Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sangallo Palace 4 stars

Via Masi 9, 06121 Perugia, Italy

#13 of 34 hotels in Perugia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1190 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to have tea and coffee making facilities - mini bar was excellent to have cold water on arrival.

    Staff were extremely helpful and courteous especially as we couldn’t speak Italian.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone smoked in my room before, you could feel the smell of it. Some of the receptionists do not speak English.

    Beautiful room, cosy bed, well equipped bathroom. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are ok, but the corridors' decor is a bit dated now.

    Location is outside the actual city centre but it is easily reached thanks to the escalators a few meters away. The staff were very helpful in providing us with our requests and explaining everything to help us around. Parking facility is off site but very convenient and within easy reach - 5 min walk maximum.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: it was no greens except apples. Bread, cheese and meet was tastless and poor quality. Coffee bitter. We booked for 4 nights trough billing.com and pay with a credit card as we thought fully. As we've learn at our departure, they charged us for 3 nights only and for fourth night the asked to pay on the spot much and a higher rate. No one told us about it beforehand.

    The position was excellent. The room was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea & coffee making in room but we were given a thermos & cups etc to make T & C. Also coffee was available from the bar on request. TV only English News channels ! No balcony as shown on Booking.com

    Room was very big & comfortable With mini bar fridge & windows which opened. Plenty of light. 2 Elevators & quick. Good dinner menu & tasty food Staff very helpful & obliging Access to the old town is via a series of escalators.. only takes 5 -10 minutes Lower level is opposite bus station & easy access if travelling to other towns. Has a good pool, gym & jacuzzi Hotel is kept very clean Breakfast is very good Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor quibble. Breakfast was entirely self service and the staff were solely involved in clearance. Everything worked efficiently but it was a bit impersonal. That part of the operation is geared to coach parties, I fear.

    Excellent position for visitng historic Perugia. Spacious room. Very quiet with a very good view. Desk helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows a bit flat - not really a complaint - just personal choice.

    The location was brilliant. Staff very helpful. Great breakfast. Bed was firm which we liked. In fact we had a most enjoyable stay. Thank You

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was extremely convenient for our trip by train, the bus and taxi basically right outside the door on one side and a very short half block to enter the old part of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel could be wonderful, but is run down. The rooms need an upgrade. The rooms smell, possibly of mold and/or days when smoking was allowed. You couldn't put your finger on it, but every day we had to open the windows despite the cold weather. The beds are terribly hard, with scratchy sheets, old wool blankets and flat/flat pillows. Wood accents are scratched, paint fading, art old and lame, and you just don't want to be in your room at all. There are really no amenities other then a tiny bottle of shampoo/shower gel. The towels are so thin you could not actually use only one to dry off. The mini bar has 1 sad bottle of beer and a few juices. the plastic cups remind me of day care. This place is really just not value for money. We are pretty flexible when traveling, and could even deal with the hard mattresses in past hotels, but the combination of everything was just uncomfortable. Overall with some paint and art touch ups, new bedding, and a renewed staff who enjoys their work this place has potential in the future. I would never stay there again however, if they don't improve.

    The location of the hotel is quite good. Easy to walk to escalators to get to the old town, and close to restaurants and museums. It is next to the bus station, but surprisingly not that loud. The variety for breakfast was impressive, though they kept running out of items and then supplementing as they went along. Staff was pleasant, and even kindly accommodated a late check out and luggage storage. Gym/pool is very nice if you have the time to use it, I would recommend it, but watch out gets busy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has modern Philips TV but the hotel doesn't agree that you watch your video with USB or HDMI cable, there is no original remote control in the room and refused to give (the simplified version 3rd party brand remote commander has as purpose to milk you for money at PayTV Location is so-so, when really booked around. Parking at the hotel was 5-10 minutes discussion.

    the room was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall everything was good , but there was no kettle which we neeeded dueing our stay.

    The location is perfect , staff is very kind and helpful. We had a great time at the pool with kids. Rooms are very spacious. Breakfast was good comparing to general Italian hotel breakfast range.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not like automatic machine for coffee and cappuccino. But maybe I could have asked them a good one...

    For breakfast you can have every kind of breakfast (italian, European, sweet end so on). Position is very close to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this hotel. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast smorgasbord is sensational and the room is beautifully decorated and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's cleaning is wasn't the max.

    Good location near the center of Perugia. Our room was large and confortable with a large and relaxing bathhub. The American and Italian breakfast is very appetizing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some refurbish in the rooms could improve a lot the impression, sauna and SPA would be nice on top of gym and pool already available

    Position, big rooms, nice shower, good wifi, public parking with a daily rate of 11euro, close to center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good local restaurants, so we art in the hotel. Food was good. Restaurant lacked atmosphere, but otherwise good.

    Good sized room, helpful staff, good location for tourists.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a great hotel. the staff were very personable and the breakfast was excellent. it is short walk to the escalators that take you to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    things to improve: our bathroom was outdated and small. If you wish to use the toilette you have to make a turn otherwise the door cannot be closed. Shower the same. You have to rent a bathrobe to go to the swimmingpool and to buy a haircap. the light would turn off if you are in the pool longer than 10 minutes- so you have to find your way to leave the water and wave with your arms to get light again. I mentioned this at the front desk but I am afraid it was not picked up. Good ofcourse to switch off the lights if the pool is not used, but it is now not working correctly. our room was situated opposite a bustation so it was not possible to sleep with an open window. if you prefer this, mention when booking to get another room. these thing were not up to standard for 4* in my view, although it might be a different standard in Italy

    great spot, large rooms, excellent staff & wonderfull breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit awkward to get at. But still great to have it near by at a reasonable cost for being this close to the city

    We stayed here only 1 night to visit the old city of Perugia and for this purpose the location of the hotel near the escalators to the old underground city is excellent. The staff were very friendly and breakfast better than average with good choice. The room was a good size with large bed and everything was very clean. We did not use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on them. I would have no hesitation staying here again and recommend it for convenience, hospitality and the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although not a problem for me it is a 15 walk / escalator ride to town. People who are not fit may struggle and need a taxi or bus into town

    Good room, breakfast facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very hard, like sleeping on a platform. I'm 6 months pregnant and my husband has a bad back, so the two nights we spent were pretty uncomfortable. The day we checked out I discovered a cupboard with extra blankets, I wish I would have added them to sleep on along with asking the staff for extra pillows. Besides the bed, the shower got warm, but never hot. The water was warm enough to be comfortable, but it was not relaxing or satisfying. Finally, the hotel restaurant was talked up by the hotel staff to be one of the best places to eat in town and we also saw a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2017 on the wall. How?!? Breakfast was fine - DO eat breakfast there. But if you can at all help it, do NOT waste your time or money on dinner there. We almost walked out as soon as we walked in because for dinner, all the lights were on full blast, showing a very empty, very sterile cafeteria environment - not a place for a romantic dinner. But, trying to give it a chance after such high recommendation by the front desk staff, we decided to sit and order. The prices were not a bargain, they were in line with any of the fancier places in town, or even more expensive. Being skeptical, I only ordered soup and my husband ordered the smoked salmon salad, thinking if it blew our minds, we'd order more. While the soup was fine, it wasn't mind blowing and was a skimpy portion for 9 euros. The salad just made us raise our eyebrows - it was an oddly generous portion of lox, i.e. a huge pile, hiding the lettuce below. It was not special in presentation or flavor. And, the bread basket was full of cheap crumbly bread - not at all typical of the devine bread we'd been served at every other restaurant.

    The location was great, and the hotel staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The weight room was nice, clean and the pool was clean and heated. At the time we were there, we were the only ones using the pool, so it was quite lovely, though much smaller in person than it appeared in the pictures. The included breakfast was convenient and good, lots of options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A well run hotel. Lovey sunset and valley views from our 5th floor room with balcony. Good choice at Breakfast. Escalators to Piazza Italia nearby and bus station for Assissi and Gubbio nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Andre, the manager, was particularly patient and helpful. His English was excellent which made the whole experience so much more pleasant since my Italian is non-existent! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool is small...but still enough to have a swim. It wouldn't accommodate more than 4 people swimming.

    The staff were fantastic. They really went out of their way to help you. The breakfast was excellent. good WIFI

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard bed (but this has been our experience in most Places we have stayed in Italy).

    Great hotel located close to the escalators leading to the old town. Very clean facilities. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Car park is within easy walking distance with escalators.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. Good location (close to the escalators to the city center). Spacious rooms. Comfortable, huge beds. Modern TV. The whole building seems to be fairly new and all of the facilities are in great shape. Tasteful decoration allover. Excellent breakfast with good coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel and staff were excellent. Car parking next door was safe and secure with a discount from the hotel, the pool was ever so welcome after hot days walking and sightseeing when temp was almost 40 in August.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a zoo - way too crowded. To complicate things, a huge American tour group was there and didn't sit in their reserved seats.

    I liked the room, which was nicely decorated. And the location was great, a short walk to the old town via nearby escalators. I took a taxi to the hotel, but was thrilled to see the bus station on the back side of the hotel, so I used the bus to get back to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were a little terse over the phone when I rang to ask if the hotel had an iron, they don't (maybe due to language barrier) and the bar is not really a bar, a counter near the entrance and a couple of chairs in the foyer window. I stood there for a while during opening hours and no-one served me.

    Beautifully styled foyer and entrance to the hotel, large guest lounge leading out to balcony. Great location, very close to escalators up to old town. Elevator, room was a good size, clean, large bed, nice sized balcony with café table and great views out over the city and landscape. Large dining room with excellent breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is used by large tours and when we went down to breakfast the dining room was so full there was not a spare clean table for us and we also had to wait for food to be restocked. We felt swamped by the big tour groups and would therefore not recommend this hotel for individual travellers. Also we had to go up 4 escalators to get into the historic centre of the city - which was a bit inconvenient.

    We had dinner at the hotel and the food and service were very good and good value for money in attractive, large hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was not on site; in a large parking garage nearby.

    Excellent location. Nice restaurants nearby. Bed was very comfy. Breakfast was excellent. Very quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bedroom was disappointing - not the 'luxury' one would expect from a four star hotel. The swimming pool is very small and very dark with nowhere to sit between swims. The hotel caters for tours and the dining room at breakfast on the first morning of our stay was packed, no table space and people rushing around with plates. The table clearing was way behind what was necessary. The small bar seemed to be closed more than open. The one female receptionist was little short of rude.

    the public rooms were impressive and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great, ony one suggestion... It would be great if the pool worked 0-24h in order to relax in the late hours after the long walk, or maybe start the day with the pool early in the morning.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, we use a Mini-Metro from rail station. The bus stop is right next to the hotel. The room was very clean, neat, with comfortable bed. We also had a small balcony. What was the most important to me, the bathroom was clean and new. Delicious breakfast, sweet and salty food, cereals, coffee, tea, juices, and other beverages. We were in the hotel for two nights, and we were able to use a pool, what was really relaxing. There was no crowd in the pool. The pool is free of charge, you came in with a card of your room, the working time of the pool is from 8am to 8pm. You need to have a swimm cap if you want to go in the pool. For 2€ you can buy it at reception, if you don't have it. All in all, great value for money, hotel worthy of the hotel of that category.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything....bathroom was appalling...room was terrible...view of central bus stop and carriage way...room was very small and boxy...felt extremely claustrophobic...breakfast was atrocious....hot dogs likely from a can...urrghh.... So basic and budget... Would not recommend..would definitely not return

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor seemed a little tired but other that that, very little to put you off a short stay.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. We arrived early and they made up our room for us straight away and we had a family room, which was two separate rooms, that had an additional door between them from the corridor. Sadly, the lock on that door was very tight and the key snapped in it the next morning after locking it for the night. However, maintenance staff were quickly on it to drill us out! Hotel is well located for the centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely welcoming. Sandro - in reception - is delightful and remembered us from last year. All very comfortable, clean and a great location. Will definitely be going back for the Jazz Festival next year

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the breakfast had more variety, I had hoped it wouldn't be the same thing every morning, like scrambled eggs today, omelette tomorrow, and not scrambled eggs every morning.

    I loved the staff, they were friendly and helpful, despite the language barrier. I loved the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor really but only one room card given and air con switches off inbwteen visits meaning a very warm room on arrival.

    The parking is distant to the property. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable. The restaurant underused but actually very good. The breakfast especially so. A nice indoor swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. Room, position, staff, breakfast, outside terrace for evening drinks. Was fabulous

    We could not fault this hotel in any way. Loved everything about it. We were sorry to leave and would definitely recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds very hard. Breakfast not good - minimal hot food, bacon very fatty, processed meat looked awful, too many cakes. Staff level of English was a bit weak.

    Nice room. Nice gym. This hotel is halfway up the hill, it is not in the Centre of the old town. You can catch multiple escalators to get to the Old Town. This is not a problem but was not clear to me when booking the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking wasn't onsite (steep walk to the car park). Hard, uncomfortable pillows.

    Not located in the main old city area but only a very short walk to the escalator which takes you effortlessly up to the city. (Perugia is very hilly!) Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast with good home made deserts but the rest was very basic - no tomatoes for example.

    Best location for historic city centre and the jazz festival.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an intermittement high pitched electronic noise that came and went which was annoying . Couldn't track it down. Mini bar wasn't replenished or checked each day.

    Convenient location close to the escalators that take you up to the old town. A fantastic breakfast selection to suit all tastes. Nice size balconies that gave superb views over the town and countryside. Also access to English language TV channels which is a bonus for long term travellers who like to keep up with current affairs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Good location to city center and bus station. Excellent food at restaurant. Breakfast was included and was really good food. Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room safe was not working when we arrived and still wasn't fixed when we left 3 days later.

    Big room with great comfortable bed. Bathroom was very well fitted out. Buffet breakfast was more than adequate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very nice hotel in an excellent location for those who want to sightsee in the old part of the city. The escalators that took us up the steep incline to the walled city were an unexpected treat. The restaurant was very good and the staff at the desk gave excellent advice on multiple occasions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street noise was a bit loud when I had the doors open. But, that's what you get for being super central! And, it was a pleasure to have a terrace.

    The pool was lovely. A great way to take morning exercise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water not very clean. Breakfast waiter no eye contact or greeting to anyone. It's not hard to say "good morning".

    Welcome, great safe parking, very close to local shops and visitor attractions. Pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint would be that the beds are are very hard and the pillows are very thin.

    Goodbreakfast, great variety & very fresh. Very clean. Perfect location too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was excellent

    everything travelled with my grandson who loved it food was lovely gym and pool terrific room and the staff couldn't do enough for us even parked our car excellent value for money very very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - cold, not smilling, not interested. Problem with this place is that while it has a good location it does not have anything more to make clients feel welcomed or enjoyong their stay.

    Location very close to city center if you use the elevator scales.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was almost impossible to shower without getting water everywhere as the shower was in the bath and there was a very short shower screen. There was also no window or extractor fan so the bathroom filled with steam. There were no grab rails to get in and out of the bath and no non-stick at the bottom of the bath so I felt in danger of slipping. One of the power points in the room was faulty as was our safe. Two visits from hotel staff couldn't repair it so we put our valuables in the hotel main safe.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. We expected to go out on day trips by bus so chose this hotel as it was very near the bus garage - unfortunately there were no buses running on the Sunday we were there so we had to take the train instead, which is at the other end of the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate shower. Traffic a bit noisy.

    Perugia is a beautifl city. The hotel is located just outside the historical centre. There are escalators taking you up to the historical part. The rooms are just OK in size. Interior could use a refresh but ii's not real bad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service. The room did not look like the one in pictures. Expensive.

    Good location if you arrive by car in the centre of Perugia. Good view from balcony. Fairly modern. Decent breakfast - not a great choice, but good quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We did not like the hard bed. There was absolutely no give whatever. Although I did sleep, I would have enjoyed it better if the bed was softer.

    We liked our room very much with a view of the Church of San Domenico. It was big and roomy with decent lighting. The lounge on the ground floor with a terrace was also comfortable. The WiFi worked well throughout the hotel. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choices. Easy to take the escalators up to the historic center or to go out to the bus station. There is a supermarket and a lavanderia just up the street. And a little further along are the churches of San Domenico and San Pietro with their treasures.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no vegetables at the breakfast; mattress a little hard; cleaning staff do not care about the sign telling to not disturb

    Location is great, staff very helpful, large room and great sound proof.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym area was a bit cramped. Bed wasn't very comfortable. Breakfast wasn't great. Rooms are dated and it didn't feel like a 4 star hotel at all. Dinner wasn't great either.

    It had a heated pool. The room was a decent size. Parking was available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pretty happy with the hotel and our stay there.

    Staff/location great, felt very welcome, stars were Andrea front of house, Fredrick at bar/service the great breakfast staff.. super smiley lady who went out of her way..A wonderful base to explore Perugia... a slice of the real Italy!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashion basic hotel. No tea facilities.plastic caps.view to hills but below the window view on the bus station (who like it?). Although changed it on demand.Eficient staf with no extras.Ok for 1 night.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Convenient shuttle bus from the front of the airport to the hotel. This only cost €8 pp so a lot cheaper than a taxi and only took about 20 minutes. We arrived earlier than the check in time and were shown to our room with no issues. Very friendly and helpful staff. The pool was a nice touch

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were a little flat, but i request an additional one and that solved it. Savory hot breakfast food quite limited, but it was already good that it was not only sweets.

    Great location, very close to escalator towards the center. Nice, clean gym and swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were a bit hard for our taste. The outlet in the bathroom didn't seem to be working properly but we were pleasantly surprised to see the 110 option.

    The wifi is great. Staff were always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the view from our balcony. The breakfast was really enjoyable. This was my second stay with them and I'll be happy to return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit of a maze, and the rooms are a bit stuffy (though it could be because of low-season and thus no frequent use). Beds not the best (but certainly not the worst). Coffee machine for breakfast disappointing; for whatever reason most hotels nowadays see the need to put in a subpar espresso machine that doesn't compare in any way with the coffee that the bar next-door would brew.

    Great location, good breakfast food, clean rooms, good facilities. Parking next door to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot breakfast which included little sausages, bacon and the eggs were always cold. I mentioned it to the waiter and he took my plate in and microwaved it, but every other morning it didn't get better.

    Everything was very clean, the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was comfortable but not enough light Not all staff were trained to be responsive to needs. Most were excellent.

    comfort of the room- excellent value- outstanding restaurant- food was excellent and service was good location- great location responsive to my needs as solo traveler-excellent I plan to return again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not part of hotel but for the bus terminal. When booking, I was told no parking reservation needed. I believe that is a little misleading since it's not the hotel's property and can fill up.

    Great location. Two minute walk to escalator that leads to city center. Breakfast was decent, many choices. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the festival going in, probably needed more wait staff for serving at meal time.. but everything else was good. Desk staff made some suggestions but we're not as knowledgeable as we were expecting. Probably should have checked with the local tourist office..

    Room with a view of the city tower, bed was firm yet comfortable. Breakfast was more than generous is options including eggs, breads and baked goods, fruits, juices, cereals, yogurts, cheeses and meat. Wait staff was sometimes overwhelmed with guests. There was a huge festival going on and hotel was full..other than that, a great location for both exploring the city and taking day trips as it was very convenient (across and above the street) to the bus station..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was difficult.

    The staff service was too notch. These were absolute professionals! The hotel was clean and beautiful. The buffet breakfast was far more than expected.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The organisation of breakfast on our last day which appeared to be very busy for the staff.

    Our room was very spacious and extremely quiet. The hotel was in an ideal location for an easy walk into the centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in an excellent positionfor our needs. It was very quiet and the staff very friendly and most helpfull when I had problems obtaining our flight boarding passes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was very ordinary so we only had one dinner because the service was very slow and the food only lukewarm when it finally arrived.Breakfast food was very poor and some almost inedible.Our stay was spoiled by the food.

    The staff were very helpful and the cleaning very thorough

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor was a bit dated. Breakfast was not that good

    Great location and our room was spacious and quiet. The family room had 2 large beds which were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music in the swimming pool was way too loud. Lighting system is also bizarre - if you are alone swimming, the light might switch off after a while and you'll find yourself in the dark. Parking was 17 euros per day.

    Well located and good breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, lovely staff, good facilities. We arrived at 1.30am after an unexpected delay with our connection, and the staff were very efficient with our check-in. The hotel was very comfortable and in a perfect location, so close to town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orange juice could have been better at breakfast. Pressure of water filling the bath was a little low, yet fine for the shower. Only minor things.

    Ideal location - lovely calm ambience away from main bustle of town. Stunning views from our windows on 5th floor & balcony. Felt like I was in Room With A View! Staff very helpful and friendly. Beautiful art replicas & furniture throughout.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sangallo Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: