Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Tommaso Hotel 4 stars

C.Da Bagiolaro, S.N., 70044 Polignano a Mare, Italy

#1 of 12 hotels in Polignano a Mare

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 410 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Choose elsewhere unless you are part of the wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no restaurant. It is a favorite location for weddings. As such, it is noisy from afternoon until late into the night. It is NOT within a few minutes of easy walking distance to the center.

    The room was spacious and offered a good view toward the sea. The hotel was attractive and the grounds were well-manicured.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is beautiful and it is on the outskirts of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better.

    This hotel is beautiful and it is on the outskirts of Polignano a Mare. The room was really nice, with beautiful views and the grounds are also very pretty (with green grass and a decorative pool and fountain). We visited this small sea side town since we booked a dinner at Grotta Palazzese Restaurant. The hotel is also not too far from Bari Airport so we stayed there on our last night before returning home. They are a wedding venue so they have a wedding practically everyday, some guests may not like this, but we didn't mind at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful room in villa - beware the wedding market
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Geared to wedding market ( every day ) which restricts use of communal areas.

    Excellent room with terrace. Beautiful gardens. Quality of room good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Great breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is more a wedding function center than a hotel. Don’t go there if you’re looking for tranquility. Maybe during the week. The facilities are nice.

    Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant, but didn't feel special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could gave been in a brighter room. Guests seemed to be secondary to the 'Wedding business'. Weren't really any facilities.

    Restaurants were a drive away, so not near. Those in Polignano a Mare were lovely though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in a lovely park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds edges were very uncomfortably. You hit allways your legs when you went to bed.

    Beautifull parks and surraundings. Rooms were very big, but the beds not so comfortable. Very nice bathroom. Our friends did have very big terrass, but we had't any. Though the price was same. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious room, great breakfast but no facilities for non wedding guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This facility is primarily a wedding/special event site. We were notified in advance that there would be a wedding and that there would be loud music until 11:00pm; there is at least one per day every day spring- summer. We were able to sleep after the fireworks (which were beautiful) in spite of the music because the rooms are well insulated and we used ear plugs/sleeping pills. Aside from those issues, there is just nothing to do at the hotel because it is all centered on the weddings. No pool, spa, restaurant or public space to relax outside of the room. The grounds are beautiful but are used for wedding photos, guests gathering, etc. there is no bar to relax in- it is part of the wedding venue. We were there on a Monday evening in September so every day of the week is booked not just weekends. The entire place is used for weddings/events. The staff was cordial and hotel immaculate, but the seven hotel rooms are just a convenience for wedding guests or people like us who happen to stay there. We had had a nice lunch late in the day at Polignano a Mare so we just skipped driving somewhere off site for dinner, instead we drank some wine we brought with us and spent the evening in our lovely room. This worked for us that night it may not be what others are looking for while vacationing.

    The room was lovely: King bed, great A/C, jacuzzi tub/separate shower, great fluffy towels- all four star amenities. Manicured gardens, convenient parking with golf cart to transport luggage to hotel and delicious breakfast served in a lovely room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.6
    Spectacular place but nowhere to sit !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • San Tommaso Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room, which was the San Tommasio best suite with whirlpool bath was very poor. Although unusual and large it had a bedroom located up a spiral staircase so was awkward and couldn't take suitcase up and a shower room which was OK but the drench shower didn't work and a large whirlpool bath in a separate area. There was literally no place to sit other than in the bath or on the bed ! No place to hang clothes or put clothes away and for an expensive suite we had to put our belongings on the floor in the hall or in bathroom. All that was provided was a wonky table and plastic chairs and the whole suite smelt a bit damp and mouldy....

    Great views !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    Mainly a wedding venue; Barely a hotel; definitly not the 4 star one
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaness - the room was in a state of absolute mess when we checked in Shower - the water is barely hot Service - the staff is not interested in providing any information; in fact, upon checking-in, we were provided only a room card with no numbers. we had to interrogate the reception staff in order to find out our room number and other things. Lack of comfort - no matrice, just bed sheet; little facilities apart from the room; i am truely surprised that it is a 4 star hotel instead of 2

    Breakfast is the only positive thing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful underpriced property in Polignano a Mare
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not crazy about staying in a hotel that bases most of its income on wedding receptions, but the reception on our first night wrapped up by 11.

    The room was gorgeous and huge, breakfast excellent, and the price was probably half what it should be. The location was also good. Being away from downtown Polignano a Mare eliminates parking issues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice and confortable place to stay in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel is located near (5mins by car) to Polignano a Mare. Nice gardens and building:) The room and the bathroom were spacious and clean. The breakfast was fine. Be adviced that this hotel in fact is a popular weeding place and it's quite normal to be noisy and crowded, we had a luck and missed a weeding when been there (mid of march), but in summer it almost every day. Probably it would be funny;)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Absolutely stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a popular wedding venue it could be a tad noisy at night as there were weddings both nights we were there.

    Absolutely stunning location. Grounds and Hotel itself picturesque.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Polignano a Mare the best location to start a visit of "Puglia" region
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No problem at all with the weddings banquets, they stop at 11 PM so super quiet !

    Very professional team Very kindly Super place at a super price, I recommend this place !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    5.4
    Not for someone looking for a classy Italian stay by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My error in booking a wedding facility and reception hall -- was not clear that was what "ricevimenti" referred to. Additionally, it was essentially by a truck stop and the town was completely not reachable by foot. Not a good area for a country run. Also, it was rather tacky in terms of decor, light show in the bathtub and entrance fountain, etc.

    Plenty of space and parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That both days we were there the hotel hosted weddings, on our arrival we did struggle to locate the reception as the wedding party were in the gardens/courtyard and no visible signs to reception desk. Because of the weddings it meant we could not enjoy the grounds or courtyard.. That said we wouldn't hesitate to return, we would just ensure that no weddings were scheduled!

    Beautiful setting, comfy clean room with amazing views. The hotel is set in stunning well kept grounds. Breakfast was scrummy 😊

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Great value, beautiful property, nice rooms and friendly staff, not walkable to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is too far from the city to walk, so you have to drive or ask for a taxi. Can't really walk anywhere actually as the road is not friendly for pedestrians. Constant weddings here, so just be prepared for that.

    Super nice and new. Staff were very friendly and spoke English well enough. Good breakfast and the grounds are quite lovely and very well maintained. Ample and spacious parking, a rarity in Italy!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Intolerable noise from wedding venue,pre-warned , but still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intolerable noise from wedding venue,pre-warned , but still made for a very uncomfortable evening

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Was ok,but the price for the hotel is to high for accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Family room and unconfortable bed for the children,the bad was leak by shower.

    Parking for the car and building - constructire.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Quite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No swimming pool.

    Quite place. Only 8 rooms in big place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wedding prevented us from sleeping. Lasted 1.5 hours longer than advised.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel,lovely and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know it held wedding receptions every night,so it was very noisy till about 11.30

    Beautiful Hotel,lovely and spacious room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Room was big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was big and comfortable. The bathroom was vey big. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful Grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We knew this property is used for functions, but we did not expect there to be wedding receptions every single day of our stay.

    Beautiful Grounds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Big rooms, fantastic breakfast, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rooms, fantastic breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower in tub was not fixed on wall

    friendliness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    excellent, definitely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Wonderful! 100% recommended! If it is honeymoon trip, it will be 200% recommended!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    Romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance, fantastic garden, old style and large room, great staff!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar.

    Breakfast good Bathroom very good Beautiful grounds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Superb room and beautiful building. Quiet location and close to town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.2
    Large and spacious suite, stonework and cathedral ceilings,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    off season very few guests, as it is mainly used for wedding and party conference venues

    Large and spacious suite, stonework and cathedral ceilings, excellent bathroom with jaccuzzi bath and shower. good internet connection Well renovated building in immaculate grounds 10minutes drive from Pulignano al Mare Delightful breakfast room with good quality cold buffet enjoyed wide choice of fresh fruit freshly squeezed orange juice , and freshly baked morning breads and cake I would use again when on business in Monopoli

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    7.1
    Nice place, nice view, close to town - 5 min with the car,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Be carrefoul when you give your credit card, they will block your deposit for 20 days even if you pay your booking, and they have some problems with hiting - I have to ask to open it, it was very cold inside, at that price I think thay could do at least this. it wasn't summer so it's a necessity.

    Nice place, nice view, close to town - 5 min with the car, very good I think for summer to relax

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    8.3
    Quiet restful location only 5 minutes drive from Polignano a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some features needed to be updated. Patches of mouldy in the bathroom. Sofa in our room had stains on it. Would be nice to have a cooked breakfast, but what was on offer was very good all the same. WIFI was unreliable in our room But very good downstairs. I'm do not like the covers and lots of cushions on the bed which are probably not washed between guests.

    Quiet restful location only 5 minutes drive from Polignano a Mare. Beautiful grounds and rooftop terrace(with great view) to be enjoyed during good weather. Polite helpful staff. Adequate breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    10
    big, clean,comfortable beds,and heated room (we were in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    big, clean,comfortable beds,and heated room (we were in january 0 degree celcius outside and was snowing) parking facilities ,very friendly proffessional staff,good breakfast.poliglano a mare crampy area very narrow streets for parking and hotels are mostly old buildings heating impossible in winter.take consider this.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    Staff were very helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were very helpful and accommodating. They organised pickup from the train station and drop off to the airport. No question or request was an issue. Hotel was was very luxurious, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Easy to locate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to locate Day wedding so guests finished early this was during the week so quiet by 11pm for sleeping A treat after a hard day driving and car parking

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    This is one of the best place i have ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. There is not a bad thing to say about this place!

    This is one of the best place i have ever stayed at. I travel for my work in America and would want this hotel over any of them any day. It is simply a treasure!

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.8
    Absolutelly great room, vey big, nice furniture, huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a noise all night from some kind of machine, we couldn't figure it out but we slept well anyway.

    Absolutelly great room, vey big, nice furniture, huge bathroom, very good breakfast, beautiful property. Kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was lovely
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not close to town. No cabs at night No restaurant No pool No place to enjoy the alleged grounds Not as big as it looks

    Breakfast was lovely Staff was nice

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    A beautiful building (you might start pretending you're...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be aware that this is a wedding place, so might be noisy in the evenings (though not at nights); a bit far from the sea - you'd need a car to reach one; be sure to insert your room card well since the cold water flow depends on it

    A beautiful building (you might start pretending you're of royal blood living in your own castle), stylish room wonderfully decorated, magnificent scenery - flowers, fountains; extremely helpful and fruendly English speaking staff, superb breakfast, more than reasonable price, discount on a good equipped beach in Monopoly (we did not like the closest stone one in Polignano-a-mare; we were granted beach towels, a special thanks for that

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic, helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic, helpful friendly staff. I arranged a surprise visit for my Fiances 40th birthday to Polignano. Luciana was very helpful in arranging activity suggestions, booking and making it all happen seamlessly before we arrived. Great team. Nice hotel, unique rooms!!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.5
    nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a honeymoon party going on till 3.30 at night just beside our room. When a party is booked don't book other hotel guests. The manager offered us a free stay.

    nice room

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    Good value for money spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Definitely a wedding venue and this is given priority over accommodation guests.

    Good value for money spacious and clean. Easy to find and good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    Everything perfect, from service to facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Everything perfect, from service to facilities! One of the best stays we had in Puglia! Would return in a heart beat! If in doubt - just book it!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    We really enjoyed everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really enjoyed everything

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    spacious rooms, comfortable bed, great shower, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spacious rooms, comfortable bed, great shower, lovely breakfast, setting perfect

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    9.6
    Almost anything
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Almost anything

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    Heaven for honeymooners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heaven for honeymooners

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    very helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.6
    Unique rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Had trouble getting Garmin GPS to locate the facility.

    Unique rooms.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, spacious and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wedding hall in the hotel. Noisy at times of weddings

    Beautiful hotel, spacious and clean rooms. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.6
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free shuttle transportation to the city center.

    Hotel is a gem. Beautiful building and gardens.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little far from town. WiFi was patchy.

    Beautiful property. Nice terrace with view. Luxurious accommodations. Good breakfast. Great value.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse San Tommaso Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: