Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Caterina 3 stars

Via E.S. Piccolomini, 7, 53100 Siena, Italy

#11 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 874 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom would welcome some major renovations. Mattress was awfully soft and seemed to be quite old/used making you feel quite uncomfortable. I do understand the hotel is in an old building, but some renovations would certainly do some good. In the end we felt we paid way too much for what we got.

    Good breakfast, amazing view, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get from the entrance of the room to the beds you had to climb a very narrow steel staircase. It was slippery and not friendly. The linens were clean but old.

    Breakfast, location and cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value for money. The staff was wonderful- very friendly and extremely helpful. All understood English so absolutely no problems with communication for what was needed and more. An outdoor patio with views over the countryside and general old world European ambience were exactly what I was hoping. Something not always found in conveniently located and smaller, yet established, hotels. Our room faced the patio and was quiet as well as roomy (two of us could easily spread out). For those driving or walking the Via, Santa Caterina is in an ideal and convenient location (just outside the Roman Gate/Door to the city). Highly recommend this wonderful place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am an older woman traveling alone and the person who checked me out in the morning had a serious issue putting 2 small pieces of luggage in my car. He said “it’s a 3 Star hotel - what do you expect?” On the other hand all the other staff were lovely and helpful.

    It’s old and charming. Beautiful terrace to sit and have a drink or breakfast with a great view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a light sleeper, I found there was a bit too much road noise. The tables in the garden did not seem to get wiped during the day despite the leaves and buds on them. There was an old table lamp in the room which had a frayed cord - which could be a safety hazard.

    Upon our arrival, we received the warmest welcome ever! Location was great - just outside of Porta Romana. The breakfast was served in a beautiful sunroom. The garden was lovely, with many large trees and tables and chairs and beautiful view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furnishings in our room were really old and really uncomfortable - the beds, sitting chairs in the main room, etc. The parking was really hard to maneuver in and out of.

    The two things we liked the most were: * the staff - incredibly friendly and attentive * the view from our room "the apartment"

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle with tea/coffee set in a room would be nice. All in all, very nice stay (despite poor weather).

    Super helpfu and friendlyl staff. Room with a garden view. Garden itself. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably our only negative was a bit noisy at times when lots of traffic if you have the windows open but we like fresh air... so happy to have a bit of noise for the clean air. If you are a light sleeper would ask for a room well away from the road as you can get

    We had a lovely stay here and we were welcomed by lucio (hope l spelt that correctly) who was fantastic thoughout our whole stay, providing recommendations and arranging things for us 5 star service. Room was large and good size bathroom reasonably well equipped . We had and upper floor with a partial View which was nice. Bed very comfortable . Location is about 400- 500 or so metres from the main square and a very easy walk.. a tad uphill It’s a pretty place and breakfast staff very lovely and alaways helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 2 air conditioners in our room and the one in the loft by the bed did not work. This could not be remedied, but we were given a fan and that more than solved the problem.

    Location was outside the city walls, but easy to find and get to. The room was perfectly fine, although somewhat noisy if window was open, but I don’t mind City sounds. The breakfast was typical and good. But their garden that you can use....absolutely gorgeous and relaxing with a view like a painting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large area because the room is lower level/loft above with bed in loft. Great for us,might have been a problem with someone else. Great character,you walk up through a big old gate into old town area. Took us about 20-25 minutes to find main square/cathedral area. Breakfast 8/10.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night, but Lucio moved us and it was much better.

    I had communications via email with Lucio prior to our arrival. He answered quickly and was informative and helpful. Then when we arrived, he was there to greet us and help us get settled. Throughout our stay he was extremely helpful, and we feel like he became our friend. Hotel Santa Catarina is fortunate to have him working there...he is a real asset. The kitchen staff was also very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our brief stay immensely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel, with helpful staff. A huge room with a mezzanine floor....lovely surprise! Amazing views, wonderful terrace & yummy breakfast & bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, having to climb a fire escape ladder to get to the bed is ridiculous,and then descend for the bathroom is something leave never experienced before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a beautiful hotel we chose to enjoy our very short time in Siena. The room was very clean, spacious (with a shower AND bathtub), comfortable and with the most beautiful view!! Staff at reception, restaurant and housekeeping were extremely friendly, always with a smile and very professional. We only regretted not having stayed longer and enjoy sitting in their sunny garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its excellent value for money - cant think of anything you would expect that wasnt provided

    Excellent location just outside the city wall, 15 minute walk to centre of city with restaurants nearby. Staff could not be more helpful. Good breakfast, nothing fancy but all that was needed. We would certainly visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should hire more help. There was only one server during breakfast.

    Lucio, the front desk officer, was very pleasant and helpful. He was dressed well, possessed an old world charm, very articulate, and knew Siena and Tuscany well. He is an asset to this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A real house of Tuscany just at the gate of Siena. this give the chance to have a very beautiful view on Tuscany hills and landscape. good breakfast. nice room. easy to go by foot to center or by Bus 51

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff all very kind! The hotel has a wonderful garden with a city and mountains view. Breakfast room very charming. The hotel has a good parking with a low cost. It is just outside the walls. In 10 minutes you are at the “piazza Del campo”.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location (easy to get to the place and easy to walk to historical part of Siena), beautiful interiors, very professional staff (special thanks for being so helpful), very nice breakfast, view from the terrace is great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a perfect place to stay when visiting Siena. 10 min. walking from Piazza del Campo, easy to find parking nearby and a lovely place to stay. Lovely conservatory near the garden to have breakfast. I guess the garden is beautiful in spring/summer. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (room 2) was on the bottom floor and there was a lot of noise coming from upstairs! I would just ask for an upper level room! Also- I loved that there is no pet fee, but be aware that animals are not allowed in the breakfast area, and because it was raining we couldn’t enjoy breakfast outside. So my husband ate breakfast and I stayed behind in the room with our pup! Also- they charge for Coffee! I was surprised by this, usually when breakfast is included so is coffee!

    The gentleman that checked us in was absolutely the best! He was genuinely kind and helpful! The room was spacious and very clean and the location was very nice with a short walk into town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The room was comfortable and clean with beautiful views. It was a lovely old hotel. Staff were friendly. Lucio, concierge, gave us local advice and booked restaurants for us and was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was the best!

    The staff were fantastic, food excellent, room clean and very efficient. Loved being so close to the old city, walking felt very safe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The web site for the hotel indicated that it was only a few minutes walk from the Cathedral. The staff member who checked us in also said it was only 15 minutes to the Cathedral. It was actually almost a 25 minute walk. We eventually learned about buses that connected to the hotel and were able to use them and avoid long walks. The staff member did not offer any information on buses. We parked in the hotel lot. It had a very narrow opening to the street and we scratched the rental car we had getting out of the lot.

    We had the only room in the hotel with a balcony. There was an excellent view of the countryside around Siena from our room. Breakfast was excellent and also from a room with views of the countryside. We took advantage of the bar in the hotel to have drinks before going out for dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, just outside the Porte Roma, was excellent. The hotel had a lovely, old world charm with modern facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small and quiet dull I like tradition but this hotel needs a refurbish, it’s a little out of touch, plastic dusty decoration, and lampshades where burnt from globes.

    The staff were so generous with their time and very helpful. The Best. The View is amazing the outdoor area beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After reading the reviews and seeing the photos we were really looking forward to staying at this hotel however it definitely did not live up to expectations. Firstly, we could not park at the hotel as the parking was fully reserved. There is almost no parking nearby other than parking that cost 1.50 euros per hour. so beware to reserve your parking well in advance. The staff were also very unhelpful on this subject. One of the main reasons we chose this hotel was that we needed somewhere with parking otherwise we would have preferred to stay in Siena. We were given a very small dark room (Room 1) which was not what we expected from the photos. It was basic with virtually no decor and you couldnt walk round the bed if the shutters were open. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and if you wanted a cup of tea or coffee you had to order it in reception at a cost. A cup of tea (essentially you were given a pot of hot water and a teabag) cost 2.50 euros per person. The bathroom was also tiny but did have a decent shower. We did not find the staff friendly (as per all the other reviews). Everyone was courteous but very stilted and disinterested on a personal level. When we checked out there was no no conversation at all to even find out about our stay. The breakfast is poor. The general decor needs a facelift.

    The hotel is close to the entrance Porto Romano so it is easy to walk into Sienna. It has a very pretty garden.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is charming, with a proper, friendly and helpful staff. The terrace and grounds are beautiful with amazing views of the Tuscan hillside. We walked into Sienna's walled city twice a day and relaxed outside in between The breakfast buffet was perfect with coffee made to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were not brilliant (service was amazing) just the food and coffee wasn’t of typical Italian standards. Parking was expensive as not included in the room price and when factored in, made it not very good value for money.

    The location was perfect, the room was lovely and the views were really special. It is a perfectly old fashioned hotel and the staff were all excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small

    The service and location were amazing, with incredible views over Tuscany. The staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarette smoke in the room. Not sure if this came from outside as we were on the first floor.

    Quaint comfortable hotel with a lovely solarium where a good selection of breakfast foods are served. Beautiful patio overlooking the valley. Just outside the walls of Siena so easy access to city centre. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plastic platform at bathroom area seems to be easily slipped. Good to be replaced with eg rubber mat. However, afterall the bathroom is clean and well maintained.

    Excellent hill view from room - which you can view the sunrise early from the room. Friendly staff, who always try their best to assist . Hotel staff has welcomed us upon arrival, with assisting us on parking, also providing tips on location to visit & how to get around, including recommendation of restaurants around. Good location within walkable distance to Sienna main attractions. Clean and spacious room. Cosy hotel lobby, with a great breakfast location (with view of parks and trees). Simple and nice breakfast. There's a common area open air, where you can sit around and enjoy the peace and lovely hill view. We had enjoyed our stay a lot. Definitely recommending this place if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One room was beautiful, with a big bay window overlooking the garden, the other room was dark, small and very noisy since it faced the street. But if you book a room...make sure it is in the back..overlooking the garden.

    The hotel is just outside the Siena wall, just a 5 minutes walk and their lush garden patio over looks the Tuscany hillsides. A wonderful place to sit and read and have a glass of wine. Staff very attentive and kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    This hotel oozes old warm charm. The location is fabulous for a stay in Siena and is in very easy walking distance of all attractions, restaurants, grocery store. The courtyard garden has views that are awe-inspiring. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious. The staff are exceptional in every way!! I can't say enough about them. We spent two weeks in Italy (Rome, Assisi, Tuscany and Venice) and when I think of our holiday, my mind and heart goes to Hotel Santa Caterina.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luccio was very welcoming and did everything he could to make our time in Siena special. Hotel Caterina is a decent walk from the Campo and other attractions but very doable with the added bonus of a lovely terrace garden with great views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wow...stay here if you can...lovely hotel. Exceptional service....nothing too much trouble ..lovely garden for breakfast and to sip your wine of an afternoon...we had balcony big bonus. Very good location to stroll into Siena of an evening for dinner and stroll home. Easy access to use your hire car to drive to small towns.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid parking lot requires hand over of car keys for movement despite there was no reason for it due to enough space.

    Beautiful house, nice interior and garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a very late booking ended up in room on street side which was OK but garden side would be better :)

    Bed extra comfy, garden/ views excellent, good breakfast in garden, good small bar, great staff. Near centre of town easy walk - no steep hill! Good sound insulation from street (we had room on street side)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking zone is very small and the enter is very narrow! Breakfast is typically for Italy & France. A lot of kinds of bacery. If you prefere more healthy and proteinfull food you will have nothing.

    The hotel is really close to walking streets with restaurants and main Square. Beauty area for breakfast in the patio

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very quaint hotel and had a beautiful view of the Tuscany countryside from the great garden area in the rear. Try to get a room that faces the rear of the hotel and your window will open to an awesome view. You can have breakfast out in the garden as well. Our room had a loft and was very nice and clean. The location was great and a short walk to the center of Siena, which is a really cool place to visit. One of the few hotels that I would visit again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious and clean, and most importantly it had air conditioning. We parked our car in a private parking. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a beautiful garden overlooking the area. A must!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This places was like walking through the gates of heaven after our terrible, bed-bug infested hostel in Florence. The staff was more than accommodating and went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was the best it could be, even if it was only one night. The hotel is only a short walk from the entrance into the old city and was a short taxi ride to/from the train station. The breakfast was phenomenal, and the vista overlooking the Tuscan countryside made it that much better. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Siena!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get access to the car park you need to go into the hotel, there is street parking but being so close to the city it can be tricky to get a spot. When we did get in the staff were very friendly and helpful

    The staff were brilliant, room comfortable and the little biscuits they had at breakfast were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all. Other than our stay being too short

    Dreamy views from the perfect garden setting. Incredibly quiet room with double-double glazing, comfy bed and views over the garden to the distant Tuscan hills. Great position, incredibly helpful staff. A highlight of our trip so far.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're traveling with someone with limited mobility, let the hotel know in advance. Many rooms have a loft arrangement with sleeping upstairs and bath down. This can be inconvenient for some.

    This is my second stay and I would gladly come back for third. The Staff is, very friendly and accommodating. Precious parking is available on-site if you prearrange. Great Location, just outside Porta Romana with an easy walk to the city center. The outdoor patio is the best, so relaxing with a beautiful view of the Tuscan countryside, not to mention the linen tablecloths for breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs inside the unit with bed on upper floor and bathroom on lower floor.

    Close proximity to bus service and breakfast in the garden with lovely rural views. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful garden terrace overlooking the surrounding hills where breakfast and idle sitting happen. Gorgeous! Close, walkable to old city. Friendly staff, parking on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, quiet but easy walking distance to town. Lovely garden with great views of the Tuscan countryside. Very helpful,friendly staff. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably more variety on breakfast menu if staying for longer than 3/4 days

    All the staff were lovely, so friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The situation of the hotel is really convenient for the town and has beautiful views from the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was plentiful and excellently presented. The property overlooking the valley and hills of Tuscany was beautiful. Spent two evenings with drinks watching the sun go down. Wonderful. The hotel staff was ever helpful and attentive. Felt like "old world" service. Excellent! Room had Tuscan ambiance and yes, the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So authentic European. Our balcony view was stunning. Breakfast was very good and the staff helpful. Closer than I had thought it would be to the center of activity. Safe parking on site. Yea!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being right in the city centre - but that's the price of coming by car !

    A traditional hotel, 5 minutes walk from the city gate. Ideal if you have a car. A nice, traditional room. The most beautiful terrace garden in which to sit for breakfast, a drink, or just to sit, with a wonderful view over the countryside. Very kind and helpful staff. Good value for money. Easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were welcoming helpful and professional. The hotel location perfect for sienna and an oasis in a busy town. Stunning views. Best hotel of our trip so far.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedroom itself was small & dismal with minimal comforts. Similarly, the hotel was a disappointment with minimal facilities and no kitchen! There was nowhere to relax in the evening apart from some easy chairs in a draughty corridor next to reception. Breakfast was minimal....no eggs (because no kitchen).

    The hotel is well situated, just outside the city walls. Parking on site was a bonus. Staff were most friendly and helpful in every respect. The bed was fully comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect little boutique hotel. Do not hesitate to book. We'll located just outside the city walls, a quick stroll to all main attractions. Attentive staff, nice rooms and beautiful garden. Cannot fault it. I wish I could find one hotel like those in every place I visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small with the beds at an elevated level in the room.

    The atmosphere, the restaurant area and the garden with the view are all excellent. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Location is good, just outside the Porta Romana, the southern entrance of the old town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no complaints

    Staff was amazing. Breakfast was continental style but very good. Hotel is very close to piazza / within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel is a great location, and is a few minute walk from the city center. All staff were extremely helpful and professional and went out of their way to ensure our satisfaction. The room had a balcony overlooking the hills of Siena, which was gorgeous. Room was spacious, bed was comfy, and mini bar in room had many food and beverage choices. Rooms and hotel grounds were outstanding and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was awesome!! Great hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is one of the best places I've been. It has a beautiful garden and a beautiful view on the sweet tuscan hills. The staff is nice and efficient, the room was big, clean and very romantic. This place is 10 min away from the city center. Strongly recommend !!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel just 15mins walk to Piazza del Campo. Lovely antique decor, nice & helpful staff, beautiful garden with a lovely view of Tuscan countryside. Breakfast was great - apart from the usual Italian sweet things like marmalade and pastry, there was bread, local salami an cheeses as a more savory option.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit far to railway station,it's not that convenient to take a autobus in Italy,cos I can't speak Italian.

    There's nice small balcony in my room,it's a pity I cant enjoy that cos it's a bit cold with the door open. The dinning room and the garden are really beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom (with bath) was compact, but modern and adequate. Vehicular entrance to the parking area (around the corner, giving access to the rear of the property after checking in) was a little tricky.

    Staff took the initiative in inquiring about our needs and advising us, and gave helpful recommendations about dining and rang to book for us. The hotel is outside the Porta Romana, so it is an interesting walk or bus ride into the centre. Our east facing room had beautiful elevated views over olive groves and meadows to the hills of southern Tuscany. Excellent breakfast (not cooked) in a charming breakfast room with a view of the terrace garden. Characterful decor, with old prints, framed legal documents and old furniture. Equipped with a lift.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable but on par for European hotels

    Location was ideal and staff were very nice and very sweet. It was only a 10 min walk to get to historic center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, I found both of the front desk staff extremely stuffy, condescending, and less than helpful....This was consistent with their attitudes for my last several stays.

    The decor, comfort, cleanliness, and attention to detail is so classy and makes one feel like they have gone to a heavenly spa. Housekeeping and breakfast staff were so efficient, pleasant, and kind. Gorgeous view of the Tuscan landscape out my window. Very quiet rooms and super comfy beds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be a bit more....complete. However, it's probably the Italian standard :)

    The location is just outside the city wall, about a 15 minute walk to Piazza del Campo. It was very helpful to have the option to park on site, despite that it is for a 15 euro fee per night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft to us. It could have been easier to have the possibility to park the car in front of the hotel during the luggage loading time .

    It's located a few steps away from Porta Romana, which means that the city center is in a walking distance from the hotel. It offers a closed parking place. The quality of the breakfast was excellent, the variety could have been wider. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location with a beautiful view from the terrace. Short walk to Porta Romana and Siena. Very helpful young man at desk who helped us with bags, returning rental car and getting taxi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There wasn't an easy chair in the room where my wife could sit and read while I was away at my conference.

    The bed was good, it was very clean, the staff was exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate signs to find the hotel. The outside of the hotel is unattractive and dull.

    We like staying in a hotel with character and style. Hotel Santa Caterina is ideal for us. Our room had a view over the garden and hills. The room was furnished in characterful furniture but modern bathroom fittings. The staff were very helpful: from parking to catching a bus into the centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic and peaceful garden. Prime location for a short walk into the walled city. This is our second stay here. All of the staff was nice – Lucio was particularly excellent. The manager was also great. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of a thing I didn't like. Fabulous.

    Everything about this hotel was perfect. It's worth splashing out for - really friendly staff, our room was beautiful, and the garden terrace absolutely delightful. This is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. Really good coffee too:-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult for us to find. I think it would have helped if they communicated directions with their confirmation

    The view of the valley from our window was breath taking. Service personnel were very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, very old style, poor breakfast without eggs or vegetables (Italian non healthy food) no real fresh orange juice, medium coffee. Very low return for the price ~150€ a night!!

    Great location just by the old city gate, nice staff, nice garden

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking explained. We drove around a bit and then had to double park on street and unload luggage but that is about it.

    I LOVED this place and would stay again. Super clean, really beautiful. Awesome location. Nice staff, delicious breakfast, great views. What more can you ask for? Parking is a little tricky but once you know where to go and get the clicker to open gate, it is close. The staff, in particular, Tony, was awesome. This is a gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no quilt. ...it doesn't matter much.

    good location. spacious room and good facilities. breakfast in a beautiful garden. the staff are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santa Caterina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: