Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Max Hotel 3 stars

Via Etnea 329, 95100 Catania, Italy

#26 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1638 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking possibility. We had to pay 10 EUR parking fee to the hotel to let the car parking on the street.

    The hotel is near the city center - lots of restaurants, sight-seeing are available with 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you bring the car, it’s a little bit difficult to find the parking lot, and it’s not free of charge.(10euro)

    Location was excellent since the hotel is on the main street, you can access almost spots in 10~20min by foot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a slight sewer/musty smell in the bathroom, which sticks to the towels.

    Great location, near botanical gardens and restaurants. Clean room and bathroom. Staff spoke good level of English and had helpful advice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Small and dark room with little window, which looks on main street. - Stink from sewer and bad ventilation in bathroom. - Stale air in the room. If you try to open windows and let the fresh air in, there is no fresh air - the hotel is on the main street and air stinks of car exhaust gases. - The towels stink on mold. - Breakfast was poor. - Bed mattress was old and has a sag in which you drop when you lay. It is made from foam and very hot to sleep on.

    - Personel was nice and professional. - Hotel has private secured parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting and tinted mirrors not ideal for applying makeup that’s just being picky

    The hotel was good, room was clean and we had a balcony. It is a bit of a trek to the squares in the center however we had plenty of time. Staff were helpful and booked us a taxi to the beach to far to walk. Breakfast was hit and miss but croissants were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was very tiny but we understand it's a lucky to have a place to park the car in this city. The breakfast should have more varieties.

    Hotel in one of the main street. Close to the center. Good staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location, right by the botanical gardens and close to the centre. Very spacious room and spacious, well equipped bathroom. Terrace was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom dark outside sitting area very grubby with old scruffy cats, inclusive breakfast good but next door in the café.

    Clean bedroom good bathroom good position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV very limited Italian Channels.

    Overall the hotel is located in the centre. In my opinion, with the breakfast facilities being Outside the hotel (Next Door) I really miss having an electric kettle, cups, Instant coffee sachets, teabags. We wake up early and it is a big bonus to make a cup of coffee or tea Before you shower and dress to go out. Breakfast facilities very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great, close to the Park and shopping area. Excellent service from the staff with a good level of English. Hotel parking was a great surprise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was wonderful and helpful. Excellent room and comfort for the price (airco, decent TV, fridge) The breakfast was simple but excellent and they had wonderful coffee's !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast maybe needs a bit of improvement.

    Great great staff!! Incredible price for the quality and familiarity of the hotel. A great decoration and very peaceful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park on site with newly paved rear entrance from the secure park. Although the hotel is on a busy street our room overlooked the rear garden and was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better , fresh fruit and toast would have been welcome, the croissants were very delicious and the bread rolls very freshPoa

    Bed very comfortable , large and spacious bedroom and spacious bathroom. A large private terrace also compliments the room. Very clean. Good breakfast but not a large variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been with more choices, could be bit noisy if keep windows open, but also nice to have view to the main street

    The bed was very good, new mattress and not too soft! very good location, housekeeping and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom a bit old. Room could use some more interior design.

    Spacious rooms and comfy beds. Our room had a very large balcony on the quiet side of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, room with terrace to courtyard, quiet for good sleep, spacious room, nice staff, good breakfast with limited choices but fully sufficient. We parked our rented car on the street 500m from hotel for free.Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is very clean and is in the city centre. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is very good in a cosy cafetterria next door to hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the staff don’t speak english well.

    The main plus of this hotel is the location.Every sightsee is near the hotel. Rooms are nice,clean and the bathroom is good too. Breakfast was really good. Enjoy your stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower drains slowly. There's a massage tub that doesn't work as one:). It wasn't a big deal for me, as I didn't really expect to see a massage tub; but I guess if the hotel got one, then it supposes to function.

    The airport shuttle stop from the airport is nearby, so there's no difficulty finding the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The male night receptionist who was exceptionally unfriendly, not to say rude.

    The room was clean and spacious. The female day receptionist was also very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room facilities are just satisfactory. I can not match the facility required for the three-star hotel(on booking it shown as a three-star hotel but when I call one day before my arrival they told us they are B&B ).

    the staffs at the front desk are very friendly, they can give very good advice for your trip in the city, also recommend a good place for eating (we tried the best pizza restaurants recommended by them it was excellent). breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they could update the bedding with new linen and blankets.

    The room we had was very big and the bathroom as well. Reception is open 24h so it's good if you have a late flight. The taxi from the airport is 20 euro. Breakfast is at a bar nearby but we didn't go as we were late.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and accomodating and the entire staff was lovely. Including the bar where we had a nice breakfast . The location is ideal , on the main street , in the center, close to the incredible park where you can see a lovely view of Mt Etna. Thank you for everything!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    I've visited Catania 5 times in the last couple of years (university related) and this is the best hotel in this price range I have stayed at. Wifi is really working properly (one can view youtube movies), room furnishing is relatively new (and there are coathangers available) and the breakfast menu is international buffet (I'm not a big fan of the Italian/Sicilian breakfast). I've also had a room with windows facing a backyard garden, and hence quiet. The BRT1 bus stop (bus going to university) is just around the corner. Downtown is within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not well designed, not much space, there wasn't a single piece of decoration on the walls, so it looked very boring. The room was cold, because the heater didn't work, but they fixed it next day. For breakfast you do to a cafe next door and it was OK,

    The hotel is actually 2 building, and we were in the adjacent building. It was OK and quiet and fairly close to the center and there were several food stores in the area. The airport bus stopped one block from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a little problem hooking up to the internet on the last day we were there. Before the last day the internet was excellent. We don’t know what happened.

    The location was excellent too everything that we wanted to see and the staff was helpful in helping us find transportation when we needed it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was extra 10€ and you have to leave your car keys at the reception. Very narrow entrance to the parking lot. The room had a stale smell. The man at the check out a little bit difficult.

    Room spacious. WiFi and breakfast okay. Really close to the main attractions. steppes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are both gluten intollerant, and although we advised hotel re our breakfast, still there was nothing to take gluten-free in our breakfast. Unfortunately our room was near to a water pressure pump, which continously kept switching on / off, giving a very annoying noise, although we asked for a quiet room upon booking.

    Very good location, on Via Etnea with shops and restuarant on both sides. Good safe parking for our car at back of hotel. Room was nice, big and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the room a little gloomy as it was on alley side of building and the central lighting not really strong enough (a minor point). Some guests returned after midnight and were very noisy in the hallway , but the hotel can't control this, so......

    The bed was excellent and the room spacious with a good desk. Bathroom and shower generous size and well set out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Good basic hotel with older style furnishing but everything in good condition in a great location on the main street of Catania with a 15 minute walk down to all the shops, bars cafes and main piazzas. The airport shuttle bus dropped us right at the door. Our room was at the back so no traffic noise. Big spacious room with a sitting room which was ideal for two women travelling together to spread out. Bathroom was nice and roomy. Good brekkie in the bar next door. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast is low standard, hard boiled eggs only, very slow replenishing, rooms are grim.

    good location, very friendly staff, important to reserve parking if applicable, difficult to access with car, simple room but has all needed and clean. Ask for backside room if want quite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room very dim. Not much outside light either. Rained most of the time.

    Nice bathroom. Good parking. Helpful English speaking desk help 9am - 9 pm. Good restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    We arrived late in the evening and the desk clerk just walked us to the door of the annex but not to the room and it was hard to find in the dark. We didn't realize there was an elevator until the next day, so hauled heavy bags up 2 flights. The clerk should have been more helpful. Apart from that the San Max was excellent lodging - really comfortable big rooms and great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location (close to the center) and facilities (nice terrace & room), friendly staff, transfer from the airport, good breakfast (considering the normal Italian options at other hotels)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that the only complaint I would have was that the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner.

    We stayed here one night on our way to Catania Airport. It was easy to find, and there were some good restaurants within easy walking distance. The owner was on reception, and was very friendly and helpful. There is a stop for the bus to the Airport within 100 yards. The breakfast was in an adjoining cafe, and all in all was good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desigb of the room was a bit old stylish. The bath installation were fine but could changed.

    Very good location. Good value for money for 1-2 nights stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in a second building, not in the main hotel The breakfast was poor and the staff spent 15 minutes to prepare a coffee It just too expensive for what they offer

    Only the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The location for the old town was perfect, a 5 minute walk down the road to the main Piazzas and restaurants. The reception staff spoke English and were helpful. Lovely big room The breakfast was in the cafe next door, with great authentic coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff good in the hotel and very friendly. The room was in the adjoining property as had requested a quiet room and the breakfast was in the cafe next door. The breakfast was what to expect but nice and the staff excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was all about croissants, nothing extra, no eggs, no veggies. I don't like to eat just croi+coffee at the breakfast. the extra room was a little bit confusing and not even necessary. bathroom was big, however bathtub was useless, shower was way much better. shower curtains were dirty.

    Best croissants ever tasted in Italy, even in Paris.. good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interiors are a little outdated more could be spent on the decorating and furnishings.

    It was central and very convenient. Rooms were good with air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location on major street with great bus service. Huge room, bar fridge a plus. Huge modern bathroom., beaut shower. Great private terrace......Good breakfast with THE best coffee. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked it I stated that it was for 2 people and the price said one thing but when I showed up they made me pay extra because it was a room for 2.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything

    I was having a problem with a tour I had booked on my own online. This had nothing to do with the hotel. I told the front desk person who was working that morning about my problem. His name is Sumno and I want to thank him for all his help! This was a Sunday morning at 730 in the morning, not the best time or day to get an issue resolved. The phone number provided online was only going through to voice mail. Sumno went above and beyond to help me without me even asking for his help. He was able to find a local phone number for the tour company. He was able to get in contact with them and resolved my issue and I went on to have the most wonderful day touring Mt Etna and Taormina ( just beautiful!). Thank you Sumno, I want you to know that I really appreciate the time you took to help me and you helped make an amazing vacation even better because of your warmth and thoughtfulness!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served in a neighbouring cafe, and although the staff is excellent, the breakfast options were rather limited. Toilettries were basic, so consider bringing your own.

    Impressive room size, comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a perfect stay at San Max hotel.

    Welcoming helpful personnel, located very close to the center, large clean rooms, relaxing garden, parking, good breakfast and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor of the room was not very clean, my white socks went gray soon... I've found also two ants going around... Everything was perfect therefore I suppose a misunderstanding with the cleaning service... Pity... I suggest to the staff to perform a little check on the rooms before check-in time.

    The room was wonderful, the bathroom excellent, everything was perfect. Also the breakfast was very good a the closeby bar. All my requests were satisfied and the staff is great. Thumbs up

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise on via Etnea gets into the rooms altough the balcony is protected (Italian style) by a second row of doors. The restaurants has a separate entry and I think there was a different owner there. On Booking they say that the hotel offers dinner of lunch for 15 euro, but when we asked about it the receptionist said that is simpler to check out the nearby by restaurants. (?!) One morning I was charged 1 euro for a pastry product and later on I learned that it was actually included on breakfast. This was patetic and hilarious at the same time. I wonder how can 1 euro make someone richer or poorer than it is already. :))) The hotel has no laundry service. The receptionist kept recommending us to use taxi because is cheap, but we were overcharged each time we did so. For example, he said that the ride to train station is 8 euro and we actually paid 16.

    The hotel is on Via Etnea, one of the main bulevards of the town, partly pietonal area. It offers easy acces to main objectives of the town and is well connected through public transport to all areas in town. Rooms are big and clean, with a small balcony. Beds are huge and comfortable. Great wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drinks during breakfast are served in a plastic disposable cup. A glass one would have been more appropriate.

    We liked the fantastic location as it was close to everything and on a main road. The stop for Alibus which takes you from the airport to the hotel and back is only a few meters away. Very helpful receptionist and friendly staff. Very spacious, airconditioned and quiet room with balcony overlooking the garden. Highly recommended!! Would visit again :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The foyer/vestibule of the hotel is very small. Guests must be 'buzzed' in as the main door is never open.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't necessarily dirty but not totally clean either. I stayed on one of the hottest days of the year and there was no COLD water in the bathroom which was strange and unpleasant. The breakfast was very disorganized. I didn't love that the reception didn't connect directly to the access to my room (they have multiple buildings in a row accessible from the street).

    Room was surprisingly large, renovated and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price we paid I can't think of anything they could have done better.

    The room was quiet, large, with a sitting room, both rooms were air-conditioned and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To check for dirty towels everyday.

    Very good breakfast. A nice and modern small hotel with very nice and helpful staff. Although the hotel is situated in a very busy street, we did not hear any noises.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much, it was pretty nice

    The hotel is in a nice area of Catania, right on the shopping street, very good for enjoying a stroll until Piazza Duomo. Our room was very nice, big and with balconies

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable for us

    Friendly and always smiling staff, breakfast included room rate. Parking available at hotel property. Situated in the center of Catania. Quiet area, room was in normal condition with terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was miserable on both days of our stay. Most of food and drinks were empty, and we (and other guests) had to ask for refill for every single item offered. Coffee was good.

    Location on central street, but not directly in city center (15 min walk). Secure closed parking costs extra 10eur/day. Room was actually in a separate building next door (hotel has just one floor there, rest is private housing). Room decor was unimpressive, corridor looks much better! It was smaller than expected but had 2 balconies. Spacious bathroom, no kitchen/coffee/tea etc. Front desk staff was nice and had FANTASTIC recommendations for Sicilian food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was simple, nothing spectacular - no toast. Everything was going fine until the last day. We checked out and left the luggage at the lobby since we had a late afternoon flight. We had booked a taxi to take us to the airport. We did not feel we had to advise the receptionist since our intention was to leave the hotel and wait for the taxi outside the hotel. However, when we returned to the hotel, the driver had already arrived and asked for us at the receptionist. The latter did not give him any information because he did not know anything about the taxi. Fair enough and I give him credit. However, when we returned, he started scolding me infront of the driver and claimed that he could have ended into jail if he had given the driver any information. I felt embarrassed and explained that it was not our intention to come to this situation. I did not cross my mind that the driver was going to be that early and would have asked for us at the reception. I thanked the receptionist just the same but somehow, I left the hotel with a bitter taste. Because of this, I would think twice whether to return to this hotel or not - there's a way and a way how to put your message across. We're adults and should be treated so not like little children.

    Good location at Via Etnea. Public transport is close although we did not use it because we walked a lot. Loads of shops and restaurants in the vicinity. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed, tv, desk and mini bar (2 complimentary bottles of water, otherwise empty). The bathroom had a bit of mould and surely needed a refurbishment. There was a separate room with wardrobe, another desk and a small sofa. There was also a nice terrace overlooking the garden. Overall the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed in room 206, the room needs paint. the rooms needs net for mosquitos we couldn't sleep. they gave us a plug aginst them and it wasn't working the bathroom needs good maintenance the shower is rusted the room needs paint the terrace was very dirty, walked out for 5 min and my feet was black will never visit that hotel again and will not recommend it

    the coffee

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its at the centre prepare for trafic in peak hours

    No luxury but comfortable. In the area parking is a must and its available for just €10. Good bteakfast. Will return

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not spectacular, but it still offered a good start to the day.

    We only stayed for one night, but I can say that the room was comfortable and the location was quite convenient. The street is full of shops and only a short distance away from Piazza Duomo. The bus stop for the shuttle-bus from the airport is only a few metres away and you can reach the airport in around 25 minutes.The room is simple but equipped with all facilities needed such as; tv, air-conditioner, refrigerator ( including 2 complimentary bottles of water) and balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First floor looked like a warehouse, with some tables and chairs lying there. I guess they were remodeling some things.

    Very good location and the cleanest room I've stayed in Sicily (4 stars hotels included). Staff was very friendly. Good breakfast: excellent cappuccino or espresso, fresh croissants, ham & cheese etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast. Currently this is provided by a café next door to the hotel. On my first morning, the place was overrun by students, who descended like locusts every time there was any food put out. Consequently there was little available (including fruit juice), until after 9 o' clock (once they had left). The waiting staff were so harassed, it took over 20 minutes to even get a cup of coffee. When new supplies came out, the meat was good but the croissants were slightly underdone. It would have been simpler (and almost certainly better quality, given the delicious looking pastries) to have ordered from the bar and paid for breakfast separately. To be fair, the following day was better. Nice croissants and unhurried atmosphere. I was there at 7:30 though. There are signs to a breakfast room within the hotel. Whether it was closed because my visit was out of season or it had not been opened because refurbishment work hasn't been completed, it is a shame because the café currently lets the hotel down. Some of the tiling work in my room was of poor quality, and had already broken away from its grout.

    Lift to upper floors (which is unusual in properties at this price in Catania). Room very spacious and features a comfortable bed. Exceptional fit out, let down by some small touch's. Suspect that when the current refurbishment has been completed, prices may rise, so stay here while it is so reasonable. Room 209 features a small balcony, which catches some of the late afternoon sun. Hotel very handy for the Alibus back to the airport and a short walk to Borgo station (where the Circumetnea starts).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Security is "tight" and you must "ring yourself in" to the hotel, which is on a busy street.

    Good location on Via Etnae so you really can walk most sites in Catania. Taxi fare from airport is 20+ euros...so be patient and consider the Alibus for 4euros pp, as it drops you quite new the hotel. Renovations are recent but the hotel is small and creates a cramped feel, even in public spaces. Nearby Bellini park is airy and quiet, with joggers, teens and baby carriages. Tariff is attractive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC outside is noisy and running all night, but to be fair that´s common in that region of Italy.

    Nice location, good breakfast in a Cafe next door. Apart from that typical 3 star hotel - you get what you paid for.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff, great breakfast, nice room (although it would be nicer if it was decorated). The location is suitable - central enough but the room was nevertheless quiet. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a total of 4 rooms. The only problem is that they did not advise us that 2 of our rooms had to stay in the block next to the Hotel. They should have advised us upon booking.

    Very good breakfast, Clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning in the room: especially the floor (parquet) needed better cleaning.

    The hotel is close to the city center and 60m from the Alibus station (Viale, next to Feltrinelly book shop). Large room, balcony. The breakfast in the cafe next to the hotel is Italian standard, sweet food plus yogurt, musli. Jessica was particularly available, kind and helpful, offering us useful infos on the city and the nearby eating opportunities. She gave us a very good advice on Savia traditional food shop: I recommend a visit there for arrancini and cannoli :), if you pass by Catania.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - english speaking personnel only in the afternoons - it was raining that day and in our room there was a whole in the window so the water broke in our room - quite far from the train station - 2nd floor was VERY untidy

    - very good breakfasts - just at the main street

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the double bed was made of two mattresses closed; mattresses were dirty; room needs a renovation: the shower did not work, I asked them to repair it, the toilet coil was broken and bonded with scotch; Breakfast was the same every day

    good location, large room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is advertised that no English speaking staff are available between 9pm - 9.15am but we missed this on the first night. To get hot water in the shower we had to run the water for a long time.

    Hotel was well located, the breakfast at the cafe next door was great and the staff helped to book tours and print out boarding passes

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is equiped with gadgets but tiles are broken and there was a very very bad smell.

    The location is good and rooms are very large. Bed was comfotable.breakfast at the bar was excellent 😁

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - It was freezing cold in the room, no additional blankets - Shower didn't work properly - Breakfast was ok, but really basic

    - Huge room - Good value for money - Nice staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mother and grandmother actually stayed at this hotel for one night and really loved it ... room was clean..staff were very helpful and close to the center .. breakfast was also good no complaints

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though the sheets and towels were changed frequently, the room was not very clean. The food for breakfast, served in a cafe next door, was always cold.

    Central location, private parking and excellent personnel at the reception.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Max Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: