Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Francesco al Monte 4 stars

Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135 Naples, Italy

#52 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 587 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    An amazing find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is a good one so it's expensive enough. Bit hard for taxi to find but very busy bustling city.

    Absolutely extraordinary hotel converted monastery. Amazing rooms and artifacts and frescoes. Really unusual. Amazing rooftop with pool cut from rock and restaurant on terrace overlooking naples bay. Fab

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our second stay at this glorious hotel and it won't be our last. Wonderful vistas over Naples, superb service and over the top breakfast. Treat yourself and make sure you take the stairs as there is so much to explore in this old monastery that will blow your mind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    The Perfect Hotel to Stay In When Visiting Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful, clean, airy and always smelled of peach. The roof terrace and pool were stunning with beautiful views over the Bay of Naples. For the idyllic retreat, I’d recommend staying at San Francesco Al Monte.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    A wonderful calm place to return to after time spent the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame the pool area closed t 5 pm, this was I guess to accommodate the Weddings that are held ther

    Facilities and views fantastic. The Terrace Bar with spectacular views and piano playing was a special experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No regard for health and safety . While the hotel is old in history it is also v old in amenities. Crumbling bathrooms . No indication of fire safety instructions in bedroom. No room service available. Musty smells which are dealt with by harsh chemicals and bleach. Front of house staff helpful to an extent

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Everything was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely..proffessional and friendly staff.. the terrace was amazing we sat for hours in the evening drinking wine and just watching to city below..perfect holiday

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Spectacular views from the rooftop, small pool and small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a quiet room but the room we got was next to the bells which rang at 6 pm and the room was above the restaurant where the pianist was playing and dinner guests were. Room was very small.

    The views were spectacular from the seventh floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful oasis of gardens on the rooftop and restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needs to be updated, seems very old. The facilities of day spa would be great too.

    Beautiful oasis of gardens on the rooftop and restaurant area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location and views, especially from roof terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carrying own suitcase up steps at front of hotel as there was no doorman was not the greatest welcome I have ever received!

    Great location and views, especially from roof terrace. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Very nice in the San Francesca.we will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had we were very disappointed that we had to go to another hotel for 2days of our stay as the hotel had had a water problem. Saying this the hotel organised it all and they provided a taxi to take us there on the sat. The other hotel was ok but definitely not what we had booked.

    It was. A very lovely location and hotel.The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is hard to walk anywhere from

    It is a unique and beautiful hotel. The terraces are stunningly beautiful. We didn’t care for the location too much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice heritage hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice hotel beautifully located on the top of one of the hills of Napoli. A good 15 mn walk to the historic centre but you have the funicular solution (one stop) for those who do not like to walk up the stairs. Beautiful vista and very nice restaurants. A little bit run down though in some rooms and corridors but you can fill the history of the place (a former convent) everywhere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location but not amazing value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are, unsurprisingly, dark and a little cell-like, with small windows, a very small TV and not amazing value for money. The breakfast was pretty simple and not very tasty. The pool is closed until mid-May which was a shame given it was a hot, sunny day.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location in an eccentric but lovely building with a phenomenal view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    breakfast was 0815 italian Standard, excellent Coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff try to be polite, check your bill at the end carefully! very slowly elevator

    breakfast was 0815 italian Standard, excellent Coffee nice terrace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    A great vantage point from which to see Naples and live comfortably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not common in Italian hotels I know, but there ought to be an electric kettle in each room.

    Excellent view of Naples from a dominating position over the port city. This is a good place to get one’s bearings and if you can handle walking up steep streets it is a great point from which to wander the old parts of the city. Staff are professional and understand their role is to make guests comfortable (for example, gladly providing hot water for tea when I needed some), though one needs to be assertive rather than rely on their anticipation. The building links up to ancient tunnels built into the rock behind, where arty features are displayed. I have the sense that the hotel rests to an extent on laurels based on its history and location, and perhaps a role in art exhibitions, rather than as a hotel per se.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t much we didn’t like; service just seemed a bit ... stale. Style over substance, maybe. But all-in-all, very good.

    Lots of character. Breakfast is nice. Location is ideal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    wake up to the view of the Vesuvius, Castello Novo and other great sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some locals advised me not to take the stairs at Quartiere Spagnolo" at night for safety. It took it a couple of times nonetheless

    The location is great: really close to the center. One can go on foot to Piazza Dante; there are a number of alternatives to reach the center as well, including a bus that stops right at the front door and the two "Furnicolare." Breakfast was amazing and staff is very friendly. Antonio is a true embodiment of Napoli's hospitality!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Charming historic property with incredible views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travelled to Naples at the beginning of a 2-week trip to Italy with a friend. We only stayed at the San Francesco al Monte for one night (our first night of the trip), but we were very happy with our quick visit. The reception staff were very helpful - gave us a map with detailed walking and sightseeing tips, called us a taxi, answered several questions -- all very friendly, helpful and prompt. Our room was spacious and clean with an incredible view of the city and Vesuvious. We really enjoyed breakfast (lots of options) and the view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Great place to stay for wandering Naples neighborhoods on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cloistered rooms, secure, easy access to two funiculars gets you down to Chiaia and city center and up to Vomero and Castle St Elmo easy and cheap, breakfast on the patio, view at dusk and city lights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Beautifully Original
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is an old monastery with a superb view of the gulf and the Vesuvius. We wandered around the hotel in a maze-like set of corridors and ancient rooms. Fascinating and beautiful. Also, breakfast is served in a splendid room with amazing views and it was rather well garnished, especially for Italian standards. The staff was also very nice and fun.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    The room was lovely with the most amazing view of Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent the last night of our holiday here after two weeks walking from town to town along the Amalfi Coast. As we arrived in our hiking gear and backpack I got the feeling the lady at the desk was not too happy happy to welcome us. At no point did staff inform us of where and when breakfast was served, or where the bar was. We were also not told any information regarding the spa.

    The room was lovely with the most amazing view of Naples. The bed was extra comfy and the air conditioning was really quiet. The shower was the best shower we had our entire holiday!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Jacuzzi bath tub in the room :) beautiful views and lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for the spa - should have been included. Food served on the roof terrace was v v v expensive and not that great.

    Jacuzzi bath tub in the room :) beautiful views and lovely staff gave us a very late check out. Delicious breakfast. The roof terrace was amazing and the garden had fruit and vegetables growing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect get away, fantastic hotel, with good travel links to City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't find a bar, where you could sit and enjoy a drink in the evening!

    Hotel was out of the hub dub of Naples in a lovely town, the hotel and views from the hotel were amazing. The staff were lovely and looked after us well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Best view in naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room cooled the floor and not the room, a few sleepless nights in the heat wasn't very enjoyable.

    The view is simply sensational

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovelt historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no water for our last two days.

    One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Location is not to bad as the funicular is close by. Great views over the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was a bit loud and busy with people , but otherwise everything else was lovely.

    We had a beautiful stay . The hotel was central which accommodated our day trips well. The staff were very warm, enthusiastic and helpful. They guided us to great restaurants in the city among other destinations we were interested in . The hotel was clean and spacious. I would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Besides the lack of hot water and only one lift it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hot water in our room for the duration of our stay. There was only one lift was clearly was not enough for the amount of guests staying there.

    It was beautiful hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location overlooking Naples bay, ancient covent, would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    25 euros to park the car, which is not an option in Naples...

    Great location overlooking Naples bay, ancient covent, would need a little refreshment but really a great place to stay in Naples, with a soul and better than only luxury hotels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place to stay and enjoy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very handy being up so high, nor a great area below for walking through to restaurants, so we preferred to stay put. (Food at hotel was very good tho!)

    Loved the unique rooftop pool. Glass-front elevator was fun, giving great views of Bay of Naples. Interesting history to the hotel. Restaurant food & terrace bar were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Amazing rooftop swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful property, set in an old monastery. Very friendly staff. Amazing rooftop swimming pool and surrounding garden with wonderful views of the city. Very nice breakfast. I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    We particularly liked the top floor poolside area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise lunch was available on the top terrace until the last day. We then enjoyed a lovely lunch.

    We particularly liked the top floor poolside area. We found the staff very warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Compared to our four other hotels and locations, it is certainly an education, but you must do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views of the port !! bathroom shower was much to tiny and uncomfortable. Ciao Italy.

    Excellent aircon, excellent Wi-Fi, an alright comfy room, the bread rolls & ham at breakfast Mmmmmmm, the history of the 400 year old monastery, some amazing rooms dating back to the day, you must walk around this hotel, its amazing. The food was excellent (really good menu) at nite overlooking the city on the roof top restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not good. We had a real issue with the room offered and the staff clearly don't like guests who are not happy. This hotel is not up to a 4 star - need to be reassessed.

    Pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, perfect to relax and stay at. Location not ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location. We would recommend using taxis especially at night due to the local neighbourhood. Routes from the hotel to the key areas in Naples and metro stop do not always feel the safest.

    Hotel was great Good location Friendly and helpful staff Great terrace to watch the sunset Views were amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    A great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel is worn and weary, needs more than just a brush up. Needs serious maintanence.

    Very nice hotel. Great view of Naples. The staff was very friendly, helpfull, hardworking and a great plus to the hotel. Restaurant and pool area super.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    It was very pleasant to the end of an amazing vacation in italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact that we emailed the hotel to ask direction how to get from the port to the hotel and it took them too many days to respond.

    I love the views from our room, Pool Deck and restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Fabulous historic building but not quite luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very quiet... the air con in particular was very loud and rattled and woke us up one night! The road the hotel is on isn't as nice as the actual hotel so I'm not sure it's in the best area. There were holes in the bedding which surprised me, and the water took about 10-15 mins to warm up in the shower. The restaurant in the hotel is very pricey which is a shame as there are no others that are as convenient.

    The view from our room and the restaurant is gorgeous! There was free wifi but it got quite wobbly during peak teams (evenings for example). The hotel itself is fabulous with los of corners to investigate and lots of history as it used to be a nunnery and is built into the mountain.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blackout curtains and they covered the airon unit when closed

    Amazing rooftop pool and restaurant. It was the highlight. Great ex convent very interesting to stay there Awesome club sandwich

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice view and brakefast, but bothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several things in the room brooke/fell apart when you touched them. They charged you if you needed to have someting washed, something that I think should be included sinse the price for the room is pretty high.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Buona Vista
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    Stunning views, probably one of our most memorable stays in any hotel. Make sure you go down the stairs from the breakfast room to open up into a labyrinth of amazing spaces, artworks, al frescoes and a chapel. Unbelievable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    The rooftop swimming pool with plenty of sun beds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy on our first night.

    The rooftop swimming pool with plenty of sun beds and beautiful surroundings. The view of Vesuvius, Naples and Capri was amazing. Both restaurants served delicious food. Our room was very comfortable with sea view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    the best in Napoli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We'll choose this hotel in autumn once more, when will go to Napoli, but pool in this hotel works only till 15 of september. Why untill 15 of october, for excample? We liked hotels, where pools works from 7AM till 9PM :)

    Very comfortable beds and stuning views! We'll recomend this hotel for all our friends :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    A romantic stay in Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the history behind this beautiful hotel. The terrace bar and restaurant gave us the best view of Naples and Vesuvius as well delicious food. The room was large and the bed extremely comfortable breakfast plentiful with a good selection can't wait to visit again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is well preserved but it is starting to show signs of wear and tear. The shower sink was clogged with hair. Hotel staff immediately adressed the situation. The restaurant meal was overpriced for the minuscule portions offered. I do not recommend!

    The view is unbeatable. The pool is perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.7
    - Great view over the Bay of Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Bit of a walk down some busy side streets to get to anywhere you want to be - Pool staff not very attentive & very expensive and limited pool bar menu - Spa only open by appointment, plus translation of the treatments is really bad (currently offering a cervical massage!)

    - Great view over the Bay of Naples - Beautiful historical building - Big squashy pillows

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic accommodation in a converted old Monastery some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not many places to eat nearby but get a 10 euro Taxi down to the seafront for excellent Bars Restaurants

    Fantastic accommodation in a converted old Monastery some many old features maintained through out but with all that you would expect of a Top Rate hotel Lovely restaurant overlooking the whole of the Bay of Naples & Mount Versivus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Lovely building, amazing view. Details not good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant for lunch had very little choice. No towels were provided for pool. The service at the terrace bar was very slow. The cushions on the terrace bar were disgustingly filthy. There were no signs to show where anything was.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel - second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very tired and hard.

    Stunning views of volcano and bay, beautiful pool, extremely characterful parts which used to be the monastery, great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    How it looked over Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How it looked over Naples. It was a quiet location, it took you from the towns busyness, to relax and enjoy the views. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    4.6
    Miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is miserable , very smelly , very tiny , not possible to move inside. No air conditioning

    View from the room was the only nice thing about this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Ex Monastery Hotel on hill with fantastic panoramic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some maintenance issues, i.e loose electrical wall plug-phone kept disconnecting, intermittent smell in bathroom, slow internet among others

    fantastic view over bay of Naples, spacious rooms, helpful front counter staff, good breakfast with great outlook

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    unexpected surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was a bit far from restaurants but the hotel has a very good one

    Service was excellent. Front desk staff was professional and helpful. The room was large and comfortable with a beautiful view. Breakfast was excellent with a view to the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.7
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need to explain how safe works & advise customers to take taxi rides to & from hotel at night for safety readons

    Terrace, lovely views & good food Historic & interesting building

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Best View Ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was dated but I believe they have plans to upgrade them.

    The location was excellent - the room was very big and airy - the breakfast area was super with amazing views!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    7.1
    Pretty room with nice view, but probably would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was not ideal - there were not any restaurants or little shops nearby. You're pretty much stuck eating in the hotel restaurant or venturing out further into the city. The waiter in the evening was pretty snooty and there is not a large menu. I only ate there the first night & the other days made sure I had a big enough lunch while out sightseeing to tide me over. I put the do not disturb sign out every day, as I am not a person who needs to be cleaned up after on a daily basis, yet housekeeping came into the room every day despite the sign. Also - take a taxi from the airport for about 25 euros. If the hotel arranges a "shuttle" it is a private ride costing 40 euros. If you have the windows open, there is a LOT of traffic & street noise. With them closed & the shutters closed over them, it is much quieter. But then you don't get any fresh air.

    Nice view of the bay & Mt. Vesuvius from the room. Pretty room. Breakfast on the 4th floor terrace was nice. Rita at the front desk was friendly & helpful. There was another woman who was not so much - her expression seemed a little annoyed if I asked a question. The historical displays on the 3rd floor were interesting. The reception staff spoke English, which I appreciated as my Italian is very limited.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    Absolute silence and darkness in the room. World class view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi worked okay but was slow.

    Best view ever from a hotel terrace. Absolute silence and absolute darkness in the room. This is extraordinarily rare and precious. The masseuse is a fantastic artist. Don't miss the opportunity. All of the staff were delightful, and they fixed a small problem immediately, even though it was the end of the day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.8
    Would come back despite small negatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy, rooms overlook the main street. The so-called Jacuzzi shower didn't work (we did read the instructions). Sink drain pipe fell off on our last day. It was poorly attached with duct tape.

    Amazing view of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples. Best hotel breakfast we've had in Italy. Clean and comfortable Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant terrible great ideas but bad execution Breakfasts ok but could be better

    Great view comfortable beds friendly helpful staff Really clean and great decor Exploring the hotels grotos and corridors really interesting Beautiful church next door

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.8
    Naples remembered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I had requested an upper storey room, initially we were given a room on the 1st floor which was very close to the street and noisy. We did mention this and were moved to the 6th which was much better.

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful if they tried. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    The view from the hotel is absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be better of choice, but was still good.

    The view from the hotel is absolutely amazing! Does not matter if it is a morning, an evening, sunny or a rainny day. It is worth to check it out! I loved the way old monastery is renovated and turned into a hotel. Would not change my staying in Napoli into a modern building. I definitely recommend it! Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    5.4
    The gentleman at the reception was one of the most helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are right next to a heavy traffic road. Even though the rooms are advertised as sound proof, this is NOT true - the traffic noise is pretty bad even with windows closed - and with this being Italy, that means honking cars and racing scooters at night.

    The gentleman at the reception was one of the most helpful and kind reception persons I've met in a long time. Really went out of his way to fix problems and help.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    A must for anyone who likes something a bit special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit circuitous to reach when avoiding the Spanish Quarter but the upside of the location is truly amazing views.

    Incredibly comfy bed, friendly staff, stunning views and interesting history/building. I'd go back again in a flash. (Frankly, I didn't want to leave.)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    3.0
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Female receptionist was rude. The smell in the room was awful, the air con unit was too noisy kept you awake. Not worth the money. Car park booked through booking.com said it was €25 in total for five nights, when we arrived we were told it was €125 in total. Excessive. Very unimpressed. Would not go back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Great views, walk to shopping (downhill), take taxi back to Hotel (Uphill)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining, expensive, and getting the waiters attention was challenging. Also finding electrical outlets that work with standard conversion kits, only found 1, in the bathroom, that was not consistently working to charge our cell phones.

    View from veranda was fantastic. Staff was also very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was absolutely the most comfortable I have ever had in Italy. I slept like a baby. The view was fabulous, there was no noise, getting down to Naples Centre on foot was easy. All in all Naples was a bit of happy surprise and the hotel was fine. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning was excellent. Lovely stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    Quiet hotel with great views over City of Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower cramped and water not hot enough. Location not good for older or immobile people as on hillside.

    Quiet location ( relative for Naples ), ambience and nice breakfast. Fabulous views over the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful stay and friendly welcome in a building of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for an iron to be brought to the room, but unfortunately we didn't receive one even after chasing it up.

    The beds were amongst the best I have slept in, so comfortable. If I were visiting Napoli again I would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    5.8
    Beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is in need of better housekeeping.eg handle off drawer, bucket with no lid.Showers not great and in need of updating Our shower flooded the bathroom and bedroom and we had to move to another room. Not much in the way of an apology. A complimentary meal or bottle of wine would have been a nice gesture.

    Views were great. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    3.3
    overpriced in a poor location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being over charged 15 euros for 2 soft drinks and water. Noise from the kitchen early mornings late nights. Rude staff in the restaurant!

    Helpful staff at reception and the history of the building itself.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interesting neighbourhood but little access to restaurants nearby. Fine if you happy to go by taxi.

    Serene setting. Wonderful views. Gives a flavour of the 'real' Naples away from the main tourist spots.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.3
    Amazing views but not all 4 star quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was poor with very little to do around the hotel. Although harbour area was a 30 minute walk away, it's a long hill Back up. Hotel would have benefited from a shuttle service into town for guests. No iron in the room or any available. No laudry services available over the weekend. Shower in the room was terrible. We went in September but the Hot pool outside wasn't clean or useable & there was a definite vibe that the hotel was closing areas for the season.

    View was amazing! House keeping every day. Good breakfast. Food was great, although could of benefited from a specials board or a slight change in the menu over the week.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    The staff were much freindly & helpfull,especially Mr...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid cash for my room & requested from staff that gave me my room receipt,because their computer didn't work well,they promised me to sent the receipt to my e-mail,it hasn't happend until now.

    The staff were much freindly & helpfull,especially Mr Walter who helped us at the time that my wife's watch was stolen by a robber in Naples down town(we aprociate of him too much).Panorama view of hotel is wonderfull,The room instruments are old but very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in a great vibrant city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool closes at 5pm in summer

    We stayed here for 2nights and it is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. The hotel is beautiful, interesting and full of character and the staff were so helpful . Te rooftop pool is a luxury in a hot busy city .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.7
    Good view !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is dated. In general the hotel needs to be refurbished and renovated.

    the breakfast area and the swimming pool area are with good ambience. Nice to see grapes garden on the roof top and also a fantastic view of Naples.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Great place to stay in Naples - great pool / relax area and fantastic weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to be aware / on your guard generally in Naples for security which is a shame but not down to hotel at all as the hotel was very safe and secure

    The pool and sun bed / rest area on the top floor was much bigger and better than expected from the photos - such a relaxing area The staff were very friendly and helpful The breakfast buffet was a great start to the day with fresh pastries and fruit plus much more if required The maid made a great job daily of cleaning the room Great calm atmosphere in all hotel Restaurant was good for evening meals The location was near the main coast / tourist areas which was good with great weather

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse San Francesco al Monte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: