Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Rocco 4 stars

Via Gippini 11, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy

#24 of 44 hotels in Orta San Giulio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    We would probably come back to this hotel but hope for some improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel seems to be very tired and in need of tlc. We had booked 6 months in advance to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary here and had requested a large double room with lake view. Unfortunately we arrived on a Saturday which coincided with a wedding and, after a chaotic check-in, were shown to a tiny, twin bedded room with a minute balcony, a miniscule bathroom and as it was adjoining another room, we could clearly hear the people next door. When we complained, we were told that no other room was available because of the wedding. We came to the conclusion that weddings take precedence here over normal hotel guests. After complaining again, a double, garden room was found for us for that night. To be fair, next day we were given a junior suite at the same rate and that was very nice but it was a poor start. Breakfast is in a strange side room with uncomfortable seats. The only warm food is undercooked bacon and very wet scrambled egg and an annoyingly squeaky toast machine. On our actual Anniversary, we had a nice window seat in the main dining room, but the meal was disappointing. The restaurants in the village are much better.

    The position is second to none. Fantastic views; great pool by the lake; easy stroll into the village. Beautiful setting. When we did get into an upgraded junior suite, that room was excellent with lovely lake views. Bar staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location superb views food average .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor ( compared to other smaller less expensive hotels ) No choice of hot food , COLD boiled eggs. No really fresh fruit

    Location and facilities superb . Excellent room and beautiful view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location very close to the lake and village square.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was very poor - we could not get our room below 24 degrees! Consider putting coffee machine and/or kettle in the rooms.

    The views of the lake were stunning - we did not have a lake view room but did ok with a view onto a slightly wooded area. The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. Plenty of lifts for weary legs! The bar and waiter service was excellent. The location to the village square for restaurants, water taxis and small number of shops was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location and views from pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little choice for gluten free in the way of carbohydrates.

    Hotel room clean and comfy. Breakfast moderately ok. Little choice for gluten free in the way of carbohydrates.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful old style hotel - breakfast needs revising
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is terrible!! Why do they make us have breakfast here is beyond me... and breakfast is really below average.

    The gorgeous view! Swimming in the lake! Aperitivo by the lake!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service could be a bit better.

    The location and views were superb. You could literally hop from the pool to the lake or have dinner with the water next to you. The restaurant food was also outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this hotel is 'The Best!' It is like paradise and so tranquil even in July!!! The breakfast is varied and delicious and after a morning dip in the lake it's perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    Beautiful location, poorly trained staff, disappointing:is it a bar, a function centre or a hotel?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a real disappointment. The location is great, unfortunately that means if you pay the premium for a lake view room you share it with late night revelers - and instead of enjoying the fresh air through the french doors have to put on the rather inadequate aircon. For the three nights we were there this meant drunks diving into the lake in the dark after 11pm; locals visiting and enjoying the bar (and who the staff said they had no authority to ask to keep their voices down and respect guests staying in the hotel); and weddings (nice location for a wedding, but when we were there it swamped the hotel, so there was not enough food at the breakfast buffet, the bar couldn't provide drinks to guests at the pool for much of the afternoon because they were too busy with the wedding and guests having started the celebration at breakfast were still in full voice well after midnight). The manager eventually responded, but not adequately. This place is beautiful but needs to decide if its main business is being a hotel, a bar or a function venue and train staff accordingly.

    The view of the lake is beautiful from the superior room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel on beautiful lake Orta in charming Orta San Giulio
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lounge chairs around the pool need upgrading and guests should not be allowed to reserve chairs for hours without using them.

    Perfect location in a beautiful town, very nice terrace and pool on the lake. Great views from the lake view room and public areas. Staff was very helpful making restaurant recomendations and reservations. Very pet friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    An amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding at the hotel when I stayed which seemed to dominate the staff. I was told to wait 20 minutes to get a drink. They need to decide if they are a boutique hotel or a wedding venue

    An amazing location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Excellent location, otherwise disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was tiny with virtually no storage, although the hanging rail suspended from the ceiling was neat. Bathroom layout ridiculous; the sink was virtually on top of the toilet which meant every time you used the loo, you collided with the sink. Goodness knows how you would manage if you were on the larger size! The hotel guide stated the bathroom water was not suitable for drinking. As we could not locate a mini bar list, we assumed the water and soft drinks supplied were free (as we had found in Milan hotel). This was obviously not the case when presented with a mini bar charge upon check out. The breakfast buffet was lacking and frankly the staff were completely disinterested (this could be said for the demeanour of most of the staff).

    Glorious picturesque location in what looks like an old charming hotel with great street appeal. Within walking distance of the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely buildings, wonderful lakeside position with 180...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were good but better value to be had in town.

    Lovely buildings, wonderful lakeside position with 180 degree views. Very relaxed and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mother slipped on a wet restroom floor and the front desk manager refused to take any responsibility or to apologise. Some cost cutting measures leave it short of its 4 star rating. Queuing for coffee at a machine rather than table service for example.

    Weather

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Location on the lake side was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are drab and sad. The ones that have been redone are in poor taste with a lot of money spent on useless technology and none in real quality

    Location on the lake side was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Will definitely go again to this perfectly situated and comfortable hotel, but not to the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Strange cable fence around the pool. Disappointed with the evening restaurant food.

    Great room and large comfortable bed. Brilliant swimming pool. Lots of different places to sit and lie in the shade or the sun. Reception and bar staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, beautiful property, perfect for night or two in Orta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was absolutely terrible - our room was baking hot and we called someone to have a look at it who said it would take "several hours" to cool down - not ideal as we were ready for bed. We ended up sleeping with the balcony doors open which was fine. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because the restaurant was indoors and seemed very stuffy - it's a shame that you can't eat outdoors on the terrace. The pool deck was nowhere near as good as it looks in photos of the property - it's quite old and the pool wasn't exactly inviting - but perhaps it wasn't hot enough while we were there!

    The hotel is a converted monastery which is absolutely beautiful and it's position in the old town of Orta and on the lake front is absolutely superb - and cannot be beaten. The large terrace is stunning for early evening drinks - and the bar is reasonably priced. Our stay included a welcome drink which was a nice touch. Easy parking if you're coming by car and overall a great night's stay in Lake Orta. Would certainly recommend. The rooms are perfectly adequate but nothing to write home about - this hotel is really about location and setting which make up for the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff, view and location were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C wasn’t working and was told it’ll take till next day to be fixed. In hotels of this level I would expect a technician to work on it immediately. Twice the staff tried to come into the room when I was inside (without knocking!)

    The staff, view and location were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    We came for a wedding, it was great, although the service in the evening meal was very slow!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was mediocre. Luke warm scrambled eggs and bacon. The coffee machine made warm coffee, not hot coffee. The staff did not clear away the dishes hence there could be a very busy table. For a 4 star hotel it was lacking, Our bedroom was very hot, on enquiringly the person came to look at the room. All we got offered was a fan as the air con had been switched off?????? Poor!

    The position of the hotel next to the lake and the nearness of the town, all within walking distance. A lovely walk around the peninsula. The staff were friendly. Good view of the lake, particularly as we paid for a garden room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful! You must spend a least one night at this hotel exploring the charming town of Orta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room without a view to the lake. It was quite small and cramped, and overlooked a brick wall. It was otherwise clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom.

    The grounds and location of this hotel are simply gorgeous! The platform overlooking the lake where you can have drinks and appetizers is extremely beautiful and serene. You stare out looking at the beautiful Isola Island. The breakfast is delicious and provides lots of options. The eating area also overlooks the lake. Our stay here was charming. We unfortunately only had one night in Orta San Guilio but I can't wait to come back. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    nice hotel in a beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good placement next to the lake Beautiful buildung Very good service: We had some problems with the heater. Somebody came immediately to fix it (even if it was already in the evening)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay and the beauty. Would love to visit in early fall or spring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better. The type of foods provided was fine but the eggs were barely warm. Or visit was during a low period to visit . We noticed the town was very quiet and many stores were not open. We did have a terrific dinner at a local restuarant which hotel recommended. It was comfortable, reasonable prices and appeared locales frequented it as well

    The hotel accomodations were excellent and the staff very helpful on great places to eat and other information. It was our first trip and we hadnt known anyone who ever visited this area nor been at this hotel. We were amazed at the beauty and the view from the hotel. It is a comfortable environment and not stuffy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, perfect location ~ in a beautiful, little town
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad pressure on the water in the shower, and the door to the terrace soon loses its handle .. The daily cleaning is very good, while the lamps, for example. was completely dumped

    Very nice room ~ with a fantastic view :) Location is perfect and perfect to have parking as well. The bar, located almost in the sea, is so nice! Perfect, short, distance to the little town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Very quiet and relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditioning regulator difficult to understand amenities in bathroom should be changed every day staff in the restaurant not really caring about customers. It was very obvious that they seemed to want to finish their service as soon as possible. Furthermore, the restaurant was really over priced with an average quality.

    Staff were very good especially at reception! Breakfast was nice. rooms are very comfortable and beautiful view on the lake.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful staff, delicious breakfast and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was small. The commode was too close to the tub, so there was no place to put your feet if you were tall. The door to the balcony must leak because the floor just inside the room had some serious damage and should be repaired. The halls were very dark.

    The room was comfortable, if a little small. The hotel was conveniently located near the main piazza. The hotel provided transportation to and from the train station. There was a little balcony with a lovely view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Location is fantastic and views are the best you’ll get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was rude from x2 waiters, hairdryer didn’t work, bathroom was dated and bath was broken.

    Location is fantastic and views are the best you’ll get.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    The location and the area is amazing. The hotel needs face lifting.&
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor signs for directions. No gym. Dark place.. bathroom is not convenient to use. Tub not clean. Floor and tub has left over of hair. No telephone in the room.

    Yes. They were.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Very peaceful stay with beautiful views over lake Orta San Giulio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was described as double room with garden view. The garden actually consisted of an overgrown piece of land on the other side of the street. Not really a problem as we didn't pay the high premium for a lake view so did not expect anything spectacular. It is just that "garden view" somehow conveys the idea of a well kept garden not a piece of land full of weeds, so quite misleading.... The hotel is very modern with subdued lighting so if you like reading in bed bring a kindle !

    The location was splendid facing the lake and San Giulo island. Nice outdoor seating area on a floating deck , perfect for a drink with a wonderful view. Also good location just on the edge of the village of Orta San giulio allowing a nice walk around the old village with its charming faded grandeur. Again, in the evending, wonderful views from our dining table facing the lights on the opposite coastline and the lit up monastery and church on the island.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous Hotel in the best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A fabulous Hotel on Lake Orta. Highly recommend! Receptionist Fabiana was so warm & welcoming. She made our stay extra special by helping us out in many ways. Thank you Fabiana for your friendly kindness.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Lake Orta Jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could use more or better lighting.

    Lake Orta is a little jewel in the Italian Lake District and the Hotel San Rocco is the perfect place to experience this beautiful spot. The staff was exceptionally helpful (making two standout dinner recommendations). Having drinks with friends in the evening at a table by the lake was memorable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    It was nice, but mainly because of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were too hot, AC did not work properly, Wifi was really poor - kept cutting out, customer service was not brilliant. Room service do not answer the phone, people can't really be bothered. The rooms in the images are nothing like the room we were given.

    The location is beautiful. On the lake, decent pool and nice outdoor bar area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't really surprised with the room. The price of the hotel is mostly because of the location other than the comfort in the room.

    Location and view were excellent, lake in the front of the hotel and also very close to restaurants and the main square in Orta San Giulio. It's also a very cozy location with very good food and wine. The restaurant is also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    A wonderful respite from hot busy cities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably best suited to families.

    The location is lovely, and swimming and paddling on the lake was wonderful. The village is small and charming, there are lots of lovely places to sit by the lake and watch the sunset , and plenty of good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Best location, gorgeous hotel.. and wait to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was perfect!

    Such a beautiful hotel in a stunning location. Friendly staff and delicious breakfast. Great swimming pool overlooking the lake. Got upgraded as it was our wedding anniversary and they also left us a bottle of Prosecco and cakes in our room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Lake Orta stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sun loungers & parasols around the pool- a bit of a fight to secure a place! Breakfast buffet quite good but coffee awful.

    Excellent location with pool & bar overlooking the lake. Short stroll to the town square & restaurants. Room modern , good bathroom. Air conditioning good & essential!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant enough hotel but not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Essentially we did not find the hotel good value for money bearing in mind the room rate paid. The hotel was quite impersonal. Indeed on arrival there was a large party of business people resident in the hotel. The staff were pleasant but not especially warm or welcoming, very much in contrast to the other hotels in which we stayed in Italy. We stayed in a "superior room" (overlooking the lake) so I was surprised that in the bathroom the shower was over the bath with a shower curtain! The air conditioning appeared to be working but wouldn't cool the room below 25 degrees which was too hot in the night. This was reported to the reception but we heard nothing further although we were told it would be checked out. We chose the hotel for the position (which did not disappoint) and the swimming pool which, although quite old, was pleasant to swim in, but there are insufficient sun beds for the number of residents some of whom had to be turned away by a very harassed pool attendant. We were lucky in that a couple moved away as we arrived in the pool area but there were no towels available so we had to collect our robes form our room to lie on those. The breakfast was quite good but nothing very exceptional and again was more akin to a business hotel. The breakfast waiters were however pleasant and helpful. All in all nothing very wrong but disappointing for the rate paid.

    The location, particularly proximity to the lake and town. In Orta the hotels generally do not have parking facilities but this hotel has 2 garages and with the genius status we were given free parking which was a welcome bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Incredible location but will not be back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for small room size and overall comfort. The food at the restaurant was more expensive than most and restaurant staff were not very friendly. Most concerning was when we checked in we were assured our belongings would be taken care of and delivered to our room. Somewhere during that process we had 2 bottles of wine disappear. The only response from the hotel was to check our room again.

    Fantastic location on lake and wonderful view of island. The staff in the reception were very friendly. The quality of food at the restaurant and offered at breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    great location - poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room allocated had no air conditioning, and it was a real struggle to get staff to action any assistance. we eventually did get a room change which was very pleasant. the staff were not the friendliest in the main which was a little disappointing

    Fantastic location, great breakfast lovely grounds and outdoor areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    A VERY GOOD PLACE TO ENJOY A WONDERFUL LANDSCAPE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING, SINCERELY

    THIS HOTEL IS SITUATED IN A WONDERFUL POSITION AND ALL THE ELEMENTS OF EVALUATION OF A VACATION ARE WELL CONSIDERED AND TAKEN UNDER ATTENTION. SILENT ROOM, VERY SHORT DISTANCE TO REACH RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS IN THE CENTER OF THE TOWN. THE STAFF IS SKILLED, PROFESSIONAL AND VERY EASY

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful setting. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasnt working. Room very dimly lit (with fire plan notice in complete darkness - requiring torch to read). Breakfast offerings very uninspiring. Given star rating of hotel added cost of €9 for an omelette is surprising. Would run a bit more efficiently if had self serve tea & coffee rather than trying to get waiter's attention.

    Great location lakeside. Drinks at the waterside terrace is a wonderful setting. Only a few minutes walk to make piazza.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice room, directly on the lake. Food was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was good but not outstanding. If you want to treat yourself, you should consider the Villa Crespi, the food there is excellent, but of course much more expensive.

    Hotel is directly on the lake, so you can either swim in the pool, the lake or both. You can also rent kayak at EUR 10/hour. Food was average, not outstanding, but ok. Breakfast was also average: not bad but not as fancy as I expected.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar service was slow and snacks were stale.

    Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. Assisted with finding a place to store my bicycle. Garden facing room was quiet with lovely view of green. I think sea facing rooms could be noisy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.4
    Service need to improve but beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was of poor quality. Coffee was bitter, milk watery, staff serving breakfast unprofessional noisy and not caring. When I took a place at the pool the chairs were a bit wet- no one offered to wipe them. No towls were delivered for a sun-bath. The quality of the food at the terrace was also low standard.

    The position is fantastic and the room we had was nice. However, the overall service was really poor. I would next time stay at another accomodation at lake Orta.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.4
    not the level of service we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    service slow. phone was out due to software change or something like that. we lined up a driver and had to cancel due to weather but receptionist did not mention cancellation fee which he charged us the next day when he took us to Milan. We compromised on the amount between what we had been told and what he was charging.

    convenience. view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    Fabulous location with terrace and pool right on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room bit small and hot. No proper coffee at breakfast, it came out of a machine!

    Fabulous location with terrace and pool right on the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location fabulous views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Spectacular setting and a lovely friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needs more storage space.

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    Would not return to hotel but would return to area
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of maintenenace in all areas of hotel

    Potion of hotel fantastic food very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great service and lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, great service and lovely room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Lake Orta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect spot by the lake. Lovely pool area. Great food. 5 minutes walk to the main square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful setting, easy walk in to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small, air con not very effective.

    Beautiful setting, easy walk in to town. Staff very polite and helpful. Good selection of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First lake view room had a tiny balcony. Fortunately they upgraded us

    Great location, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-out too early (10am)

    Location Nice and clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff very grumpy No kettle in room No hot water in bathroom Cleanliness not great in public areas Pool and spa not open

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location, friendly staff, excellent maid service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a bit hard for my liking.

    Beautiful location, friendly staff, excellent maid service in the room and room was spotless!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous staff. Fabulous restaurant. Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic! Would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jetty outside, is a fantastic place to sit and enjoy the lake. Stunning views, and great location for the square and chapel tour. 10 out of 10!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    The wonderful location and historic buildings surrounding it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wonderful location and historic buildings surrounding it. The view and the terrace was spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    We loved the peaceful location and the gorgeous setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room climat- too warm

    The quiet , authentic village feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    The young lady at check in and check out was truly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young lady at check in and check out was truly outstanding. Excellent location overlooking Isola San Giulio.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Perfect for a romantic break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints!

    Stunning location, right on the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant, relaxing and glamorous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Milk jugs needed for tea at breakfast.

    Comfortable rooms. Excellent location. Good staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    We did not want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front of desk staff could be more attentive / professional

    Location is ideal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Spectacular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning not that effective

    The lakeside swimming pool & terrace area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was amazing!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    in serious need of maintenance, bad food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very bad food, old hotel in poor condition

    great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous get away from it all hotel when you can splash out a bit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant menu was a bit limited

    Great hotel and fabulous rooms and settings. The bar is terrific as are the bar staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    1st Class Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff need cocktail trainning.

    Splendid location. Pool and Lake swimming is a must.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    Great location but soulless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bathroom

    Location overlooking Lake Orta

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Enchanting lakeside delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was beautiful, quiet, clean and the view was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    The view, and staff member Beatrice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean. No in room coffee facilities.

    The view, and staff member Beatrice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Great stay in Orta !!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel on Lake Orta

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Luxury apartament
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception nor breakfast

    Luxury apartament Great position Excellent value

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.5
    This is an interesting hotel thoughtfully restored and with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location and hotel suited our needs for the short stay, it was reasonably comfortable and did not disappoint. However we would not like to vouch for a longer stay, the staff were friendly but the hotel had a short stay conference feel to it while the wellness suite seemed closed. Like all these lake hotels they are relatively expensive although this one fully accommodated our requests and needs.

    This is an interesting hotel thoughtfully restored and with character, it is refreshingly different. It benefits from being on the lake with lake view rooms, we enjoyed one of these. The main asset is the charming and surprising town that has not completely lost its roots and identity to mass tourism. We are pleased we took the trouble to visit this smaller lake and town and to have chosen this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    Location of the hotel right on the shore of the lake and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom too small. The first night there was a party. The music was really loud and went on until after midnight. The second night, it was all quiet. Wellness center was closed because of a previous flood and nobody knew when it would reopen.

    Location of the hotel right on the shore of the lake and near everything. Free parking at the hotel because I am a Booking Genius. Welcome drinks. Staff at breakfast very kind.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    6.7
    Wonderful bar area on the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was basic. Flushing the toilet required a special trick. Something was leaking in the bathroom. WiFi was off and on.

    Wonderful bar area on the water. Beatiful town.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Rocco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: