Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Marco 3 stars

Piazzale Marconi,1, 42121 Reggio Emilia, Italy

#11 of 21 hotels in Reggio Emilia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 329 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    The location was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, an American I-phone doesn’t work with their system, so there was no Internet access.

    The location was excellent. The staff were fabulous and the breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Ok hotel, terrible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible, at least from a continental point of view. They have lots of options, but most are onthe sweet to very sweet side. The toast bread was of terrible quality. The only cheese they had was toast cheese that was still wrapped I plastic. Scrambled eggs were mostly cold and didn't taste good. They had musli, but it was terribly sweet too. Then they had lots of sweet pastries. They had some fruits which was nice though. Overall the hotel is decent, but dont spend any extra money to book the breakfast..

    Bigger hotel that probably has seen better times. Furniture looks like its at least 30 - 40 years old. Still the room was clean and everything was in good shape and the room had a decent size. Nice that they have air con. Staff was very friendly. Overall decent, but there are probably smarter options I town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    4.2
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was bare, the toilet seat and the sink were unstable. The rooms are out dated and definitely in need of a lot of work. The shower cubicle was horrible as it was so tiny and in need of clean shower curtains.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with very clean rooms, helpful staff, and steps from the town's old train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were quite small for 2 separate single beds, which made it slightly awkward to sleep on. Also, they were pushed together as if to make one bed due to the small size of the room, but we managed to make it work.

    The room was immaculately clean, the shower was perfect, and beyond anything, the staff were super friendly, helpful, and checked us in and out without any problems or delays.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Location is good, the stuff is willing to assist, Room is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough plugs in room, also only at the side of one bed there is one and not on the other. Only one floor towel for the shower. Not enough for two people as it gets very wet. Better have 2 if 2 people in room. I feel this is a bit overpriced.

    Location is good, the stuff is willing to assist, Room is very clean with very good toiletries even a toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, shaving cream, if I knew I wouldn't take with me. Good breakfast but it could be better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value next to the tran station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel San Marco is just 100 meters from the train Station so great location for trains. I had a single room which had a beautiful bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is quite a walk from here to the old centre but worth it. I would stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    A small space perfect for sleeping
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many people said it was a bad part of town. My room had a single bed which was the only size bed that could possibly fit in the space. The elevator was super small and the first few day I couldn't figure out how it worked so I went up and down a bunch of times. Finally, I used the stairs.

    The was very close to Reggio Children's center. It was opposite a major train station (even though I use the other train station because that train was faster from Milan) . They have great toiletries and spacious bathroom. The decor was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Convenient hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    This is a most convenient hotel, within sight of the railway station. An easy walk into town with its wonderful proliferation of restaurants, shops, old buildings and charming views (especially if you pop your head into one or two of the courtyards which have public access). The hotel is comfortable, lift up to our room, bright cheerful dining room with a good breakfast and great coffee. Bed was comfortable, bathroom a bit quirky but worked well, clean and was well serviced daily. I'd certainly go again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    The air conditioning wasn’t working well couldn’t sleep...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t working well couldn’t sleep through out the night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    If you like living in the historic old building go for it !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like living in the historic old building go for it !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Great location, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Great hotel, 2 minutes from the station and only a stroll from the city centre. Very clean and pretty communal areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money and excellent location for train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location opposite the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    It was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    24 hour bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    A nice break in a nice hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems with hotel

    The Hotel was ideally situated opposite the Railway Station . The Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommend for practical and welcoming stop-over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. 110% effort to make me welcome . 24 hr staffed access . Perfectly located for rail station access.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Great location, near the Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very helpful. the location was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.3
    the location was great for me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was great for me

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift from ground level to first floor (from first floor there's lift upwards)

    Perfect location, a car park in front of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was so clean and loved the way it was decorated...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    My room stuck of stale smoke I was offered a different room which smelled the same. There was no adaptors for the plugs so even though I was lent one did'nt work properly.

    The hotel was so clean and loved the way it was decorated with beautiful furniture. The breakfast was fresh and a big choice. One older lady on reception was very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    5.4
    I like the location just opposit the train station .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lift is from first floor . You have to carry your luggage by stairs to first floor than take the lift . Breakfast very poor .

    I like the location just opposit the train station .

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    it was so convenient to the train station i just had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Vegan so no rice milk for some cereals, and not a lot to eat. But in saying that for non vegan lots of choice.

    it was so convenient to the train station i just had to cross the road. You could also walk into the city.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was always too hot, although I left jaolouses down - apparently it gets lots of sunshine and I was beneath the roof. It's a little bit noisy both from outside and also from nearby rooms (apparently walls are very thin as I have heard a snoring :) ) furniture was very minimalistic, but handful.

    Excellent location. Just 50 m from the Railway station. The lady which was on duty when I arrived, was very helpful and welcoming (she let me in the room before it was cleaned to allow changing clothes), which was not the same with the other one. The breakfast was very good for Italy (not only sweet cakes and jams, but some cheese, salami, ham, fruits and cereals!)

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    6.7
    20m from the train station
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very poor breakfast doesn't worth the extra charge

    20m from the train station

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    8.8
    It's clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Without a lamp. During the midnight I heared somebody talking outside my door....

    It's clean and quiet. Next to the station.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.2
    Pleasant note, very clean & convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pleasant note, very clean & convenient. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    close to train and Laura was really nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    close to train and Laura was really nice and helpful! Thank you, Laura from Carole and Chuck in Seattle

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    Magnificent staff and helpful, proximity to train station...
    • Solo traveller

    none

    Magnificent staff and helpful, proximity to train station and centre of town, very clean and free wifi service

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.0
    Wifi!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    I don't think it is a real three stars hotel.

    Wifi!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Location to the train and Loris Malaguzzi Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location to the train and Loris Malaguzzi Centre. Easy to get to centre of town and the market.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    Overall good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast couod be better

    Overall good

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Staff was very helpful in explaining how to find my way to...
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was very helpful in explaining how to find my way to certain places in Reggio Emilia.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.9
    interior design
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    one of the receptionist he was a bit rude

    interior design

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Group

    Friendly helpful staff Especially in the dining room Location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    8.8
    Convenience of hotel on arrival at station;
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Convenience of hotel on arrival at station; friendly, helpful staff; good breakfast; near shops & restaurants.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: