Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Marco 3 stars

Strada Massetana 70, 53100 Siena, Italy

#15 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1742 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner is a nightmare. You can’t controle it from your room. It’s either too cold or too hot.

    The staff was very helpful. Clean and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor Breakfast variety. No warm food available - no eggs, no fried sausages. Only bread and croissant. Wellness is overvalued for 18 EUR per person, so I did not try it. The bed in my room was pretty noisy (room 127)

    Staff is excellent. They help whenever and whatever you need. Silent place, and it is close to the historical city centre even by walking (20 mins)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Calm, comfortable and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI connection doesn't really work. 10 minutes to check email.

    Very well located. Close to historical city center by car (10 minutes). Free parking at the hotel. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Large bathroom. The staff is charming and very helpful. Large food choice at the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    We stayed here for one night to explorer Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very very slow - annoyingly slow when you wanted to look something up. Also the bed was not very comfortable, quite hard mattress.

    We stayed here for one night to explorer Siena. For us it had the perfect location to explorer the city Centre! Walkable (30min). Fairly new hotel with modern facilities. Bathroom was spotless and breakfast was great, a lot of choice! Friendly staff at breakfast area and reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Small tryp in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water all over the ground at the showe Location is about 1,5km far from centre

    Staff is very kind Hotel facilities are very good Breakfast was very tasty

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Location is good bus stop is near, as well as free parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle in the room, and on asking they said they don’t keep any kettle. Bathroom was bit smelly. Most complicated WiFi connection and bad connection too.

    Location is good bus stop is near, as well as free parking of car with in the hotel premises.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    perfect stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect bus connection to old town, it took 5 min. In the evening we walked back to hotel, took us 15 min only. Not far at all. Hotel is nice and clean. Breakfast was very good, big choice. Receptionists are very friendly and very helpful. We would certainly go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location isn't ideal but this you know beforehand. There is a bus stop near the hotel. Busses stop there every 10min that take you into the old city centre. Staff is happy to explain to you how you can take the bus or how to get there by foot.

    Clean, comfortable, quiet room. Good price/quality rate. Quite extensive, well taken care of breakfast. They even had foreseen gluten-free alternatives. Incredibly friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A great location, quiet and easy access to the autostrade in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had trouble connecting to the wifi. Ricardo did a lot to help us! Thank you Ricardo! I was told the wifi has problems with newer phones. I could not connect to wifi the last day. I also want to thank Ricardo for all his tips and especially where to park in Siena to avoid all the traffic. Thanks again!

    A great location, quiet and easy access to the autostrade in all directions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave !

    A modern hotel with refurbished rooms, couldn't fault anything. And reception staff very helpful. Bus stop nearby to take you into city centre for 1.5 euro

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect and the staff was friendly. The room looks modern in the pictures but is under come in reality. The shower is leaking, but we stayed only for one night, so we didn't make a big deal out of it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Very quiet modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Busy road if walking into centre of Sienna

    Very quiet modern hotel. Long walk into Sienna but the re is a very good bus service. Good restaurant nearby (note that it's closedd on Monday).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Alessia at reception was extremely friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alessia at reception was extremely friendly and helpful telling us about Siena, which restaurants to try and what we could do around Siena. We were late for breakfast and the staff let us and another couple have a seat and have it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    All Staff was extremely helpful(especially Ricardo). Good , clean modern room. Good wifi internet. With good car parking if you need. Bus stop nearby to get to city center(you can even buy bus tickets at the hotel).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is terrible. Never book with breakfast if it is possible. - Walls are not sound proof and you hear all the noise around the room. - Airconditioner works very loudy. - Bed is not comfortable.

    Friendly staff. Good location and free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor, the location was 10 min drive from Sienna.

    The room was quite large, really pretty and convenient, with an amazing shower. The parking was large, and the staff helped us with a plan for sightseeing in Sienna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On an evening we found that we only had the option to walk back to the hotel (25 minutes) or find a taxi. The buses only run until 8.30pm and there are only 2 taxi pick up locations.

    The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Especially the receptionist Ricardo who helped us sort out our flat tyre. The location is a little out of the centre of Siena but, it is perfect for those taking a car, the hotel has its own free parking. There is a bus that runs into the centre of Siena every 15 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Hospitable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hospitable staff - provided us detailed info about the city and transportation; parking on premises- allowed us also to leave the car after check-our; bus stop leading to the old city just 2 min away (bus runs regularly every 15 minutes and they sell tickets on the reception for guests' convenience);

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is a little bit limited.

    The people at the reception are really really nice. The hotel is really good and the installations are also good as well. Maybe the breakfast is a little bit limited.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the walls probably need a fresh paint but overall it was OK. Needed to take the car or a bus for a quick journey to the city centre.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Sound-proof windows. Wi-fi included. Spacious room. Private parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice and clean room. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For our stay the location was perfect since we were just passing by, so we did not want to stay in city center. But if you do not have a car, you better stay close to the downtown.

    Very good and clean room. WiFi properly working. Free parking available for the day after checkout time. Italian breakfast good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a twin room but was given a room with double bed and a very small sofa bed. Was travelling with my elderly father and, after driving all day, we arrive late (8pm) I had to sleep in a very uncomfortable sofa bed when had booked a twin room. No bar or restaurant available for guests to have dinner. The spa that is advertised as part of the hotel complex closes at 8pm....

    Quiet room, clean facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location, clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In hindsight, as a large group of would have been more coveinient to stay in city centre although taxis were cheap & quick, getting a taxi from city centre back to hotel at night was difficult.

    Private car parking (no charge) Clean & modern Amazing shower The guy who checked our group on was very helpful, polite & welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice, clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a terrible sleep - the bed was rock hard and had one hard flat pillow with no extras in the cupboard. There was no plush bedding, just a sheet and thin bed cover. We were facing the road (next to a major roundabout) so traffic was loud in the morning.

    Nice, clean and modern. Close to the bus stop into town. Friendly and helpful staff! Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly clean and great location for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in room

    Extremely friendly helpful staff. The room was extremely tidy with plenty of storage and a lovely bathroom. Parking was easy but our sat nav didn’t recognise the address no matter how many times we tried. Easy 1.5km walk to Siena or a bus every 15 mins which drops about 100mts from hotel. Easy access out to main highways.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.6
    I won't recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too close to freeway. It was like a motel 6 in the U.S. The photos on Booking.com make you think you're getting a better room than you actually get. They're misleading.

    One receptionist, Alessia

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel for overnight stay or perhaps a few days visit to Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps we could have stayed there a little longer?

    Great small hotel on the outskirts of Siena. Plenty of private parking with small restaurant next door (not the best but easy for a relaxing dinner). Bus stop across the road which is probably the easiest way to get to the centre of Siena. Very clean and very helpful staff. Good breakfast. Easily found by satnav and easy to rejoin our journey the following day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Free parking area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking area. They gave us a surprise for our honeymoon. None of other hotels notice this honeymoon footnote in our booking, only San Marco did. Room was quiet and clean. We enjoyed our time here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    General facilities, value, comfortable room, clean all that ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good value for money but the standard was lower than it could have been. The coffee was noty very good probably not helped by using automated coffee machine. Perhaps if the price of breakfast was slightly increased it would help you improve this. Also had a problem obtaining WiFi in my room but I think it was because my room was at the far end of the corridor. Not a big problem as available generally in the rest of the Hotel.

    General facilities, value, comfortable room, clean all that required apart from comments below.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    - Overall good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room was a bit small, but still okay

    - Overall good value for money - Free parking at hotel - Room contained everything needed and hotel was very new; windows with good noise isolation despite proximity to main street - Basic breakfast but for EUR 5 per person and day totally fine - With bus 10mins to city center; bus every 15mins at station <5mins away from hotel; EUR 1.20 per person and ride (tickets at hotel available) - Wellness area, but at reasonable costs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    modern, comfortable and convenient what more could you want
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great

    We don't usually like to stay at hotels when traveling to Europe but we are glad we made an exception for this property. The front desk personnel were very helpful. Parking is close to the building and the breakfast is exceptional. You can catch a bus just across the street to get you into the center of Siena

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, just few minutes with car from the old town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, bread was not fresh and there wasn't too much choices.

    Great location, just few minutes with car from the old town. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    I was travelling with my husband and our dog and we really...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was travelling with my husband and our dog and we really enjoyed our staying. The room was very clean, comfortable and well reserved. And the staff was very friendly and helpful. Definitely it was great value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Great alternative to Siena center with free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been to Siena many times. Typically I prefer to stay in the historic center. During peak tourist times (and especially during Il Palio) prices are high. Hotel San Marco is not in the historic center but if you are traveling around Tuscany via car this hotel has ample free parking and very reasonable rates. Just take a taxi (12-13 euro) to and from town. This hotel is also close to the highway but you can't hear it. Hotel has modern decor, fully functioning air conditioning, comfortable beds, and ample breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Modern COOL comfort in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is new and modern. Air conditioning was perfect, and it was very hot outside. It was a long way from the old city of Siena, but the small city bus was cheap, close by, and came often. Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location for visiting Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a shame that the pool is not finished, it would have been lovely to have been able to have a swim....

    The location for Siena was great. This hotel was a reasonable price for 2 nights. The staff were extremely nice and welcoming. The guy who was on reception was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Great overnight on way to Sorrento, Great base for Siena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bath. Thats it!

    Friendly and informative welcome, fluent English speaking. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Fab restaurant next door called San Michele. Great breakfast with lots of choice. Lots of parking and easy to find off motorway. Regular bus service into Siena just over the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Otherwise a nice good hotel to stay few nights
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choose this hotel to enjoy also the spa. Unfortunately the spa was out of order and they forgot to update the website, and we told the lady at the reception we where not to happy about it before we checked in, she didn't care and was not to friendly.

    Otherwise a nice good hotel to stay few nights

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only had breakfast on one day as coffee out of an automatic machine is never a good idea, but we also had to get milk for cereal from the machine, tasted very synthetic.

    Hotel is outside the city centre but the excellent staff were very helpful in with information and tickets for public transport. Very convenient if you are travelling by car. Very comfortable considering the heatwave outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, a little out of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property was a 20-30 min walk from Siena and uphill to get into the town. The shower always flooded the bathroom.

    Nice comfy room, helpful reception, very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Visiting Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioner was too strong and we got a cold there because of the contrast of temperatures inside and outside the hotel. We switched it off at night, but even so it was so cold that we needed a blanket to be able to sleep.

    The hotel is very new and the staff working there very kind and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant/cafeteria/bar to spend your time Few choices nearby-had to take the car to find a good restaurant

    Good price Cleanliness Friendly staff Free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Loved it! I wish we would stay longer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a little bit far from the center.

    The breakfast was very nice. Everything was clean and tasty. The room was big and the bed was comfy. The hotel is modern and the Sauna area is also wonderful (you need to pay extra for entrance). It has a lot of parking space and a few supermarkets around if you need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice alternative to the city center hotels. Good price for value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't know if it was just our case but the bathroom needed maintenance: the doors of the shower were not sealing up well so water would fall outside the pool, towel heaters were in fact leaking water and water would not fall so easily on the washbasin. Breakfast was too sweet. Could have more offer from fruits and vegetables.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Nice spa area if you want to relax for a bit. Quite comfortable room. With a bus stop to Siena e few meters away. Very handy that we could buy the bus tickets right in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Great little hotel, friendly staff, ideal for first timers in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy at Hotel San Marco, no criticisms.

    Staff were very helpful, with questions re transport, activities and nice balance of Italian/English spoken.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Modern and comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Basic breakfast /There were a variety of croissants but unfortunately they were not fresh/. - The location of the hotel is further away from the center than described on the site. Easy access to the public transportation (bus) but you have to return to the hotel early in the evening.

    - Nice hotel near the highway. - Cozy and very clean room. - Helpful staff. - Free parking place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Modern and comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Basic breakfast /There were a variety of croissants but unfortunately they were not fresh/. - The location of the hotel is further away from the center than described on the site. Easy access to the public transportation (bus) but you have to return to the hotel early in the evening.

    - Nice hotel near the highway. - Cozy and very clean room. - Helpful staff. - Free parking place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful, location just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful, location just a few km from the old city, free parking, excellent WiFi, the room was extremely clean and comfortable, aircon great ... everything was top value!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    It was close to the Siena old city and a good location to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to the Siena old city and a good location to visit Siena. A comfy city hotel where you should not expect more than an ok room and parking space.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Modern hotel just outside of Siena old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got lost a little finding the hotel, so maybe larger signs pointing in the hotel's direction would help?

    The customer service at this hotel was outstanding. A friendly and efficient front desk lady who spoke excellent English gave us valuable local information. Check in was smooth and efficient. The rooms were spacious and quiet. Parking is conveniently onsite. Breakfast was a simple buffet, but plentiful with freshly brewed coffee. Overall this hotel was excellent for our all too brief stop over.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Most enjoyable stay. Would recommend to all my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location, and very comfortable. Super little garden where we could relax with a glass of wine or beer, served by a smiling staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Treated like VIP's!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff treated us like we were VIP's. The reception team referred us to a perfect trattoria to have lunch while enjoying the most incredible view of the Duomo. They were also great in helping us book a visit to a nearby wine estate and clear up a query with a parking garage that we used in Rome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Great option for hotel with parking close to the city. Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aggressive and rude lady who was on reception (brunette, curly hair). The man who checked us in was great, but unfortunately we didn't see him again. She pretty much threw out key at us. When I had problems with the internet key as the code had expired, she grabbed my phone from me as though I was doing something stupid. We were also excited about a pool and the wellness area, however there is no pool - just the remains of one outside. And the wellness area was pricey just for a short period. Also we were going to a wedding so wanted to look smart. Whilst they lent us the iron, there is no ironing board!!

    Out of the city so good parking. We caught a bus into Siena one day, and walked the other (about 30 min min walk). The man who checked us in was super helpful, warm and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, good impressions, although only a very short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    The hotel met all expectations. The staff efficient and helpful. Unfortunately, this was an overnight stay on a drive down to the south of Italy and so time to enjoy the hotel was limited. However, that said impressions were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    Average Hotel for the ones whom ready for accommodation limits
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms - especially shower cabins - are extremely small. For cabins are good for kids, average for hobbits but not for standard humans. That would be very good to put a cattle to rooms that we may make a coffee or tea ( as the only alternative option is to order from reception by going to lobby ) Please note that you can not walk 25 minutes to old city every day in Sienna hills and last bus route finish at 20.pm - which usually you must start to your dinner so prepare yourself for taxi ( will cost approximately 10€ And breakfast must be develop. Very limited food if you are not a big fun of corn-flakes !

    If you choose to be outside of this minor city - Sienna - with an acceptable amount this is a good place for cost vs accommodation. Facility is new, modern and clean. Easy to catch the public buses with 10 minutes walking distance and you may get tickets from reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel ..........
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The last bus from Siena center to the hotel was at 20:30 but you can catch a taxi which was not very expensive approx. €10

    The staff at Hotel San Marco were very friendly and go out of their way to help. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. Very good bathroom and facilities. Would definitively recommed the hotel to friends if they intend to vist Siena.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Modern and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected that we would be able to walk to the town but we had to take a bus.

    The hotel is modern and new with comfortable and clean rooms. The staff was very welcoming and hospitable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Location of accommodation is not near the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't order americano. Capuccino/espresso is much better.

    Location of accommodation is not near the city center. It takes around 20min walk to get to the city center. However it has spacious parking and if you don't like "exercising" with the car inside the busy city centers this is perfect location. Also breakfast is big and delicious, a lot of choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Easy to park the car, friendly staff who knows different...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lacks a bit of depth i.e. The juices are served on a upside down dispenser, the quality of the cured meats/salumi and cheeses aren't amazing. The Wi-Fi hasn't strong connection in the bedroom and for someone doing business isn't very helpful.

    Easy to park the car, friendly staff who knows different languages. Rooms are a good size with good amenities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Very welcome place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were very very helpfull! They gave us a really good tips about where to eat, what to order, where is the cheepest parking, how to get around! They did a great effort to make us feel welcome. If you come by car it's a very good choice to stay in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel. Sets the standard for what to expect from a hotel in 2017.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast would be good with a little eggs.

    The staff was extremely professional, informative, and pleasant. They went well out of their way to accommodate us to make sure we had everything we needed. I truly wish I could have the same experience I had here when I go to all other hotels. Rooms were great--really clean. The spa is a nice touch. The shower, even though a little smaller, was very modern with controls that make me want to replace my shower fixture at home. Large Parking Lot. Easy to get to downtown Siena by walking, car, taxi, or bus. Far enough outside of the congested center of the city making it easy to get to the wineries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    nice modern hotel in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size is not so big but enough. In the breakfast, there is no egg. I think it should be added.

    The hotel is looking modern when compared to the buildings in Siena. The breakfast was nice, the staff was very helpful. They answered all the questions we asked. Free parking is a plus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.9
    Great team at San Marco hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating and ventilation in room 123 not working from the panel located in the room. I had to call Reception desk to adjust the noisy air flow and temperature each night.

    Best staff in an Italian hotel so far (supportive, proactive etc).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.7
    Location, near the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small breakfast room. Poor breakfast. Dont go to eat at Da Michele, pizzeria behind hotel, very very disappointing.... The worst Pizza and pasta we had in very long time.

    Location, near the highway. Very polite receptionist.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice good value hotel- but sort out the wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi very fiddly to sign into, mysterious taps, quite a way out of the city

    Friendly, helpful, low-key receptionist, comfy room, welcome glass of Proseco good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Everything was Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was Perfect!! We loved this hotel! The breakfast was amazing, with a lot of options of cakes, and breads, and everything fresh and tasty! The accommodation is very comfortable and very well cleaned. But mostly important: the staffs there are just incredibly, very friendly and helpful! Specially a guy which name was Ricardo (receptionist) he helped us a lot, we've been travelling around the world and stayed in different kind of hotels and we would like to say that Ricardo is the most helpful person we've seen working in a hotel! This hotel should be 5 stars!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Clean and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition it was working all night. We couldnt stop it, even the staf try a lot.

    Friendly staff, free parking in to hotel. Good breakfast , perfect coffee. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommend this guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good

    Everything was perfect.The hotel was really modern .Located just in the outskirts of the city but buses were frequent and just a few minutes from the hotel .They only cost e1.20 per trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Very knowledgable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit difficult for visiting the heart of Siena but helpful staff gave us accurate directions for a very convenient bus service

    Very knowledgable staff. Great breakfast and cook on staff did a wonderful job. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.1
    The hotel and breakfast are generally satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and breakfast are generally satisfactory. However several disappointments : numerous electrical failures, air dryer not functionning. Hotel very remote to city center. Not convienient to walkers (road dangerous, etc..).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    3.3
    Bad bed, bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was across from a highway, hard to find and seems dangerous to cross to get to town. Bed was super uncomfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Free parking space, good bus connection to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking space, good bus connection to the city center. Very helpful receptionist who spoke fluent English. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel vary professional and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not near the central.

    Good hotel vary professional and helpfull staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    They turned off my air conditioner in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They turned off my air conditioner in the middle of the night. Floods in the bathroom. Otherwise fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Average good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from the center. We had to take the car.

    Good breakfast and helpful staff. Clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: