Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Marco Hotel 3 stars

Calata San Marco 26, Port of Naples, 80133 Naples, Italy

#133 of 162 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 334 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable distance to Molo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wall and fuge were mouldy, bedbugs in the bed-when we mentioned at the reception we were offered another room where still faced the same issues.

    The hotel location was excellent for us (close to Castles and underground station ),staff were very kind and friendly, our ,rooms were spacious. I loved the freshly baked croissants for breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Good value for money and served its purpose with a good breakfast. Wouldn’t want to stay more than 1
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower precarious and ended up with it in my hand. Furniture old and cheap

    It was what it was. Air con welcoming and breakfast good. Rest - well tired and a bit shoddy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel felt more like a two star than a three star, due to the furniture in the room and the bathroom feeling really old. Noisy at night due to being near a main road.

    The location was convenient, very close to the metro stop and also near the port stop for the airport shuttle bus (Immacolatella/Porta di Massa). Breakfast selection was ok with fresh coffee. They also provided gluten free items for breakfast on request.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.2
    Hotel needs to be closed and refurbished completely. Not a 3 star hotel rooms.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, dirty, noisy room, worst bed and pillows I have ever experienced (woke up with back pain). Broken furniture, broken and dirty walls and broken rusty bathroom. Was not possible to open one window, mold on the wall. Too pricey for what actually it is and offer.

    Smiley and ready to help staff, location is walking distance from harbour and main streets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    AMAZING!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major, just the tv in my room is way to high.. you have to stand up to be able to see the screen or if you're laying in bed watch it through the mirror. But as I said it's just small notice

    It's a great hotel with amazing staff! Plus it's so close to all the best places in Naples! Will def stay there again next time I come back to Naples

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    1. Staff were very friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. We stayed for 2 nights, and during the entire time, the wifi wasn't working. 2. The room smelled like stinky feet/shoes. 3. You can hear the noise (cars speeding/honking, people talking, etc) from outside the hotel. Didn't bother us much, but might be an issue for light sleepers. 4. The pillows were flat, and the room looks dated.

    1. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. 2. The location is excellent! Very near to the port, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Clean, reliable and convenient for the harbour.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the lighting in the rooms. Decent bedside lights would be nice.

    A spartan but clean and comfortable hotel. Very friendly staff. Good coffee and fresh bread and pastries in the morning. Also fresh fruit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.2
    Uncomfortable and poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small and poor. They call itself 3*** hotel but actually it is 1*. Internet connection was so bad. The bed was uncomfortable, I had pain on my back and you could hear EVERYTHING. The staff speaks almost no english and information was poor. I will never return to this hotel, despite to the location.

    I only liked the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    A clean and unpretentious hotel, very convenient location...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked another blanket as the weather was cold

    A clean and unpretentious hotel, very convenient location for the harbour. Good breakfast, good coffee, very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    We were glad we only were staying the one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just didn’t meet our expectations. The pictures were deceiving. The facility was below the standard of the price range.

    The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    The hotel badly needs a refurbishment, to bring it up to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located and close to every thing

    The hotel badly needs a refurbishment, to bring it up to standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    Room stank of stale smoke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room stank of stale smoke. Hotel in general a 70s relic and overpriced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was squeaky and shower leaked. Door was thin and heard noises easily from outside hallway

    Good breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    Would not rerun there and don't recommend anyone to stay there
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were bad and smelled like sewer. Stuff in the morning wasn't very friendly

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit grotty.

    Great location near metro station and bus stop to go back to airport. Close to bars and restaurants. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Nice, basic hotel with a good location and kind staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.4
    Location was perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They need to change the beds. Horrible. And have to have a better cleaner

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    The staff were extremely friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Better wifi connection on the fourth floor.

    The staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean and its location was fantastic. Three minutes to the metro and about the same to the poor making a trip to Capri easy.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    2.5
    Really bad experience window on top of the room impossible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really bad experience window on top of the room impossible to open dirty wardrobe call early in the morning at the telephone of the room noisy clean staff outside the room noisy bathroom without windows

    Really bad experience window on top of the room impossible to open dirty wardrobe call early in the morning at the telephone of the room noisy clean staff outside the room noisy bathroom without windows

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.5
    Nice and friendly staff and is conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for a double room, but we got a twin with merged beds.

    Nice and friendly staff and is conveniently located. Lots of restaurants and shops around.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.5
    We found the staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathrooms really needed cleaning. Black mould that came off when touched in the shower and on the roof

    We found the staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Location is excellent for ferry port and airport shuttle bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little noisy, but this really goes with the location. You cant have everything!

    Location is excellent for ferry port and airport shuttle bus. Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    Kind staff, great location, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No deposit box in the room. The room was very dusty, thick dust layer on the bed desks!

    Kind staff, great location, good breakfast. Air conditioned rooms.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.1
    Good position in the city center and near to airport bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wish to get the document of payment when I paid and not after almost three days. Too much noise, but the guilt of staff hotel. Surroundings are enough dirty, especially in evening, but that is Naples.

    Good position in the city center and near to airport bus. Staff was kind, but we didn`t understand why we got the invoice and the payment bill before leaving as long as we paid cash right when we arrived. The hotel is clean and the room has good amenities. Wifi is fast, the breakfast is basic but ok.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.5
    The staff was friendly , helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room we were offered was run down and did not fully meet the standards we thought we had booked. We requested a different room and the young man in reception changed the room for us immediately without problems

    The staff was friendly , helpful . Rooms although older were clean and serviced daily

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    6.7
    The staff were lovely and very helpful when we had a problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although clean the room was a bit grotty, scuffs on walls and mould around windows and bathroom. We came back one evening to find a leak dripping on to the wardrobe, although this was not a big deal and dealt with immediately. Breakfast was limited at best, almost not worth bothering. Not what I expected for a 3 star and I'm sure there is better value out there.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful when we had a problem. The bed was huge and very comfy, the room clean and the free WiFi excellent. Location really close to the port brilliant for getting around. The cafe next door was excellent with lovely gelato and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    4.2
    Location is the only good thing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is old, bed is old and squeaky.the walls are very dirty, toilet is small and shower is extremely small with half broken and moving doors.coffee at breakfast is extremely poor, considering we are in Italy, Naples, where you can get the best coffee in the worl around any corner.shampoo and shower gel extremely bad quality. Sorry,I didn't find anything positive to write except good location and pleasant staff.the price is ridiculously high to the facilities and quality hotel offers!

    Location is the only good thing

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.1
    in centre of the town, relative good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lot of street noise before 7.30 hr no breakfast

    in centre of the town, relative good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    10
    Near the port and easily accessible for travelers visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nil.

    Near the port and easily accessible for travelers visiting Napoli via ferry. The staffs are nice and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.5
    Localisation close to the historical center of the city and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Basic hotel

    Localisation close to the historical center of the city and metro station.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    4.2
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toilette and tv did not work on arrival. Room did not look at all like the pictures. Working in the hotel loud and dirty everyday.

    location.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.1
    Staff support and friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tired bathroom. Basic breakfast.

    Staff support and friendliness

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very nice Location is perfect for getting to the port - literally 2 minutes walk

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    Lovely big family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower leaked a little.

    Lovely big family room. Excellent staff particularly at reception helping with directions to sights etc

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    Simple standard, but clean and safe and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Simple standard, but clean and safe and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    English skills from one of reception guy.

    Location was perfect. Ukraine lady on breakfast and for cleaning was really nice and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    2.9
    Breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was terrible and the bed was shocking. We were bitten by bed bugs as the room was filthy!

    Breakfast was ok

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.9
    Ideal B&B overnight accommodation when needing to take a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal B&B overnight accommodation when needing to take a ferry to Ischia, Capri etc.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated rooms shower quite grubby hotel needs refurb Had a hostel feel

    Location Staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    The location is good, and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is too simply

    The location is good, and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was not included in price and there was no a/c in our room.

    Great location. Clean room and nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast and staff friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds.

    Breakfast and staff friendliness.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    6.7
    Cheap and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tv was tiny and no hot food at breakfast.

    Cheap and good location

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse San Marco Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: