Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Ranieri Hotel 4 stars

Via Filippo Mazzei 2 - Angolo S.Biagio, 56124 Pisa, Italy

#8 of 51 hotels in Pisa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1259 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    We were badly treated at the rent a car Office, waited for 2...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were badly treated at the rent a car Office, waited for 2 1/2 Hours for our car! The hotel kept the restaurant open till after 11 o’clock! Very helpfull personel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel for most people would be too far to walk to the major tourist sites.

    Gardens, excellent breakfast and dinner, staff were excellent, friendly and accommodating. Room curtains were excellent and shut out all light. Shower was amazing with great water pressure. The gentleman at the front desk was a great ambassador for the hotel and nothing was a problem. The housekeeper who serviced our room was thorough friendly and rushed to service the room while had breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low temperature in the room and heater couldn’t make it warmer

    Bed comfortable, fine sheets and towels, attention on details, fresh air even no window open, spacious and fancy room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    The furniture is modern with fusion interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is modern with fusion interior. It is very clean also. Even though the location of the hotel is not in the center, ii is one step away from the bus station. The stuff is very kind and helpful. Great espresso☕

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Very conveniently situated for a short stay when arriving in Pisa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't really stay long enough to comment. We found nothing which displeased us.

    Excellent breakfast and all the staff were helpful and friendly, especially at Reception. The bedrooms were very different in terms of decor and mirrors featured heavily in the room.slightly on the dark side for our liking, but still pleasant and definitely "different".

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    We had connected family rooms with two bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had connected family rooms with two bathrooms. Rooms were very comfortable for a family. We enjoyed the breakfast with variety of food. There is a bus stop near the Hospital Cisanello (LAM red), it takes 10 min. to the central train station. After 9 pm there operates a different line and it takes a bit longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    The perfect end to our holidays - we would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had a wide selection of options available for breakfast. The rooms were spacious and very clean, we had 2 connecting rooms. The staff were very helpful and even took us to a local pool (paid locally)! 15 minutes hotel shuttle bus ride to the airport, perfect. Lovely restaurant just up the road. 20 min bus ride into Pisa to the leaning tower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, outside of senter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eat in the restaurant twice. The first day was so-so, but the second was excellent.

    We like the location. Be aware, it is outside of the city, but excellent walking opportunity for those who loves to move. Also good bus connections. The room was spacious and clean. Liked life music in the restaurant. Big shopping centre nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast disappointing. Scrambled eggs inedible. Room lighting very modern and difficult to use/ figure out

    Service good. Garden lawns very nice. Parking available. Good service. Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Overly modern hotel that is in an odd location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower in the morning. Uneven floor tiles on the shower floor. Piece of glass found in my sons fruit juice glass.

    Breakfast was nice enough, the convenience of having an underground car parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from the city center. Better have a car when you book at this hotel

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Provides connected rooms which is very convenient when you have kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel rooms cool and very secure xxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of pool and lunch could have been improved by a little bit more information ;

    Great hotel really warm and welcoming staff and rooms are lovely shame about the lack of a pool xxx

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    <5 mins drive from airport, clean, friendly, great location for seeing Tuscany, would stay again
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really, a pool would be nice but for the price I think it is an excellent hotel

    clean, friendly staff, very helpful, great restaurant, good breakfast, really good nights sleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, very helpful staff and we would love to come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The possibility to borrow bikes was really good, we checked in quite early and could spend the entire afternoon riding around town. Nice since the hotel itself is outside the city centre and this meant we could leave the car at the hotel. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent and we were very happy with both the meal and the wine selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airport shuttle for late arrivals had to get taxi at airport. Hotel said it would be about 15 Euro and it cost us nearly 20 Euro (it was after midnight) At after midnight I could not get a cup of tea or anything had to use the mini bar in room for water, coke and a biscuit.

    Hotel was clean staff nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Modern hotel, rich and tasteful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was through opened window accessible from other rooms on the same floor from a "service bridge"...i.e. window better closed

    Modern hotel, rich and tasteful breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    we will be there again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not in the center of Pisa but we had rent a car and there was public transport every 20 minutes

    It was a magnificent choice. The breakfast was one of the top and the people who work there was really good and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant place, which fit our preferences nicely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdoor parking was limited. Indoor parking available at extra €10/day Plethora of unmarked funky light switches for the sake of modern "decor" was a bit annoying. TV tended to hang up. Asked for fresh batteries for the remote, but they didn't show up.

    Nice, quiet location, close to bus line to the train station and tourist area. Nice breakfast. Restaurant was good and service excellent. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Spoke good English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Mostly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast is good, however, although the brochure states that gluten free is available, when I asked nothing was brought out. We also missed out on coffee as the waitresses failed to come and take our order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location for the airport, super food (dinner and breakfast) :-), bed not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable (quite firm) and the aircon didn't seem to work very well.

    The staff were incredibly helpful, especially the restaurant staff in the evening (breakfast staff not so helpful),

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Stay here only if you have a car
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had dinner at the restaurant, very busy lot of people so staff was busy for this reason. Whereas at the reception they were fantastic!

    Staff kindness at the reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Badly designed hotel. Go elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above, but outside car parking non existing, hotel layout confusing. Must have been designed by essentric architects who never stayed in the place.

    The hotel is very quirky and is an example of style over function. The room lighting is bizarre, with no indication of what switches control what lights. The bathroom light was erratic. Central heating controls were useless, defaulted to 28 deg whatever control you used. Restaurant service very poor. Only the staff at reception were helpful. Far too much attention paid to conferences at the expense of hotel guests. Do yourself a favour and find another hotel in Pisa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Great stay at this hotel. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More plug sockets in the room would have been a bonus! Consider packing an extension lead...

    This hotel certainly exceeded my expectations - very clean, helpful staff, great breakfast and in a good location. The hotel is a few minutes away from a bus stop that takes you straight in to the centre of Pisa and the train station. I would definitely stay here again and will recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice service, good breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The modern design is not for everyone. Having mirrors all over the room was a bit strange. And too many light switches for different small lamps.

    Nice service, good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Lovely classy hotel, well situated, clean and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am a coeliac and requested gluten free bread there ,it was slow in coming the first morning and on the second morning, although I asked for it, it never arrived at my table! I didn't like to keep asking as the staff were busy serving the coffees. There was no need for the gluten free food to be kept in the kitchen because it was all individually wrapped so they could have been left out on the buffet. When I did eventually get the gluten free selection on the first morning there was a good selection of bread and cakes on the plate.

    This is a lovely hotel, very modern and efficient. Well situated outside the hustle and bustle of Pisa yet very well connected with 3 bus routes allowing quick access to Pisa town centre. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection on offer. The restaurant for dinner was excellent. Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. Soundproofing isn't great though so it could get noisy there in high season.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Our stay in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have contained more vegetables and fruits. The soundproofing was terrible you could hear people walking and talking loudly outside the door and in the bathroom as if they were in the same room with you. There were thick layers of dust behind some furniture for example behind the glass above the bed as it wasn't cleaned in months.

    The guys at the reception were really helpful and nice throughout our stay so kudos to them. The location was also ok as it was accessible to us as pedestrians. Modern hotel with a spacious room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    We'll stay in Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Very well hotel for a short stay, better for people travelling by car but a bus to the centre is just on the left :) hotel room was comfortable and clean, bathroom well equipped. Staff was friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not so convenient for city exploring. We had to take the car to reach parks, downtown, restaurants.

    Rooms are modern and clean. Good value for money. We enjoyed the fact that the hotel had a restaurant as the location is quite far from restaurants and supermarkets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Modern hotel with good food & a perfect room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Full breakfast, lot of choices! We also ate one night in the restaurant and it was delicious.The room was very nice, different from all the other hotels i have seen before. The bed was big with good pillows. The bathroom is also nice and big. Loved that the room has a lot of mirrors. The hotel is ten minutes from the airport and the tower of Pisa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Modern Decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of shops in the vicinity , not very close to the city centre.

    Modern Decor..the interconnected suite was well liked by children. Very friendly and helpful staff at front desk ( esp Alexandrio) . Excellent breakfast with good veriety of food and tasty too. Airport shuttle was very useful at a reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Great facilities but receptionist could've been more proactive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were staying there 3 nights and during the first and the last night there was a lot of noise from outside the hotel so they couldn't do something about it (we didn't ask for it neither). The buttons to switch the lights on and off were a bit confusing because you didn't know which you had to press. Also the doors looked like firedoors with no normal door handles. Also the last morning we asked at 7:45 to book a taxi to come at 8:00 but the receptionist told us to come back 10 minutes before we needed it (so 5 minutes later), instead of writing it down... bad service for that point.

    Nice breakfast and hotel overall. Had a lamp problem in our room but got another room immediately. The bed really nice and comfy. Really recommend staying there is you go visit Pisa because it is near the airport and only 15minutes drive with the bus to the centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    We only stayed for 1 night but it was an amazing experience ! Very beautiful and elegant :D!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard but definitely not worth taking any star ratings off for something minor. Fabulous hotel !

    The breakfast was amazing ! The staff were super friendly, the hotel itself was beautiful! Could definitely pass as a 5 star hotel ! Highly recommended :D

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    It was ok based on the fact that we only needed to sleep there and not spend longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you enter the hotel there is a funny lingering smell. It stays with you until you enter the corridor to the rooms. I think this is because the restaurant is open plan to reception but something can be done to help this I'm sure. There was noise in the night and there were no coffee or tea facilities in the room

    The people on reception were lovely. It's close proximity to airport (especially if you have an early morning flight like we did) and the price of the stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Decent, but I wouldn't rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were weirdly ultra modern (TV hidden in the mirror!) and relatively small. Beds are large but both they and the pillows were hard. Our room overlooked the rubbish bins which meant we got an early wake up on the second day. The bar area is small and uncomfortable.

    Area is very peaceful and theres a very good pizzeria nearby. It's a bit of a way out of the centre but there's an excellent bus service to the station and the tower. The restaurant is good. Staff were lovely. There's some good outside seating areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    The reception staff are excellent and provided detailed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff are excellent and provided detailed information about where to get the bus as well as other suggested sites to see. Breakfast was good with hot and cold dishes available as well as fruit , cakes and cereals. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening once again the staff were first class, the food exceptional. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Still a nice place to stay but not as good as it used to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite isolated on the edge of Pisa, we went for a walk because it was a nice evening but its surrounded by major roads and car parks. The food in the restaurant was very expensive. They used to do a great set menu that was good value but that's gone now. No kettle in the bedroom though it was stated in answer to earlier reviews that they were going to provide them.

    Friendly staff. Big comfy bed. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    very pleasant modern hotel would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately there are no tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms. You could order it from the restaurant but it was expensive.

    The hotel was very clean, comfortable & quiet.Helpful, friendly staff, excellent breakfast.Close to public transport as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    3.3
    NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Noise of the cleaning ladies from 7.30 am on sunday -Breakfast closed right in front of us and removed all in front of us -Hair in the shower and in the toilet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in Pisa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not like the clubbing/music during the weekends. We had lots of activities planned and often had to wake up early.

    The hotel is beautiful and clean. It is very modern and the service was excellent. However, it is quite far from the main city and you must take public transportation to get to and from the hotel if you do not have a car. Breakfast was great, you get fresh coffees and they will prepare eggs any way you wish. Plenty of variety and coffee/tea/hot cocoa on tap. There apparently are parties during the weekends, which end at midnight. We were not aware of this and were unable to sleep Friday and Saturday nights until midnight. Overall definitely a worthwhile hotel. Wish it was more central, but it's only about ten-fifteen minutes from the main station by bus on a direct line.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel but wrong location for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about the hotel it was just the wrong location for us

    The hotel and staff were excellent but for us the location was not suitable we didn't have a car although they had a very good bus service into the centre of Pisa and the train station. Great restaurant within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Best Hotel so far😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing

    Just amazing, great value felt like a 5star+ hotel amazing design /boutique ,great location for Getting into Central Pisa(10min Bus /cab ride very easy) attentive staff best hotel to date on our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    The Staff is properly trained and so nice to talk to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at San Ranieri twice in 7 years and I really think the hotel should be renovated as it starts looking tired.

    The Staff is properly trained and so nice to talk to! All of them were very helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    All in all, the hotel was nice and staff were friendly. Felt like high price to value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no bath. The TV was built in the mirror which was not the best ide and also very small screen. The channels were not set properly (room 331).

    The hotel looks modern and stylish. Exactly our taste. The room was clean. Check in was easy and fast. The staffs were helpful. The breakfast was buffet type with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    the hotel in general was good, modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have money in the safe and 50 € in small notes has disappeared next day . Hotel staff did nothing. I was really disappointed and upset.

    the hotel in general was good, modern and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.0
    Poor hotel in the suburb of Pisa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor staff. No intention to listen to the customer. No information of travel possibilities!! Air conditioning is not enough (NIL) in the corridors!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Room service rates for food also very reasonable. Shuttle bus service to airport very good and cheap compared to taxi rates. Easy to get bus into Pisa. Would definitely use again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Convenient One Night Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of a nightmare, as there are limited spaces and it always seems full. I did find a space thought, so I was lucky.

    Buffet lunch and breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    I'll go there again whenever I can!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pity the staff 10yr anniversary took the airconditioned restaurant for their evening party and forced the guests to eat outside - still pleasant, but hot. The tv in the room is small, has very limited non-Italian programmes, and the few that there are, don't work very well! The Hotel should specifiy that the airport shuttle bus STARTS at 8am. (No good if your flight is earlier.)

    very comfortable bed, bathroom and room. Food was excellent in the restaurant. The staff, bar one unsmiling, impatient lady in reception, are amazingly kind and gentle. The Hotel atmosphere is calm, friendly and soothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.4
    Nice view to the garden (from the superior rooms)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. WiFi: It is unacceptable that every time I go outside the range of the WiFi and return, I have to start the whole registration process again! 2. At reception: (a) during my stay there were many issues with the busses in Pisa, due to San Ranier celebrations. I asked information at the reception about the changes in the bus schedule and in the best case the answer was "We don't know, since we were not informed". In the worse cases, I got wrong information. (b) Upon arrival, I asked for late checkout (and was ready to pay for that). The answer was "No chance since the hotel is fully booked". After checking out, I was told that there is no problem to have late checkout (for 50 Euro). Again, the information I first got at the reception was wrong! 3. Breakfast: the service strongly depends on the groups hosted in the hotel. Whenever there was a group, products were missing, and the number of available seats where limited, as large parts were reserved for the group. 4. Restaurant: I wanted to have lunch and was told: "Today we only serve cold food, in an alternative room, since we have a celebration". This is unacceptable, since you advertise that you have a restaurant in the hotel, and it should be working, not only when you do not have celebrations. The restaurant is a part of the deal, and is considered when selecting the hotel. This is very important, since the hotel is located far from the city and from other restaurants. 5. Bathroom: The glass wall in the shower is too small and every time one showers the floor in the whole bathroom becomes full of water. 6. The TV set is far too small. Normal people cannot watch it from the bed, and there is no other location closer to the TV. 7. There is a desk in the room, but no char! Using the stool is very uncomfortable. Practically, the desk is unusable, and you must work with your laptop in bed. 8. No kettle in the room.

    Nice view to the garden (from the superior rooms) Breakfast: Large variety and good service (when there is no group in the hotel)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Room is large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed is a twin-bed combined. The pillows are too soft. Breakfast was quite terrible. Decor of the room deviated quite a bit from management pictures - its only a very simple hotel that in my opinion shouldn't be rated four star.

    Room is large. Bathroom is very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay just out of Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a bit weak but staff were happy to help sort it out

    The staff were very helpful, the building interior and exterior were very different in a good way, we ate dinner in the Tuscan dining area and it was delicious as was the local wine recommended by a member of staff, the transfer to the airport was brilliant - all good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Hotel review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room, however free machine in reception. This machine was out of service a few days though. Location is not so good though, only one other restaurant around the area. Had to get bus into Pisa each day, back to hotel, then out on bus again in the evening. Bar in hotel was small but good. However 3 days it was booked up for events, so we could not use it.

    Nice room, air conditioned. The breakfast was plentiful. Rooms cleaned every day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. I found it frustrating that despite a notice in the bathroom asking guests to help minimise washing by placing towels in the sink when they needed replacing, my towels were still changed everyday. Also they kept removing the soap I had opened which seems wasteful. The food in the restaurant, although very nice was very limited and I was surprised that given such a small menu that it didn't change during the week.

    Easy access to public transport to get into the city. Staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. The room was well decorated and equipped with almost everything you would need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    San Francisco Pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts for early leavers was terrible. Coffee machine broken, no plates, no cutlery and little on offer. The lighting in the room was poor. Some confusion over dinner options.

    Bed huge and comfy. Room clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    4.2
    Not comfortable at all.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well don't even think of not turning in a disposable plastic room key. Other wise they threaten to call the police on you. Thats what happen.

    It was clean, but cold and not comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stylish stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shop for basic things in hotel (like tampons, paracetamol etc) great location for the airport.

    Comfortable bed, decor was great but the lights were tricky to work...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the fact that I called the property to find out if they have a shuttle to collect us at the train station, the lady that answered the call could not speak English properly and said that I do not have a booking with them. We were 6 travelers and it we paid 40 Euros to get to the property with a taxi. On arrival, the lady at the desk said that they do have a shuttle at a cost of 10 Euros for the whole group. We could have saved 30 Euros if she could speak and understand English properly.

    Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Great base for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no tea/coffee facilities and the light system in the room isn't great, they turn off for no reason.

    The food is amazing! And the waiters are really friendly and helpful, the hotel is also spotless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    3.8
    Never again, the hotel is overrated in booking and other platforms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - service not matching to a 4* - suite and junior suite do have superior doubleroom character - restaurant with the charme of a train station, no comfortable chairs, very loud and very bad light, so no atmosphere for a business dinner - bar already closed @ 11.20pm - minibar with water only - television with 19inch size equal to a computer screen, channels not even clear visible - dirty elevator - confusing infrastructure with to many useless doors on the corridors - breakfast very simple - staff was not problem solution oriented - design character but with cheap enterior

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Decent hotel, nice staff, good public transport close by, decent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound through the corridor was a small issue for us, babies crying, people talking, cleaners cleaning. We weren't there all the time but it was usually first thing in the morning when we were trying to get a little extra sleep. We put the TV on for white noise or to blank it out but because the only English channel was a little fuzzy the sound began to crack. The bed was a little hard but was spacious. I read in the description there would be bathrobes available (we paid for the superior room) but sadly there weren't any, perhaps I misread, slippers were provided though and came in handy. Internet was not great for me, I could only really use the WiFi from the bathroom, it's a good job there was a stool in there. The WiFi worked better for my partner but he also bought data on his phone. The WiFi was better from the dining room though, tried to do most my planning while having breakfast.

    Staff were very friendly, most spoke and understood English. Room was cleaned and items replenished almost every day, upon arrival there were slippers tucked into the shower mat, towels and toiletries also presented nicely. Public transport really good from hotel location. Grateful for the one English TV channel as there was something to watch whilst in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    weekend in pisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is close to hospital so expect sirens at times

    modern hotel, free breakfast had a good and varied selection of food, staff friendly and helpful. room and bathroom clean and comfortable. 3 terraced gardens were an added bonus on hot days. hotel was easily reached by local transport from city centre. shuttle bus to airport in 10 minutes for 10 euros per room was reasonable. would definately visit again if in the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    A value hotel but little things make it a poor stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds very hard Pillows like a rock No tea/coffee in room Aircon turned off in Spring so window needed to be open, result cigarette smoke plus noise from outside talkers till early hours

    Excellent front desk 250m from bus into town every 10 mins Excellent self serve cafe 200m up road Free carparking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in Pisa
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing to mention is that the hotel is not exactly centrally located, but it is in a very beautiful and quiet area, so it more than makes up for it.

    My stay at the San Ranieri hotel, although short, was very pleasant. The hotel had all the facilities required, the room was large and comfy, and the breakfast was very good. The WiFi signal was also very good throughout the hotel. I attend a workshop in the hotel, and the conference room was well equipped and large. I would also like to point out that the garden near the restaurant was very nice, as well as the terraces at the higher floors.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.1
    All in all an orderly 4-star establishment in a provincial...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a poignant smell in the lobby eventually coming from the kitchen. It was the first impression on the guests and respectively should be addressed.

    All in all an orderly 4-star establishment in a provincial city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was incredibly expensive for evening meal for the family and not great selection. I would recommend the pizza restaurant around the corner which is great value

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Great hotel. Staff speaks English. Very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son was in the hospital near the facility. They were very good to work with! Great stay! As an American in a strange city at a difficult time this was so very helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Very nice and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is a bit hard, but maybe some prefer it that way. The diner didn't match my expectations - the place was crowded, the service was slow and the cheese was cooked on only one side - but that evening they organised an event so probably this is the reason for these problems.

    The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The superior room was nice and spacious, very clean and comfortable. The design of the hotel is modern (although not quite my taste). The garden is really great. There are enough parking spaces - in the underground parking of the hotel and around the hotel. The location is not near the city centre but is quiet and easy to get to the centre by car.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    great service people helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great service people helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    A clean and convenient hotel to stay prior to flights from Pisa with an excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in our bedroom was too dark

    The breakfast, the staff were very helpful and the shuttle arrangements.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice restaurant and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The décor of rooms and hallways dark and unusual

    Nice restaurant and garden

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    The restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    The restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that close to the centre

    Clean, comfortable and stylish. Good location for airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable rooms, good WiFi and excellent dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood

    Very comfortable rooms, good WiFi and excellent dinner. Reception were very helpful. Shuttle airport is available on the hour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely food and very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    We were all looked after very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nothing wrong in fact it was more than what we expected.

    We were all looked after very well. We had friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Ranieri Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: