Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Carlo 3 stars

Forte Marghera 131, 30173 Mestre, Italy

#15 of 58 hotels in Mestre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1641 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    i can only recommend ro everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a small room but clean. staff are friendly and very helpful. location is also great. its not in the city but only 5 mins walk to train station to venice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff is friendly, and its easy to reach Venice from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not the best, bread was not fresh it was hard to make a sandwich from it with the knife. Only cold breakfast is offered. But if you stay only a few nights its okay.

    Staff is friendly, and its easy to reach Venice from the hotel. Room and bathroom is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Good enough to stay one or two nights since you are going to use the hotel just for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor. All the boiled eggs were spoiled. Maybe they were from the day before. I showed them to the waitress responsible for the breakfast but she did not do anything. She simply ignored.

    Hosts and hospitality were excellent. Location was good. easy to reach center of Venice by tram. you can buy the tickets from the reception. Free parking place is available on site. the staff is providing information regarding sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to write here!

    Every employee was very nice, thoughtful and patient to explain what we should do and where we should go. Breakfast is quite nice as well, and there is an available car park. 200m away from the nearest tram station that takes you to center of Venice in just 10/15min.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    I recommend it and would stay there again if I were in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is fairly light but, again, great value so I was happy with a free breakfast.

    The room value is great. The bed and room itself were good-nothing to write home about but comfortable enough. The a.c. was cold and the room did have a balcony. The breakfast was included and a good way to start the day-free pastries, coffee, and light snack fare. Most importantly for me being a lone traveler-the staff were wonderful. An older male receptionist checked me in and was a difference maker in my trip. He gave me directions on how to easily reach Venice (and it was easy-a block walk to a tram that takes you into Venice). He was also able to sell me the tickets (1.50 Euros each) He also gave me directions to a nearby laundramat the next day. I would highly recommend this spot as a stop for people heading to Venice. Great rooms for the value, friendly receptionists for directions, and easy jumping point to Venice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is perfect for a visit in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is perfect for a visit in Venice. It is situated only 200m away from the tram station, which takes you directly to Venice within 15 min. You can buy the tickets directly at the hotel. The private parking place next to the hotel is also perfect if you arrive by car. Good and various breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Really good location for Venice, just a quick tram ride away. Had parking for our 9 passenger van.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel reception was excellent. He got us tram tickets into Venice and excellent directions on how to get there and what to do while we were there. The breakfast had a nice selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and general style of the hotel is a bit old fashion.

    The hotel is near the tram that takes you to Venice. You can buy the tickets in the reception. They gave us good information about how to arrive to Venice and advice of what to do. Free parking on premises. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff was vey kind and helpful to give a lot of useful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the room was very well isolated from the outside noise, cannot say the same for the noise coming from the adjacent rooms.

    The staff was vey kind and helpful to give a lot of useful info.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain didn't do much to stop water going all over the floor in the bathroom!

    Excellent service. The hotel has produced a detailed map with information on how to use the public transport system. They also sell the tickets which is very convenient. The staff took the time to make suggestions so we ended up making trips to Murano and Burano, which we hadn't considered but ended up really enjoying. The parking lot has CCTV so we felt comfortable leaving our car there. Good breakfast, good WiFi connection, and a good sized room for a family of four.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Good when visit Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast area could be bigger, try to avoid the peak time.

    Excellent place to stay for a few nights to visit Venice, especially if you are by car. Staff is extremely helpful, easy to communicate with them. Recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Great location if you want to visit Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location if you want to visit Venice. Just 2 min from a tram stop and another 15 min to get there. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place for trip to Venice by car
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Beds are comfortable, room and bathroom are big enough and perfectly clean. There is big selection for breakfast, not only coffee and cornetto as it is on many places in Italy. Hotel has great position for arriving in Venice by car. You can leave your car on a hotel parking and go to Venice by tram. Tram stop is 2 minutes from the hotel, and the ride is 1,5€ in one direction. We will definitely come again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and close to the tram station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was pretty old and the breakfast was not that great.

    The hotel is located 5 minutes away from the tram station to Venice, which is great. There is also a bus station to the train station from Mestre. What is more, the hotel was very clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Okay place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a basic place, nothing fancy there.Fo not expect anything extra ordinary.

    Hotel was clean.We took a Tram ride to take the ferry.There was an indian restaurant close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested a baby cot (I forgot to request it in advanced, so they were very nice and fast providing it for the first night, I appreciate that) but it was quite old (little broken on one side, nothing major) and the nights for he baby were not comfortable, the second night we moved him to our bed, were he felt the difference and could sleep better.

    Everything was very good, parking available, staff were nice, rooms are clean, transportation to the Venice very convenient. I would recommend this place (if you look for sth fancy, maybe not your place).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    All stuff very helpful, Alessandro on reception is a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    coffee and bread at breakfast was really awful, in the rooms you can hear everything in the neighboring , sometimes guest is really loud . That all about minuses .

    All stuff very helpful, Alessandro on reception is a good informative man , will show you everything and will explain what you need to get Venice and not only . 3 min walking from a hotel to nearest tram which one going to deliver you within 10-15 straight away to the Venice, opposite the hotel a good view, common breakfasts, value for money , service in the room every day, the availability of air conditioning is very pleased . definitely recommend if you have a budget trip and do not plan to be at the hotel from morning till night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was little old. It is same in the pictures.

    The receptionists were really nice to us. They gave us city map and explained everything on map. The room was clean and the room temperature was good. We easily arrived city center. It only takes 20 minutes to get city center by 1 tram. And if you wanna turn back to hotel at night, there is also night bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Good choice to visit Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special

    Good position if you do not want to stay in Venice, just near to bus station. Good price, it is difficult to find out a hotel for less Good room, big with private bathroom and hot water, bed is comfortable Breakfast is worth for that price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Smart way to visit Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is easy to reach, and parking spaces are well lit and well kept and monitored. Rooms are clean, and beds are comfortable. If you want to visit Venice, staying in Mestre is possibly the smartest option (two way ticket for Venice is 1,5 euro per person, 10 minute tram ride), plus the room price is fair and you avoid all the downtown Venice fuss when staying in Mestre. Hotel San Carlo is 3 minutes walk from the tram station and staff will provide you with a map and detailed instructions on how to reach downtown Venice. You can purchase tram/bus ride tickets in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great deal per price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot drinks in breakfast was not that hot but you can order coffee from the bar.

    The room for 4 was very convenient. The hotel is very close to tram to Venice. The staff was very helpful about the sightseeing options. The price is great including breakfast and private parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.6
    SUPER THIN WALLS, you can hear every sound in your room, not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Rooms in hotel have super thin walls so you can literary hear when people are having normal conversation (not even yelling) in any room near your room. After first night we switched rooms because of noise but same thing happened. After second night it didn't make any sense to switch rooms or hotel because total length of our stay was 3 nights. So, after 3 nights we left completely tired and with lack of sleep. 2. Room floor is covered only with tiles, there is no carpet, so it is really cold to walk barefoot or in socks. 3. Showers were extra small, but that is not a deal breaker. 4. Breakfast is poor. 5. Not worth the money, would not recommend.

    Only benefit of this hotel is that it is nearby tram that goes directly to Venice, but so does every hotel in MESTRE.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for few nights, near to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too soft for me. Variety of breakfast can be improved. The room for breakfast a bit small.

    Staff was really helpful. Gluten free breakfast. Good location, just few minutes walk to tram.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful on reception they gave us map with directions to Venice and you can buy tran tickets there. 5 minutes walk to tram stop for Venice.

    Cosy little hotel newly decorated very clean nd comfy. Very good breakfast. Very polite personal. Small but clean nd new rooms. Good channels on TV fast wi fi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was good with possibility ordering...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was thin blanket (plaid) instead of quilt in winter time, it is not so pleasant

    The breakfast was good with possibility ordering 'real' espresso. Tram station to Venice is not so far from the hotel, tickets are available at hotel reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Above the expectations for 3 star hotel and relatively low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows could be more comfortable.

    Professionalism of the staff at the receiption. Easy access to Venice by tram/bus. Internet is very fast. Very close to the airport. Free parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice, clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Booking.com it was written in the conditions that parking was available and free of charge. Upon arrival we have discovered that the parking was unavailable and that the only available option is private parking 200m away. The parking cost was per night. When we checked the booking confirmation, it stated that parking may not be available, due to the limited space. Advise to the Booking.com, the offer and the confirmation always should match! The false advertising may lead the people into confusion that the parking is always available and free. If we had known this fact, we would have chosen another hotel.

    Nice, clean room. Gentle staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Very nice place, not far from the tram to Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Very nice place, not far from the tram to Venice. You can buy tickets to tram at the hotel. A parking for the car was available. We had a number with a nice balcony. Breakfast - very good for Italy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in Mestre if you aim is to explore Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound isolation from other rooms could be better, but it was not a critical issue.

    Small cosy basic hotel. Very good location if you want to visit and explore Venice. Tram stop is 5 min walk from the Hotel. Tram goes every 10 minutes, trip to Venice also lasts about 10-12 minutes. Very convenient. Room was spacious enough and very clean. Breakfast was excellent for this category of Hotel. If you have doubts if its worth to stay in Mestre instead of Venice, I can confirm that it is - you save a lot with no major sacrifice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    4 nights in San Carlo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was a bit lazy.

    The staff were wonderful and gave all the info regarding Venice and public transport. The hotel is very close to T1 station which leads you directly to Venice. Each morning, the hotel smelled of fresh pastry.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Ontbijt is heel goed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco is didnt work. It is too hot in the room so I opened the window. Because of this I didnt sleep well due to mosquitos biting me and also the noise outside. Other than that it is a good hotel

    Ontbijt is heel goed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Superb location for a trip to Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had requested a baby crib but this was not present. Hotel demanded that this was our fault. But eventually everything solved and after that no problems.

    Superb location for a trip to Venice. Just around the corner (3-5 min) is a tram stop that takes you directly to Piazza le Roma. Average quality hotel but you pay what you get.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Very nice staff who got up early and made us breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It stated on the website that it was close to the train station, we definitely needed to take a taxi to the train station rather than walk.

    Very nice staff who got up early and made us breakfast before taking the train to Rome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice enough hotel with good parking and very convenient location for getting to Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast selection wasn't great and the fresh fruit on offer was not very fresh. The room we had for four people was quite small and the air conditioning didn't seem to work properly, so we were too hot at night.

    The hotel is just a short walk from the tram stop and a 10 minute tram ride from Venice, so very convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.4
    OK value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a single room and definitely ONLY for 1 person. If you are taller than 6 ft, you will need to leave the bathroom door open to sit on the toilet. The TV is very small and can only be watched by lying on the bed. The hotel is quiet from about 11:00 pm - 6:00 am. Otherwise you hear a lot.

    The place was clean. It included breakfast. There is a public bus 100 meters from the hotel that will take you directly to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Location near the center of Mestre and close to the tram to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit standard breakfast, but also ok.

    Location near the center of Mestre and close to the tram to Venice. Very friendly and helpful recepcionist; he was guiding us for a perfect visit in Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable enough. Couldnt complain about what this hoel offers for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is in a residential area which has very few dining options. We dined at Caffe Intcai, right next door, as that was really the only option. It's a 20 minutes walk to the main town square, shorter cab ride of course. Caffe Intcai is Indian cuisine and very good.

    Clean room, comfortable bed, heplful and courteous men on front desk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much in the area for eating or much to do. Quite a walk from the train station and despite saying so on booking there was no transfer to the airport sowas an expensive trip to the airport by taxi. The walls are paper thin so you can hear people in the next room talking.

    Quite easy to get into Venice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    very good hotel, which needs more stars given
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is away from both railway stations and the airport. it'd be nice to have clear directions how to get there with bus and tram routes

    it was very clean. the staff spoke decent English and everything was on time from check in to check out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Value for money and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay here, hotel staff was very kind in supporting and clarifying all our queries. It was a wonderful stay, we recommend all book this hotel and you would not feel disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Only I could suggest to book it for visiting Venezia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    It was really clean and comfortable room for whole family. The hotel location is outside of historical Venezia. You will be able to relax for all day walking :) The non-stop tram or bus is fairly great to reach the City of Venezia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    The owner Francesco was always ready to help with any questions or interests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not alot around if you plan to stay several days. Good value for clean quiet stay for getting to the airport.

    Friendly, clean, near the bus stop from the bus terminal and airport bus one block. Would be helpful if the directions listed the local bus # (only 4 or 5 stops). Breakfast was the normal help yourself.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    The place is clean and it is in a quite neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public transportation can get guests to Venice, but it does require some efforts to get to the center. The tram can get you to the pizza Roma, form where you need to take water bus or taxi to attractions. The taxi is very expensive and the bus is very slow and not very pleasant, so a tough trade off

    The place is clean and it is in a quite neighborhood

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Decent hotel if your main goal is visiting Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and hotel lift were quite small. I could not find any good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

    All staff were obliging and helpful. They spoke good english. The hotel is not far from train station to Venice. You can buy train tickets at the reception desk. They also offer free Venice map. Breakfast was tasteful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    A night i Mestre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An old hotel, the elevator is a closet, far away from train station. Parking not reserved allthough it was booked and message send to hotel. The restaurant is very small and too many tables and chairs inside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was located a short walk from the tram stop and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located a short walk from the tram stop and bus stop and a short bus ride to the airport. It's only 10 minutes away from central Venice, and is much cheaper to stay there and travel to Venice. The staff were nice, the rooms were clean and spacious, the shower was really good and whoever it was who cleaned our room remade our bed with a blanket after seeing it there on the first night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Thank you very much my stay in mestre was enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    I loved how friendly the staff were, they were very helpful about helping you get around had buss passes already. Coming from America and not knowing anything It was nice to have a hotel and staff that make it very easy for you especially with kids!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Affordable accomodation 15mins from Piazzale Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a great view from the balcony since it is not on the islands, walls are thin noises sometimes are heard through the walls

    good breakfast, friendly staff, 15 minues from venice piazzale Roma, affordable price,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    3.3
    I don't recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acid smell in the whole hotel. Very simple breakfast...I really don't know how they can be marked by 3 stars.

    Tottaly nothing...just near tram stop to Venezia.Totally disgusting smelly old hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Good value if you don't want to be in Venice itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was a bit cramped for four and there was really nothing to do at the hotel or in the surrounding neighborhood. Felt a little dated and it wasn't nearly as spacious or modern as the photos indicate.

    The breakfast selection was good and service very attentive. They had American style coffee readily available but you could also ask for espresso or cappuccino from the attendant. The afternoon manager spoke great English and gave us very helpful advice about travel to and around Venice. This property is about a 15 minute tram ride from Venice Piazella di Roma - the main transportation terminal in Venice (cost 1.50 euros each way). The neighborhood is residential with a few scattered hotels. The tram ride was usually packed with locals and tourists going to Venice. The hotel was an escape from the crowds and craziness of Venice. If you don't mind the commute in and staying away from the tourist crowds, this is a good option.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    Good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No carpet on the tiled floor. Shower was small and the curtain sticking to your body. The space at the washbasin was narrow and you cannot bend to wash your eyes. TV was small. Breakfast room was small and always crowded.

    Breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. It was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    Convenient hotel for Public Transport for Venice and its airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is on the main road (not too busy) a little way from the town centre, so the location is not particularly beautiful. The room and other facilities were very good.

    This hotel is in an ideal location for a) the bus to Venice b) the bus to the Airport

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Price / value check required. Our was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast really scarse for hotel's price category. It takes ~ 30 minutes from hotel to Venice railway station. We had trafic woekers strike that made this really significant

    Free convenient parking just at hotel. InerSpar supermarket nearby. Railway station not far from the hotel. The price was good for staying those days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Great alternative to Venice Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always like the option of some type of cooked eggs for breakfast and it was a little far to walk to downtown Mestre if elderly or impaired we were fine about 7 blocks and tram to Venice was about 2 blocks very good!

    Eleanora was extremely helpful and pleasant every single day and the night gentlemen were polite and helpful also!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place close to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. The parking was right on the property, though it was a little tight for my 9-passenger van. The closeness to Venice and ease of getting there by public transportation was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Available information for transportation to Venice at check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be noisy due to main street

    Available information for transportation to Venice at check in; public transport ticket machine; heated croissants at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast correct but without variety. Bathroom not very confortable(but perfectly clean, it's the most impor tant! !). Hotel old style, need a little update in bathroom.

    Very Easy to get to Venice by tram during day and night bus. Very easy to come from and to airport. Very clean Very nice girl in the reception desk with very good recommendations every morning!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Staff was very nice to us and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually there was nothing we didn't like

    Staff was very nice to us and helpful. Breakfast and room were ok, and all other things were as described. Would recommend this hotel to everyone except to people looking for luxury hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.9
    Good for 2-3 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold on the showerhead. All the rest was very very clean. The walls are not sound proof. We could even hear the people in the room next to us peeing.

    Very friendly staff Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Good choice for short Venezia trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. This is my first breakfast complaint ever. No vegetables no fruits.

    Nice hotel with perfect connection to Venice. Comfy rooms, big bed. AC could be more efficient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.4
    For the price that we paid, It barely made it to the Okay level. But it is Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the $ that you get in Canada, This is no comparison. But, Hey Its not Canada....... Its ITALY....

    It was an Okay stay. Nothing compared to something in Canada

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    My recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very warm and Aircon doesn't work. Even was march room was like owen, sided toward the street so you cant open the terrace door thru the night because of noise.

    Hotel is near the tram station, stuff is very polite. Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Staffs were friendly helpful sp ak English timely advices...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were friendly helpful sp ak English timely advices the director mrs ellinora was very informative other two elderly persons name forgotten were advising me wisely , the tip bing the first one in Venice The place was quiet walkable distance to busy market Bombay spice restaurant was next plot opens until 10 pm Good break fast Overall great experience for 4/5days

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and helpful stuff. We had an early flight and they prepared breakfast for us in the early morning. Good and various breakfast compare to the poor Italian breakfast, as many of us know.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast, nice staff, great location and transfer to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor coffee served at breakfast, but they would make you good espresso for 1 eur. Hotel doesn't guarantee the available parking spot, so have that in mind if you visit during busy days

    Good breakfast, nice staff, great location and transfer to Venice, free and safe parking, good size room and bathroom. Our room had a balcony which was convenient for my husband who is a smoker.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    The staff were incredibly friendly and the hotels location...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little thin and so when someone was next door it was a little noisy.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and the hotels location made it really quick and easy to get in to Venice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    Great value hotel! Would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi could be better and hotel looks bad from outside but none of this things were to much important to me!

    Great little hotel and you can't expect more than this for that kind of money! Receptionists were great and helped us on every question we had and more! Rooms were clean and if they put carpet on the floor and remove wallpapers from the walls they'll get 4* rooms! Close to tram station and you can be in Venice 15 minutes after exiting hotel! They let us checkin earlier because we came in at 9 AM so that was a big + for us!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.8
    An excellent choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think it would help if there was a small fridge in the room

    The hotel staff was extremely polite and eager to help us. The tram or bus station was just a 100m away and within a 15min trip we were in Venice. I think it was an excellent choice for our budget.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.1
    Had a nice view from balcony, hotel is close to tram station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not really clean, wifi connection was terrible

    Had a nice view from balcony, hotel is close to tram station (5min walk) and it takes to Venice around 15 min. Free parking with video control at night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.7
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very flat. the two beds pushed together kept separating. water always went all over the floor when one showers. the walls are extremely thin, you can hear normal spoken conversations through the walls at night time, sometimes even during the day. No mini fridge for extensive stays.

    It was clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and gave great advice about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were clean, however the floor had potato chips on the floor from the previous guest.

    The staff were very friendly and gave great advice about getting around Venice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.1
    San Carlo - a bit far from train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - far from railway station and main bus station (need to get transport to reach hotel). We were misled by reviews that said location was good.

    The staff - very helpful in assisting us on our travel plans - i.e. getting about Mestre and Venice. Also went out the way to contact our next hotel to inquire stuffs for us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast spread. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Cordial front desk and support staff. Excellent Indian Restaurant right across the street. Extremely well connected to Venice through the trams.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.1
    Great Location, Easy cheap ride to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have done with some more options maybe more fruit and maybe a dairy free milk option?

    Loved the easy access in to Venice and the 24 hr service at reception!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Mainly we liked the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls are not sound-proof. We heard voices of neighbours at night. Thanks God, not too long. Also floor was marble and cold but there was no sleepers in the room ( I mean cheap ones for 1-stay use)

    Mainly we liked the hotel. it is situated 100 m from train and bus stop from which you can reach Venice in 15 minutes. Room is good, we had also safe which is convenient to keep money/passport. breakfast is normal. Also it is easy to reach hotel from the stop of shuttle bus from treviso airport. You can buy tickets for tram/bus/vaporetto inside the hotel. Also hotel quickly and fully answered to my questions by e-mail.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Carlo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: