Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo San Marco 3 stars

San Marco 877 (Calle dei Fabbri), San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#220 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1672 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location beside the Square. The Hotel had lots of character but avoid the Restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant attached to Hotel was very expensive for a coffee and I paid €15 for a large beer during the World Cup Final (€13 normally). Staff in this restaurant were not very friendly even with the prices paid.

    Great location close to St Mark's Square and very easy to get to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall the accommodation was fine, but I wouldn’t rave about it for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was very dated and worn/tatty in places (especially the reception and dining room) and the layout is a little confusing with lots of related hotels in small space with similar names. The bed was also quite uncomfortable and the room looked smaller than the pictures seemed to suggest.

    The location of this hotel is great, right in the middle of things. The staff were fairly helpful and the rooms were clean. Also worth noting the shower had good pressure. They did provide me with some gluten free bread and snacks at breakfast which was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons. Breakfast was very limited, terrible and we cancelled it for the second day. My kids opted to rather eat out than at the hotel. Fruit salad had fermented and even when we asked for replacement, the replacement was equally as bad.

    Pros. Great location and very easy to find. Staff fluent in English and were able to respond to our requests without a problem. 30 seconds walk to Piazza San Marco, 5-7 Minutes to Rialto, in the heart of everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean, friendly staff, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little tired and bathroom window was rotten. Don't let that tiny surface thing put you off for a great price its a great stay and the staff so helpful, helping with bags etc

    The proximity to St Marks square is less than the 100 yards- as it is over a bridge and this is good as Venice is a big place full of tiny streets not all are on maps so that made it easy to find after we had checked in. Staff could not be more helpful and really wonderful . We booked a twin room but got a suite and so my friend and I in separate rooms. Didn't have breakfast as plenty of cafe's near by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Location is perfect, bang in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had an ant infestation in our room, we were able to change rooms but not until the following morning

    Location is perfect, bang in the centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Extremely good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misunderstanding about the hotel payment. I booked via booking.com and I have paid the room fee. Hotel staff still insisted I have not paid. Need to set up system to clearly tell hotel that customers have paid.

    Extremely good location Clean room and clean bathroom Clean towel I love the place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.5
    A very convenient and affordable place to stay in Venice. Charming and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was really no view from the room, but we also didn't expect one.

    It was a very cozy room- small, but comfortable. We liked being up and away from the noisy street. The third bed was a pull out, but it was very comfortable. We were also happy to have an elevator rather than carry up our luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Location next to San Marco Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to carry the luggage up to our rooms. There was electricity cut out from the night after we slept around 11 till the next day and it wasnt solved so we had to check out.

    Location next to San Marco Square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was really shabby and very small. Ensuite was tiny, toilet seat broken, head nearly in shower when using the toilet. Only one socket in the room and you had to unplug the tv to use it. Also, on the last night the power went off so no AC or water. Really awful night sleep and had to use a torch to get around the building. Could not charge phones to check in for our flight home. Leaving the next morning, could not shower or use the toilet. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone! They even had to cheek to charge us the city tax on departing the hotel.

    The location was about the only good thing with this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small and bed is uncomfortable. Air conditioning does not work.

    Location is excellent. Room was small and bed was uncomfortable. Air conditioning didn't work and we were moved to another room, but that one did not cool well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor was not even. One corner was higher than the other point which made us felt really weird when we went to bed. Place was just 30 seconds away from S. Marco square

    Near to S.marco.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    If you only need a location then stay but if the room counts don't stay here. It is below standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were small no view. and we were not informed we were to be moved to an annex building not the main building in the advertised photos. the bathrooms were too small. stained carpets in our 2 rooms . the sheets smelled musty. pillows were worst quality. breakfast that we had to pay for was very limited. They wanted to charge us 190 euro to set up a water taxi to the airport .They said that was the price but we went to the taxi service and they only charged us 120 euro. The hotel at its best was a 2 star hotel.

    location was the only thing that was good. it was close to the center of attractions. But still no view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Venice is magical and staying at this location made it so easy and convenient for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was only there for one night and there was nothing to dislike in that time.

    You can practically roll out of bed into Piazza San Marco, it’s so close. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location but poorly maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities were very poor- bed frame was rickety, the door handle was almost falling off, window had a broken class and bathroom was very small. The staff wasn’t particularly nice and helpful

    The location of the hotel was spot on. Tucked in between SAN Marco and Rialto

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was scruffy and in need of complete refurbishment. The shower ran luke warm 50% of the time. All in all it was very run down and shabby.

    Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was friendly, the place clean and the location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We originally booked 3 days and when we got there we wanted to stay an additional 2 more days. When we asked how much the 2 additional nights would be the price increased 50%. We were very disappointed that they would not allow us to say for the same price original price so we booked elsewhere at much less and it also had a great location.

    Location and cleanliness were great. They also had a computer and printer if we needed to use at no charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Bait and switch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would love to rate the Albergo San Marco, the hotel I made a reservation at. However, upon arrival in Venice and going to the hotel, we were told that we would not be staying at that hotel, but would be staying at the Hotel Ambassador, a block further from St. Mark's Square. It is curious that we were not notified about this previously, as I had made my reservation months in advance. So, when we arrived, my wife had to wait outside with the porter who had brought our bags to the hotel while I checked in at the Hotel San Marco - good thing it wasn't raining! The Hotel Ambassador looked like it needed a freshening up (new carpet, paint, etc.) Our room on the 4th floor should not have been furnished with two single beds, as it was barely big enough to have a queen size bed. The room was so small that having out suitcase on the suitcase stand would either block the closet or make entrance in and out of our room difficult. The room gave the impression of being grimy, but it probably just need better lighting, new carpeting and maybe a coat of paint. The bathroom was clean, but exceedingly small. Thank God, we are of average build, as you had to sqeezepast the bidet and the sink to get to the toilet. The shower was so small you could barely turn around in it. The toilet seat was broken and it did get fixed promptly. Breakfast was served at the Albergo San Marco and was okay, although the rolls left a lot to be desired. Because we were no longer in the Hotel Ambassador, our internet connection did not work. If we went back to the Hotel Ambassador, invariably we would have to ring a bell and then be buzzed in from the Albergo San Marco, as during the day there was only some office staff working there and at night no one at the front desk. Judging by the pictures of the Albergo San Marco, the lodgings were much nicer there, so we were downgraded with no warning I would NOT RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel and perfect location, friendly stuff and quite...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel and perfect location, friendly stuff and quite comfortable rooms. Sometimes Wi-Fi was a bit week at one of the buildinds, however, in general, everything was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, literally next to the piazza San Marco,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive, even for Venice. The hotel should certainly introduce "do not disturb signs" for room service.

    Great location, literally next to the piazza San Marco, comfortable and clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, breakfasts were good and staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was rather dark but this did not bother us too much as we didn't spend alot of time in the room.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and we had a very large bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Good stays in San Marco and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t so comfortable.

    The location is very good and very closer Piazza San Marco and good restaurants. Bed is not so comfortable but the room was clean. Breakfast is good. The staff are gentle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    2.9
    Pick somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were off the main site, dirty, very small, stuffy and uncomfortable.

    Service was not great. Hotel was pitiful, dirty, stinky and old. Stayed just down the street at a much better facility for a small addiitnal fee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    It was really clean and the location is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater was on all the time although it was really warm outside. I couldn’t sleep well as i had to open the windows at night and that can be quite creepy as you dont know what will enter our room from the window

    It was really clean and the location is superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    I would certainly stay at the Albergo for my next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing. I was happy with everything

    Breakfasts were excellent. Staff on reception desk were polite and extremely helpful. Room clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    Near the plaza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Book for the room but I didn’t get same room I booked. Bring us to annex or diff. Hotel.the missrepesenting the room. I am really upset for that.

    Near the plaza

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Better than expected, perfect location, beautiful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the carpet and walls were slightly faded/scratched, perhaps in need of an update. Everything else was great though!

    Fantastic location right beside San Marco. Easy to find using the hotel's directions. Check in was efficient, well-explained and our previous request for a twin bed was fulfilled. We booked a room in the annex wing but reception clearly showed us where to go which was great. Room was much larger than I was expecting and well stocked with toiletries. There was even a little balcony which we weren't expecting! We opted for the 8 euro buffet breakfast each morning - given the price of things around San Marco we truly got our money's worth. My mum loved the cafe machiatto at breakfast and mentioned it to the restaurant staff - one of the ladies went back to the kitchen and made an authentic version from scratch! We really enjoyed our stay and exploring the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    In general it was great value for money, awesome location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very pleasant but could have included water in room, and maybe a hair conditioner and body moisturiser in the 'toiletries included' to improve. Bed wasn't particularly comfortable.

    In general it was great value for money, awesome location, so convenient for everything. Clean, staff were very friendly. We would recommend to others visiting Venice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.0
    Location is near to the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception wasn't so helpful and he had attitude, we ask for simple thing to the room we were rejected and asked to go down and bring it ourselves!

    Location is near to the main square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Great price, Great location, Great rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't as great as I was hoping for but was nice. It was very busy and we didn't have a lot of time. But that's not there fault.

    The location was fantastic, staff were really friendly and upgraded our room! Great value for money. Shower was brilliant!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was way to close to the shower cubicle. Bed was quite hard. Also not the hotels fault but there was building works at the hotel opposite which were very loud and started very early.

    Great decor. Staff always helpful. Breakfast was limited but a welcome start to the day. Excellent location, stone throw from St marks square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Best staff, best breakfast, and best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't find anything wrong.

    This hotel exceeded my expectations. The room was highly decorated with epic Venician furniture. Staff were very helpful and sweet, jet very professional. You can trust them when they help you and you are not just money to them. Next is their breakfast. It is not the typical Italian breakfast of one cornetto and one coffee, but omlet, fresh bread, ham and cheese, serials, fresh fruit and yogurt, and cornettos and eat as many as you want.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Good room, great location and overall value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I was really picky the wifi could have been a little faster.

    Location was excellent right on the doorstep of Saint Marks Square. The value for money was excellent. Facilities were excellent for what we paid for the room (outstanding value). For our needs this hotel was perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.1
    Location was great. Nice staff but very budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite noisy due to the little side street and people passing by, breakfast wasn't great, old croissants, 2 meats and 1 cheese, few rolls with butter etc, and cereal was stale. Don't expect eggs or bacon or sausages! Ate out every morning instead even though breakfast was included.

    Location was great, right next to san marco square and shops which was really handy, and easy to find. Right in the centre of everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel San Marco. Small, comfortable, friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts need renewal. More TV channels. The breakfast area could be cosier. A kettle would be appreciated.

    The hotel is located right by Piazza san Marco. Professional and friendly staff. My room had also a little terrace with a view to the bell tower and San Marco domes (502) Very clean. Comfortable bathroom. Heating system working well, and I could switch it off when I was not there. Breakfast is basic, but fine. Good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Location excellent, just off St Marks Square. Would be more than happy to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy as there were some workmen in the courtyard below us who started work at 7am. This was more of a problem for my friends who were offered an alternative room if they wanted. However they were happy to stay put in the end.

    Staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Standards of cleanliness were good. Location was excellent and we all agreed we had received very good value for what we paid. We would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Weird smell, smells like poo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird smell, smells like poo. Maybe from the canals, but I know they recently had them cleaned and no more sewage goes into them. So, doesn't explain the weird smell, it's horrible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, easy to find and easy access to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was that someone's underwear was left in the room after cleaning when i arrived. Not a huge deal.

    Great location, easy to find and easy access to the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Superb location, very helpful staff, great breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location, very helpful staff, great breakfast included (help yourself, so could fill up for the day!) Right on the doorstep to St Marks Square!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, good value for money in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small but that is typical in Venice

    Great hotel, good value for money in perfect location. Staff arranged a bottle of prosecco for my birthday which was a lovely surprise and very thoughtful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    The staff is very nice and the hotel is excelent located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small and a little outdated. Bed and pillows could be improved or renewed.

    The staff is very nice and the hotel is excelent located. The room size is right for the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was a good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the building of the hotel is quite old, the noise isolation is - so to say - less than perfect, which was occasionally disturbing during early morning and late evening hours.

    The hotel is located from less than 50 m from San Marco Square, so it's really superbly situated. It took only 10 minutes walk to reach the Vaporetto's (public water bus) statiin.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Very perfect stay we really enjoy Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best part of the hotel is the location and of course the service. The staff are very professional and courteous. My wife and my daughter really like this hotel and for sure we will be back soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location and pretty views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bug in one of the beds. Ran out of food during breakfast.

    Location close to St Marks square and other tourist attractions and boat ferry was great. Gelato was really good. Chocolate crossiants at breakfast were great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    The staff were cheerful and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were cheerful and very helpful. The family room consisted of two rooms a bathroom and foyer. It was great. The shower arrangements were a little difficult for our ten year old to manage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    3.8
    Picked out of necessity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Noisy. Baking hot despite being in the middle of winter. Minimal facilities. TV that barely worked. Don’t go for the breakfast, coffee tasted like a burnt barbecue.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value of money and breaky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a little unclear on specials available to us as guests for surrounding activities.

    Included breakfast was great, good coffee machine helped get us through a day of walking and activities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was ok, but not overwhelming. The croissants were a bit dry.

    10meters from piazza san marco. very warm and cosy room with view on canal. bathtub!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location, but wouldn't stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the pub below, which went on until 2-3am, asked to change rooms due to the noise to be moved to a room which was having building work completed in the adjoining room and the building opposite starting at 7am!!! No apologies from management, bed uncomfortable, no tea/coffee facilities in the room, rooms/hotel clean but very dated, leaving exhausted!!!!

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, fantastic location next to St Marks Square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Good budget option for a very expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 392 was far away (up the elevator, down a couple of steps then up another set of stairs) so wifi was terrible to non-existent.

    Great location, excellent work by the staff, nice breakfast and ok room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    It was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little rundown. The shower wasn't so great. We got very lost trying to find the hotel. It would be helpful if the hotel could email directions. Since we are from another country our phones wouldn't work and Venice is very tricky to navigate.

    Very good buffet breakfast. They gave us a map which helped a lot! It was near the San Marco Plaza.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.6
    I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving at the Alberto hotel in Venice was the last of my 2 week Europe trip. Staying at this hotel was honestly our worst hotel experience ever. The hotel receptionist who checked us was very selective as to who he gave maps and information or tips on things to do and try in Venice, we weren't of the ones chosen! The beds were quite hard and instead of a double bed we got 2 single beds pushed together, the mattresses weren't even in height so my husband and slept in separate beds during our stay here. The morning we left (last day in Europe and Venice) our water was off, we asked the receptionist to assist since 9am the morning, he kept saying that he'll send someone up, no one arrived. He expected my husband and myself to be out of the hotel by 12pm after giving me a bathroom to shower in on the 1st floor at 11h20. This meant we needed to shower, pack and be out by 12pm because he felt that this was doable because he (in his own words) "gifted" us with an hour extra (check out was meant to be at 11am, we got a chance to shower at 11h20 ) to stay in the room. Like it was our fault the water was off. The "omellets" at the hotel was HORRIBLE! definitely not worth paying for breakfast.

    The old school Venesian decor in the rooms was beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location in the middle of the city. Friendly staff. Small rooms but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room was very busy. Check out was 11 which is early compared to most hotels. Not a lot of options at breakfast. Only hot food were small egg omelette pancake style things which was empty at 9:30 and not refilled while we were there.

    Excellent location, literally 20 steps from St.Mark's square. Small room with very small bathroom but overall was perfect for a 2 nights stay as you wouldn't be in the room much anyway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    summing all the hotel was good and with no hiccups, staff was amazing and the breakfast was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the toilet needed some more maintenance and the climate control ( air condition ) was dirty. the size of the TV is small for the length of the room.

    the size of the bed and the room where great, very clean and the location is amazing just besides piazza san marco.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    Felt safe in hotel but not comfortable but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I received via email directions on how to reach the hotel via waterbus. The directions were wrong from what water bus to take to how to find the hotel. We spent nearly an hour lugging our luggage in St Mark’s Square trying to find the hotel. This was very frustrating. Upon our arrival I showed the bad directions to the front desk and they said the bad instructions were not their fault because they asked google not to send them. In Other words they were aware of the of the bogus emails being sent yet did not send out their own instructions to future guest to alert them of the bogus directions and provide the guests with accurate directions. Also the hotel is next to one of Venice’s many the bridges. The office staff refused to help us when we need help on the bridge with our luggage. I would not stay at this hotel again.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional location and staff with great accommodations and good wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The eggs were unrecognizable as such. I thought they were pancakes because of the way they were cooked and looked and, hence, did not have any since I do not eat 'pancakes'. I like an egg in the morning. I, also, did not like the instant coffee. I would have been happy to pay for real espresso.

    The breakfast was great and there was a good selection of meats, cheeses, pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt, and juices. The breakfast was served in a beautiful room, the times of access were great, and the staff was fabulous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken hairdryer in room broken socket no one fixed

    Location excellent.Staff were ok didn’t go over board, watched me struggle with my case told me where to put it when I got there early but didn’t assist

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    Average hotel, rude restaurant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rudeness of the staff in the dining area. I asked for a kettle and the first one didn't work, when I asked for a replacement the staff member practically threw it at me. When I boiled the water, vinegar had been placed in the kettle so the water was contaminated....Also requested a couple of extra soft pillows and we were given flat hard pillows..... The bed had a couple of springs coming out that was very uncomfortable....

    The location was fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property is characteristic of Venice, older, cramped accommodations, but overall we were happy with the property for this city.

    Great staff, very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    Would not book here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No air conditioning despite fact that booking. com advertised the rooms as air conditioned and we booked based on that fact. The breakfast eggs were not recognizable. The cuisants were stale having been put out from the previous day breakfast. Most of all the staff at the front desk had a very negative, short ,annoyed attitude toward questions. You were made to feel like you were bothering them with your stupid requests for info. At the price, I expect to be treated with dignity and respect. Come to think of it, at any price!!!

    Location only.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    I’d look around before staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect but the staff was not friendly and the room was not as advertised. It is very noisy and the “air conditioning” did not work...thank goodness it was cool. It would have been fine to sleep with windows open but it’s so loud, no good sleep here.

    The location is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Hotel with very good localisation, clean and very ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel with very good localisation, clean and very friendly personnel , Breakfast good and with plenty to choose, from now on that will be my place for next stay in V .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was so dark even in the day we had to use a torch and mobile phone light to see. hotel old and given this it is very dated, not classically just dated, it could so easily be lovely with a little attention, bulky furniture in room that doesn't work i.e. drawers didn't open, so not functional or any use. bed really hard.

    Reception staff were excellent, wait staff at breakfast a bit snappy. Location excellent very central, easy to get back to each day. Breakfast ok not really a good cooked breakfast but fruit, yoghurts, cereals, pastries etc., all good and as expected. variety of hot and cold drinks on offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.2
    As my wife said, "We have never paid so much for so little", and this for her 70th. birthday?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paid over €1,000 for 4 nights for a large 3 bed room. Got a double room and a single room. For only two of us?? Decoration was very run down, paint off doors, wall decor peeling off, pieces missing from headboard and door decor.We have stayed in very much better hotels for much less money and with a friendlier and more helpful manager and staff. Breakfast food was poor and bar prices high,eg €5 for 50cl. water.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location, noisy, needs upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, both street noise and old facilities making noise throughout the night. Very difficult to sleep. Wifi non existent. Very old fashioned.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Apparently the hotel records did not reflect all taxes were paid in advance and charged to my Credit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a dispute over Italy City tax on the room 3.50 Per person 7. euro total. Your invoice stated it was paid, however I paid it again at the hotel upon checking out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Location and kindness
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complains.

    The locations is excellent. Very nice hotel in old venecian style. The furniture in room is stylish and beaitifull. Breakfast is fine and you can choose between different food. Staff is very helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Great Location, great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay here was brilliant - clean rooms, fresh towels and toiletries every day! Staff were available 24/7 and very friendly! Great location - few steps to St. Mark's square!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.3
    Worst hotel I have ever been in my travelling experienced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all is not feel like a hotel more bed n breakfast. The hotel is dirty when I came to the room and smell weird, there is dirty underwear in the corner of the room and the hotel receptions didn't adress my complaint nicely. There is another staff that try to handle me well and try to give compensation but did not follow it up. They force me to book family room with additional charge 25euro/night on room that im not sleeping.Im staying with my 6 year old son not more than 120m and they didnt let it stay on the same bed. The wi-fi is super slow and breakfast is not vary mostly bread with jam/cheese and cereal. The double/queen bed is two single bed combined as one so we can still feel the edge on the center of the bed. The spring mattras is not comfort.Take around 10 minute to walk to water bus.

    Its close to San marco

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    Overall ok, staff could be a little more friendlier at reception especially at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite on booking.com it said payment at the property, we were charged 2 times on our card for payment before arrival at the hotel. Had to contact my bank in Kenya and finally after 2 weeks got all my reversals.

    Close to several good sites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.4
    Ehh..Not good , not bad..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Transportation to hotel little diffucult.we used the bus.And walked about 600 metres.Hotel does not good at all like in the photos.No lift so you have to carry your luggages to your room.IT is better for the one night hotel only.

    nothing specificly. But it si close to city center and flower markets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location&staff. Room was dated&carpets&furniture stained, not at all like the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we received was an annex. The carpets & furniture were stained. The couch in the sitting room was broken & kind of gross. Although the room was spacious it was creepy. We opened the window & quickly closed it due to the sewer smell. The room was not at all like the pictures. I would have never booked this room had I known it's condition.

    Great location - 1 minute walk to St Mark's Square. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The hotel also stored our luggage after checkout. Nice & updated bathroom. Clean sheets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    The place to stay in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like it very much.

    Hotel is located next to San Marco Piazza and next to canals, shops and great restaurants. Our room has a private terrace that looks towards Piazza San Marco Tower. Breakfast was excellent and the coffee was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Not a luxurious hotel but the location more than makes up for it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location! literally just off St Marks Square, this hotel is perfect as a base for sight seeing. The room was fairly basic, but was nice and clean. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Great location that's not too extortionate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic food which was very expensive but I think that was the location in general.

    Excellent location for the cost but was hard to find for an novice traveler

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, next to Piazza San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if the breakfast was a bit richer.

    Perfect location, next to Piazza San Marco. I asked for a room with a view and they were kind enough to give us a room with a wonderful view of a canal.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergo San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: