Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort 5 stars

Piazza San Pietro Caveoso - Rione Pianelle, 75100 Matera, Italy

#12 of 34 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 367 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Luxury in unique surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of steps to climb so not suitable if you arent fit !

    Property is set in the hillside of the Sassi. It offers excellent views across the old town and the valley below. The staff were very attentive and courteous. Breakfast choice was exceedingly good as was food from the restaurant on the evening. A great place to indulge in a little bit of luxury amid unique surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location to walk the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location to walk the city. Beautiful rooms in cave setting. Would recommend paying 25 euros a day for valet parking so you can drive right to hotel entrance and have car brought when you leave

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    It was a wonderful way to experience in the Sassi of Matera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a unique location with wonderful views. The rooms are very spacious with excellent facilities. The staff are very efficient. The restaurant was lovely and we had a beautiful breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Location and luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking (but this was our choice to have a hire car) and that we had to leave to go somewhere else.

    Right in the very centre of the old city, with abundant walks around the spectacular gorge, the place offers high end luxury and food in this world heritage listed environment. The scenery and landscape is from another time. Several scenes of the latest Wonder Woman movie were filmed right outside our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular views, great location wonderful staff they gave us recommendations for restaurants and were very helpful with valet service with the car and luggage. Rooms are gorgeous and very spacious and well-appointed. They have a gorgeous and delicious breakfast spread! Will definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Just loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms had freestanding baths with only a handheld shower. Make sure you ask for a shower if you want one.

    Matera is a beautiful and fascinating place. The hotel was lovely, our room was really comfortable but partially in a cave, so a fabulous atmosphere. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Amazing location. Lovely room but improvements needed to warrant the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charge for valet parking was high and when we had arranged this we realised that there was parking slightly higher up for free. Plus they didn't tell us we needed to pay cash for parking which was then a problem when we were checking out as we wanted to pay our bill by card. We were charged for drinking water in the room. I would have expected this to be provided due to the price of the room rate. Although we had a balcony there was no furniture so we couldn't sit out on it. Also room was amazing but there was only a bath no shower. I would have preferred to know this before we booked. Finally, if you're using GPS it will take you to the other side of Matera - better to use Google maps.

    Beautiful location. Amazing room. Made extra special with having a balcony. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    A dreamhome in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best location in town. Beautiful spacious room with a very nice style mixing modern and antique. The bathroom is brand new and all fittings are moders with a very nice design. Excellent breakfast and coffie is the best! Our host was very friendly and very helpful. He made our stay really exceptional! We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Gorgeous place to stay in Matera's Sassi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location. Amazing room. The hotel in general was gorgeous and the food was great. Our room was comfortable for a family with two kids. This would be a great place for a couple. There's a very romantic vibe to the cave rooms. Décor was modern (despite being in a cave). One of the most interesting places I've ever stayed. And the staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    High end luxury hotel, slightly off beaten path, but requiring steep vertical hikes to reach rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be prepared to hike up 50-72 steps on slippery rock to reach your room.

    Bed in suite was comfortable; room with terrace had an excellent view of old town. Breakfast was incredibly varied and good. Room cost was over priced, though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Sassi at sunset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the heart of the old sassi (neighbourhood). Some of the best staff I have encountered in my travels. Yes there are steps but the great staff carry your bags to the room. Living in a cave is an experience of a lifetime. It is only beaten by having dinner on the veranda overlooking the cliffs at sunset. Excellent staff excellent location excellent stay, thank you!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Above and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond to make our experience the best possible. I proposed to my girlfriend at their restaurant and everyone worked with me to ensure everything was perfect. The food was the best we have had anywhere. Again, the staff were friendly and extremely helpful! The room was an authentic Matera style cave dwelling in the best location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Epic place in the Sassi di Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Magical place with epic views and terraces, very nice and friendly team. Overwhelming creative rooms and suites with authentic atmospheres in the caverns of the Sassi di Matera. Exciting authentic, elegant highclass restaurant with local but modern dishes. Unique and fascinating !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Matera at your door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh Orange juice at breakfast! Even if it's DYI.

    Bright sunny room, excellent view,great linen and comfy bed. Helpful staff and good espresso at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent View, top very central location, baggage handler...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent View, top very central location, baggage handler was amazing at his job as there are many uneven stairs to great height he supplied and retrieved the luggage, always smiling. Reception excellent with amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    6.3
    Should be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minumal thought of inner decoration and guest convenience. There was only one chair in the suite, no pictures on the walls, TV in the worst position. Poor coffee during breakfast. A touch of caring hand is missing in this hotel

    Perfect view and great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    A Modern Resort making you travel back to the StoneAge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all a dream... no regrets or bad experiences. The Hotel was amazing. The caves, the history and the comodetist were a great comnbination!

    It was the type of breakfast you look forward to having on a Sunday Brunch , yet waiting for you there so tasty every morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.7
    Location, food in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cave room smelled a bit musty. Should be thoroughly aired in time for check-in, and possibly room scent to be provided (incense burner or similar) to mask any smell of damp.

    Location, food in restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Hotel in Excellent position. Friendly, helpful staff. It was more expensive than we usually pay but it was booked as a special occasion. Despite the price, it was value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Very good location and friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    The food was brilliant. One needs to make allowances for a hotel built in a series of ancient caves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor wasn't swept. Couldn't read in bed. Shower dodgy.

    Incredibly interesting property in a fascinating area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed it very much. Excellent service and state-of-the-art accommodations. Thank you so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving instructions to your property with GPS not easy.

    We only had the breakfast buffet (very good) because your restaurant was temporary closed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    The room provided were not as shown in the picture while...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room provided were not as shown in the picture while booking the room on booking.com Too much over rated property. Disappointed...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Unique property in ideal position to explore Matera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique property in ideal position to explore Matera.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    No wi fi in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi fi in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Matera is beautiful and this hotel is in a beautiful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stone steps up to the dining room. Expensive valet parking.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing for a 1 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was not as good as we hoped.

    Beautiful rooms and atmosphere in a fascinating ancient city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Don't miss visiting i sassi in Matera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful room in an incredible location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    an amazing experience: to live in a cave but with fair confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking and lack of a shuttle

    the location and forniture

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Sassi experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great experience being in one of the "sassi" spaces, sleeping in de the vaulted caves. Dinner and breakfast are very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Suggested!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff is amazing, everyone is so nice and kind. They were reliable to each of my request in 0 time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location for getting around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could supply coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

    Excellent location for getting around.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room in outstanding hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little disappointing and awful 1970s pop music at breakfast

    Room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    good decision!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff is so kindly. breakfast is so delicious and the location is perfect ...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Do not miss visiting Matera and the wonderful Hotel Sant Angelo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was excellent

    lovely authentic cave hotel room and restaurant, would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is ok but could be more complete

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    Very unusual location and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was not very clean on arrival, but they cleaned quickly. Difficult to find and parking @21€ per day , no warning of this.

    Very unusual location and atmosphere. Good style a design in room. Staff helpful about finding restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Being picky. Layout of our cave room wasn't as large as we would have hoped for. Other rooms are more open. Bed was a little hard.

    Lovely setting. Staff very helpful and spotlessly clean. Loved the bar and terrace area. A great hotel for visiting Matera.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    Small disappointments:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small disappointments: hotel offered valet parking for 26 euros/day while there is a free parking 50 meters from the hotel Bottles of water in the room that we assumed to be free where actually part of the minibar with no indication

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.8
    Superb location in the sassi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very difficult to find,needed better directions and parking well off-site .In Italy signs are very intermittent so very easy to get lost,but great fun as well.

    Superb location in the sassi

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    6.7
    as above, clean, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rect was rude, wouldn't let us check in or charge devices. Said bar closed, asked for bottle opener as one room didn't have any, said no, phone in room not working, said nothing they could do, this is a nice hotel, it is not authentic or a resort.

    as above, clean, comfortable

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    8.8
    Loved the cave bedroom with the romantic look to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't really enjoy the piped music of cover versions of 70's songs at breakfast. If they had to play music they should be playing Vivaldi, or Verdi or Rossini - something Italian to fit in with the view and surroundings.

    Loved the cave bedroom with the romantic look to it. Fantastic breakfast with great view from the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.7
    Location and view from restaurant are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of money for very little, except charm of staying in grotto. Air conditioning turned off at night, both nights, by central timer. Too hot to sleep.

    Location and view from restaurant are wonderful. So is the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    To stay at the Sant'Angelo is an experience transcending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was really not one thing to not like. One would have to be of a very uber-critical almost un-satisfiable nature to find flaws.

    To stay at the Sant'Angelo is an experience transcending the ordinary. We stayed in one of the more bigger caves and really did not want to leave it. The owners of this family run hotel really did a great job!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    The Air-Conditioning never really cooled the room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great Location, amazing views of the city and a wonderful room with a private entrance from the street/ pathway. Amazing to watch sunsets and sunrises from.

    The Air-Conditioning never really cooled the room and the room's minibar wasn't cold when we arrived and when we left it wasn't really very cold either. Also the bath was only a bath not a shower, but that didn't really matter to us we were on our honeymoon.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.3
    Lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some staff were a bit incompetent (also experienced by other guests we spoke to). Regularly got the wrong directions or told contradicting things.

    Lots of character. Very beautiful. Amazing breakfasts. Definitely an experience and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    It's cool to stay in a cave, the setting is nice but can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some photo show for my booking is not for my room, so I thought we will have a bath tub, and a sofa area, but in fact none of those, the room is much smaller, with a very small stand up shower only. There is no activity for the guest, so can't really say it's a resort. Stand up shower, bad design.

    It's cool to stay in a cave, the setting is nice but can be much better. Carving on the wall are original, but only know until we ask. High quality toiletries, specially the lotion, you will need it in this dry/hot weather! Breakfast ok good compare with other Italian hotel/B&B.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.8
    A wonderful place to stay, the cave rooms are elegant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cave rooms are beautifully designed, but they do smell a little damp

    A wonderful place to stay, the cave rooms are elegant and fun while the breakfast is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.9
    the place is uniquely located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the front desk could have been more kind. When we left she hardly said bye. Air conditioning never worked properly

    the place is uniquely located. Spectacular. The staff was warm, kind and genuine. They gave us tips for a one day tour we won't forget. The room was nice. Essential but stilish furniture. Restaurant is good. Breathtaking view and high quality. A bit pricey

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Unbelievable city that takes you back centuries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff not at all friendly or attentive.

    Unbelievable city that takes you back centuries. Hotel fantastic, although photos show cave bedrooms even though our rooms were lovely, they certainly were not caves. Restaurant worth a visit. Great location and free parking up the road. Not easy to find as GPS didn't recognize oneway streets.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    Stay in a design cafe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stay in a design cafe! Why not! Hotel is situated in the historical center of Matera in the Sassi. Hotel is diffused, scattered over the area. Rooms have been wonderfully designed and are surprisingly comfortable. Very romantic in fact. Beds very comfortable suites spacious. It boats a fantastic restaurant with excellent cuisine and a spectacular terrace with a view. Breakfast is also excellent. This is not a resort however. Very pleasant stay and a unique experience in a very special town.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.2
    Breath taking surprise when the door in a normal wall opens...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It gets a bit damp & smelly, but it's a cave!

    Breath taking surprise when the door in a normal wall opens to a stunningly decorated cave! It is the stuff of fairy tales!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is a completely renovated part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Hotel should send instructions for finding the place!

    The hotel is a completely renovated part of the "sassi"; i.e., that small houses built into caves in the mountainside. Rooms are completely renovated and clean. Be advised to get detailed driving directions if you are coming by car as it is difficult to find your way down the mountain from the main town, and the hotel's exact address is not clear on GPS. Also note that the rooms are each separate units, up a fairly long staircase from the reception and breakfast area.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    Very quaint great location great food nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Safe is not bolted down

    Very quaint great location great food nice staff

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel at great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Beautiful hotel at great location. Wonderful design!!!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.2
    Location strabiliante!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location strabiliante!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.6
    Amazing, beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Amazing, beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor detail: small shower

    location, location!! And it looks stunning. + great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Giuseppe our waiter was incredible !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Giuseppe our waiter was incredible !!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.8
    Great location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    Absolutely incredible experience, our stay at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely incredible experience, our stay at Sant'Angelo will be something we remember for a lifetime.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception Bedroom location

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    location and room amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location and room amazing

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    All the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The showen was very, very small and had funghi

    All the rest

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited to no parking space

    View

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness Cave-like room Good WiFi Polite, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    Best views of caves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best views of caves.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    general architecture, unusual rooms, the lounge bar, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    general architecture, unusual rooms, the lounge bar, the terrace overlooking

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    Location, cave suite, friendliness of staff, overall comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't really find anything to point at :)

    Location, cave suite, friendliness of staff, overall comfort and experience

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: