretty old but it was ok.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Looks good, great breakfast, everything very easy. Very reasonable bar (prices and measures). Free parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast can be improved

    Efficiency and courtesy of the staff Clean rooms Good shower Location

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Hotel San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: