Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Marco 3 stars

Via San Marco, 368, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#12 of 33 hotels in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 592 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great choice for travelers who do not want the hassle of where to park the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot find anything that I did not like.

    The room was small but well designed so that it did not feel too cramped. The bathroom was a nice size. We were there for one night and chose the hotel because we had a car and the parking was free and close by unlike a hotel within the city walls. Staff was friendly and helpful, the free bikes were a big hit and ride around the city wall is a must.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Excellent service with a smile- - very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I find it hard to find anything wrong with this hotel.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Good facilities. Quite nice area to sit out near pool and on patio. Service was excellent - they waited on us and always a smile and greeting. Good position for getting out of city and close enough to the centre with good selection of restaurants, things to do and places to see. Bicycle hire was an excellent facility and good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous location with friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more choice of hot food for lunch or evening on the terrace.

    Super little sun terrace and pool. Great bikes for cycling into the old city and around the walls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Super hotel and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Firstly the staff were brilliant very helpful and friendly, we liked the position of the hotel it was in a nice quiet are but took us less than 10 minutes to walk to the walls of Lucca which really are amazing. Because we were staying for a week we were put into a room in the annex which had a balcony and was set in a private garden, although we hadn't booked this it was nice to be able to relax after a long days sightseeing. However the swimming pool area is also very nice so i'm sure whichever room you book will be nice. We will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Pool, great breakfast, friendly & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy, walls quite thin, and could hear voices next door and cupboard doors banging at 1am, so that was a little disturbing when trying to sleep.

    Pool, great breakfast, friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Hotel with plusses and minusses ( terrible beds)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was modern and looked good. Room clean en enough space, but matrasses of bed were horrible. We had our worst stay in Italy here and could not sleep. Reception person was helpful and recommended us the Puccini concert. It was indeed oustanding and this event will stay in our memory for a long time to come

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to city center but not in the center. It has a modern look which does not fit the Lucca style. Conclusion: a comfortable hotel but a bit overpriced given location and style.

    Comfortabel hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great place and comfortable stay. Great view as well
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel San Marco is very close to the old city walls of Lucca. We walked to and from the old city multiple times. The dining area was very clean and comfortable and the staff was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    The location was perfect and the staff was super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like use the pool, but it was still a little cold outside, maybe next time.

    The location was perfect and the staff was super friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast and cappuccino in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Did the job
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive room food and drinks - I paid 3€ for a pack of crisps and 3€ for a coke (rediculous price); the lady in the evening at the bar is really rude and the only staff member I didn’t like; the bar do not have many drink options and charged me 7€ for a vodka with orange juice(???); the bed is not so comfortable; we asked for a taxi to the Lucca station and their provider charged us 16€ for a 8mins ride; the facilities of this hotel are terrible - all under construction outside (not beautiful); the breakfast is poor (very low quality).

    Location is not bad, staff is nice and friendly in general, coffee is good, spacious rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    A nice place to stay in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could feel a residual smell of tobacco in the room and this is terrible for those who don’t smoke and have rhinitis. And a grab a couple of coffee at the bar and they were a little pricey. So, when reserving a room at in this hotel, be sure to ask for a non-smoking if you can’t stand that smell and grab your coffee somewhere else. Ah, and the Wi-Fi connection could be better.

    The bed was pretty comfortable, the staff was really friendly and the location is not too far from the citadel. The breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Very very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As commonly found, the swimming pool is not as large as the photos suggest.

    Very clean, excellent room standard for this grade. Very good breakfast. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Lucca was a beautiful city and the hotel was very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not think it was great value for money and we didn't like being in the annexe.

    Breakfast choice not great. We were in an annexe so walked across to hotel for breakfast and any inquiries

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice for Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay at a lot of hotels. If you have a room number of 206, you enter the elevator and press 2. Not at this hotel. You press 1 instead. This is a minor issue, but I'm certain that I'm not the first person that got off on the wrong floor.

    The location is a short walk to the walled city. The front desk was pleasant and very helpful. The room was sparkling clean. Breakfast was great. Parking was right at the front door of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    The Hotel San Marco is an excellent base for your stay in Lucca and to visit Pisa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was all fantastic.

    Great location only a few minutes walk from the old Lucca city centre. The staff, especially the 2 main people on reception were excellent - friendly and super helpful. They helped us with dinner & lunch recommendations and a train trip to Pisa for the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in clean, modern room with good night's sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. We were allowed a late check out free of charge which meant we had a lovely day in Lucca and were able to go back and shower before catching our evening flight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in great location with the most amazing helpful Reception Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a 3 star hotel but felt more like 4 star . The staff were so helpful and although the rooms were on the small side the bed was extremely comfortable and the shower very powerful. It also has a swimming pool but as the weather was not great didn't use it. The main reason for the score for value for money is simply down to the atrocious euro rate not the fault of the hotel! very good breakfasts and bikes to hire also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    A good clean basic hotel which we would recommend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very basic . Breakfast was ok but after that you would struggle to get anything decent to eat. Also minimal staff so never sure whether you will get what you need. In the end you do .

    It's quite a basic hotel but very clean, good pool area, good air con in the room and within walking distance of Lucca old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    We had the most wonderful stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had the most wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff were beyond friendly and went over and above anything we requested. I highly recommend staying here when in Lucca. It will make your trip even better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Amazing, wonderful and beyond attentative staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantatstic

    Excellent reception staff- so welcoming , pleasant, informative!! Excellent breakfast, service and extremely clean. Would definitely go Back again and only a 8 'minute walk to the walls- justba fabulous stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Couldn't have asked for better, would definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our stay (3 adults, 1 child of 11) was superb, from start to finish we were made to feel nothing but welcome. The hotel manager and staff were exceptional and we all had a wonderful time. We had travelled to Lucca for a wedding and it seemed ours was the only one with a pool which was an added bonus. The hotel was lovely and clean, the breakfast was plentiful, a short(ish) walk to the city walls and we would definitely recommend and return without hesitation!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Hotel in local area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel feels a bit soulless but it is fine for location and I did enjoy my stay. At first it was a bit dark trying to find my way back to the hotel from the walled city but when a member of staff showed me a quicker shortcut on the map it helped. Unfortunately the pool was being repaired but staff were helpful and it reopened later that day. Bedsheets had black grit but the housekeeper changed these and apologised.

    There is a quicker way of walking into the centre which I discovered on the second night. The area has a local cafe and shop. Staff were helpful. Small pool but nice to be able to have an area to swim and relax that is fairly close to the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Large bed, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests who 'reserved' their sunbeds first thing with their towels but didn't show up til much later! Very rude of them.

    Large bed, very comfortable. Very friendly man on check in and out. Helpful as regards to sightseeing and restaurants. Had a late check out as was flying home later that day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Good value hotel just outside the walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint is that the coffee in the room was instant coffee!

    Decent, reasonably priced hotel within easy walking distance to the city centre. A good choice if travelling by car as there is easy parking without having to go inside the walled centre. Nice pool area and small outdoor area for eating/drinking. Comfortable bed and decent bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice location to explore the city of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel has limited parking space, but there is a public (free) parking lot across the street. Room is not very big and it seems as if they forgot to modernise the bathroom (it was not bad though!) with the rest of the room.

    Staff is very friendly. AC in the room works good and is very nice during those hot summer days. Breakfast buffet is good, but not very extentisive. Nice terrace with a lot of shade. The city tax is only for the first three nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Would book again. Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave to go home.

    Close enough to walk to everything within the walls of Lucca. Staff gave us local knowledge about the area. Hotel had a pool. Breakfast choice lovely and good choice gluten free too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel in a nice area and only a 10 min walk into the city. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. One of the most comfy beds we've had on holiday and everywhere spotlessly clean. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Swimming pool area lovely, able to relax in the sun after sightseeing with a nice cup of tea! Didn't take advantage of the pizza menu but good to know it was available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel in a quiet convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    Warm welcome, helpful friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Large comfortable room in the annex. Room and surrounding area was kept immaculately clean. Clean pool area, lovely pool and hotel provided pool towels free of charge. Helped us to book outings, taxis and gave us directions and ideas for local visits. AN AMAZING HOTEL. 11 out of 10!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    We were lucky in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During the short stay we experienced no problems.

    It's interesting; a 3 star hotel in the edge of 4 stars. Outside the city walls but only by a walkable 500 yards. Great bonus in a manager/concierge who has everything at his finger tips plus a warm and generous smile. I would happily put him into any city 5 star hotel in Italy. It was all a pleasantly surprising experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice modern hotel under the smoke of Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi wasn't very stable, you had to reconnect many times (and type in user and password); bread selection at breakfast (if i really have to mention something negative regarding breakfast).

    Nice and modern room; friendly and very helpful staff; very nice hotel overall; on walking distance from the old town of Lucca; breakfast in general with wide selection; nice terrace w. swimming pool (albeit a small one); parking lot in front of the hotel with enough space (during weekends at least).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Attractive relaxed haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great. Maybe stronger coffee for breakfast ??

    The location was great: set back from the bustle of the town but an easy stroll to all the sites. The hotel was airy, well designed and carefully thought through. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The poolside seating in the garden was a lovely area in which to relax. And the staff were terrific: friendly, informal but professional and efficient too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommended hotel in walking distance to historic Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING!

    Very friendly and multilingual staff, spacious and comfy room/bed, good location (10 min walk to Lucca city wall), freshly brewed capuccino for breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    6.3
    It's ok for one night or two
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not really well cleaned, the floor was dirty; the Air Conditioner controller in the room worked, but nothing else happens (temperature do not change accordingly); they charged me for snacks when the price of those is not available in the room, only the price for the drinks in the bar.

    2 things I liked the most: Pizza at the restaurant and Francesco at the reception was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay. 👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman behind the desk, Francesco was very helpful showing us maps how to get to places and recommended great restaurant to dine in. Staff are cheerful and the hotel is well kept and maintained, comfy and cozy. Lucca itself is a very nice place. Will definitely viisit again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Very friendly reception - very good speaking English (South...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly reception - very good speaking English (South African lady, hello :-) , nice and clean room, quiet hotel, everything worked properly in room, hot water immidiately, heating super. I would say - better than typical *** hotel in Italy, I would go to ***+. Breakfast - delicious sweet and fresh croissants, typical Italian :-) very good, also one reason why I always enjoy Italy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    10
    Always nice to come to Lucca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a bit expensive beer in their bar.

    Perfect location, for us with car, only a short stroll to the wall. Room not large, but very functional. Comfortable and wide bed. Quiet. Elevator. Breakfast, served in a nice room, much better than medium for 3-star in Italy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    fantastic end to a holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we should of stayed for at least 3 days.

    great location just a 10 minute walk to the walled city entrance, quiet location. fantastic helpful staff. great breakfast. the modern room was a good size with a comfy bed & beautiful bathroom. lifts & car parking. i will stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep in mind that the hotel is a 15 min walk from the city center. An easy walk, though.

    Helpful and nice staff. Great breakfast. Private parking - a major plus. Very clean and facilities are new and well-maintained.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast very good, staff cordial and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The question about location is that the hotel is walking distance from downtown but, by night, you do not feel secure in walking in dark streets

    Breakfast very good, staff cordial and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    I would stay here again but not in Autumn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In Autumn they turn off the air conditioning and we had to open the windows and there were some mosquitoes that bit us during the night. If the window were closed, we were too hot. We recommend the hotel to install mosquito net on the windows.

    The room was nice and the breakfast excellent. The service was also very good. With a very convenient free parking and at a very nice 15 minutes walk to the center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    James from Dublin ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great breakfast, really nice pool and pool area . Lucca is a beautiful town/city and San Marco its about 10 minute walk to its walls . All staff very helpful.... IO Returnero.....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Well decorated and furnished bedrooms, great swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    These comments apply to main hotel building, not to rooms in adjacent property owned by the hotel (which are nice, but somewhat detached from main facility. Also, on this occasion not always enough hot water in shower in early morning

    Well decorated and furnished bedrooms, great swimming pool area for boutique hotel of this size, welcoming/helpful staff, excellent location for going into the old town. I have stayed there three times!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location, clean comfy rooms and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room was very noisy from the work in the kitchen, i.e. plates and dishes being taken into the kitchen.

    Friendly and helpful reception staff, especially helping with transfers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast nice and relaxing staff quick and efficient, fruit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to locate. Air con, too lazy to ask though but someone did eventually turn it on,must have been psychic

    Breakfast nice and relaxing staff quick and efficient, fruit lovely

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a fabulous town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yeh, that platter of cold cuts for lunch - next time please warn me that it's enough to feed 4 and not just us 2. Phew, a mountain of lovely hams, cheese, toms, melon, olives & bread. Enough to put you off having to order dinner 😜. Simply put - there is nothing to not like about this hotel!

    Well now, Lucca is a wonderful place, even in your 3rd visit. Then, upon booking in you're informed that they are upgrading you! What can possibly go wrong? Answer - absolutely nothing! Great Hotel, great garden and pool, really easy for wandering in to the best end of town. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and will use it again next time we visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    very happy with the accomodation and in particuler the very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    some of the fruit at breakfast was tinned (not fresh); ditto the fruit juices; I think that scrambled eggs were not made with fresh eggs

    staff were always very willing to help and 'go the extra mile' to do whatever was needed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Excellent, friendly and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable and ready for us when we arrived early. Breakfast was everything we needed and hotel located just a short walk into the town. Overall an excellent little hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Great stay for a Lucca city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dissatisfier but worth mentioning: The ramp of the parling garage in the cellar had an edge which is too sharp for any sportive vehicle. Our Audi TT, not lowered, could not get over it without hitting the ramp with the bottom. So we parked outside just near the hotel , and that is no problem at all.

    Friendly multilingual staff, nice pool, hotel is located in a quiet area, but in 5 minute walking distance from the center of Lucca

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    Clean hotel near Lucca center walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking entrance not suitable for sports cars, so we had to park outside in front of the hotel. Probably you have to leave your car key at the reception. The room was quite small.

    Clean room. Nice bathroom. The reception was very kind.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Two nights in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the annex and had a private garden - perfect as we could sit outside when we had put our toddler to bed. The pool was lovely and refreshing after a bike ride around Lucca. Only ten minute walk to the walls. Breakfast good and free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were absolutely fantastic and incredibly helpful. The hotel was very clean and modern, the room quiet and comfortable. The pool was also excellent and the 24h bar was great for a drink after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.3
    Great place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very well fitted out, but slightly small. Food is basically 'cold cuts', the rest is take away pizza etc. Very nice, but be aware.

    Fantastic location, quiet but within few minutes walk of Lucca's city walls, so really convenient for restaurants and sight-seeing. Lovely staff. Lucca itself is beautiful, and well worth visiting.(only problem being the rather flexible Italian definition of pedestrian zone, which means traffic, just less of it and a bit slower than elsewhere). Good breakfast and bar/food service. Easy parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.0
    Friendly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didnt like the rooms. I found them claustrophobic. They were very small and very dark. Trendy they might be but they don't need to be so dark. There was very limited room to put luggage.

    The Hotel was fine. Friendly helpful staff and a good breakfast. Informal feel to the hotel and the foyer looked like anyone's comfortable and easy to sit around lounge room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with pool in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice pool, nice room, very good bfast 10min walk from center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed Lucca and the hotel made our holiday a great success. We would highly recommend the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very clean,comfortable and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and so helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Clean bright modern room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little.

    Clean bright modern room; good breakfast; amazingly helpful staff especially Francesco

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great location, terrific customer service. Well done Hotel San Marco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault the hotel. More like 4* than 3*

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Modern. Quiet Staff attentive cheerful friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    all lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable. Helpful friendly staff. About a 10 minute walk to the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location, great breakfast and in general - very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, great breakfast and in general - very nice hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely clean, efficient hotel with amazingly friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean, efficient hotel with amazingly friendly, informative staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    The room was nice, and I enjoyed the breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cold weather in Lucca!

    The room was nice, and I enjoyed the breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    v good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift not working at time of checking in

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location and great aperol spritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location and great aperol spritz

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient Very helpful staff Clean Decent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Adequate for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring, skimpy breakfast

    We were in a quiet annexe

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Love this hotel will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather☂️

    Good breakfast,very helpfull staff,and the barman makes a mean vodka tonic 😂

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Sensational
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceeded expectations. Service by staff incredible

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    The perfect weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving it to come home!

    A lovely stylish hotel in Lucca, with fantastic staff in a great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rather small TV

    Nice hotel with friendly staff. Quite good breakfast. Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was a trouble

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Very service minded staff, nice pool and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very service minded staff, nice pool and comfortable beds. Old city of Lucca 10-15 min walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Marco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: