Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Castiglione Country House

Via Colle Ramole 20, 50023 Impruneta, Italy

#4 of 10 hotels in Impruneta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    Horrible! No customer service and very isolated place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is minimally staffed. The place is far away from the bus station and very confusing to find. It’s 25 minutes walk in a hilly and narrow roads with no clear directions. I stopped 2 locals to ask for directions and both haven’t heard of the place! It’s really hidden on the top of a hill corner. Most disturbing is that staff lies! I was told I can check out and receive a refund for the nights not used. A day later, management changed their mind and refused to issue a refund despite promising so! I had already checked out and booked a new hotel so I got stuck. Had I known their intention, I would have stayed. I lost 300 Euros!

    I liked the design and decor of the place and the arts on the walls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Bella!!!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though we were misinformed about the bus from Villa Castiglione to Firenze by friends, our hosts were extremely accommodating to us by driving us daily and picking us up at the Bottai bus stop, a very short trip into Firenze.

    We loved our stay at Villa Castiglioni!!!! The staff were superb, treating us royally, the food is exquisite, and even though we were there off-season, the views and countryside were very beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, accommodation, food and staff. A place to stay for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was outstanding and the room and restaurant was excellent. We wished that we could have stayed more nights but our plans did not allow. The view and the help on local attractions was also unique and fun. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    A pretty place, but beware the front desk closure time, because after that, you're on your own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had called the staff in advance to say I would be arriving late, and I was told that was okay. While I was driving in the dark trying to find the place, they texted me to let me know that no-one would be at the desk if I didn't arrive shortly. I did not see the text, as I was driving. We found the place, the gate was open, and fortunately we met the last worker leaving for the evening. He called his boss, and we were told someone would be along shortly. As it was, my 9-year-old son and I waited over an hour (my phone battery had died in the meantime), and I was at the point of having him go to sleep in the car when a friend of the owner came to let us in (after midnight). For me, once someone at a hotel/B&B/etc. tells me that it's okay if I arrive late - keeping in mind the drive was 4 hours - that means someone will be there to welcome me when I arrive. The worker mentioned previously could have been given our keys, and given them to us. That did not happen. My revue reflects this.

    The place was pretty, and the rooms, while decorated a little on the fantastic/kitschy side, were quite nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    By all means VISIT!!! You will not be disappointed in your stay no matter how long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing could have been better!!!

    This was a spectacular experience in itself, the fact that it is a converted 19th century monastery makes the hotel truly unique. Filled with artworks, amazing views, excellent food. A five star experience!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings with good restaurant and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Short distance from car park to reception and no lift could be difficult for some but staff took cases up to room for us. Nothing we didn't like.

    Beautiful location and although we did not use the facilities there was a lovely outdoor pool and gardens. Rooms were spacious and the décor very interesting. The staff were extremely friendly and we were given a free bottle of wine. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent. A very pleasant stay with great car parking and views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.3
    Picturesque view on Florence, wine yards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a hotel, close to hostel-type. The whole place is outdated and have a bad smell. If you try to have a breakfast at 9:00 you have a chance to stay hungry. That is unacceptable at all.

    Picturesque view on Florence, wine yards.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    This hotel was a monastery at one time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was a monastery at one time. It was beautiful and opening the window each morning truly gave you the feeling of being in Tuscany. However, know that you cannot walk to anything. The hotel sits at the top of a steep hill and is about 6 miles from the center of Florence. It cost $32.00 each way to and from Florence by Taxi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Jekyll & Hyde Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Day 2. This hotel, sorry Country House, doubles up as a party/wedding/conference location and day 2 was party day and evening (until 10;30pm) Around the pool was noisy with staff getting ready plus loud music. From 6pm to 10:30pm 70's disco nonsense was pumping out around the valley's outside ruining dinner on the terrace and the whole ambience. Hated it. Check out if theres a party going on. And the staff don't know how to smile!

    We had a 2 night stay and day one was fabulous. Great location, views, pool, peaceful, restaurant, all very good. Then, day 2, look at the next box...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful place in remote Tuscany - Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air con didn't work very well. Narrow steep single track roads. Be careful if you are using a sat nav as it led us to a private house.

    Stayed here for a night on our Italian road trip. Beautiful remote setting in the heart of Tuscany, stunning gardens and a lovely pool. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't want to leave and we would love to visit here again in the future. Tip - we visited on a week day and pretty much had the whole place to ourselves which was amazing. Imagine it may be busy with weddings at the weekends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a tepid current instead of hot water for three(!!!) days out of four that we spent there. Being asked about it the lady at the reception would tell one time after another that they're working on it. The service at breakfast was poor - just one person serving everything to the guests. As a result, he/she would only bring coffee from somewhere far behind the scenes, while the plates at the buffet were empty or contained just remnants. The overall feeling - they're trying to sustain the place up to their pretentious self image while saving on staff and maintenance.

    Great location. Impressive views all around. Getting to Florence is very easy - 5 min. drive to Firenze Bottai station, free parking there and then 10 minutes by bus to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful location a short drive from Florence - do both and enjoy the contrast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went slightly out of season and the outside areas had not been maintained / adequately prepared e.g. Swimming pool / pool area untidily, outside seating dusty, pathways slightly unkempt / not "polished". But the staff attitude made up for it.

    Staff member Claudio was engaging, hospitable, helpful, and passionate about the food and wine he was serving. Wine tasting in the on-site cellar - treat yourself! Tranquil location - perfect for relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Great view of Tuscany .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of Tuscany .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Wish we could have stayed longer!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Views were incredible. Large rooms. Good breakfast choices. Decor in rooms & hotel property. History of property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, silent and peaceful, superb view, nice...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only tap water for drink in the room, no water heater and glasses.

    Excellent location, silent and peaceful, superb view, nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Interesting, relaxing, wonderful food
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed tea making facilities

    Location peace and quiet scenery pool gardens food and watching the bats

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    3.8
    the receptionist was very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the place is not to be a hotel.the parking is far from the entrance , there is no getting closer. the restaurant is expensive and the food is not good .

    the receptionist was very helpful .

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.3
    The surroundings are very peaceful with a nice view over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor made no sense.

    The surroundings are very peaceful with a nice view over the city. We got a promotion therefore it was real value for money. I guess the rooms are a bit outdated and the bathroom decor had nothing to do with the rest of the room. Our air conditioner was not working and that was the only downside. If it wasn't for that I would give this hotel a 5.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful location, friendly hosts, amazing spot to discover...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didnt work at all (also not in public spaces), breakfast is very Italian - every day the same, too much sweat things, no vegetables, ham, etc.

    Beautiful location, friendly hosts, amazing spot to discover Tuscany

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.7
    Setting is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The girl at the reception was kind of rude and didn't take much time for us when we checked in. When we arrived on a hot sunday afternoon, the first thing they told us was that the pool was closed because of a wedding. Pool is only opened from 10-18h!! Which is useless if you want to spend the day in Firenze and take a swim after coming back. Wifi didn't work during the entire stay. Each day they told us they were going to fix it but it didn't happen at all!

    Setting is beautiful. The hotel is on a hill very close to Firenze (by car). The view is beautiful. Breakfast is great. The guy who was in charge of breakfast was really nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was nearly perfect, however, one night there was a strange incidence in which two of the staff, with a rude tone, told us to stay away from the swimming pool. It was strange because the pool was actually beautifully lit so the ground around looked nice for a romantic stroll. Until now it is a mystery for us.

    Beautiful place! It's a converted monastery, the location is great if you're driving and planning to visit the Chianti area but still want to stay near Florence. The room is big! And there's a nice swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Wow such a nice place, an old monastery turned into a hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be improved. They organize all kind of events and sometimes there was loud music up until midnight (because of a wedding) or people talking really loud downstairs very early in the morning.

    Wow such a nice place, an old monastery turned into a hotel with all amenities and everything you need. We felt very welcomed and we enjoyed our 3 nights spent at the Villa Castiglione. Very clean, high quality amenities and nice room design. We had dinner there once and got some good Tuscan wine on the house.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    We didn't have just a bedroom --- it was more like a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have just a bedroom --- it was more like a suite. The bed head was a stunning piece of art. The other art works in the downstairs room were just amazing.All the staff were friendly & helpful --- particularly Leonardo, Costanza & Alessandra. The chef presents food that not only looks good but is very,very tasty.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    10
    We took their cooking lessons and that was definitely the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We took their cooking lessons and that was definitely the highlight of our stay. Salvatore the chef was a great teacher and fun to be around.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location. Really good service by the staff! A place i Would visit again

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    The room was very nice and overall there is a very nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very nice and overall there is a very nice view

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Great interior design features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some mosquitoes when sitting outside on hot evening!

    Great interior design features. Good breakfast and dinner. Helpful staff. Close to Florence.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    Location, decor, room size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hard bed, noisy aircon.

    Location, decor, room size.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Colazione scarsa

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Wow what a setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clearer signs from the motorway.

    Wow what a setting!

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.1
    Wonderful location, near Florence, and nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, near Florence, and nice view. It seem you are so far away in Tuscany.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Villa Castiglione Country House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: