Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Marco Palace 4 stars

Piazza San Marco 875, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#261 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, clearly not been updated for a very long time. Horrible 70s bathroom shower over the bath with plenty black mould. Rock hard bed, 2 singles pushed together. Smells horrible outside the hotel entrance. Most over-priced hotel I've stayed in. Small room for breakfast and couldn't get seated on 2 occasions, which meant we had to get breakfast elsewhere.

    Room was large. Breakfast was satisfactory.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room furnitures looks so cheap, breakfast options are too little, no barista to make coffee, only coffee machine, no chef to make eggs by order, only pre-boiled eggs, juices are not fresh

    Location is great, however we spent 1 hour walking try to find it but no one helped, even google maps was not accurate

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The thing that was somewhat off-putting was that the canal outside of our room is pretty smelly. But the odor does not enter the room. As we went into our interior hallway from our door you could also smell it. But it wasn't a deal-breaker. It never affected the enjoyment of our room, or of our stay there.

    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! My husband and I were in Venice to celebrate our 25th anniversary which happens to be late in February. We were aware of the potential for cold weather --- or worse: rainy and windy and cold! Well, it was during a cold snap that overtook Europe, but we were prepared! It actually SNOWED in Venice on our anniversary. So beautiful! The best thing about the hotel is that it is one short walk over a small canal from St. Marcos Square. We needed to be that close to the Grand Canal due to carrying luggage, etc. The hotel is old, and charming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most weird hotel stay of my life probably. The hotel was old, like really old. Told us not to use the electric kettle in the room because that could make the power go out. When i plugged in my laptop to charge it, the power went off. Hot plate stove in the kitchenette was present but not allowed to be used, it will make the power go off. To get to the room, we had to walk from the reception to some back door of the hotel exit it go to an adjacent building take a lift, exit the lift go across the corridor one flight of stairs up then walk to the end one flight down, then take another lift then walk to the room. It was a maze where we would get lost trying to find our room.

    The Hotel was in a good location in St Mark's square in Venice. Thats about the only good thing about it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property looks better in the photos. It's very run down (half expected in Venice) and the hallways are cluttered with cleaning trolleys and bags of dirty laundry. The reception staff are not friendly, unhelpful and rude. The breakfast is pitiful, there was never any cutlery available, the offering is poor and the coffee is slightly better than dirty water (this is Italy, come on!)

    The bathroom was nice and possibly the only good thing about this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was large and sufficient enough but the pressure of the water was low. If I had to pick one thing it would be to have the water pressure upped.

    Liked the great service Liked the room itself as it had everything we needed Liked that it had air conditioning Liked the safety of it having a secure safe Liked the shuttered blinds to keep out sunlight for a great night's sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Skip the "free" trip to Murano. while the glass blowing demonstration is interesting, the high-pressure sales tactics of the following "tour" left us with a sour taste in our mouths.

    great location right behind Piazza San Marco

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not too friendly.... very serious, robotic, no to everything. After a 6 day stay they would not allow us half hour longer on the room at Check out, Never a hello, good morning, thank you. The front desk is run by a Young staff not trained to be pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin? Shabby condition of the hotel in general, loose hazardous exposed electrical cupper wiring of lamps (staff promised to fix this, which did not happen), furniture was partly broken, the bed was short and rock hard.

    The location was the only positive thing about this badly managed ripoff of an establishment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I left a favourite jacket behind at the hotel and when it was eventually located I was told that I needed to organise a courier to send it back to Australia! We do not speak Italian how hard would that be to organise? This was the response from staff after I had initially offered to forward my credit card details to cover all payment expenses! Very disappointing and unheard of in all my travels.

    Location was good very near St Marks Square, however not much of a view. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a "kitchen" with sink and 2 cooking plates, but no equipment to use it. We expected the room to have a kettle and tea/coffee, but no. We borrowed a kettle from the reception. We asked for a couple of cups and we got them the first day we arrived. The cleaning Staff never replaced them so we had to clean then ourselves and use them again. For the price of the hotel we really expected a little bit more. The location was good, but considering how fast it is to walk everywhere we could easily have lived furter away.

    Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Good size on the room, dining table for 4. Sliding door to the bedroom which worked our perfect for us and our baby. The bed was not comfortable and gave us both a backache.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could be a little more comfortable.

    Offers good breakfast with croissants freshly baked. We stayed in one of the suites and it was very spacious. The staff are nice and quite helpful, too. Special thanks to Ester and Simone!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Hated leaving.

    Location was phenomenal. The breakfast up to American standards of great. And they gave free tour of Murano even. Rooms were very large and I considered to be suites. Outstanding considering we were in Venice of all places! A gem.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not nice When we got to hotel we understood that it is a hotel chain and that just a day before arrival I have canceled a booking I had in the other hotel (which is part of the chain) and the room we got was the one in the cancelled booking. In order to get into the room you need to go through a dungeon of corridors and you can't find your way back to reception. Very basic breakfast

    Nothing in special

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temperature was too hot - air conditioning did not provide sufficient cold air.

    Room was spacious, and well decorated. Breakfast buffet was nice

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location very helpful staff fantastic decor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed could have been more comfortable.

    Great location, friendly staff, and a wonderful old world atmosphere. We loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to the square and restaurants

    Amazing staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice view of Eiffel tower. Lovely and helpful staffs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room and location & views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice, i love big rooms:) and i like that staff was helpful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and surly service; bar never open; rooms outdated ; overpriced

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night concierge

    Breakfast was good with lots of choice, the staff were helpful apart from the night concierge who was quite rude

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bar

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not to the standard.crowded and limited food selection

    Very close to San Marco and queit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view's internet was atrocious

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, we were a family group of ten and took two suites!! The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything else

    location ONLY

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considerably overpriced for the quality of the hotel.

    Very average hotel with good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is air condition, but it is not working. No one could do anything. I do not think that breakfast is for 4-star standard.

    The room is big.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the best. Clean and big room. Pretty quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and a wonderful hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything OK

    Comfy bed. Big room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation à 2 Pas de la place ST Marc

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in the suite needs replacing or cleaning at the very least

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is excellent .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when I booked the room with a view and then I got there there was no view. Very disappointed. Very roomy and clean hotel, supper location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was small and without shower. Shower was in a small bathtub. Waterpressure in shower was terrible, never experienced worse. Breakfast could have been better, but was okay.

    Nice location close to Piazza San Marco and San Marco station. Large room with large bedroom, livingroom and wardrobe. Large terrace with view over Venice rooftops. Many restaurants right outside the hotel, can specially recommend Bistro de Venice. Gondola service straight from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was non smoking, but it was a smoking room at some point in the near past. The decor was basic and we were hoping for something a little more impressive, but can be seen in the photos, and it`s very similar so not really a complaint. Breakfasts were ok, average selection of the basics.

    The location is excellent, and very easy to get to, staff were lovely and helpful and the suite we had was more than enough to relax in for our time there.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its a small very small thing which does not alter my very good opinion of the Hotel. Cutlery were near a door where staff gets in and out and guest queue for their breakfast. I think these should be move in a different area (maybe near the glasses for the orange juice). Please this is just a little advice. I am still extremely happy to have stayed at the hotel. :-)

    The Hotel was really beautiful. Room was very big with lots of space and beautifully clean. The breakfast was really delicious. Location Fantastic two steps from San Marco Square. We could have stayed in a better place and more important staff was extremely helpful and nice and with smiles that make your day even better. I definitely recommend San Marco Palace Hotel to anyone who wish to spend a great holiday in this beautiful Venezia.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We would have liked to have a kettle and a cups in order to make tea or coffee after long days of sightseeing.

    The location was perfect - very handy and central for touring Venice. The family suite was comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed was actually two singles put together, but then, so they are in most hotels of this nature I have experienced... Heating controls a little confusing but soon got used to it.. Room was good but a little tired and needed some attention to the curtail pulling arrangements.

    The central location is fantastic... just a short walk from everywhere.. We were upgraded to a superior suite which was designed to sleep 3 people..Lots of room.. Staff are very friendly.. Breakfast good and plenty

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was a kitchen, but there were absolutely no kitchen implements (no cutlery, plates, cups, mugs, pans or pots) - so you couldn't use it. The bedroom was very nice, but there was a light (perhaps an emergency light?) that went on every 20 minutes while we were sleeping - so we didn't sleep. I think the thing that was most disappointing, we paid a decent amount of money for this room, and when we informed them of our terrible sleep, they genuinely thought that, 'it's a new room' was an adequate response. No compensation, not even an apology. It's was pretty outrageous. The breakfast was grim.

    The room itself was very nice, exactly what I expected it to be, as a suite. But...

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beds were a little uncomfortable.

    We especially liked that the family suite had two separate full bathrooms! This was a nice surprise. The suite was quite large overall, and and had nice views of the canal. The breakfast was very great too, with plenty of choices.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast, clean room, very old furniture and not clean and fhe staff not help

    Nothing Only the wifi in all area of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Random items left out in the hallway made the look less appealing.

    Loved the location.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, bed comfort, no room service.

    Location is prime. Room was massive. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location very good

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the staff were not helpful , however, the hotel manager was very welcomed and helpful person .

    the location

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms we had were spacious and fit the needs of our group of 9. Breakfast was ample, warm, and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, quiet (something unexpected), large and comfortable room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Chaotic Breakfast !

    Rooms are spacy and fresh.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast is chaotic !.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no tea/coffee facilities in the room

    wonderful stay

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse San Marco Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: